• Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: May 2, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 445 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 445

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2017
    9
    This album would have been perfect if it had the following set list:

    1. Vicarious 2. Jambi 3. The Pot 4. Rosetta Stoned 5. Intension 6. Right in Two That album would be around 49 minutes long, and wouldn't contain the filler songs. It would also have one of the best series of songs I've ever experienced in an album from 3 to 6. I think many of the low scores are based on the
    This album would have been perfect if it had the following set list:

    1. Vicarious
    2. Jambi
    3. The Pot
    4. Rosetta Stoned
    5. Intension
    6. Right in Two

    That album would be around 49 minutes long, and wouldn't contain the filler songs. It would also have one of the best series of songs I've ever experienced in an album from 3 to 6. I think many of the low scores are based on the 'pretentious' and 'useless' filler songs, which I can kind of understand.

    But the rest of the album is incredible. The Pot is a really interesting rock and roll riff song, Rosetta Stoned is one of the best drum songs ever written, Intension is a study in build-up and dynamic and Right in Two is an incredibly beautiful hard rock song. None of those songs could have been written by another band, and they all mix extremely difficult instrumental work with great song writing and composition.

    In my opinion it's the best Tool album. I just wish it only consisted of 6 songs.
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2016
    10
    Lets get one thing straight, no sequel to Lateralus was ever going to get the praise it deserved. Thats just how Tool fans are, if its new its not as good as the old, and this is the case for most fanbases in all fairness, but particularly Tool.

    I tend to review albums song by song in a chronological order. But for this album I do not wish to do so. By reviewing it song by song, I
    Lets get one thing straight, no sequel to Lateralus was ever going to get the praise it deserved. Thats just how Tool fans are, if its new its not as good as the old, and this is the case for most fanbases in all fairness, but particularly Tool.

    I tend to review albums song by song in a chronological order. But for this album I do not wish to do so. By reviewing it song by song, I present it as a sum of its parts, when in reality, this album truly becomes legendary; when a complete picture of the experience is presented in one go.

    Arguing over which of Tool’s albums is the best it quite redundant, particularly because they are all good. In fact they are all very good, some of the best prog albums of all time. Whenever a new Tool album is release (for me at least) its not a matter of whether it will be better than the last few, rather its: ‘will it be on the same level as the rest of their stuff’. Long story short, 10000 Days IS on the same level as their other albums, and what makes this so much of an achievement for the band is just how long it took them between albums to release this.

    For every single of the 5 years this album was in limbo, its potential grew, and grew, as a snowball would rolling down a snowy hill, until in 2006 it broke into the public. This album is phenomenal. The long wait for the album to be released adds to the appeal, as it gives it a sense of worth, and need to exist. This isn’t some yearly instalment of a successful band career, this is an experience, which comes around so rarely we must cherish it, and appreciate the subtle, and visceral beauty we are presented with.

    For me, for an album to be considered great, as a pose to simply good, the album needs to have a balance between “hit tracks” which will receive radio play, and mainstream attention, as well as more subtle, and quieter tracks, which perhaps succeed in different ways to please the fans. An example of an album which DOES NOT have a mix of this is Coda by Led Zeppelin, which for fans is a decent album, but for critics has no universal appeal. Contrast Coda to Physical Graffitti, an album with appeal to both fans, with songs like The Rover, and In My Time of Dying, as well as the mainstream, with Kashmir, and Houses of The Holy. This split between critics and fans needs to be universally accepted for an album to be considered great (granted this is not always the case, but as at times reviewers royally **** up, for example reviews for Megadeth’s album). Now 10000 Days is the PERFECT mix of mainstream and hardcore acclaim.

    The song Vicarious, is one of those instant Tool classics, which does NOT fail to impress even the non-Tool listeners. It’s a universally enjoyable song. My personal favourite of the album is The Pot, a catchy, and headbanging tune about hypocracy, and drugs.

    The vocals on this album are OFF THE CHARTS, refer to The Pot, the instrumental performances are brilliant, and the lyrics are Tool’s finest, with very emotional moments around the whole album, refer to 1000 Days (Wings Pt2).

    In essence, this album is a worthy successor to Lateralus, and does not disappoint in any way. This is a MUST OWN, and let’s hope the next Tool album can achieve what this one did, whenever they ****ING DECIDE TO RELEASE IT ALREADY.
    Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This is one of my favorite all-time albums and I'm a little surprised to see people just kind of brush it off and say it's not as good as some of the older Tool albums. Something I'd like to point out, is that at the time, I had never heard a full Tool album before, and so I didn't have that standard that many Tool fans seem to have. And hearing it as nothing but an album from a band I hadThis is one of my favorite all-time albums and I'm a little surprised to see people just kind of brush it off and say it's not as good as some of the older Tool albums. Something I'd like to point out, is that at the time, I had never heard a full Tool album before, and so I didn't have that standard that many Tool fans seem to have. And hearing it as nothing but an album from a band I had never listened to, I must say it is simply a masterpiece. In fact after listening to this album first and the older ones after, I tend to favour 10 000 Days more, a lot more in fact. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    I give this album a 6 (I think Metacritic should count this score as yellow mixed so placed it as a 5 to register that way). I am quite new to Tool and have had the ability to listen to all the albums from a fresh perspective. This means i am not judging 10,000 days based upon any anticipation, pre- release expectations or based upon a nostalgic perspective from previous Tool records.I give this album a 6 (I think Metacritic should count this score as yellow mixed so placed it as a 5 to register that way). I am quite new to Tool and have had the ability to listen to all the albums from a fresh perspective. This means i am not judging 10,000 days based upon any anticipation, pre- release expectations or based upon a nostalgic perspective from previous Tool records.

    Overall, i think this is a good nearly great album. Without doubt, the amount of thought and integrity obviously included in the writing process stands out from many other mainstream bands today.

    The album has a mix of many sounds from various cultures and genres, and from the first listen, it is clear that the band members are qualified musicians with a very competent technical ability.

    The members of this band have obviously mastered their instruments (or writing) to such a professional level, that they are now comfortable exploring different styles and techniques which noticeably adds a depth and welcome variety to this album.

    This artistic professionalism shines through at various points in the album and 10,000 days includes some of my favorite Tool songs. However, many of the songs on the album i just do not like. I appreciate the song's technical ability, depth and intelligence but for some reason, many songs on this album just do not appeal to my ear.

    The exceptions are Rosetta Stoned, and Right in Two. Those are standout tracks for me, but the rest of the album sounds a little contrived, while Keenan's melodies (although containing intelligent lyrics) just do not seem to appeal to me.

    Finally, i also have to deduct some score for the overt filler in this album. Instead of making 10,000 a structured concept album, Tool have to use up album space with boring tracks such as 'Lost Keys (Blame Hofman)' to develop a concept that leads to Rosetta Stoned. Instead they could have made a more abstract approach and made a listenable song.

    This happens more than once, and many tracks are only worth a listen once before the urge to skip them during a full album play becomes inevitable. Although this is nothing new for Tool as it also happens on their previous albums (however it is more apparent and annoying on 10,000 days).

    Ultimately, this album stands above many others, in terms of artistic and technical ability and integrity. It has some great tracks and has a lot of character.

    However, it also has a lot of apparently meaningless 'filler' that compromises repeated plays of the album inits entirety.

    6/10 mixed
    Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    That fact that an album like this can sell over half a million copies in its open week in the US is almost astonishing in 2012. Its not their best, but its got plenty of highlights, and like most of their output, has a way of growing on you to an almost uncomfortable degree.
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Tool is in my opinion one of the finest rock/metal bands ever, Tool manages with 10,000 Days to blend hard rock with extremely symphonic melodies to such a degree that my 80 year old grandfather actually liked them. If you like metal, rock, punk, classical, pop, or any kind of music you would be doing yourself a disservice if you don't listen to Tool.
  7. Jun 15, 2012
    5
    First two songs are good, there are a couple i can bearly hear, and the rest are ordinary. they all have great bits in them, but on a whole, ordinary. this from a bloke who loved lateralus and reckons anema(Spelling?) is the best album ever.
  8. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Best Tool album, no. Better than most of the music out there, yes. I love seeing Tool compared to Franz Ferdinand and Arcade Fire. If you want to hear Franz Ferdinand, don't put in a Tool CD. Tool CDs tend to sound like Tool. And Tool fans are morons. How many Tool fans waste their time rating and commenting on an album they never heard from a band they don't like. You are much moreBest Tool album, no. Better than most of the music out there, yes. I love seeing Tool compared to Franz Ferdinand and Arcade Fire. If you want to hear Franz Ferdinand, don't put in a Tool CD. Tool CDs tend to sound like Tool. And Tool fans are morons. How many Tool fans waste their time rating and commenting on an album they never heard from a band they don't like. You are much more intelligent than a Tool fan. Mental Midgets. Expand
  9. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Following in the steps of Lateralus helps this record from being just average. It feels like Maynard's lyrics are slipping a bit here, but the music is metal heaven.
  10. KcS
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    First off I would like to say to some, not all Tool fans are pot heads or 16 year olds, or those that know nothing. I am a University graduate, and most definately not a moron, so those with those comments can shove them wherever they please. I like this albulm but their older stuff is much better I agree to that, but not everyone who listens to Tool are potheads or drug addicts.
  11. Dogstarr
    Mar 19, 2009
    9
    This one would deserve a 10 if only Lateralus and Aenima didn't exist, yet the critics seem to have given it fairly low scores. I guess you either appreciate the best heavy band since Zeppelin, or you don't quite get it. Oh well, if you like heavy rock at all, you have no real choice, you need to get it.
  12. student
    Sep 17, 2008
    8
    It was no lateralus, but still great. half of the cd is awesome and half is filler.. who cares. as for the people who said "go listen to franz ferdninand and the killers" and shit like that.. get a clue.
  13. Bryan
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Great album, not as good as the earlier ones like lateralus or aenima but awesome.
  14. MattO
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics It's safe to say that most of these critics probably spend too much time judging the "quality" and "ability" of several genres; in doing so, I think they somewhat lose their perception on what is inspirational. Songs aren't meant to be a "ballad of the moment." Songs are supposed to move people, motivating them to become something more than themselves. If you ask me, the critics are all on pot, not the listeners. They are on something else entirely. One of my favorite albums of all time, and I've listened to far too many different genres, from Kenny Rogers' "First Edition" to "all the damn Li'l's in rap music today." Collapse
  15. MikeP
    Apr 21, 2008
    5
    Your comments are meaningless ..beware the new world order.
  16. vocalius
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    The most amazing thing with this record is,that it's very(very) hard to mesmerize it. words are meaningless with band.
  17. ChrisL.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    This album contains brilliance and genius of the highest order. I think it's the greatest album of the decade thus far and Tool is the only band I know that gets substantially better with each album.
  18. JinL.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to critics. This album rates a full 10/10.
  19. ColinM
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Awesome album...Maynard wrote some great lyrics for this album and of course the music is masterly put together. You cannot say enough about the talents of Danny Carey!!
  20. ScottH.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    It may sound redundant at this point in Tool's "legendary" career, but the anticipation of their latest Album, 10,000 Days, was worth the five year wait since their last album of Lateralus in 2001. It's another musical masterpiece to add to the repertoire of sensational albums that the band has released for us all to experience. These guys clearly understand the importance of It may sound redundant at this point in Tool's "legendary" career, but the anticipation of their latest Album, 10,000 Days, was worth the five year wait since their last album of Lateralus in 2001. It's another musical masterpiece to add to the repertoire of sensational albums that the band has released for us all to experience. These guys clearly understand the importance of quality in the art of music vs. taking their audiences money to create snappy singles that get stuck in our mundane minds for a month or two only to re-appear on some game show ten years later in the "one hit wonders" category. 10,000 Days proves, once again, that Tool albums are meant to be experienced in their entirety for a lifetime. No matter what alternative music is doing at the present time of a Tool album releasing, they still rock harder and are more musically talented than any other band around hands down. They're done proving themselves at this point, so if you are a Tool fan, buy this album, sit back and enjoy the latest installment that is TOOL! If you've never owned a Tool album, but appreciate true artistry in music, buy all their albums, experience them, be blown away and never look at alternative music the same again! Expand
  21. BenL
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    This CD is so abstract and ideal. The music and lyrics flow perfectly. Vocals are obsolete. Amazing.
  22. BobbyMon
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    It's TOOL
  23. notanetgeekx
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    i love tool but u dorks have too much time on ur hands suck bon jovi's dick u fat lazy virgin , moms basement livin ,fat no life havin wish u had a stink fist to to smell . i say good day
  24. knucklesfumpa
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    aenima is more epic 10,000 days is more soulful
  25. JohnDoe
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing album once you listen through it a few times. What sets Tool head-and-shoulders above other mainstream bands is their use of dynamics and rhythm. Other bands craft 3-to-5 minute pop songs in which they play the same hook over and over again with the structure never varying. I personally enjoy the slower tracks like 10,000 Days and Right In Two. As bands grow older, This is an amazing album once you listen through it a few times. What sets Tool head-and-shoulders above other mainstream bands is their use of dynamics and rhythm. Other bands craft 3-to-5 minute pop songs in which they play the same hook over and over again with the structure never varying. I personally enjoy the slower tracks like 10,000 Days and Right In Two. As bands grow older, their songs seem to get mellower and less angsty and I think the same is happening to Tool (which is, in my opinion, for the better). It shows that they have changed and matured since AEnima and previous record, while still keeping their songs exciting and interesting. In my opinion, this is the best record Tool has released. Expand
  26. EddieC
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    Nothing but truth and great tunes.
  27. MattS
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    As many others have stated, this album REALLY grows on you. The songs that sound like crap at first grow on you, one by one. Everybody complains about the fillers, and at the same time say it wasn't as good as Aenima, which itself was only about 5 or 6 good songs with a lot of filler in between. Tool's debut album was 5 songs, followed by an album of all songs, followed by an As many others have stated, this album REALLY grows on you. The songs that sound like crap at first grow on you, one by one. Everybody complains about the fillers, and at the same time say it wasn't as good as Aenima, which itself was only about 5 or 6 good songs with a lot of filler in between. Tool's debut album was 5 songs, followed by an album of all songs, followed by an album of 5 or 6 good songs with fillers, followed by an album of all songs, followed by an album of 5 or 6 songs with fillers. Anyone see a pattern here? The fact is, this is an excellent ALBUM, in an age where almost all other commercial artists just churn out songs. Most musicians nowadays put out a complete album based on only one song, and hope to make money off of the download of that one song. Here, Tool once again has turned an idea into a complete ALBUM, and enhanced it with conceptual art, making it something actually worth purchasing and possessing. As for how the band has progressed; as a guitarist, every Tool album before this one I have been able to listen to a few times and pick up a guitar and play it. I thought I would be able to do that with this one, but I must admit, I've tried, and might have to consult the tabs on this one, just like I had to on 'Presence' and 'In Through the Out Door' by Zeppelin, other albums this has been compared to. Kudos to Tool and their great few songs. I'd rather wait 5 years for songs as good as these with fillers than wait 10 for a full album. Just thank God that we can push the skip button instead of having to fast forward and rewind. Looking forward to seeing it live. Maybe they'll take me back to how a rock concert's actually supposed to be. Expand
  28. KennyG
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    Superb album... not a definite improvement upon Lateralus but definitely not a step down in any way. Songs still epic and on caliber with Lateralus, the only flaw is the transitioning of the songs. Even though all the songs satisfied me there was a little bit too much filler and vigini tres and lipan conjuring could've left room for another awesome track.
  29. paulof
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    .....different, but they can always lunch the real substitute for lateralus....
  30. JuanA
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    It is an incredible disc!!!!!!!!
  31. BobbyNuggets
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    At first I was a little disappointed and did think it was a continuation of Lateralus. But, each time I listen to it I love it more and more. I originally became a Tool fan based solely on the music alone. This album made me start listening to the words and developing my own interpretation. Maynard has some sic thoughts and some that I can at least semi relate to. Overall this album is At first I was a little disappointed and did think it was a continuation of Lateralus. But, each time I listen to it I love it more and more. I originally became a Tool fan based solely on the music alone. This album made me start listening to the words and developing my own interpretation. Maynard has some sic thoughts and some that I can at least semi relate to. Overall this album is not an "on the fly" record where you just listen to it in your car on the way to walmart. this is an album you must take the time to listen to and let it take you in. Expand
  32. LouL
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    03/02/07 - I purchased the cd the day it came out and can not listen to anything else. This album and tour were done to perfection and I appreciate it. Few bands put forth the obvious hard work that it takes to create a masterpiece such as 10K Days. I have not been moved by an album in this manner since I discovered Pink Floyd Animals.
  33. clydeg
    Mar 1, 2007
    8
    Definately not Tools best work, but better than most of the music thats out there. Maybe Meynard and the boys can call Willie G and the rest of the self professed musical geniuses and get some pointers for the next album. Better yet maybe they should just go out and buy Willies albums and then they'll know how to do it right the next time.
  34. NonameNolastname
    Feb 10, 2007
    8
    Good album. Not nearly up to the amazingness of Lateralus or the greatness of Aenima, but a solid album. It has a few annoying parts, but it does have good content: Vicarious, Jambi, The Pot, Rosetta Stoned, Right In Two, and the song(s) that some love and some hate: Wings for Marie (+ part 2). Seems more "earthy" as compared to the "spiritual" sounding Lateralus. I don't see how Good album. Not nearly up to the amazingness of Lateralus or the greatness of Aenima, but a solid album. It has a few annoying parts, but it does have good content: Vicarious, Jambi, The Pot, Rosetta Stoned, Right In Two, and the song(s) that some love and some hate: Wings for Marie (+ part 2). Seems more "earthy" as compared to the "spiritual" sounding Lateralus. I don't see how people can see this as Lateralus II, they seem completely different to me. The extreme anti-Tool comments like "dudez, toolz fans r al brindid, hu ha ha" when I doubt they hardly even listened to 10,000 days to judge it. Oh well, you can all go back to listening to britney spears and friends :) In the end, Tool did something new. Not uber-outstanding, not on par with Lateralus, but still a great album (even more as compared to most music these days.) The only complaint can be the "filler". It does get a tad annoying, but doesn't bring down the album signifigantly. Expand
  35. ZachL
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    My favorite Tool album yet. The entire CD is chock full of engaging and thoughtful tracks, some mellow and some upbeat. It is, in my opinion, perfect.
  36. Pavers
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    This album really does kick ass. Tool have improved with each album.
  37. exdrasaaron
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    this is agrat disc, is the best
  38. coreys
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    one of tools best.from kick ass bass lines in The Pot all the way to the constantly changing epic that is Rosseta Stoned,then the thought provoking tracks that follow.
  39. SteveDouglas
    Jan 12, 2007
    0
    What do you get when you combine and upvoter, a mindless automaton, and a fanboy. You get a tool fan. Their fans may be tasteless mindless followers, but the ratings will never follow the fans.
  40. ToolFanatic
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    My favorite CD of all time. Danny Carey is the best drummer of this generation. Maynard has one of the most recognizable voices, and when you put that with the distinct sound that Adam, Justin, and Danny bring, you get one of the greatest bands in the past 20 years
  41. JustinC
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    One of the best fucking albums ever, all you Tool haters just shut the hell up. I mean no shit your going to give the album a bad rating if you don't like the band. So just keep your mouth shut. Fuck!
  42. CameronD
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    One of the best Tool albums yet if not the best. Danny Carey is the best drummer of today. And when you collaberate that with Maynards singing ability, Adam Jones guitaring, and Justin's bass playing skill, you get the best album to come out in 2006!
  43. scott
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Far beyond anything on the radio these days. Tool unlike many of todays bands do not play for the big bucks (which they do have) but they play for themselves and don't just follow the crowd. Tool is everything that Rock is meant to be and more. 10 out of 10
  44. KevinB
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    The best TOOL album ever. The band shows off their range of talent in this album. I don't mind if it takes them another five years to do the next one either. It'll be worth it.
  45. marke
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    one of the best, if not the best, tool albums. besides, what the hell else are you going to listen to?
  46. StephenT
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    One of these dudes actually compared Tool to Staind and Godsmack in his review. What a douche-bag.
  47. FraknM
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    This fabulous collection of work is the epitome of what other bands wish they could be. Far better than I had expected, given the hiatus the bad took these past few years and given that Manyard had performed with "A perfect circle" which was ho-hum in my not so humble opinion. I only hope that Maynard and company will continue to turn out such great masterpieces...
  48. jhonatanm
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    the best album of the year!!!!!
  49. DougC
    Nov 25, 2006
    3
    All the pomp and pretention of Pink Floyd's classic Atom Heart Mother - minus the strings, horns, chorus, and interesting musical ideas. High concept with the emphasis on the HIGH. The CD package (featuring Alex Grey's hypercool psychedelic artwork) with 3D viewer and all, is way more fun than the sonic silliness it contains.
  50. RobR
    Nov 22, 2006
    2
    The lyrics are cringingly trite and hollow, the music is pedestrian, the only thing this joke of a band have going for them is the good production and the distinctive, well-refined sound of the instruments themselves.
  51. JonS
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Phenomenal. Every member of the group has taken a huge step up. Danny and Justin have mastered their roles. Far less accessible than anything they've ever done; it leaves you pondering "why" and "how" and makes it hard to sit back and appreciate the music. Definitely check out Jambi, Rosetta Stoned, and Right in Two, my personal favorites. Wings is very difficult to warm up to, The Phenomenal. Every member of the group has taken a huge step up. Danny and Justin have mastered their roles. Far less accessible than anything they've ever done; it leaves you pondering "why" and "how" and makes it hard to sit back and appreciate the music. Definitely check out Jambi, Rosetta Stoned, and Right in Two, my personal favorites. Wings is very difficult to warm up to, The Pot is annoying at first and hard to appreciate with the rest of the album because it's got a different attitude, Intension is practically a solo bass piece that exhibits Justin's brilliance, and Vicarious is really just a hard-hitting radio song. Yeah, it can be cheesy and childish at times, and Maynard isn't quite the focal point he used to be, but this album is utterly brilliant. I wouldn't advice listening to it quiet or with headphones, or while you're doing something else. Sit back in your chair and blast it. There's so much goodness in every second of the album, you may be unimpressed at points, but maybe only because of cohesion problems. There's a LOT of material crammed onto this disc. The songs are extremely intricate and stand-alone pieces, so it sort of lacks that underlying theme of older albums. After several hundred listens, you may begin to consider if one of your favorite albums. That's what happened to me. It's so huge, it really just flies over your head and leaves you in the dust, scowling--the second half of Right in Two, in particular. Expand
  52. Darrelld
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    this cd is the sh*t, just like every one i have herd. All of you non tool fans just need to shove it becuase of course you r going to give them bad ratings. Tool is not any thing like a religious cult. they r spiritual but is that a big issue...Tool started out in a local bar to record their album unlike most other bands. oh yea what kind of crap do you lousy critics listen to?
  53. angelv
    Oct 31, 2006
    9
    This album is better every time you listen to it.
  54. kirks
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    I will be listening to this album until the end.
  55. RichardG
    Oct 21, 2006
    3
    I find it laughable that people clamour to tool, like a flock of mindless sheep.
  56. DavidA
    Oct 21, 2006
    3
    Deep lyrics should be backed up by great music, something tool still hasn't learned to do.
  57. JamesR
    Oct 21, 2006
    0
    When people stop mindlessly giving zero's instead of things like 4's and 5's etc. I'll stop giving zeros.
  58. TedJ
    Oct 21, 2006
    0
    Tool is music for people who like very bad sounding music, with the following of a religious cult. That doesn't make any of the music good.
  59. KenS
    Oct 20, 2006
    9
    Well, I am not a Tool fan prior to this CD, so my rating is not based on everything else they've released, or expectations of the progressive experts. Rock is rock, the initial definition of rock, the being of rock, and its reality. This cd does take you on trip, and the ride is great. The lyrics are important, but the music must guide the jouney, and Tool obviously understands this. Well, I am not a Tool fan prior to this CD, so my rating is not based on everything else they've released, or expectations of the progressive experts. Rock is rock, the initial definition of rock, the being of rock, and its reality. This cd does take you on trip, and the ride is great. The lyrics are important, but the music must guide the jouney, and Tool obviously understands this. Listen to it, don't just hear it, and enjoy! Expand
  60. KenK
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Wow Tool is the best group of the world and this is the best album of this century, it's amazing and exciting, and feeling in some songs this is "10000 Days", this is Tool.
  61. JImmyR
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    That's a great album the songs are diferent from "Lateralus", "Wings for Marie" and "10000 Days (Wings Part 2)" are the best songs of the disc and of Tool, great!!!, they explore new sounds and new experiences, "Rosetta Stoned" remenber "AEnema", and "Vicarious", "Lateralus" and some bass from "Undertow" a great album.
  62. JhonatanY
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Me parece uno de los mejores discos que he escuchado, demuestran toda la madurez de la banda, recuerdese que es un disco que busca reunir a los fans se trata de una obra de gran valia que va mas alla del Lateralus, tiene temas pesados como melodicos como "Vicarious", "The Pot", regoge lo oscuro del "AEnema" con "Rosetta Stoned" y uno de los mejores temas de TOOL : "10000 Days" and "wings Me parece uno de los mejores discos que he escuchado, demuestran toda la madurez de la banda, recuerdese que es un disco que busca reunir a los fans se trata de una obra de gran valia que va mas alla del Lateralus, tiene temas pesados como melodicos como "Vicarious", "The Pot", regoge lo oscuro del "AEnema" con "Rosetta Stoned" y uno de los mejores temas de TOOL : "10000 Days" and "wings for Marie". Expand
  63. qee
    Oct 6, 2006
    8
    I seriously don't see why people give Zeros...very few albums are worth that low of a score.
  64. StevenG
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    TOOL is far and away the best hard rock band in the world, and 10,000 Days is the best heavy rock album since TOOL's Lateralus. This is just my opinion, for which I will not apologize.
  65. OsamaBinLadin
    Oct 4, 2006
    3
    You can rate that is if it where just any other bands first CD, or you can rate this from the vantage point of knowing their previous work. From the perspective of the later (alus?) this is a weak record. It has a couple standouts, but are those really standouts, or are they lateralus knee jerks? There truly is nothing new to be found. It seems that Maynard really isn
  66. StefanosP
    Oct 2, 2006
    1
    After reading some of the mindless and pathetic criticism here (Lolz!Tool fanz are just like...nerdz ya know!) combined with the large amount of positive reviews from fans you might think this is a decent album. It's not. I've been a Toolfan for quite a while now, listened to and loved almost all of their work, but this album was just very, very dissapointing. Lots of After reading some of the mindless and pathetic criticism here (Lolz!Tool fanz are just like...nerdz ya know!) combined with the large amount of positive reviews from fans you might think this is a decent album. It's not. I've been a Toolfan for quite a while now, listened to and loved almost all of their work, but this album was just very, very dissapointing. Lots of meaningless noise, uninspiring music that never seems to reach a climax (but has plenty of anti-climaxes) and very bland lyrics. This is nowhere near the quality of albums like Aenima or Lateralus. In fact, this sounds more like clippings they found on the floor in the editing room and then stuck together. Tool is supposed to be progressive. 10,000 days certainly isn't. It sounds like bits op Lateralus stuck together and supplemented with loads and loads of noise. Maynards voice just falls away in this orgy of noise, in fact, when you finally hear him singing he just sounds like another layer of noise. Never thought I would say this about Tool, but this is just plain old crap. Oh and by the way, what's up with the Franz Ferdinand-Tool comparison? Dont get me wrong, I love Franz Ferdinand, but saying that Franz Ferdinand is much deeper and more progressive then Tool is only making yourself look silly. Expand
  67. tkhty
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    most of the songs are veryy strong lyrically and musically, a few seem out of place at times (blame hoffman, lipan conjuring) but this album is not something you'd listen to at a party or riding in a car and its nice to have music like this that really mimics the background music of an LSD trip
  68. karolina
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    With personal preferences of style or musician-ego aside, can you sincerely deny the intensive craftmanship and musically phenomenal sound generated by this band? And if your answer is yes, perhaps your musical knowledge is being compromised with your own perception of aesthetics.
  69. sosmosis
    Sep 18, 2006
    6
    Took 5 years to make what sounds like leftovers from Lateralis. They've finally slipped. Well they're old now.
  70. MichaelP
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Like you could do any better?
  71. DougA
    Sep 17, 2006
    0
    I'm sure the tons of senseless Tool fans will mindlessly upvote this. Although it's to be expected since Tool is the definition of mindless.
  72. MinnaarP
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    Brilliant. Stand out tracks include The Pot and Vicarious.
  73. alvarezl
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    Capital masterpiece...
  74. Mattias
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    This album is in general order an album that grows on you, you just have to give it the time it deserves. You won't find more thought-provoking music anywhere else.
  75. SeanN
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    I purchsed this album not really knowing what to expect from this new collection of songs, just recently hearing "Vicarious"getting radio play.I am definitely a long time tool fan,so i picked it up.I saw somebody say it will take 2 times to listen to the album before you start to get into it,that is a bit of an understatement! .This is so above any other band,i do agree they are one of I purchsed this album not really knowing what to expect from this new collection of songs, just recently hearing "Vicarious"getting radio play.I am definitely a long time tool fan,so i picked it up.I saw somebody say it will take 2 times to listen to the album before you start to get into it,that is a bit of an understatement! .This is so above any other band,i do agree they are one of the most talented bands of this generation. I have read some reviews,but it is very obvious these people have A.D.D. one guy says there are songs with just 5 minutes of noise,dude c'mon now,there are 9 full songs ,1 intro ,and demonic noise at the end. you really have to get to know this album to appreciate it,it is not poppy,upbeat or mainstrem suitable.It is very hard to interrprut the meanings of the music,but that is why it is addictive and Expand
  76. Opeth314
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing! Again Tool surprises the crowd with intricate and complex sound. I've said to truly appreciate a good Tool album it usually comes on the third or so listening of it...... Plus Maynard seems to have the most fun with album... especially heard on "The Pot"..with more improv than ever!
  77. BruinsFan247
    Aug 7, 2006
    7
    Tool is one of the most talented bands of this generation. There sound is unique, vocals by Mr. Keenan are top notch (when they are present). Im a huge Tool fan and Ive been waiting for this album for as long as everyone else. I must say I was a little dissappointed. They seem to have a trend growing of mindless dribble (tracks of about 5 minutes of just noises). There are actually only Tool is one of the most talented bands of this generation. There sound is unique, vocals by Mr. Keenan are top notch (when they are present). Im a huge Tool fan and Ive been waiting for this album for as long as everyone else. I must say I was a little dissappointed. They seem to have a trend growing of mindless dribble (tracks of about 5 minutes of just noises). There are actually only about 4-5 real tracks on the album, that annoys me. I love Tool, and I want to hear more songs like Vicarious and The Pot, Where are they? Expand
  78. rottencabbage
    Aug 1, 2006
    1
    One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can One of the most bland, lyrically daft offerings in ages. Experimental? Hardly. Oh goody, they can switch time signatures; can they record a memorable song? The answer is, of course, an emphatic "NO." Tool ape Pink Floyd and the countless other (talentless) metal bands out there, but end up sounding like caustic tripe. I'd rather listen to gifted musicians and lyricists who can actually turn a phrase, thank you very much. There's a reason certain artists are critically acclaimed: did The Arcade Fire, The White Stripes, or Franz Ferdinand ever feel the need to record an album full of meandering, bland, overlong, pretentious twaddle? I didn't think so; they've actually got something worth saying. Of course, Tool fans will devour this like manna from the Heavens, or at least like Maynard James Keenan's constantly regurgitated, consistently meaningless, self-important feces. Another stinker from a band that believes it has Something Important to say; the only ones who pay it any heed, though, are Tool's daft, stoned fanbase. Expand
  79. AdamW
    Jul 29, 2006
    9
    In a pool of mindless music we've all heard again and again, tool brings to the plate yet another genious endeaver. Yet, not as good as a few previous albums. But tool's back yeahhhhh!!!!
  80. AnthonyG
    Jul 26, 2006
    5
    This is only half an album. I only consider 4 of the tracks to be truly good. The rest is filler. The album is not particularly innovative, either. No new sounds here. Disappointing.
  81. stevew
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Tool's beautifully complicated music requires listening intently many times. As such, each track reveals more brilliance. This is the most sophisticated album yet. Still the intense Tool, it's original, smart, and refreshing. More obscure tracks are gradual "blow your mind" revelations. Like the instrumental in "Right In Two": a travel in space at warp speed, settling down and Tool's beautifully complicated music requires listening intently many times. As such, each track reveals more brilliance. This is the most sophisticated album yet. Still the intense Tool, it's original, smart, and refreshing. More obscure tracks are gradual "blow your mind" revelations. Like the instrumental in "Right In Two": a travel in space at warp speed, settling down and leaving goose bumps and a smile on your face. It takes time to make, and appreciate quality art, not trite shit that appeals to the shallow media and masses. Expand
  82. JesseM
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    This album is the beginning of the next level of music. That is the essence of progressive music. If you don't appreciate this music you have no soul.
  83. JohnD
    Jul 24, 2006
    6
    Look, it's not as bad as some of the more negative reviews would let you believe, but when you're in a record store 20 years from now, and your kid is starting to expand his taste in music, and wants to know which Tool album he should buy, "10,000 Days" should not be the response you give. As for the 200+ comments...I haven't been shaking my head this hard since I read the Look, it's not as bad as some of the more negative reviews would let you believe, but when you're in a record store 20 years from now, and your kid is starting to expand his taste in music, and wants to know which Tool album he should buy, "10,000 Days" should not be the response you give. As for the 200+ comments...I haven't been shaking my head this hard since I read the comments concerning "Frances The Mute" (not that it's bad, it's just that they get too long winded). So, yeah. Expand
  84. willf
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    best rock album of the year
  85. DannyS
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    well, the album has slowly absorbed me, by no means is it immediate...but god what a grower. what a track Rosetta Stoned is, where Maynard appears to be 'off his head' after being left in a hospitals reception - but stand out must be Right in Two, lyrically awesome. if you get a chance to catch them live - grab it with both hands FABULOUS
  86. JasonE
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    As with all of Tool's music, you need to listen to it many times before it really hits home. When I first heard it, it sounded choppy and was boring in the intermission tracks. But each time I've listened, I enjoyed it more and more. It is truly a phenomenal album. Most albums you enjoy less as you wear them out; this album keeps getting better. "Vicarious" could be Tool's As with all of Tool's music, you need to listen to it many times before it really hits home. When I first heard it, it sounded choppy and was boring in the intermission tracks. But each time I've listened, I enjoyed it more and more. It is truly a phenomenal album. Most albums you enjoy less as you wear them out; this album keeps getting better. "Vicarious" could be Tool's best track yet. It builds and builds until the very end of the song. For the person that griped that "Vicarious" was boring because it was simply about the downfalls of TV....open your mind. As with all of Tool's lyrics, it is deeper than that: It is also about how survival itself relies on killing and destroying; that is the circle of life. The remaining tracks span the musical range from soft emotional intensity ("Wings") to heavy hitting ("Jambi", "The Pot") to a more complex intensity ("Rosetta Stoned"). I personal think this is Tool's 2nd best album, next to Aenima. I have one word of advice to all those listening to this album -- listen to it many times before you judge it (and write a review)! Expand
  87. LyndonV
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    definitely not for most people, not commercial at all, hardly promotable on 3-minute friendly radio but for prog fans and musicians this record is definitely a progression into new different and interestingly complex orchestrations. Vicarious starts off with a simple 5/4 beat to get the mood set and by Jambi theyre ready to tear their 9/4 and 9/8 signatures to pieces. They do every definitely not for most people, not commercial at all, hardly promotable on 3-minute friendly radio but for prog fans and musicians this record is definitely a progression into new different and interestingly complex orchestrations. Vicarious starts off with a simple 5/4 beat to get the mood set and by Jambi theyre ready to tear their 9/4 and 9/8 signatures to pieces. They do every obvious progression in 9, starting with 3,2,2,2 in the intro moving to a polyrythym with the guitar in a 4,5 progression and the drums in a 3,3,3 progression, theres even a few hints of danny throwing in 6 and 9 polyrthyms at the same time, definitely one of the strongest pieces with amazing vocal melodies when appropriate. With the Wings duo theres an epic almost prayer like mood featuring a very jazzy breakdown with danny playing in 6 and the guitars jamming in 4 as well as a very celtic vocal feel with bass and drums in 5 and guitar in 4. Definitely noticeable progressions of musicianship from all musicians on this record, I love the blend of jazz with the dark ambience of "traditional" Tool. They really tear through all of these complex orchestrations completely naturally. The Pot speaks for itself, an amazing straightforward 4/4 rock song which they always seem to throw a twist with the strange placing of accents, especially with the main guitar riff. Amazing bass lines with very interesting vocals, especially the vocal intro. The next couple songs are an interlude into the second part of this cd which is a lot more experimental. With Rosetta Stoned theres very experimental singing and lots of technicalities. The whole band utilizes the 11 time signature something they didn't even touch on Lateralus, as well as their somewhat trademark 5. Theres one part thats insanity going back and forth from 8, 10, 8, 11, 9, 9, 9, 12, (all 16th notes) that breaksdown into a crazy ripcoird effect with the guitar and drums slowly getting slower, leading to an 11 jam finishing with danny doing 5 and 6 polyrythyms, 5 on his feet, 6 with his hands. Then the crazy rythmic echo effect comes in with justin bellowing out a funky bass in 15 with a progression of 3,3,3,3,3. By the end of the crazy collage its time for a break. Intension provides this with its staggering bass line in 7, with quiet tabla handrums in the background underneath Maynards howling whispers. Definitely another experimental track of Tool's, very calm and serene with aphex twin type electronic drumming ending the song off. Right In Two ends the cd in a way reminescent of A Perfect Circle's cd closers (Brena - mer de noms, Gravity - 13th Step). Its in the same 3,3,3,4 progression borrowed from Rosetta Stoned with tabla drumming borrowed from Intension. The drumming is very minimal and complex, the vocals quite shamefully easy to relate to. To end the cd they break the quiet song down to a beautiful tabla solo which progresses into a frenzy of drum fills with guitars creeping into the music which and breaks into a howling guitar part in 11/8 in a progression of 6,6,6,4 ending in 11/4 with slashing guitars and then back to the same slow, calm beginning part of the song to wrap the album up. With all of these mathematical implications most people will not enjoy this record as you can not bop your head up and down to this music in any consistent manner, and many people can't really grasp any commonsense within the music. To many it may sound like a collage of madness but it is most definitely a synchronized orchestrated piece of chaos. Very experimental, yet Tool seems to put more of their original flavour mixed within the organized chaos of Lateralus with also some new jazz and cultural influences thrown in to give it a distinct flavour. Definitely a progression for the best band around nowadays. Expand
  88. DennisD
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    This is definately the best album I heard for years, even surpassing Lateralus... It has everything, from the politically laden, over strange trips, to the pure heartache of loosing family members. The way he honors his mom, whoose choises and beleifs in live he didn't agree with (and all but ridiculed with APC's "Judith"), is just amazing.
  89. graemer
    Jun 23, 2006
    3
    Despite Christian W's claims to the contrary, the only people this album would even potentially interest are braindead 16 year old stoners. You know, all of Tool's fanbase. Utter tripe, and therefore I would recommend that you check out Franz Ferdinand.
  90. AndyO
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    It's not Lateralus II, but that's a good thing. After the initial shock of the new sound, wears off, give it another listen, it's an excellent album. All it lacks is a cohesive "album" feel, so I'd give 9.5/10, so I round up on the generous side for my favorite band.
  91. Jon
    Jun 22, 2006
    9
    I bought it the day it hit, and at first listen I didn't care for it much. All the songs sounded alike and the filler songs like Lipan Conjuring only seemed to take away from it even more. But now, after giving it time to wear it's way into me, with every listen this album just gets better and better. Tool's at the top of their game here- even if you don't like the I bought it the day it hit, and at first listen I didn't care for it much. All the songs sounded alike and the filler songs like Lipan Conjuring only seemed to take away from it even more. But now, after giving it time to wear it's way into me, with every listen this album just gets better and better. Tool's at the top of their game here- even if you don't like the songs, don't underestimate them as musicians and songwriters. When the album is really, really good, like on the Pot, I can simply not get enough of this, and I am not one of the Tool fans that live by their name and their name only. As long as you don't come in to the album with the inclination of "Oh it's Tool and only fans will like it" you are going to come out absolutely amazed. There's no deeper meaning, no super secret mystical message here that will somehow put you headstrong onto the path of enlightenment. This is simply music that surpasses anything any other band is currently creating. Don't listen to the haters. My favorite record of the year by far. Best album cover ever, as well. Expand
  92. ThemistoclesC
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Bold, powerful, epic, emotional - this album is truly a journey. After the technical triumph of Lateralus, TOOL return to their warmer Aenima/Undertow sound with lyrics more upfront and personal than ever before. Some people dislike the so called "filler" - I think it's integral to the album's cohesion...
  93. Sly
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Tools best album to date. Buy it now.
  94. helloWaVe
    Jun 20, 2006
    2
    The Tool fans, of course, are going to say this album is great and if you don't think it's great you're not intelligent or perceptive enough to tell. Tool over the years has managed to narrow down their fans to an island of people that live and die by their name. This is a far cry from the 90's when the bands were so infectious they simply dragged you into their sound. The Tool fans, of course, are going to say this album is great and if you don't think it's great you're not intelligent or perceptive enough to tell. Tool over the years has managed to narrow down their fans to an island of people that live and die by their name. This is a far cry from the 90's when the bands were so infectious they simply dragged you into their sound. You were a fan because you wanted to be (or couldn't help but be one), not because you took an oath. Now, 99% of the surviving 90's bands are shells of their former selves and left us all dreaming about what it used to be like. Tool is a prime example. Ask any die-hard Tool fan to go off to a desert island and choose between 10,000 Days and Undertow--I think a lot of these perfect 10! reviews would disappear in a hurry. So Tool fans, have some guts, this thing sucks. Expand
  95. christianw
    Jun 15, 2006
    8
    May not have the (unsurpassed anywhere) shelf life of lateralus, but is surely their darkest album yet, whiah is a very good thing. The guitar solo on Jambi is positively evil, Vicarious has some wonderful death-metal chords and just when you think things couldn't get any darker they hit you with Right in Two. People who react with hostility to this album probably dont have the May not have the (unsurpassed anywhere) shelf life of lateralus, but is surely their darkest album yet, whiah is a very good thing. The guitar solo on Jambi is positively evil, Vicarious has some wonderful death-metal chords and just when you think things couldn't get any darker they hit you with Right in Two. People who react with hostility to this album probably dont have the angsty leanings and superior cranial capacity of the Tool fan. They should go listen to Franz Ferdinand, they probably reckon that stuff's on the cutting edge. Pity for them. Expand
  96. Eric
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    amazing album that was well worth the wait, and even better live (Fox Theater, Detroit May 15). can't wait to hear more of it on tour later this summer. To Tool fans: this is preaching to the choir, but there are some real ignint motherfuckers out there reviewing music; the mainstream disrespect is nothing new. it's annoying, but inconsequential. To the negatives, and the people amazing album that was well worth the wait, and even better live (Fox Theater, Detroit May 15). can't wait to hear more of it on tour later this summer. To Tool fans: this is preaching to the choir, but there are some real ignint motherfuckers out there reviewing music; the mainstream disrespect is nothing new. it's annoying, but inconsequential. To the negatives, and the people who accuse Tool and its fans of pretention and arrogance: The Pot on 10,000 Days is dedicated to you. thanks for your opinion, have fun waiting for the new nickelback album. Expand
  97. vidm
    Jun 14, 2006
    7
    I'm fairly happy with most of the album. Lipan Conjuring, Lost Keys, and Viginti Tres should have been axed. They only detract from what is otherwise and excellent album.
  98. JD
    Jun 14, 2006
    5
    This is more of a musical collage than an album. Very choppy. I've been a Tool "enthusiast" for years. Huge fan. Now I'm starting to wonder if I was just a David Bottrill fan the whole time. They decided to produce this one themselves and it didn't work out. It starts out strong but eventually becomes what seems to be a redundant improvisation. This the first Tool cd This is more of a musical collage than an album. Very choppy. I've been a Tool "enthusiast" for years. Huge fan. Now I'm starting to wonder if I was just a David Bottrill fan the whole time. They decided to produce this one themselves and it didn't work out. It starts out strong but eventually becomes what seems to be a redundant improvisation. This the first Tool cd I've ever found myself skipping through. Not a lot of work or soul was put into this. Expand
  99. ToolFan
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    wow this album is awesome.. i dunno what critics try to do but.. i could lsiten to thsi album for the rest of my life just like any other tool album.. maynards voice just fits the tune so perfectly it doesnt seem real.. he can alter his voice to fit anything and danny carey does a great job on his solos.. like in wings for maire.. they have a very solid and good beat just overall.. if you wow this album is awesome.. i dunno what critics try to do but.. i could lsiten to thsi album for the rest of my life just like any other tool album.. maynards voice just fits the tune so perfectly it doesnt seem real.. he can alter his voice to fit anything and danny carey does a great job on his solos.. like in wings for maire.. they have a very solid and good beat just overall.. if you even LIKE tool youd LOVE this album Expand
  100. MattP
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Beenlistening to it for several weeks now and like most Tool work the album takes repeated listening to fully appreciate. And now my favorite song changes from day to day, the album simply rocks, is not for the 30-second-attention-span crowd, and is being severly underrated by the critics but thats nothing new for Tool. Cant wait to experience it live.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. It's not only a step forward for the band, but a re-embracing of the epic-length rock songs found at the roots of early heavy metal.
  2. When Tool sounds as good as it does on ["Jambi" and "The Pot"] it's hard to get enough. Which makes it all the more baffling that a surprisingly large chunk of the disc is given over to mood-enhancing soundscapes like "Lost Keys" and "Vigniti Tres."
  3. Sounds exactly like you would expect a Tool album to sound.