• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Jun 22, 2004
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 121

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WesM.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Is it crazy that I liked this way more than Yankee Hotel Foxtrot?
  2. evilb.
    Jan 20, 2005
    9
    it is amazing! i thought that YHF would be the end of wilco: you simply can't go on re-inventing yourself. and yet... this record is clearly wilco, but not as you've heard it before: it sounds dirtier than YHF, rougher on the edges. and i llllove it, Tweedy takes his electric guitar further than ever before. listen the opening track "at least that's what you said" and try it is amazing! i thought that YHF would be the end of wilco: you simply can't go on re-inventing yourself. and yet... this record is clearly wilco, but not as you've heard it before: it sounds dirtier than YHF, rougher on the edges. and i llllove it, Tweedy takes his electric guitar further than ever before. listen the opening track "at least that's what you said" and try not to think about Neil Young! great record! Expand
  3. ale
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    Sure, nothing's perfect, but this is my favorite Wilco album. While I love YHF, I think it was so quickly embraced by (some) critics partly because it appeared "dangerous" or "difficult" in light of WB refusing to release it (the pussies). And so there was (IMO) a bit of a backlash against AGIB, a far better album in many respects. I think all the hipper-than-thou critics bashed this Sure, nothing's perfect, but this is my favorite Wilco album. While I love YHF, I think it was so quickly embraced by (some) critics partly because it appeared "dangerous" or "difficult" in light of WB refusing to release it (the pussies). And so there was (IMO) a bit of a backlash against AGIB, a far better album in many respects. I think all the hipper-than-thou critics bashed this record because Wilco had perhaps moved to a higher commercial plain. Anyway, AGIB has some of my favorite Wilco songs on it, and though I usually skip Less Than You Think, I also don't dismiss it out of hand just because it's unconventional. A great album that fits nicely in the Wilco catalog. Expand
  4. eliasb
    Jun 21, 2004
    8
    after all the hype of YHF i was worried Wilco would come out with a dud, A Ghost Is Born isnt. It's a solid album that makes some changes to the last album and creates a couple of totally new styles as well. Spiders (Kidsmoke) is Wilco's most challenging song to date and if you let i t seep into your brain, you will be heavily rewarded.
  5. JMarkum
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    although not a classic like YHF, Wilco have yet again made a remarkably strong album. The most interesting thing about this one is how difficult it is, nothing comes rather easy besides Hummingbird. I recommend.
  6. JonH
    Jul 2, 2004
    10
    Another wonderful album from Wilco, Since Being There They've been releasing one classic after the other, amazing band.
  7. JoeyM
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    I can understand how a fan who just discovered Wilco as a result of YHF would be disappointed with this release. Indeed, if one was unaware of how different YHF was from Summerteeth - and how different Summerteeth was from Being There - one would be surprised by how different this album is. "Different" is a word that Jeff Tweedy, Wilco's frontman, takes seriously. His music continues I can understand how a fan who just discovered Wilco as a result of YHF would be disappointed with this release. Indeed, if one was unaware of how different YHF was from Summerteeth - and how different Summerteeth was from Being There - one would be surprised by how different this album is. "Different" is a word that Jeff Tweedy, Wilco's frontman, takes seriously. His music continues to progress, taking him and the band in different directions from year to year. AGIB is, in some ways, a move away from the sonic expirementation of YHF and, in another way, a move more deeply into that same spirit. For example, "Handshake Drugs" (in many ways the CD's centerpiece) keeps it together for four or five minutes before descending into noise. "Less Than You Think" takes this idea even further, devolving into 11 minutes of static. Allegedly, this is because Tweedy wanted the album to be Interactive - in other words, stand up and hit the "next track button." Perhaps this also explains the blast of Neil Young-style guitar that almost blew my speakers out after the quiet opening of "At Least That's What You Said." The album features several stand out tracks - I think "Hummingbird," "Theoloians" and "Handshake Drugs" are among the best Wilco tracks yet. It also holds together as an album, taking us on a dark, personal journey through Tweedy's life. It took me several listens to enjoy this album - you might not like it on first listen. See if you feel differently on listen #10, though. It is well worth it. Expand
  8. lucasw
    Oct 3, 2004
    9
    I don't know if I just haven't listened to YHF enough. Would Wilco recieve the critiiscm for A Ghost... if they hadn't released YHF before it. I think song for song this is one of the best albums released this year. Sure it's self indulgent all albums are they are a personal extension of the person writing them. Luckily for us it Jeff Tweedy and Co. being I don't know if I just haven't listened to YHF enough. Would Wilco recieve the critiiscm for A Ghost... if they hadn't released YHF before it. I think song for song this is one of the best albums released this year. Sure it's self indulgent all albums are they are a personal extension of the person writing them. Luckily for us it Jeff Tweedy and Co. being self-indulgent, and not some crappy band. The solo's are awesome, the lyrics ultra-personal. It's a great album, on the very first listen. Expand
  9. DevendraG
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    Best of '04. In every way an equal to Summerteeth and YHF, this album is sure to please many a Wilco fan: a record that is earnest, intimate, fresh, and entirely human. Give it a few spins though, as this is definitely Wilco's most challenging release to date.
  10. jibink
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    Easy to get lost in this one, the most interesting album of the year so far...love it!
  11. IanR
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    this album is amazing... another new, creative, unexpected work from wilco. more organic and warm sounding than yankee hotel foxtrot, with some amazing guitar works the likes of which have never really been seen from wilco. on par with YHF, not necessarily better but not at all worse, and entirely different.
  12. wo
    Jun 26, 2004
    7
    I appreciate the fact that they are doing different things this time out; however, it just doesn't come across as convincingly as before. I was kind of dissappointed with it at first, and although it is growing on me "a ghost is born" doesn't show as much potential as it's predecessor.
  13. d.sling
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    This one tops YHF. It may lack some of the gems that "Being There" had, but it's consistently inventive and enjoyable. My only discretion is that prolonged sonic drone on track 11.
  14. markf
    Jul 10, 2004
    9
    If you love Wilco, then you will love this. I'm one of those crazies who loves the whole album. I have no problem with any of the "difficult" songs. It's not perfect but in my opinion, it's as close as they've ever come. Neil Young and Billy Doherty would be proud. This album might not be as awesome as "the Beatles" or "After the Gold Rush", but it's as close as If you love Wilco, then you will love this. I'm one of those crazies who loves the whole album. I have no problem with any of the "difficult" songs. It's not perfect but in my opinion, it's as close as they've ever come. Neil Young and Billy Doherty would be proud. This album might not be as awesome as "the Beatles" or "After the Gold Rush", but it's as close as anyone can get. I'm not going to go into the "troubles'" with " people's problems." Just enjoy this for what it is. A mind-blowing genre-expanding walk on the wild side. Expand
  15. MookiePatookie
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Anyone who gives this cd less than 9 does not have ears to hear with!! Tweedy and co. stand on the shoulders of giants to produce yet another masterpiece!
  16. DC
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    A solid album. The lyrics are Tweedy's usual uneven output--several gems buried in a whole lot o' "huh?"--but the work as a whole is a wonderful mood piece. It fits nicely into the background without ever allowing you to ignore it. In reality, I'd give Ghost an 8, but I bumped that up to a 10 to offset idiots who unjustly gave it a 0.
  17. StanleyI
    Jul 5, 2004
    10
    Sublime
  18. AdamK
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Richer and more dense than Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, this album leads the way for Rock and Roll into the future; with the exception of some work by Radohead, there hasn't been as good of an album in 25 years.
  19. KalleL
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Wilco may be my favorite band - all categories. Thier last is their best!
  20. joeln
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    This is by far my fave Wilco album and i have all of them, yeah "Summerteeth" is great but for me this is the album i find myself always going back to. "Less than you Think" is a freaking great song, it's just the noise for 10 minutes that people shouldnt enjoy, but the song is beautiful. "Hell is Chrome" is the best song of all time, along with "Theologains" Listen Up, AGISB is a This is by far my fave Wilco album and i have all of them, yeah "Summerteeth" is great but for me this is the album i find myself always going back to. "Less than you Think" is a freaking great song, it's just the noise for 10 minutes that people shouldnt enjoy, but the song is beautiful. "Hell is Chrome" is the best song of all time, along with "Theologains" Listen Up, AGISB is a Classic! You'll See! Expand
  21. StevenPro
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Stylus' review is spot on. This album is absolutely stunning.
  22. EricH
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    A delightful masterpiece. More complex than YHF, and consequently a more mature Tweedy shines through.
  23. BairdM
    Jun 21, 2004
    9
    Expectations are high. Forget them. Expectations are a waste of time. Just listen to it and try not to fall in love. A Ghost Is Born is one more badge of genius for one of the best and underrated bands in the world. There are some of the best riffs I've heard in years on there and the lyrics are stellar as per usual. Wilco has a particular knack for the gorgeous that doesn't Expectations are high. Forget them. Expectations are a waste of time. Just listen to it and try not to fall in love. A Ghost Is Born is one more badge of genius for one of the best and underrated bands in the world. There are some of the best riffs I've heard in years on there and the lyrics are stellar as per usual. Wilco has a particular knack for the gorgeous that doesn't look like it's going anywhere. Necessity made me download. Out of fanticism, I will buy. Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    rocks. you gotta listen to it over a period of time to get it. when you do, you realize it's amazing.
  25. andyc
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    wilco evolves, if you give this a bad rating you are lieing to yourself, they have melodic power, lyrical power, briliiant arrangements, original, honest guitar playing by tweedy, another wilco classic
  26. christophes
    Jun 25, 2004
    9
    Not as perfect as YHF but once again largely above the average... and the concurence
  27. SchwineyP
    Jul 14, 2004
    9
    I think its their best effort. Definitely a "headphone" record.
  28. stanh
    Sep 13, 2004
    9
    I complain about this album -- too long, too self-indulgent, too whatever -- and yet I continue to listen to it and derive great pleasure from it. I think I'm actually starting to like it better than YHF. And yet I still complain, but a little less each time. Tweedy & Co. slowly, surely sink their hooks into me. To those who malign: How many times have you listened to A Ghost Is I complain about this album -- too long, too self-indulgent, too whatever -- and yet I continue to listen to it and derive great pleasure from it. I think I'm actually starting to like it better than YHF. And yet I still complain, but a little less each time. Tweedy & Co. slowly, surely sink their hooks into me. To those who malign: How many times have you listened to A Ghost Is Born? I know it's 2004, but trying having some patience. It's reckless, heartfelt, pain-bred beauty. Expand
  29. SeamusS
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Easily Their Most Accesable And Brillaint Album. Though its hard to compare it to Yanke Hotel Foxtrot, its easier to say that it comes together much better on first listens. Brilliant album.
  30. ElliottM
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    It's a flawed album, yet it's still a perfect album. My favorite album of 2004.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. This time, as well as simply delivering the goods, Wilco come bearing a basket of extras.
  2. Unlike the first three Wilco albums and even more than Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, A Ghost is Born requires careful listening.
  3. Ghost is not a lot of fun. Still, it's an accomplishment, because it's an angry album.