A Long Way to Fall - Ulrich Schnauss
A Long Way to Fall Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The synthesizer is a major component in the first solo album in six years for the German (now London-based) electronic artist.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 13, 2013
    80
    A step back to his roots but ultimately a step forward for electronic music.
  2. 70
    By honing in on sharper song structures instead of billowing vocals and effects, Schnauss has cut past Goodbye's indulgences into a maturation of his unmistakable electronic streak.
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    70
    It's really Schnauss's choice of drum sounds and patterns that prevent A Long Way to Fall from sounding like a toothless ambient piece.
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    60
    Welcome tweaks to the template, but Schnauss could do with taking a more dramatic step out of his comfort zone. [Feb 2013, p.78]
  5. 60
    The results can be more chilly than chilled this time, not always making for an easy listen, but there’s certainly a process at play here.
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    60
    He may employ very few elements, but Schnauss does a good job in keeping your attention. [Jan-Feb 2013, p.94]
  7. Feb 11, 2013
    43
    Fall's worst moments are queasy and charmless.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    This album has really grown on me. I wasn't amazed at the first listen, but then... well, tracks like A Forgotten Birthday and A Ritual in Time and Death have become my favourites and when I had the chance to see Ulrich play it live, somehow, I started to like this record even more. The sound is perfect and even though I've never been a huge Schnauss fan, A Long Way to Fall has earned a comfort place in my playlist. Collapse
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    I notice that reviewers here are kind of ho-hum about this album and at first listen it's hard not to agree with y'all. But...I warmed up to it. I was expecting something unearthly beautiful like Strangely Isolated Place or Goodbye hence the expectation factor. I think he really enjoyed making this record, it's more intelligent in a Kraftwerky kind of way, less gorgeous but more subtle and intricate. Listen to it again... Expand