Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    70
    The unfortunate harm that has come with Portnoy's dismissal is that the drum sections are now entirely bland and lack any real power. This combined with the band's decision to include three ballads are really the only things wrong with A Dramatic Turn of Events.
  2. Kerrang!
    Oct 25, 2011
    60
    As ever, they do a fine job here juggling endless solos among intricate vocal passages and harmonies. [Sep 2011, p.51]
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    A Dramatic Turn of Events, while not a perfect offering, has enough of what makes Dream Theater attractive to make it a necessary purchase for fans.
  4. Oct 13, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, A Dramatic Turn of Events probably isn't too far from what this band would've created even with Portnoy in the ranks. It still sounds like a Dream Theater album, and that's all anyone's ever going to ask for.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    50
    The bulk of A Dramatic Turn Events finds Dream Theater perhaps too settled into their ways.
  6. Q Magazine
    Oct 13, 2011
    40
    [Mangini's] speed is not in much evidence on A Dramatic Turn of Events, though, where prog-metal riffs give way far too easily to pianos and technical indulgence. [Oct 2011, p.120]
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    Lol, stupid critics don't know good music.
    Track by track review here,
    On the Backs of Angels 10/10 What a great song! Everytime I listen to
    Lol, stupid critics don't know good music.
    Track by track review here,
    On the Backs of Angels 10/10 What a great song! Everytime I listen to it, I'm just blown away!
    Build Me Up Break Me Down 10/10 Definitely the most underrated song on the album cool riffs, cool lyrics.
    Lost Not Forgotten 10/10 Very Heavy Song, I should definitely listen to it more,
    This is the Life 7/10 I'm Not a big Fan of Ballads, Feels like this song is just a break from the awesomeness.
    Bridges in the Sky 10/10 My personal favorite song here, the throat signing is weird but the rest of this song packs a punch. Bridges in the sky is better than Octavarium.
    Outcry 10/10 Such a beautiful song about standing up to tyranny, I love it
    Far From Heaven 6/10 Another Break from the awesomeness, one that I personally cant stand.
    Breaking All Illusions 10/10 a Prog Masterpiece!! One of Dream Theaters greatest contributions to the musical world.
    Beneath the Surface 9.5/10 May be a Ballad but I like this one, James does a great job with the lyric. But the Keyboard solo in the middle ruins it kind of.

    A Dramatic Turn of Events is one of my favorite Dream Theater albums I prefer it to Images and Words
    Final Score: 9.1
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    Great album. The drum sound is a bit lacking compared to other DT releases, but the performances by everyone remain solid, and the new drummerGreat album. The drum sound is a bit lacking compared to other DT releases, but the performances by everyone remain solid, and the new drummer is pretty good. No song is too long and there's plenty of progressive stuff along with some heavy riffing and soloing by the always talented John Petrucci. 8.5 out of 10; Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    This album is great. Sure, Portnoy left and was replaced by Mike Mangini, and that has had a huge impact on the band, but it does NOT spellThis album is great. Sure, Portnoy left and was replaced by Mike Mangini, and that has had a huge impact on the band, but it does NOT spell the end of Dream Theater. The drums in this album are fairly laid back because the band wrote them without Mike Mangini's input. He may not be as good as Portnoy, but Mangini is still a fantastic drummer, and I can't wait to hear how the band sounds when he gets a say. The instrumentation on this album is absolutely top notch, and the songwriting of the band has not declined at all. Out of all the songs on this album, I like them all, love about half, and can't stop listening to one. I own every Dream Theater album and DVD, have heard every song numerous times, and Breaking All Illusions is now my favorite song of theirs. I love Portnoy, but if this is what Dream Theater sounds like without him, then I'm glad he left. Full Review »