A Day Without Rain

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2000
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 95
  2. Negative: 12 out of 95

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2015
    8
    Simplesmente amo esse álbum, as faixas "Wild Child", "One by One", "Lazy Days", "The First of Autumn" são incríveis e ainda possui o hit "Only Time".
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums of Enya. I love her and her music so much. My favourite songs on the album are Fallen Embers, Deora Ar Mo Chroi, Wild Child and Tempus Vernum.
  3. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    I do not know why almost all critics did not like this album. Enya made a masterpiece for new age lovers. For some reason it won a Grammy, didn't it? It'll make you go into a relax atmosphere every time.
  4. JonL
    Aug 5, 2007
    0
    This album is a musical Quaalude, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but its sheer vapidity is enough to infuriate me.
  5. Prometheus
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    One of enya's better album. I'm not sure what the critics are smoking but it must be affecting their judgment skills. There is no good reason while this should be so poorly reviewed.
  6. DevinG
    Jun 13, 2007
    5
    There's nothing worng with it, but it has been done before. Her one trick pony is about dead.
  7. RobbieC
    May 4, 2007
    2
    A really drowsy album. Nothing really happening here but a few attempts at radio-friendliness.
  8. CiaranG
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    If you are stressed out or just after hard work, you will absolutely love Enya's music.
  9. SA
    Dec 3, 2006
    4
    Enya's background music...nothing compelling enough to real the listner in. She forever sounds the same and the montone of her music and voice leaves the listener sleeping.
  10. HarryM
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    Enya is a delight to listen to. Her voice is amazingly controlled and she doesn't scream her lyrics. I'm intrigued by the fact that Enya composes, plays and sings all her songs.
  11. JonathanC
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    Enya, once again makes an amazing album with some soothing, some energentic, but all wonderful pieces of music that are perfect for different settings. Whether your reading a book your fond of or, just relaxing after a tough day at the office, Enya will bring you to a new world for hal an hour...and if you have her other cd's you will have just as much enjoyment.
  12. CalderaS
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    excellent. i love wild child
  13. AbbyW
    May 16, 2005
    10
    I loved A Day Without Rain. I like this album so much that I listen to it every day. This was the first Enya album I listened to. I am absolutely going to listen to all her other albums now.
  14. HamiltonP
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    Marvelous CD. The Enya´s voice is a dream that never would may to stop. The dream where the blue sky, perfumed and beautiful flowers are with us. I don´t want to wake!!!!
  15. GlennP
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    I loved it! Relaxation is the word for this music. Some complain that Enya doesn't change from album to album. I say "when it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
  16. monicas
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    I found "aday without rain" to be very safisticated and it helped me through a hardtime in my life when i would have given up hope of ever finding true happyness.
  17. ElizabethR
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    this is a wonderful album to listen to when you are reading or working because it relaxes you
  18. weiyuanc
    Sep 4, 2004
    8
    i generally hate pop and the like, and live in my own world of classical music. enya has demonstrated a refreshing change in modern music, incorporating meaningful lyrics and polyphony, which raises its musical value. its definitely much better than other types of music ive listened to (and swore not to listen again) and i hence rate it 8.
  19. BenjaminBunny
    Apr 17, 2004
    1
    If you own "Watermark" or "Shepherd Moons" this one is completely useless.
  20. LucindaT
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    What can I say, but Enya is great! It's a relief to hear such beautiful, uplifting music, instead of just more of the factory-produced meaningless pop, rap etc. that most my peers listen to (I'm 16). Anyone who says Enya is redoing things over should just take a look at the repetitive, monotone songs on the music charts today.
  21. JessicaL.
    Nov 23, 2003
    10
    Enya rocks. She doesn't follow the trend to dabble in other types of music to keep up with the other bands, she sings what she feels not what she wants people to like.
  22. JessicaL.
    Nov 23, 2003
    10
    Enya rocks. She doesn't follow the trend to dabble in other types of music to keep up with the other bands, she sings what she feels not what she wants people to like.
  23. PatC
    Nov 14, 2003
    2
    Enya's early work is a matrix of relaxation infused with startling intelligence. This album is proof that her relaxation craft remains intact while her intelligence continues to wane. There is increasingly less to discover in her successive outings. She seems like an Alzheimers patient who annoyingly forgets what she's already done. A message and a feeling is not necessarily Enya's early work is a matrix of relaxation infused with startling intelligence. This album is proof that her relaxation craft remains intact while her intelligence continues to wane. There is increasingly less to discover in her successive outings. She seems like an Alzheimers patient who annoyingly forgets what she's already done. A message and a feeling is not necessarily conveyed by a tune that sounds like an earlier tune that had a message and a feeling. Her music remains pleasant, but nonetheless is simply chewing gum for the ears, in diminishing flavors. If you want to know what her next 14 albums will sound like, listen to this one. Expand
  24. RalphW
    May 1, 2003
    10
    Enya's songs are some of the best ever recorded. They allow you to really get into the music. They are relaxing. Everyone should appreciate beautiful music.
  25. S.M.Mitchell
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    Enya brings an astounding amount of comfort and soothing sounds to the temples of our heads. With the hardcore hype, and te cliche` lyrics from random bands, Enya is a nice change to go to for ultimate relaxation.
  26. SteveT
    Aug 30, 2002
    10
    I don't know what some of the other critics are talking about?In a time when bubblegum pop and shallow hiphop rule mainstream, Enya gives us a fresh and inspiring alternative. The above critics are way off in this one
  27. DerekO.
    Aug 25, 2002
    7
    28 is a ridiculous score! Should be about 70... I had to laugh while reading the opinions of the "professional" reviewers. Enya to me has always been good mellow mood music. I've never seriously "critiqued" it beyond that, so the 28 score was incentive for me to pull out "A Day Without Rain" and give it MY objective review. 1) For depth and message, a few songs have "meaning" worth 28 is a ridiculous score! Should be about 70... I had to laugh while reading the opinions of the "professional" reviewers. Enya to me has always been good mellow mood music. I've never seriously "critiqued" it beyond that, so the 28 score was incentive for me to pull out "A Day Without Rain" and give it MY objective review. 1) For depth and message, a few songs have "meaning" worth reflecting on, some others are meaningless fluff. Ranges from good to drivel, which is the same or better as 98% of the competition. Rating this category = 6 2) Musically, this is pretty good stuff. The melodies are pleasing, soothing, and distinctive from each other. Rating this category = 8 3) For breaking new ground, don't look here. Overall Rating is a 7. I never listened to Enya's lyrics before, so I won't spoil my enjoyment now. "Mom, I just listen to the music..." Sure, it could be more adventuresome, but standing by itself, it's still good music, and still is going to stay in my collection. I give it an 8 for mellow mood music use. I give it a 6 if I consider "depth" of the message and originality. Average of those = 7 Expand
  28. AndrewsD.
    Feb 1, 2002
    10
    Absolultely inspires the heart.
  29. Maria
    Jan 4, 2002
    10
    Enya's voice is that of tranquil and beauty. After the events of Sept. 11, I can see that her music will be the torch that lights our way in this dark hour. For this is what it does to it's listenner. It brightens our nights and gives us hope. Her voice is that of a muse. I highly reccomend you to buy the album! It is a must buy! And to those critics.....I'm sure Enya's voice is that of tranquil and beauty. After the events of Sept. 11, I can see that her music will be the torch that lights our way in this dark hour. For this is what it does to it's listenner. It brightens our nights and gives us hope. Her voice is that of a muse. I highly reccomend you to buy the album! It is a must buy! And to those critics.....I'm sure they're just sad little folks who could ever emancipate music from the jail it's in now.....think Britney. Expand
  30. DesireeO.
    Nov 26, 2001
    8
    I haven't heard the whole cd yet but I'm impressed with Enya's song Only Time. For some reason it brings tears to my eyes everytime I listen to it. I'm hoping to get the cd and I'm sure it's going to be a great album.
  31. Angel
    Nov 4, 2001
    10
    This album made me a fan (perhaps the biggest) of Enya!
  32. Hollie
    Oct 24, 2001
    10
    i love this album. Enya's song " only time" is so peaceful and soothing.
  33. LoriP
    Oct 22, 2001
    10
    My 2 year old son wanted her CD. He would tell everyone in the car to be quiet when he would hear "A Day Without Rain" because he enjoyed the melody so much. I bought the CD and he begs to play it everytime we're in the car. Thank you Enya, for allowing my son to have a greater appreciation for music.
  34. EdwinS.
    Oct 22, 2001
    9
    Of all the Enya albums I have heard, this new album sounds like a "modern" Enya. Gone are the many strange, esoteric Latin lyrics. I find her melodies more gentler and with only a little little bit of Celtic in it--which is good because she doesn't seem to brainwash and transform the whole world into a Celtic music cult movement.
  35. scott
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    Enya is great!
  36. DeanK.
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    This is the best music I ever heard, Enya is numero uno !!! I woould like to change my vote from 10 to 10,000 she deserves it all.
  37. TammyS
    Sep 1, 2001
    10
    I absolutely love this album! Very beautiful... :)
  38. ThomasC.
    Aug 28, 2001
    2
    This is easily Enya's least inspiring album thus far. Its more of the same with the good highlights taken out.
  39. JackO.
    Jul 23, 2001
    9
    Enya's "A Day Without Rain," while having a few mediocre peices, is one of my favorites.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Enya keeps the comfort factor high with several compositions that are arguably descendants of her 1989 pop hit, "Orinoco Flow." She steps outside of that zone on the first single, "Only Time," an elegant effort that is wrapped in soothing harmonics fondly reminiscent of vintage Beach Boys tunes...
  2. Self-seriousness and artistic water-treading aside, there's nothing wrong with A Day Without Rain. It's just that few households need more than an hour or so of Enya music, and Shepherd Moons and Watermark serve that purpose far more effectively.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    25
    Unless you're bound in an herbal body wrap, there's simply no acceptable reason to listen to this New Age nonsense. [11/24/2000, p.82]