A River Ain't Too Much To Love

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LeonardoF
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    an album that gets better and better with each listen. the subtle (andmar marvelous) instrumentation helps us focus on his wonderful voice and lyrics.
  2. tintmantintman
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    i put it on at midnight i heard it about 7 times till dawn it is the best effort of smog to date probably a record i will grow older and wiser with
  3. LawrenceP
    Mar 15, 2006
    8
    "This one's called the well..."
  4. plexus
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Classic, you gotta hear this record.
  5. stephenm
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    A must have album, second only to the mighty "Illinoise" by Sufjan Stevens in my best of 2005
  6. MorganK
    Jun 4, 2005
    9
    Warmer and more thoughtful than recent Smog releases - certainly one of his best.
  7. SecretJunior
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Don't believe critics such as the ever out of touch Rolling Stone. In forty years they'll be sucking Bill's cock as a true musical troubadour, who hasn't been seen since the likes of Dylan and Neil Young, only Callahan makes them both seem hackneyed, and I ADORE the two aforementioned. Bill makes my balls shrivel and my eyes leak like neither of the two luminaries Don't believe critics such as the ever out of touch Rolling Stone. In forty years they'll be sucking Bill's cock as a true musical troubadour, who hasn't been seen since the likes of Dylan and Neil Young, only Callahan makes them both seem hackneyed, and I ADORE the two aforementioned. Bill makes my balls shrivel and my eyes leak like neither of the two luminaries I've just mentioned. Expand
  8. TimJ
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    This is a great album that gets much better with repeat listens. The Rolling Stone review was the dumbest thing I've ever read. Do they even know who Raymond Carver is? Come on, seriously.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    this is his best offering yet. thank you bill!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. A honky tonk Leonard Cohen, the music of Smog sounds like it's spent all its life half cut in a saloon bar way out in the American mid-west thinking far too deeply about love and life for far too long.
  2. As much as it hurts to admit it, not everybody will get so much out of Smog's latest understated masterpiece.
  3. He's reached another career peak to match that of 1999's 'Knock Knock'.