A Little More Personal (Raw)

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 80
  2. Negative: 18 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EthanK
    Jan 11, 2006
    5
    This is not my type of music at all, but surprisingly, this CD is not half bad. Whether or not Lohan had any artistic input at all, there are some good tunes scattered through this CD. In the hands of a better singer/performer this could be closer to a 7/10. I've got to admit....this is pretty good pop rock....and it blows contemporaries like Ashlee Simpson and Hillary Duff out of This is not my type of music at all, but surprisingly, this CD is not half bad. Whether or not Lohan had any artistic input at all, there are some good tunes scattered through this CD. In the hands of a better singer/performer this could be closer to a 7/10. I've got to admit....this is pretty good pop rock....and it blows contemporaries like Ashlee Simpson and Hillary Duff out of the water. "Who Loves You" is an industrial NIN-esque pounding teenage sex anthem. And while "Confessions" and "My Innocence"'s lyrics are riddled with teen-angst cliches they still deliver a powerful punch thanks to the tunes themselves and the conviction with which Lohan delivers them. And "Black Hole" is picture perfect pop rock. I still wouldn't buy this album, and if you're an indie/alternative rock fan like myself it's not worth the money. But it's not a horrible listen if you can snag a copy of it online. Expand
  2. ChrisE
    Nov 8, 2006
    8
    I might not be a dedicated fan of Lindsay Lohan, but I sure as hell know good music when I hear it. Her first album (04's Speak) had some bland filler but most of it featured examples of great Top 40 ear candy, from her debut smash single "Rumors" to the relationship-questioning "Over," the syrup-y "Symptoms of You" and beautiful ballad "Very Last Moment in Time." Her sophomore I might not be a dedicated fan of Lindsay Lohan, but I sure as hell know good music when I hear it. Her first album (04's Speak) had some bland filler but most of it featured examples of great Top 40 ear candy, from her debut smash single "Rumors" to the relationship-questioning "Over," the syrup-y "Symptoms of You" and beautiful ballad "Very Last Moment in Time." Her sophomore effort took some getting used to--upon a first listen long ago I knew the first single "Confessions" proved to be a great track and showcased Lindsay's ever-maturing singing abilities. But I couldn't find much about the remainder that had the likable qualities of Speak. Upon further listens, though, I started to realize that Lindsay's current studio release is the type that requires additional listens to get the most out of it--for example, "Black Hole" is one of the catchiest tracks on record, "I Live For The Day" is likable enough (during its blaring chorus), "A Little More Personal," despite an oft-confusing and slighlty odd opening line, soars during its chorus and "If It's Alright" is stellar. The closing track "Beautiful" is like its name suggests and is also a nice final touch to an overall surprisingly mature and likable disc. As a whole, it might not sound as radio-influenced as Speak, but track-for-track Lindsay delivered a pretty good album. Expand
  3. Jonathan
    Jun 1, 2006
    9
    Wow, this album really impressed me...the fact that she wrote a lot of the songs was incredible...i am a musician and it is awesome to hear real music...yes her vocals aren't friggin incredible but they are actually enjoyable...Good Listen
  4. BenB
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    This album her best one yet the songs are all catchy and has some good lyrics throughout the album. Her voice has really developed since speak which seemed to be quite teen popish. Hope the Next one No Little Angel will be as good as this one.
  5. JessS
    Mar 5, 2006
    8
    This is a great album, I downloaded it off the internet when it first came out and i decided that it was better than her first ablum (speak). My favourite song on the album is 'My Innocence' followed closely by 'If you Were Me'.
  6. joec
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    finally someone who is worse that christina uglylera, or that jessica simpsons.. this lindsay chick is hillarious. Heh, Playboy is beckoning, before your twins start sagging
  7. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    4
    my friend is a big fan of lindsay lohan, but i don't like her, she begged me to listen to this album because she claims it was amazing, so i did, and i thought it was crappy, lindsay sounds like she has a continuous cold, like her nose was clogged up or someting, she's not a rocker, and she can't sing, she should just stick to acting, which she's not really good at either...
  8. KylieM
    Apr 8, 2007
    0
    Terrible vocals. Too hypocritical.
  9. ACRG
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    I really lovee this album. It's amazing!! And i think "No Little Angel" will be amazing just like this cd and speak!!
  10. Roz
    Dec 14, 2005
    0
    Again... why is this girl a star?
  11. HasABrain
    Jan 14, 2006
    3
    I haven't heard the album. I just wanted to say that anyone who can't tell "On Crack" is being sarcastic does not deserve to own a computer. That post was hilarious, but not quite as hilarious as the one from "j." j, you win the moron contest, hands down. Congratulations!
  12. ixata
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    it isnt fresh, its out everything out there.. but however, there's sumthing bout it that keeps me listenin to it all day, n dat sumthin is herself.. critics say that she cant convey emotions, bt they are wrong. theyre unemotional icecreams.. listenin to this album, its easy to hear the pain, the love, the happiness, projected through her husky unique vice, unlike ashlee and hilary.. it isnt fresh, its out everything out there.. but however, there's sumthing bout it that keeps me listenin to it all day, n dat sumthin is herself.. critics say that she cant convey emotions, bt they are wrong. theyre unemotional icecreams.. listenin to this album, its easy to hear the pain, the love, the happiness, projected through her husky unique vice, unlike ashlee and hilary.. its not so catchy, so you won't get bored with it to soon. ultimately, lindsay rawkz lyk alanis too! Expand
  13. marisela
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    i love it ...... but i want more
  14. AlexanderC
    Feb 17, 2006
    7
    I normally don't like this kind of music but i gave it a try anyway. I think she has done a lot of progress. I just can't see why people always want to bring this girl down. Yeah ok, she's a popular hollywood star but does this make this album less good?
  15. matiusn
    Feb 8, 2006
    3
    Although people might say she is talented or whatever, you people just have to face it : the only reason this album sells is because of her looks and her Hollywood fame. Listening through this album is a drag and irritates listeners with squeeky vocals and banshee-like shrieking. I would have rated this lower but having a face like that on the cover is a warranted bonus.
  16. catarinas
    Feb 8, 2006
    9
    i realy lke this album... confessions of a broken heart, a beautiful life and edge of seventeen are my favorite ones.. linds.. you rock.. keep doing your songs (and movies)! luv ya linds!!
  17. Galen
    Mar 9, 2006
    0
    We really should stop giving record deals to movie stars. There are plenty of aspiring musicians who deserve a chance.
  18. EDUARDOC
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    i think that changes are good. lindsay loha has a strong voice but i still like the cd alot and its kind of sad that she put songs about her life she is trying really hard guys dont called lindsay lohan a bictch i mean if you where her you would feel the same pain as her . anyways its a good album.
  19. Billy
    Dec 15, 2005
    1
    Why is she a star? Tits.
  20. joeaverage
    Dec 18, 2005
    1
    When will she finally display her amazing talentS in the correct manner ? That is in Playboy? Lindsay Lohan and all the pop girlies like Kelly Clarkson, Christina Aguilea, Hillary Duff, Jessica Simpson are all shit and not talent
  21. j
    Jan 11, 2006
    1
    Fred R and "on crack" got to be 1st degree stalkers of Lohan. She is a made up entity of hollywood that is designed to make as much money as they can while making art less credible. Its obvious that both of you are brain dead idiots that buys into that crap!
  22. mgsc
    Jan 16, 2006
    0
    I have two words for you: Dana Plato.
  23. cesp
    Jan 17, 2006
    3
    I bought this album because I loved her single confessions, but I was terribly disappointed witht he album. The songs all resemble each other. There is no variety. SHe may have talent, but this album barely proves that.
  24. jane
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    haha that Confessions video is so funny and horrible. Look lady, I come from a broken home too, but you don't see me me prancing about in an expensive designer princess dress to complain about it. I'M NOT THAT LUCKY. (/bitter)
  25. AndyMAC118
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    Well I only have a few words to say these album is brilliant well written and downright addictive. she may be a wanna be kelly clarkson, but she has done a great job of it.
  26. sheilae
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    u guyz need to stop bein so narrowminded. lindsay lohan has soo much talent and this album is awesome u just have to give it time omg so amazing.
  27. pomo
    Jan 27, 2006
    3
    A definite genius poet...actually such statements do not even deserve sarcasm. The sheer magnitude of the albums crapiness is directly proportional to the amount that Lindsay actually had to do with the album in the first place. The singer songwriter category has been dealt a striking blow with every album that is sold of this steaming pile. This girl clearly needs less free time, unless A definite genius poet...actually such statements do not even deserve sarcasm. The sheer magnitude of the albums crapiness is directly proportional to the amount that Lindsay actually had to do with the album in the first place. The singer songwriter category has been dealt a striking blow with every album that is sold of this steaming pile. This girl clearly needs less free time, unless she plans on doing more drugs, which may actually give her a more interesting perspective of life. Expand
  28. TyrraT
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    This one beats the first hands down! The vocals are much better and the songs... WOW! And for all those who care she does write the songs! She has helped write over half the songs on each album. I like it!
  29. Shawna
    Mar 2, 2006
    4
    She doesnt write her own songs. So why should I rate her on voice which is fake, he movies, bleh im not going even comment on that and writeing. when its all FAKE. Iill give her a 4 for trying.
  30. Manaph
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    So more mature than other singers of her age, speacilly in the way that COABH is writen for his father. There are some covers that definitly rocks, that songs are I WANT YOU TO WANT ME, that's way better than the no doubt one, and edge of seventeen, a very difficult song to sing, but lindsay do it very well. The songs are fresh, originals, with very good and diverse rhythm. All that So more mature than other singers of her age, speacilly in the way that COABH is writen for his father. There are some covers that definitly rocks, that songs are I WANT YOU TO WANT ME, that's way better than the no doubt one, and edge of seventeen, a very difficult song to sing, but lindsay do it very well. The songs are fresh, originals, with very good and diverse rhythm. All that makes that the album calification is 10 (ten); if it would be another one xD Expand
  31. HumbertoR
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Really strong set of songs. The only song I don't like is "My Innocence". Otherwise, her voice is extremely strong and I think out of Hil and Ash, she is the best and has the most talent (acting and singing!). It's a good cd full of emotion that IS believable!
  32. SezyLaBomba
    Dec 11, 2005
    5
    Pros: Confessions is a brilliant cut, great production, much better than any attempt by Ashlee Cons: Lindsay's voice gets washed up in the great production, her think voice, songs lack originality Overview: Only buy this CD when in ten years in becomes $4.99
  33. OnCrack
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Look, everyone's just jealous cause this wonderful, self-made genius exposes overrated hipsters such as Bjork and Bob Dylan for what they really are: contrived, manufactured and lacking in the immense depth that this cutting edge, no holds barred artista brings to the table. The Great Lindsay Lohan. Face the facts, Wonder Woman, Mother Teresa, John Lennon, Jesus, Buddha, you pick Look, everyone's just jealous cause this wonderful, self-made genius exposes overrated hipsters such as Bjork and Bob Dylan for what they really are: contrived, manufactured and lacking in the immense depth that this cutting edge, no holds barred artista brings to the table. The Great Lindsay Lohan. Face the facts, Wonder Woman, Mother Teresa, John Lennon, Jesus, Buddha, you pick your favs, and like me you'll quickly conclude that none of them obviously can hold a candle to Lohan. I'll be the first to concede that Lindsay's cute, of course, but it's the raw talent and genius of this great artist, not to mention her amazing inner vision, that just makes me and you quiver and it's this alone that's enabled this wonderful little slice of apple pie to win the hearts and minds of the world. Buy this album, without hestitation, it's pure genius. Expand
  34. AnthonyV
    Dec 20, 2005
    3
    Tits? Not anymore. Pitch correction? Yes.
  35. FredR
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    This album is incredible. If you don't like it then you didn't listen to it, let alone buy it. Daughter to Father and My Innocence are epics. Most of the songs are rockers and If It's Alright and If You Were me stand out. Every song is amazing with the exception of 2 cover songs which are decent but not spectacular. I think this album will appeal more to an adult This album is incredible. If you don't like it then you didn't listen to it, let alone buy it. Daughter to Father and My Innocence are epics. Most of the songs are rockers and If It's Alright and If You Were me stand out. Every song is amazing with the exception of 2 cover songs which are decent but not spectacular. I think this album will appeal more to an adult contemporary audience, it will go over most teenagers heads. It's too bad the record company doesn't market albums like this to mature listeners who are loyal to artists, they really miss the boat there. Lindsay sings her heart out, the production is huge, and the songwriting is unbelievable. The haters showed up for this one, pay them no mind. Lindsay Lohan made an awesome album and you won't regret buying it. Expand
  36. Matt
    Dec 9, 2005
    5
    A Little More Personal's songs are just that - more personal than before - and they seem to reflect how Lohan feels. It's not opportunistic like Ashlee Simpson's I Am Me. Still, Lohan's vocals are a little too weak for songs like "Confessions Of A Broken Heart," and there's uneven material again. This time, the faster songs are worse, with the exception of the fun A Little More Personal's songs are just that - more personal than before - and they seem to reflect how Lohan feels. It's not opportunistic like Ashlee Simpson's I Am Me. Still, Lohan's vocals are a little too weak for songs like "Confessions Of A Broken Heart," and there's uneven material again. This time, the faster songs are worse, with the exception of the fun "I Live For The Day." Grade: C+, while Speak was a B-. Expand
  37. abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    I actually thought this was a really good c.d. Her first one wasn't all that bad, but her second one, is really really good. The booklet design in the middle is cool too. I like every single song.
  38. jim
    Dec 9, 2005
    3
    Why is this chic a star?!?
  39. RandyB
    Nov 11, 2006
    6
    A LITTLE MORE PERSONAL (RAW) is not a bad album by any means. The music is strong for the most part, there are some good lyrical turns (though she definitely is not Tori Amos), and her cover of Stevie Nicks' "Edge of Seventeen" is very well executed. Something that bugged me though is that on some of the songs it sounds like her voice is struggling for air against the production. A LITTLE MORE PERSONAL (RAW) is not a bad album by any means. The music is strong for the most part, there are some good lyrical turns (though she definitely is not Tori Amos), and her cover of Stevie Nicks' "Edge of Seventeen" is very well executed. Something that bugged me though is that on some of the songs it sounds like her voice is struggling for air against the production. She's not Christina Aguilera, but Lindsay's got a nice voice and on "Confessions of a Broken Heart" for example it sounds airy and thin. There are also some very cheesy moments, such as adding the subtitle "RAW" to the album, the lyric from "I Live for the Day" that makes a good apple sound sour and like an anti-drug commercial, and as personal as "Confession"'s lyrics may be there is some wincing to be had, especially in the chorus. "If You Were Me" is likeable but purely guilty pleasure material as well. Ben Moody's contribution on "Seventeen's" production is perfectly recognizable, and as with Kelly Clarkson, it makes you wonder how this would have sounded with Amy Lee and the force of Evanescence behind it. I do respect Lindsay for wanting to branch into rock music, and she does it fairly well (certainly better than Ashlee or Hilary), but it's also disappointing because she makes perfect pop. The dance tracks on SPEAK and the two or three that sneak in on this one are very very good ("Who Loves You" is even reminiscent of electronica duo Goldfrapp). If you have some patience for the couple of missteps, and of course if you ignore any preconcieved thoughts you may have towards Lindsay Lohan, you'll find some good songs here. Unfortunately, except for "Edge of Seventeen" you won't find any exceptional ones. Expand
  40. ReneG
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Lohan has done a great job on this one! The last was a typical first album, this is better material and better vocal development. Her work on Beautiful Life is extraordinary.
  41. HaterCorrector
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    Sorry j, but you are obviously a blind poo-brain. While 'on crack' may have been a bit out of line with his comments, LinsLo is definitely greater than at least Mother Theresa (the child thief) and Wonder Woman (she doesn't really have an invisible plane). J- Just get your ears checked so you can clue in to this unstoppable genius poet.
  42. LL
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Superficial album.
  43. AndrewC
    Feb 13, 2006
    8
    Having purchased both her Albums, I can say that "Raw" is leaps and bounds ahead of "Speak". Its is such an improvement and there could be four or five songs making a dent in the top 40 charts.
  44. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    6
    what did u aspect from lindsy lohan? i was pleasently surprised with her uncanny ability to fake like a rock star if you didnt kno who she was this would be a solid pop album but b/c we kno who she is it brings her down. its obvious shes no rebell b/c she shines most within the pop range "who loves you" the obvious best song on the album is very 60's and up-tempo pop, if her next what did u aspect from lindsy lohan? i was pleasently surprised with her uncanny ability to fake like a rock star if you didnt kno who she was this would be a solid pop album but b/c we kno who she is it brings her down. its obvious shes no rebell b/c she shines most within the pop range "who loves you" the obvious best song on the album is very 60's and up-tempo pop, if her next album shows more of this side and less of the "ima rock star, ima rock star look how rebellious i am" she can actaully earn some respect in this world Expand
  45. markic
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    i love this album. it's not necessarily the best album, but its very enjoyable.
  46. CaladoniaK
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    Horrid
  47. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Lohan is actually very excellent on this album. This record is a mature side of Lohan that leaves the teen-pop sounds of "Speak" behind. On this record Lohan really shows off her raspy/strong vocals and she also co-wrote most of the tracks. I would deffinitely recommend it.
  48. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    It's incredible how good she is. "I Want You to Want Me" is a really well-done cover of an evergreen classic. Songs such as "My Innocence" and "Black Hole" show off her amazing voice, too.
  49. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Lindsay Lohan proves that it can be a good singer, songwriter. Often people have prejudices because it is an ex-Disney, but this is one of the best if not the best pop-rock album of the decade 00.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. While this makes for an album that's substantially more interesting and cohesive than the gaudy Speak, it doesn't necessarily mean that A Little More Personal (Raw) is a successful record, either.
  2. Has she grown up? Maybe not entirely yet, but Lohan is showing the promise of an honorable mainstream career.
  3. Ultimately, like her manufactured pop rivals Ashlee Simpson and Hilary Duff, Lindsay is a little too superficial to sell us angst.