User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2014
    6
    I find this album slightly tedious. It's better than Beekeeper, A LITTLE, maybe.... but some of these songs are just embarrassing. Not even cute. What is going on with her sometimes? lol Flavor, Curtain Call, and Fast Horse are brilliant songs. There are always at least a handful with Amos. This is only her second mediocre record.
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    An excellent Tori Amos album, as always. "Maybe California", "Welcome to England" and the title track are my personal favourites, with the first one being, in my opinion, one of her best ballads ever. Also, "Lady in Blue" is a terrific closer. As for the large number of tracks, I would, too, be happier if she moved some of them to B-sides or the Deluxe Edition, for example "Police Me",An excellent Tori Amos album, as always. "Maybe California", "Welcome to England" and the title track are my personal favourites, with the first one being, in my opinion, one of her best ballads ever. Also, "Lady in Blue" is a terrific closer. As for the large number of tracks, I would, too, be happier if she moved some of them to B-sides or the Deluxe Edition, for example "Police Me", "Strong Black Vine", "Not Dying Today" and "500 Miles". I don't consider them bad, they are just most likely to be skipped over. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    It is difficult to digest and understand the songs. The first time I heard it I said "Tori is no longer the same", however was enough play 20 times and you're done! I want to hear live. That is how feature "500 miles", "Fast horse" and "Starling" (which reminds a lot the album "From the choirgirl hotel").
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    I have been listening to Tori Amos for almost 20 years now. I have experienced her evolution over time. Like anybody, we go through transitions. Abnormally Attracted to Sin is by far my favorite transformation she has shared with her audience. AAtS is not instant gratification, you must research it's origins and listen for musical signals in each Sin based song. It's a beautiful collectionI have been listening to Tori Amos for almost 20 years now. I have experienced her evolution over time. Like anybody, we go through transitions. Abnormally Attracted to Sin is by far my favorite transformation she has shared with her audience. AAtS is not instant gratification, you must research it's origins and listen for musical signals in each Sin based song. It's a beautiful collection of electric gothic inspired tunes surely that will stand the test of time. Once you get it, you won't let go. Start with the title track, examine the subtext, concentrate on the layers of sounds, from there work your way out..... There's a key hole on the back of the cd for a reason. Mmm Expand
  5. Kean
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    I didn't like it the first time I listen to it. But when I tried to listen to it again I finally got it. Its one of her best albums in years. I didn't enjoy an album of hers like this since From The Choirgirl Hotel. Great stuff indeed!
  6. heatherk
    Oct 14, 2009
    6
    I listened to this album over a 2 days span which I think helped. It could have been shorter cutting a few songs in the middle that went on and on, making this a much better album overall. I loved mary jane (who doesnt?). This might be one you have to listen to a few times to really appreciate.
  7. DanielR
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    This is another great production of Tori Amos. If someone were expecting another Little Earthquakes or Under the Pink, he's gonna be dissapointed. Im my case, i've learned to hear her records alone without keep constantly comparing one album to another. This record
  8. FrankM
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    From a personal point of view: I have been listening to Tori since her first album. It is so refreshing that she is willing to grow and change. With her talent she could bend things and make a record seling album if she wanted to but instead she continues to do what she loves and stays honest about it. Much respect. Notice this album isn't a high output, venting outlet but it is as From a personal point of view: I have been listening to Tori since her first album. It is so refreshing that she is willing to grow and change. With her talent she could bend things and make a record seling album if she wanted to but instead she continues to do what she loves and stays honest about it. Much respect. Notice this album isn't a high output, venting outlet but it is as if she is in the same room with you, You get Tori Amos....if you don't like it ..don't buy it. She has already proved herself. Expand
  9. mitchellk
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    I consider myself to be one of Tori's biggest fans - and this album instantly became one of my favorites. Yes, it is a little long, but I don't understand why that is still a shock to people. Tori has stated many times that she is more than happy to put songs that don't necessarily fit in with the material in order to give her fans a more expansive view into her vision for I consider myself to be one of Tori's biggest fans - and this album instantly became one of my favorites. Yes, it is a little long, but I don't understand why that is still a shock to people. Tori has stated many times that she is more than happy to put songs that don't necessarily fit in with the material in order to give her fans a more expansive view into her vision for the record. If you don't like the song, hit the skip button - it is there for a reason. As for the content on the album, some of the strongest material she has written in years is found here. Songs like Starling and Flavor show Tori's ability to send shivers (quite literally) down the spine while Maybe California and Ophelia remind us how powerful a piano can actually be. Tori hasn't been this affecting in nearly a decade. Sin, in this case, is quite delectable. Expand
  10. GuyM
    Aug 5, 2009
    3
    Considering the fact that I've been a fan of Tori's for almost 2 decades now, since Y Kant Tori Read, I would say that I consider myself a Toriphile. With that being said, I can't believe how unbelievably bored I was while listening to this album, I just couldn't get into it at all... I've been trying to figure it out, but it's just so commercially different Considering the fact that I've been a fan of Tori's for almost 2 decades now, since Y Kant Tori Read, I would say that I consider myself a Toriphile. With that being said, I can't believe how unbelievably bored I was while listening to this album, I just couldn't get into it at all... I've been trying to figure it out, but it's just so commercially different than anything she's ever done. What's surprising is that she produced this album herself and unfortunately both she and Bö have been completely lost in most of the tracks of this particular album. Very disappointed. Collapse
  11. MuzS
    Jul 27, 2009
    5
    I've been a fan of Tori since I heard "Winter" and Little Earthquakes was released. Sadly I feel this album, as well as her previous, lack the emotion of her previous albums. I agree this album is too long, the material is not strong enough to warrant 17 tracks. Albums of similar length (The Beekeeper, Scarlet's Walk) worked because the songs were much more interesting musically I've been a fan of Tori since I heard "Winter" and Little Earthquakes was released. Sadly I feel this album, as well as her previous, lack the emotion of her previous albums. I agree this album is too long, the material is not strong enough to warrant 17 tracks. Albums of similar length (The Beekeeper, Scarlet's Walk) worked because the songs were much more interesting musically and flowed better as an album. It just doesn't happen here, after a few songs I found my mind wondering to other things, I could hear it, but I wasn't listening. I like the first two tracks, but overall, it's a yawn. It's too safe. Perhaps Tori should employ the services of a good producer, rather than self produce next time round? Expand
  12. SisterJanet1219
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    I have been a Toriphile for so long now, I can't even count the years. With that said it pains me so greatly to see her come to this. "Abnormally Attracted to Sin" is, by far, one of the worst pieces of work she has come out with. I never thought I would dislike her work as much as I do on this record. I much prefer "Y Kant Tori Read" to this, at least that album was honest and, I have been a Toriphile for so long now, I can't even count the years. With that said it pains me so greatly to see her come to this. "Abnormally Attracted to Sin" is, by far, one of the worst pieces of work she has come out with. I never thought I would dislike her work as much as I do on this record. I much prefer "Y Kant Tori Read" to this, at least that album was honest and, shockingly, not as over-produced as this one. I have always loved how she continuously evolves from record to record but with "Abnormally" I feel that she has just thrown together 20 years worth of worthless "B" sides and called it a night. I love you Tori, but even you can't be as proud of this as you were of your work of old. Expand
  13. ripv
    Jul 4, 2009
    8
    Yes it's not as good as the early stuff, but I feel it's better than the last two albums, it's more interesting and easily more listenable, less irritating.
  14. AndrewC
    Jun 20, 2009
    5
    Too much. She needs to learn to edit herself. Sad that some of the best songs she's ever written (Fast Horse, Give, and the title track) and bunched together with the worst songs she ever written (500 Miles, Not Dying Today, Fire to Your Plain). No longer the voice of a strong and eccentric woman, now the tired oddly pronounced sound of an old mother that leaves one wishing she were Too much. She needs to learn to edit herself. Sad that some of the best songs she's ever written (Fast Horse, Give, and the title track) and bunched together with the worst songs she ever written (500 Miles, Not Dying Today, Fire to Your Plain). No longer the voice of a strong and eccentric woman, now the tired oddly pronounced sound of an old mother that leaves one wishing she were 15 years younger and half as bold. Expand
  15. RobbieC
    Jun 14, 2009
    5
    Totally mediocre. Some songs are great, classic Tori. Some songs are mediocre and other songs are AWFUL (Not Dying Today, 500 Miles). Therefore, it all balances out to a very mediocre offering. Still not as mediocre as 2005's The Beekeeper, but not as much fun as Doll Posse and not as penetrating as Scarlet's Walk or anything that came before.
  16. NicoleR
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    There is a great collection of music here. There is always a story line behind each of the CD's. Again she has changed the production of her sonics shapes. The visualettes were a great added flavor to this collections. I suggest Buying this CD and listen and read the lyrics.
  17. JesseS
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Tori Amos is intensely generous with her music, including the fact that her albums are over 70 minutes. Why is it that critics consider this a detriment? One man's filler is another man's grandeur; at least give her credit for adding to fans' value palette. Critics: Cut the 25 minutes you don't like and give it another review.
  18. MichaelS
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    It is a little lengthy. It isn't her best album ever. It is however a gorgeous and haunting offering from my favorite artist. She is always challenging us to listen and I'm sick of critics throwing her material away before properly listening to it. It is easier to give the latest popular swill a good rating because it is engineered to be accessible. Tori has never been about It is a little lengthy. It isn't her best album ever. It is however a gorgeous and haunting offering from my favorite artist. She is always challenging us to listen and I'm sick of critics throwing her material away before properly listening to it. It is easier to give the latest popular swill a good rating because it is engineered to be accessible. Tori has never been about what is accessible. I implore everyone to take the time to break it down before throwing it away. Some tracks (Not Dying Today, 500 Miles, Starling) are a little tedious at first but are just as interesting as the rest. My favorites are: Give, Strong Black Vine, Flavor, Maybe California, Abnormally Attracted to Sin, Ophelia, and Lady in Blue. She is perhaps one of the greatest artists of the age because of her refusal to compromise. She is always herself. Expand
  19. JasonP
    Jun 2, 2009
    8
    Great album, it especially comes alive on a pair of great headphones. This album has had many listens since its release. I know there have been quite a few comments on how their are too many songs or that the album runs too long and while I can see that point of view, I honestly don't know what songs I would trash; after many listens, they have all grown on me. As far as the length, Great album, it especially comes alive on a pair of great headphones. This album has had many listens since its release. I know there have been quite a few comments on how their are too many songs or that the album runs too long and while I can see that point of view, I honestly don't know what songs I would trash; after many listens, they have all grown on me. As far as the length, while it longer that most albums released by most othe, I find it to be well sequenced and has a great pace. Doesn't go by too fast but most importantly, it doesn't drag. One of the most surprising things about this album (at least I found it surprising) is that Strong Black Vine featured someone other than Tori on keyboards. Tori's longtime string arranger John Phillip Shenale is credited with B3 Organ and synths whereas Tori is credited with vocals (and what a vocal performance it is). Expand
  20. AlexB
    Jun 1, 2009
    9
    Exceptional Album : Beautiful Songs and unforgettable lyrics: I have to remind Give , Welcome to England , Flavor , Curtain Call , Maybe California , That Guy , Starling , Mary Jane , Ophelia , Abnormally Attracted to Sin and Lady in Blue. I could see in these songs the power and the strenght of an incredible women who knows how capture our hearts. If I had been Tori Amos I would have Exceptional Album : Beautiful Songs and unforgettable lyrics: I have to remind Give , Welcome to England , Flavor , Curtain Call , Maybe California , That Guy , Starling , Mary Jane , Ophelia , Abnormally Attracted to Sin and Lady in Blue. I could see in these songs the power and the strenght of an incredible women who knows how capture our hearts. If I had been Tori Amos I would have deleted some tracks from the trackist like Police Me , Strong Black Vine and Fire to Your Plain . For the rest is Ok . Expand
  21. StuartF
    May 29, 2009
    4
    The number of tracks doesn't bother me, Boys for Pele is huge, but all the tracks are original and great. She used to be the queen, but I was listening to both "Bat for Lashes" albums today and they leave Tori for dead. She's no longer relevant or original. Her greatest work was created out of her pain and suffering, as happy as I am that she is happy now, her music is left hollow!
  22. JulioA
    May 29, 2009
    10
    The more i listen to this album the more i like it... thats the good thing about Tori, she creates songs 4 a lifetime not for 2 weeks or 2 months. I still love and listen Little earthquakes, the Beekepper and all of her albums as if they came out 4 sale yesterday... AATS is a rare and dark masterpiece...hard at first but beautiful and captivating then, just like its creator.
  23. ScottA
    May 22, 2009
    10
    I really think the only fault on this album is its length. If it had been two LPs released at the same time or bookending the summer, it would have been perfect. I already adore every song. Key tracks are: Give, Flavor, Welcome to England, Curtain Call, Maybe California, and That Guy.
  24. ApaA
    May 21, 2009
    10
    Spectacularly haunting album. It's not as immediate and accessible as American Doll Posse but truly has more to "Give" as the haunting opener says. A dark, satisfying piece of work.
  25. PR
    May 21, 2009
    9
    A very interesting album. I like it. I'll note that as with all of Tori's works in this decade on first listen it seems a little long and in need of a bit of editing. However, I have found in the past that much of her work that seemed easily disposable at first will come back around to you later on and pleasantly surprise in some manner. So buy it now, edit it down for current A very interesting album. I like it. I'll note that as with all of Tori's works in this decade on first listen it seems a little long and in need of a bit of editing. However, I have found in the past that much of her work that seemed easily disposable at first will come back around to you later on and pleasantly surprise in some manner. So buy it now, edit it down for current listening, but save the all the tracks and revisit the trimmings in a year or two (or three) later on. Expand
  26. Lori
    May 20, 2009
    8
    A bit on the long side, but for the most part very enjoyable. I skip past 3 or 4 songs that seem like filler or b-side material, but I find myself really loving a lot of the songs more than I did her previous album American Doll Posse.
  27. ShaneK
    May 20, 2009
    10
    Yes, this album is long, but even the few songs that would've been B-sides have a certain charm, and I'm glad they are on the disc. I have been a fan for 15 years, and this is her most impressive effort in quite a while. Lush electronics and vocals, all beautifully wrapped up in trademark Tori weirdness. This album exceeded all my expectations!
  28. PeteS
    May 20, 2009
    7
    A lot of folk are commenting on the number of tracks. Amos has been doing this for years. Scarlet's walk and Boys for Pele both 18 track Juggernauts were both masterpieces.; The trouble here is the quality of the songs and Amos' isistence that she fits each composition into a rigid conceptual framework. Frankly I'm not bothered if this record is a comment on the hypocrisy A lot of folk are commenting on the number of tracks. Amos has been doing this for years. Scarlet's walk and Boys for Pele both 18 track Juggernauts were both masterpieces.; The trouble here is the quality of the songs and Amos' isistence that she fits each composition into a rigid conceptual framework. Frankly I'm not bothered if this record is a comment on the hypocrisy of our moral custodians and the oppressive power of sin, I just want to be moved and entertained, and about a dozen songs on this LP qualify on both counts. The rest should have been edited out. Get this woman a producer. Expand
  29. DavidV
    May 19, 2009
    9
    For Tori Amos fans, don't be scared by critics. If you recall, Boys for Pele, which became a tour de force for Tori, was not initially well received. This album is full of beautiful music, and is her best effort since 2002. It actually serves as a better follow-up to To Venus and Back. It contains songs which have immediate hooks, and others which require a long simmer so For Tori Amos fans, don't be scared by critics. If you recall, Boys for Pele, which became a tour de force for Tori, was not initially well received. This album is full of beautiful music, and is her best effort since 2002. It actually serves as a better follow-up to To Venus and Back. It contains songs which have immediate hooks, and others which require a long simmer so characteristic of her work (title track, Fast Horse). Welcome back, Tori! Expand
  30. PatrickK
    May 19, 2009
    8
    Still needs to be pared down a few tracks, but her best effort in years!
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Occasionally vague, sometimes incohesive and a little self-indulgent it may be, but ultimately Abnormally Attracted to Sin is an abnormally attractive piece of work, and another fine example of the shining talent that is Tori Amos.
  2. Sometimes her brains get a little too big for her Bible. But when she's banging on her piano over layers of lush electronics, she's got the rapture part down.
  3. Abnormally Attracted To Sin turns out to be a collection of tracks that simply doesn't work as a whole because it can't properly be listened to in one go. Pity, for somewhere in amongst it all Tori proves that she's still capable of producing a storming album.