A  Quiet Darkness Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Megan Messina, Dexter Tortoriello
  • Summary: The concept behind the second release for the married indie duo of Megan Messina and Dexter Tortoriello is a couple separated by a nuclear disaster seek to meet up on Highway 10 in California before they die.
  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Electronic
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    This grandiose set of songs cobbled together from decaying sound scraps has all the ominous mystery and majesty of a silent twilight, and all the implied struggle of the abandoned structures where and from which it was created.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    Relentlessly dark, Houses still somehow manage to find breathtaking wonder in the wreckage.
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    It’s a few steps away from hitting major highs, but it does the most important thing for an album of its kind: it falls together and clicks into place.
  4. 60
    Two downtempo instrumentals do little to elevate their surroundings, and the album’s longer tracks reiterate more than they evolve. Still, Houses accomplish their aim of filling an hour with a cinematic, transportive music--a perfect soundtrack to milling about the end times.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    That A Quiet Darkness doesn’t offer much in the way of immediate pleasure shouldn’t be entirely to its detriment, but this album doesn’t grow on you; it wears on you.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 19, 2013
    This album, is beautiful. The combination of male and female vocals on almost all tracks is a real pleaser. Just look to the first three tracks and then, “Carrion” and “Smoke Signals”. The album is wonderful in its production. It is calming and soothing and it lures you in from the beginning. But it’s like that pretty girl you’ve been eyeing for an age, and when you finally talk to her she answers everything with, “Whaaaaatt?”. That’s the album’s problem, once you get past the beauty, the album is superficial. Don’t get me wrong, the opening that consists of “Beginnings”, “The Beauty Surrounds” and “The Big Light” are amazing songs. The album’s opener is powerful and becoming, and like the rest of the album, it is a long song, running just over five minuets, but it doesn’t become bloated.

    “The Beauty Surrounds” is the track that caught my attention to this Los Angeles Indie duet comprised of Dexter Tortoriello and Megan Messina. They remind me a little like a different shade of Beach House, just not as vibrant maybe, just up there in quality with “Bloom”. I feel “A Quiet Darkness” can loose itself, it’s an album they takes you away too far, so far that you want to be brought back. “The Big Light”, shows the decline in quality after the opening two songs until we get to the last two, “The Bloom” and “A Quiet Darkness” which feels like a two parter.

    The former song, feels like Shoegaze and Dream Pop in one, and amongst the indie vibes on the album, it is those two elements that I like about the band. They manage to finish strongly which some bands can struggle to do. “The Bloom” is ethereal and it’s thinking music, music to lie in the sun on a grassy hill watching over the horizon; it’s music of a different place. Then the final song, it louder in comparison. It combines every element that the album has conjured up and feels like the tone we were getting at the beginning of the album. Honestly though, “Beginnings” and “The Bloom” are two songs you should really hear.

    Unfortunately, the album outside these tracks, fails to do much apart from repetition. Whilst I look forward to more music from Houses, and I will check out there back catalogue, there is substance to like here, it may be little, but it is wonderful.
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    The good- at its high points, this is an incredibly lush and gorgeous album. The bad- there are a few spots where the album becomes uninspired, repetitive and drags a bit. The ugly- the fourth song, "The Tired Moon" ruins the entire album for me. It sounds like 5:25 of crappy, leftover video game music or something a five-year-old made using Garage Band. It's almost as if they included it as a (bad) joke. Too bad because the three songs leading up to it are amazing and the seven songs after it are for the most part quite good. Expand