A Long Way to Fall

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Feb 12, 2013
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    While it makes for pleasant music to have on while you are sleeping away the afternoon in a cubicle or fighting insomnia late at night, the album is something of a letdown for anyone who, not unreasonably, came to it expecting something a little more interesting from Schnauss.
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    50
    The beauty lies in the flaws, the imperfections, and A Long Way To Fall is way too immersed in picture perfect punctiliousness for this to make any lasting impression.
  3. Mojo
    Jan 18, 2013
    60
    Motorik-like melodies now overwhelm the miasmic shoegazey tropes. [Feb 2013, p.91]
  4. Feb 11, 2013
    43
    Fall's worst moments are queasy and charmless.
  5. 60
    The results can be more chilly than chilled this time, not always making for an easy listen, but there’s certainly a process at play here.
  6. Uncut
    Jan 18, 2013
    60
    Welcome tweaks to the template, but Schnauss could do with taking a more dramatic step out of his comfort zone. [Feb 2013, p.78]
  7. Under The Radar
    Jan 18, 2013
    60
    He may employ very few elements, but Schnauss does a good job in keeping your attention. [Jan-Feb 2013, p.94]
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    This album has really grown on me. I wasn't amazed at the first listen, but then... well, tracks like A Forgotten Birthday and A Ritual inThis album has really grown on me. I wasn't amazed at the first listen, but then... well, tracks like A Forgotten Birthday and A Ritual in Time and Death have become my favourites and when I had the chance to see Ulrich play it live, somehow, I started to like this record even more. The sound is perfect and even though I've never been a huge Schnauss fan, A Long Way to Fall has earned a comfort place in my playlist. Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    I notice that reviewers here are kind of ho-hum about this album and at first listen it's hard not to agree with y'all. But...I warmed up toI notice that reviewers here are kind of ho-hum about this album and at first listen it's hard not to agree with y'all. But...I warmed up to it. I was expecting something unearthly beautiful like Strangely Isolated Place or Goodbye hence the expectation factor. I think he really enjoyed making this record, it's more intelligent in a Kraftwerky kind of way, less gorgeous but more subtle and intricate. Listen to it again... Full Review »