A Blessing And A Curse

  • Record Label: New West
  • Release Date: Apr 18, 2006
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AaronH
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    I own all the DBT albums from Southern Rock Opera and I think Blessing and a Curse is DBT's second best album next to SRO. Im not sure how you could rate this album above SRO but I think its more accessible and better overall than Decoration Day or the Dirty South. I really enjoy the grooves on all of these tracks but especially Aftermath USA, which for some reason reminds me of the I own all the DBT albums from Southern Rock Opera and I think Blessing and a Curse is DBT's second best album next to SRO. Im not sure how you could rate this album above SRO but I think its more accessible and better overall than Decoration Day or the Dirty South. I really enjoy the grooves on all of these tracks but especially Aftermath USA, which for some reason reminds me of the Rolling Stones' Exile on Main St. All and all I love this band and this record. Expand
  2. Filazafera
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    I am a fan, first of all. This record did not grab me right away like some of the others, but after a few listens I think it is as good as anything they have ever done. Everything they do is gold. I listen to a lot of different bands and I think the Truckers are the best band on the planet right now. See them live and you will be a beliver.
  3. LawrenxceP
    Aug 7, 2006
    8
    Still the best and most solid honest country-rock band around..."world of hurt" is one of their very best and most heartbreaking tunes.
  4. VincentH.
    Mar 19, 2007
    7
    Another amazing album from probably the most consistent rock-band around today. DBT have never made a bad album...ever. They rarely even write weak songs, so despite the fact that this is easily their overall weakest album since Pizza Deliverance, I am comparing this album to three masterpieces in a row (SRO, DD, TDS), so it is still a solid album with more great hooks and musicianship Another amazing album from probably the most consistent rock-band around today. DBT have never made a bad album...ever. They rarely even write weak songs, so despite the fact that this is easily their overall weakest album since Pizza Deliverance, I am comparing this album to three masterpieces in a row (SRO, DD, TDS), so it is still a solid album with more great hooks and musicianship than 90% of any other bands out there. There are three songs I usually skip cause they are kinda boring (Aftermath USA, Gravity's Gone, Space City), but the rest of the songs are all brilliant. Particularly "Feb 14" (contrinuing Patterson Hood's tradition of beautiful and poignant love songs) and "Daylight", two of the best songs DBT have ever recorded. Essentially I love all the Patterson Hood and Jason Isbell songs, but tend to skip the Cooley tracks (sorry Mike...you're still an amazing guitar player). Anyways, if you like DBT and own any of their previous album, you should buy this one and you will love it. I promise. Expand
  5. BartW
    Apr 19, 2006
    9
    I dig the sound, influenced by the stones and the replacements. Layin down the homage!!! This is a succinct and spontaneous album. Not as heavy, but that's alright!
  6. BaronL
    Apr 20, 2006
    8
    The Southern mythology may be replaced by personal struggles and desires but the sound is still as hot as Georgia asphalt.
  7. CurtisL
    Apr 17, 2006
    9
    I can't vote a ten, but their best, most solid record yet, and that's saying a lot.
  8. AndrewD
    Apr 23, 2006
    9
    Great album! Only reason I am not giving it a 10 is becasue I would reserve that rating for The Dirty South and Decoration Day. If you love the truckers, this album wont dissapoint.
  9. stetsonk
    Jun 28, 2006
    5
    After 10 years and 2 absolutely belting albums - in SRO and Dirty South - the Truckers were busting to burst into the mainstream with this record. Like one of the loser jocks populating their best tunes, they blew it. It almost feels deliberate.
  10. Oct 18, 2016
    8
    More blessing than curse.

    A Blessing and a Curse had to sink in. But not a lot. No, it's not "classic DBT", but it's still an emotional, tough, and sweet record at the same time. Cooley's contributions may have been minor, but they have bigger, more personal moments than the rest. Patterson's songs are hard and angry, with a sweet touch at the end. And this is a fun album, too. Angry
    More blessing than curse.

    A Blessing and a Curse had to sink in. But not a lot. No, it's not "classic DBT", but it's still an emotional, tough, and sweet record at the same time. Cooley's contributions may have been minor, but they have bigger, more personal moments than the rest. Patterson's songs are hard and angry, with a sweet touch at the end. And this is a fun album, too. Angry and bitter, sweet and lush. It's an underrated record in their discography.

    Long story short, it's a record they need to play more often.

    Key Tracks:
    "Aftermath USA"
    "Daylight"
    "Space City"
    "A World of Hurt"
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Uncut
    80
    A Blessing... is perhaps a more personal and introspective record than usual. But truly there's still a lot to marvel at. [Apr 2006, p.112]
  2. All in all, this is a calmer Truckers set, less ragged and more polished.
  3. Blender
    80
    The barn-burners are still grimy with brawling guitar, but more than ever shot through with delicate light... and the pithy ballads are crisp as cold beer. [May 2006, p.108]