User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 128

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Michael
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Their best work in 16 years.
  2. DanO.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    This is their best album since Adventures, hands down.
  3. JDWilliams
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    Best since Automatic For The People. Mr. Roberts is so catchy.
  4. MaggieS.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    The best album of their career.
  5. MichaelH.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Greatest Band in the world!!!!!
  6. Mark
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Truly great album.
  7. WilldavesMachado
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Great album! Only great songs!
  8. CrossdeL.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Great, Great Come back.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Music that resonates with their past albums without repeating the sound. This sounds like a band that made LRP and Document matured over 20 yrs. to deliver Accelerate.
  10. MatthewM.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Ferocious, concise and, in an effort to limit myself to three lofty proclamations, brilliant. It's not R.E.M. trying to recapture a past sound so much as R.E.M. reinstating tight song structure and sonic movement into its writing process. Buy this album.
  11. MichaelC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Absolutely LOVE this album, and this is coming from a fan that has all (ALL) their albums. Love the balance between the ole school and the new. Perfect!!!! Hollow Man is a highlight for me. Thank you REM can't wait to see what the next album will be like.
  12. TimP.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    This is R.E.M. in 2008, and it sounds pretty amazing. Accelerate could end up as one of their five best albums. Give it a listen.
  13. JohnN.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent album. Their best in over a decade!
  14. Jerry
    Apr 6, 2008
    10
    I think some of those giving bad reviews just don't get some of the songs. Complaining about some of the songs being "commercial" means that you're worried some "average" person might like the same song as you, in which case you can't claim to be a pretentious elitist snob, lol. And, btw, critiquing merely by comparison to the back-catalog is the lazy man's method for I think some of those giving bad reviews just don't get some of the songs. Complaining about some of the songs being "commercial" means that you're worried some "average" person might like the same song as you, in which case you can't claim to be a pretentious elitist snob, lol. And, btw, critiquing merely by comparison to the back-catalog is the lazy man's method for listening to music. Use your ears and stop trying to impress us with your "encyclopedic" knowledge of R.E.M.'s back catalog. Its a good album. Expand
  15. JamieB.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    People have waited 15+ years for this.
  16. SandraS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    This album is simply amazing. Finally the guitars are back (thank you Peter) in a big way, Micheal's lyrics are beautiful, and Mill's back vocals simply enhance the greatness of each songs. It's a great rock album from a legendary band. And despite what some critics say, it is worth listening to....over and over again.
  17. WillH.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Excellent CD - a renewed sense of purpose is evident. While it is REM's most "rock" album since Monster, it easily eclipses that boring dud (contrary to Taylor's - is that a guy or girl's name? - inaccurate review).
  18. TomH.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    A modern classic.
  19. Gianni
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Longtime REM fan here. I own every studio album and they are my favourite band. After Automatic for the People, though, the only album that I enjoyed was New Adventures in Hi-Fi. The last three (with the partial exception of Reveal) were really disappointing. So I'd almost lost hope that they could come back with something good. But this completely blows away any high expectation Longtime REM fan here. I own every studio album and they are my favourite band. After Automatic for the People, though, the only album that I enjoyed was New Adventures in Hi-Fi. The last three (with the partial exception of Reveal) were really disappointing. So I'd almost lost hope that they could come back with something good. But this completely blows away any high expectation that I might have had. It is by far the best record I've heard this year so far, and it is a terrific rock album. I'll probably rank it in my top 5 albums by REM (along with Life's Rich Pageant, Green, Fables and Automatic). The first three tracks, Houston, the title track, Sing for the Submarine all are fantastic songs, and the only one I'm not into right now is I'm gonna DJ, which is somewhat growing on me. Thank you REM for this fabulous album, I'm over the moon for it. Expand
  20. RyanR
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Best since "Out of Time", and right up there in the top 3 w/ "Out of Time" and "Document". "Mr.Richards", "Hollow Man", and "Supernatural Superserious" are all great.
  21. MiguelA.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Accelerate is a fun, raw, energetic, melodic, dark and fast rock album. All good, no filler. Pure magic. R.E.M. has done it again!
  22. CarolineC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    R.E.M. is back!!!! Living well is the best revenge is the best rock song of the year...so far!
  23. Andy
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    A really nice album.
  24. FelipeP.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Their best album since "Automatic For The People."
  25. KellyC.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Have been waiting for this "return to form". I actually liked a lot of Up, but Life's Rich Pageant is still my favorite. It sounds very effortless and classic - a most worthy rebirth for this great band.
  26. WesleyM.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    Their best work in years. Remarkably consistent, "Man-Sized Wreath" and "Horse to Water" are highlights.
  27. James
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    In 'Supernatural Superserious' you have the type of track that has been in short supply over the last few albums. Not a 100% success as the title track doesn't quite do it for me but I cannot wait for the Twickenham concert in August. Welcome back chaps - it's been a long time.
  28. DSquared
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    What do people mean by, "Return to form?" R.E.M. is about stretching beyond where they have ever been and moving forward, not looking behind to repurpose what made them famous. Their new work is much like their past work, because it sounds fresh, new and 100% R.E.M., not because it sounds like an old R.E.M. album. They have been taking a beating over the past few years for releasing What do people mean by, "Return to form?" R.E.M. is about stretching beyond where they have ever been and moving forward, not looking behind to repurpose what made them famous. Their new work is much like their past work, because it sounds fresh, new and 100% R.E.M., not because it sounds like an old R.E.M. album. They have been taking a beating over the past few years for releasing slower, mid-tempo albums, that were target for critics and listerners alike. I think it's unfair to dismiss those albums, as they were just as powerful, in a different way. Did Around The Sun take a few more listens to grasp and pull me in, of course, but the writing was brilliant and profound. I have two favorite R.E.M. albums, those being Murmur for the change it brought to the music industry, and New Adventures for it's raw power, a place where R.E.M. has always seemed at it's best. This album is a great piece of work, and you need to own it. Expand
  29. KevinS.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    I am really happy with this album. They are great musicians, and brilliant songwriters; when all their stars are aligned, REM are one of the best bands in the world. Thankfully this album found them inspired and energetic. Accelerate is not on par with their masterpieces (Murmur, Reckoning, Life's Rich Pageant, Automatic for the People, New Adventures in High-Fi) but it's a I am really happy with this album. They are great musicians, and brilliant songwriters; when all their stars are aligned, REM are one of the best bands in the world. Thankfully this album found them inspired and energetic. Accelerate is not on par with their masterpieces (Murmur, Reckoning, Life's Rich Pageant, Automatic for the People, New Adventures in High-Fi) but it's a perfect place for them to be right now. I can't wait for the next album. Expand
  30. TrevorW.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    I am a big REM fan, and this album makes me incredibly happy after Reveal and Around the Sun were so frustrating.
  31. FrancescoM
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    Music magazines are publishing these days the lists of the 2008 top albums. Accelerate seems to appear only in the Q top 50 at number 36... But are they kidding? I know R.E.M. are not relevant anymore for the public, they are nowadays nearly out of the mainstream circuit, the album sold less than the worst expectations and even the tour hasn't been as succesful as the previous Music magazines are publishing these days the lists of the 2008 top albums. Accelerate seems to appear only in the Q top 50 at number 36... But are they kidding? I know R.E.M. are not relevant anymore for the public, they are nowadays nearly out of the mainstream circuit, the album sold less than the worst expectations and even the tour hasn't been as succesful as the previous tour... But I think those critics who compile these lists are anyway kidding!!! They only have to judge the best albums and they haven't to care about the popularity of them! 25years ago someone had the courage to put an album that sold at the time 300k copies at the top of a list which included in the 2nd place an album that sold 55M of copies. The first album is still in 2008 one of the most relevant album in the history of music, the second is only history (a legend in terms of numbers, but only history in terms of music). Accelerate couldn't absolutely be compared to Murmur, because compared to murmur the lack of creativity is too much evident. But compared to Murmur, what album recorded since 1983 to nowadays doesn't show a lack of creativity? Accelerete is simply the perfect alternative rock album You could listen in 2008! To put other alternative rock albums before accelerate in these lists is simply an insult to R.E.M., to the genre of music they have always refined in the course of their career and to history of music! Anyway this lists are not so surprising if We consider that the majority of critics prefear Monster compared to Accelerate. Please change Job! Listen to music and Judge It seems to difficult for You! According to Peter Buck, Monster was made by the scraps of AFTP remixed with catchy grunge (R.E.M. grunge not Seattle grunge) distortions... Accelerate is made by nearly perfect alternative songs like for example Supernatural Supersserious, the title song or Sing For The Submarine. And the average level is so good that when you listen to the CD You never want to skip a song! There is even someone who consider this album a bad one because the previous three were boring or because they don't accept the sexual preferences of Michael Stipe... How sad is the fact that these persons have the right to write their opinion somewhere! PLEASE LISTEN 3 CONSECUTIVE TIMES TO IT THAN JUDGE AN WRITE YOUR OPINION SOMEWHERE!!! The world doesn't need and doesn't deserve stupid prejudices! In every field of life. Expand
  32. BobaF.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    A nice return to the form that made them the best band of the last 25 years (your favorite band included).
  33. BertE.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    Accelerate is tight and focused album that is very much of its time. Very much the result of R.E.M. recording together in one room rather than in pieces.
  34. TedDiM.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    While it is always difficult to know whether an album will withstand the test of time this one is leaps and bounds ahead of Around the Sun and offers a set of songs that shows the band displaying real passion and energy again. If they can hold on to this passion they should be able to continue to make great music for a long time. The songs on Accelerate are generally short, joyous romps While it is always difficult to know whether an album will withstand the test of time this one is leaps and bounds ahead of Around the Sun and offers a set of songs that shows the band displaying real passion and energy again. If they can hold on to this passion they should be able to continue to make great music for a long time. The songs on Accelerate are generally short, joyous romps with I'm Gonna DJ as the weakest point. The short length of the songs could prove to be a liability over time since their not given a chance to develop and this might limit their emotional impact in the long run. But for the moment the songs should just be enjoyed for the hard-charging exuberance they present. Buy it and you're unlikely to be disappointed. Expand
  35. Tom
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    Very good album. Really have not paid attention to them since Monster.
  36. HenryW.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Best post-Berry album by REM.
  37. RL
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    I don't get the "return to form bit" because this sounds different than anything they've done before (besides "Bad Day"). The songs rock but I'm not sure about Jacknife's fuzzy production. Still, it's a creative gem with no filler.
  38. BryanW.
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    Solid.....more rockin than the last few...they continue to be strong!!
  39. Noreally
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    Not really sure whether to give this album an 8 or a 9. On first listen I was barely gonna give it a 7 to be honest, but I've hardly been able to stop listening since. So they must have done something right. Not Stipe's best album to put it mildly, loving his singing in Hollow Man and Sing for the Submarine though.
  40. CarlosD.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    It's great.
  41. Hentricks
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    With the brilliant history that the band has had (a couple of later day missteps does not destroy what the band was in their prime), it is astounding that a group this far into their careers has made such a flat out vital record. The overall review from metacritic is great, but it actually deserves a better rating than the one it got.
  42. JaceN.
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    O-U-T-S-T-A-N-D-I-N-G!!! Theres a simple formula I use to score/rate albums...its the songs on the album I love against the songs I hate. Its not since R.E.M.'s 1996 offering "New Adventures in HI-Fi" with its so far undefeated 12 to 2 that ive rated one of their albums so high at 9 to 2.. Imagine if the tracklist were longer.
  43. Riccardo
    May 10, 2008
    9
    Their best effort since New Adventures in Hi-fi (my all-time favorite). We've been waiting for something like that for 12 years. Welcome back R.E.M.!
  44. DJW.
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    Sure, the album rocks and has a sense of urgency. Then, all of a sudden, Hollow Man appears and you feel that Stipe has found a lyrical melody that is instantly classic. Buck and Mills are always more than adequate when they stop trying to be like The Beach Boys (see Reveal and Around the Sun.) And you have to admit, having a career in rock isn't always easy to do, especially these Sure, the album rocks and has a sense of urgency. Then, all of a sudden, Hollow Man appears and you feel that Stipe has found a lyrical melody that is instantly classic. Buck and Mills are always more than adequate when they stop trying to be like The Beach Boys (see Reveal and Around the Sun.) And you have to admit, having a career in rock isn't always easy to do, especially these days when our attention spans are shorter than the time it takes to change the channel on your remote. Accelerate, not unlike Reckoning, makes its point then leaves. And the listener is grateful for the impact and refreshed when they "return to form" because their "form" is always better than most. Expand
  45. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    After the disappointing Around the Sun, R.E.M's poorest record to date, there was some real pressure on them to deliver with their follow-up. Thankfully, for the most part, they did. Accelerate is rockier, less produced and more passionate than their previous couple of efforts. Written in a live environment (see their Live at the Olympia record - their Dublin residency while "rehearsing"After the disappointing Around the Sun, R.E.M's poorest record to date, there was some real pressure on them to deliver with their follow-up. Thankfully, for the most part, they did. Accelerate is rockier, less produced and more passionate than their previous couple of efforts. Written in a live environment (see their Live at the Olympia record - their Dublin residency while "rehearsing" for the Accelerate recording sessions), you can feel and hear a rediscovered urgency in the songs. It's not quite up with their best - there are probably 2 tracks that don't really cut it, but this is R.E.M and overall it's a really strong record Expand
  46. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    R.E.M. are back more powerful than ever! Finally they have returned to a rock sound, and it's great.
    Livin Well Is The Best Revenge is the symbol of their rescue, probably the hardest song they have ever made, but the masterpiece is Supernatural Superserious. That's one of their greatest song and I love it.
    Michael Godlike Genius!
  47. MichaelM.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    Perfect it may not be, but I've been an R.E.M. fanatic since 1987 and this shot of adrenaline is just what the doctor ordered.
  48. PeterS.
    Apr 10, 2008
    8
    Fine album. Nothing to completely blow you away here, but more energetic than they've sounded in years.
  49. GregK.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    Definitely back on track. Fun album. By the way...am I the only one who thought "REveal" was really good?
  50. BrivsM.
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    Is it coincidence that Hot Press and Uncut both rate the album 6/10, the lowest score from any mainstream publication, when they awarded the near universally reviled Around The Sun 9/10 and 8/10 respectively? Perhaps finding themselves so far out of sync with their fellow critics, R.E.M. fans and the general record buying public last time round, they've erred on the side of caution Is it coincidence that Hot Press and Uncut both rate the album 6/10, the lowest score from any mainstream publication, when they awarded the near universally reviled Around The Sun 9/10 and 8/10 respectively? Perhaps finding themselves so far out of sync with their fellow critics, R.E.M. fans and the general record buying public last time round, they've erred on the side of caution in rating Accelerate. Anyway, Athens finest are back on song here, proving there's life in the old dog yet and causing critics everywhere to hastily revise the premature obituaries issued in the wake of Around the Sun. The only real criticism is that the production could have been better. Expand
  51. TS
    Jun 2, 2008
    8
    This is no question a very good album and I'm enjoying it more with every listen. So much better than their last three discs it's shocking. Also less indulgent than many of their classic Bill Berry albums.
  52. DavidB
    Apr 2, 2008
    8
    fun fun fun.
  53. PaulL.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    The divisive comments are a testament -- this band is still vital, and still has something to say. Great energy on this record.
  54. MattM.
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    Very accesible, holds well on its own as a record, unlike Around the Sun and Reveal which had very few memorable tracks. The only problem is the album is too nostalgic, attention deficit, and too short.
  55. JoeM.
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    My favourite REM since New Adventures In Hi-Fi. Amazing how fresh a band can sound when they ditch all the crappy funk trappings they've been peddling since Bill Berry left and get back to catchy harmonised choruses on a bed of noisy, melodic guitar. They sound genuinely energised.
  56. MattF.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    Writing a review without mentioning the phrase 'return to form' is very difficult, as that would seem to be the common thread in the music press. In truth, REM have never really had concrete 'form' to return to, shape-shifting as they have from record to record, although there are definitely classic REM 'trademarks' all over this new record. Cryptic lyrics, Writing a review without mentioning the phrase 'return to form' is very difficult, as that would seem to be the common thread in the music press. In truth, REM have never really had concrete 'form' to return to, shape-shifting as they have from record to record, although there are definitely classic REM 'trademarks' all over this new record. Cryptic lyrics, arpeggiated, jangly guitars, melodic basslines and Supersweet backing vocals are all over this record, a 34 minute blast with very little fat. The three opening tracks are the most energised, exciting REM tracks in some time, while the folky mystery of Houston and Until the Day is Done recall Automatic For The People's darker moments. There's nothing close to the mumbled pop of Murmur or Reckoning, but there is a loose, live feel to this album which makes it sound like the work of a much younger band. Crucially, the album avoids simply aping the past; the production skills of Jacknife Lee are an acquired taste (Horse To Water can be nauseatingly loud) but they bring the REM 'sound' right up to date without relying on fancy effects. Experimental epic Sing For The Submarine feels a successful runthrough of everything they were aiming for on the last three records, but mercifully treated in the studio. Stipe's lyrics, which have meandered and creaked, particularly on Around The Sun, now seem more sharp, and any clunkers (there are a few, particularly the trite Hollow Man) are quickly forgotten among smart-arse sideswipes and what seems like a genuine, fiery bitterness at the way the first decade of the 21st century turned out. If REM have struggled since 1998's Up to figure out who they are, Accelerate represents a head-first dive out of the ivory tower. Regaining the ability to trim and criticise their own work is remarkable, some 25 years into a career. This record excels not because it sounds familiar, but because it feels like each member of REM is passionate about making music again. There is a reconnection with the past, some self-recognition and then a stride forward. 'Music Will Provide The Light You Cannot Resist', indeed. Expand
  57. RobL.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    This is not a return to form, but rather a review of those things that made R.E.M. great in the first place. But a review of R.E.M. is still better than a first pass of many other artists.
  58. MarkB.
    Apr 18, 2008
    8
    By far one of the strongest cd's of 2007. The group shows that they haven't forgot what got them into the game. I would definitely put this in the top 10 cd's of 2007 for overall sound, catchiness and music value. Great pickup by Fueled By Ramen.
  59. Peter
    Apr 19, 2008
    8
    Most rocking REM album since Document, best REM album since Automatic For The People (my personal favorite). I think they recognized that a time of retrenchment will allow them to move forward, whereas constantly striving for growth just stretches you too thin. Let's hear it for Jacknife Lee, who squeezed the best possible comeback albums from U2 and REM. Maybe Pearl Jam should talk to him.
  60. PaulG.
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    This is a solid effort from R.E.M. Their last several offerings have contained points of interest, but they've been somewhat sparse -- and this coming from a die-hard R.E.M. fan. It is good to see the band rocking again, and hearing Michael get back to his "smart and angry " roots.
  61. StephenD.
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    Not since 1996's New Adventures In Hi-Fi has anyone let alone fans been able to say with honest enthusiasm " hey have you heard the new R.E.M. album". Well thankfully that long wait is now over as Accelerate has R.E.M. back in the spotlight.
  62. BM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    R.E.M. rock out harder than they have since the departure of Bill Berry. That's good. The songwriting sometimes takes a backseat to the band's rediscovered rock chops. That's not so good. Overall the album is good, but you can feel the band trying too hard to be relevant again.
  63. JyotirmayaD.
    Apr 8, 2008
    7
    It's a great listen.... too short at 35 minutes so I downloaded the two extra tunes and made it an almost 40 minute disc. I love the urgency; I beg for one standout track...maybe it's already there and my head hasn't found it yet; the solid sound of R.E.M. that just might be themelves surprising itself with considering what it's last 2 or 3 albums sound like.
  64. O.Gawd
    Apr 2, 2008
    6
    All of you giving R.E.M.'s latest a 10 need to stop playing with your mouses and climb out of your cellars. Daylight beckons. This offering is merely fine; it's not the second coming of 'Life's Rich Pageant.' It's not even in league with 'New Adventures in Hi-Fi,' the last great R.E.M. album. There are some transcendent moments, particularly All of you giving R.E.M.'s latest a 10 need to stop playing with your mouses and climb out of your cellars. Daylight beckons. This offering is merely fine; it's not the second coming of 'Life's Rich Pageant.' It's not even in league with 'New Adventures in Hi-Fi,' the last great R.E.M. album. There are some transcendent moments, particularly 'Until the Day is Done.' Much of the rest of the album is littered with Michael Stipe trying way too hard to mine his depleted mind in an accelerated grasp at relevancy. If I hear him say the words 'Wow' or 'Electron Blue' one more time, I won't pick up album number 15. Expand
  65. DejanSt.
    Apr 8, 2008
    6
    A return to form? No way. It's nice one, but I've heard it all before.
  66. JBilchak
    Apr 1, 2008
    6
    I listened to it 4 times now, and maybe my tastes have changed, but this is not a 4 or 5 star record. Yes, it's better than "Around the Sun" and "Reveal", but what isn't? This doesn't even come close to "new adventures in hi fi", which is underated in my opinion. This album is no where near close to classic early R.E.M., or even the most excellent "Automatic for the People."I listened to it 4 times now, and maybe my tastes have changed, but this is not a 4 or 5 star record. Yes, it's better than "Around the Sun" and "Reveal", but what isn't? This doesn't even come close to "new adventures in hi fi", which is underated in my opinion. This album is no where near close to classic early R.E.M., or even the most excellent "Automatic for the People." a lot of the songs sound the same to me. good album, not great. Expand
  67. KevinL.
    Apr 24, 2008
    6
    I've nicknamed this one "Green Monster" for its attempts (calculated or not) to capture the politics of the former and the swagger of the latter. I don't much care for the self-indulgent "Sing For the Submarine" or for duds like "Hollow Man," "Mr. Richards," "Houston" and the title track. And I'm troubled by the notion that a band making music together since 1981 felt the I've nicknamed this one "Green Monster" for its attempts (calculated or not) to capture the politics of the former and the swagger of the latter. I don't much care for the self-indulgent "Sing For the Submarine" or for duds like "Hollow Man," "Mr. Richards," "Houston" and the title track. And I'm troubled by the notion that a band making music together since 1981 felt the solution to their studio funk was to speed things up a bit; that's what punk bands do to disguise their lack of songwriting talent. I think most of the praise heaped on this record is solely because it has a pulse that was sorely lacking from everything else they've done post-Berry. As any band historian will tell you, R.E.M. originally vowed to disband if one of the founding members decided to call it quits. While Accelerate is not the catastrophe that Around The Sun was, it still doesn't convince me that pressing on without Bill Berry was a wise choice. After all, ask Led Zeppelin and The Who how important a drummer can be to preserving the essence of what makes a band so special in the first place. Expand
  68. JonG.
    Apr 8, 2008
    5
    Sounds like 1988... Very boring for the 21 century.
  69. JeffK.
    Apr 1, 2008
    5
    I totally agree with Taylor H. on this one. This album doesn't even come close to Up, Adventures in Hi-Fi, or Around The Sun. There is no Electrolite, At Most Beautiful, Daysleeper, or Leaving New York. Too many songs have no hooks, they are just fast to start and end without leaving anything memorable. I pretty much forgot how every song sounded except I'm Gonna DJ, which I totally agree with Taylor H. on this one. This album doesn't even come close to Up, Adventures in Hi-Fi, or Around The Sun. There is no Electrolite, At Most Beautiful, Daysleeper, or Leaving New York. Too many songs have no hooks, they are just fast to start and end without leaving anything memorable. I pretty much forgot how every song sounded except I'm Gonna DJ, which technically could be called an Around The Sun song since it is about 5 years old. Lastly the political overtones of this album really were not necessary. We get it Michael, you don't like George Bush, and to include it on just about every song made it almost unbearable. I don't see this album expanding their fan base without any songs that sound like singles. As a fan since Reckoning came out, this one is truly disappointing. Expand
  70. Jo
    Apr 2, 2008
    5
    Around The Sun still had some brilliant gems straight from the heart (the title track, Final straw, ascent of man, electron blue...), Accelerate is a mere radiofriendly directionless powerpop/rock album trying to hit the charts again. Some good songs, some shivering moments of awfulness (I'm gonna DJ, Man-sized Wreath), and only Houston and maybe Hollow Man (although very commercial) Around The Sun still had some brilliant gems straight from the heart (the title track, Final straw, ascent of man, electron blue...), Accelerate is a mere radiofriendly directionless powerpop/rock album trying to hit the charts again. Some good songs, some shivering moments of awfulness (I'm gonna DJ, Man-sized Wreath), and only Houston and maybe Hollow Man (although very commercial) save it from mediocricity. Expand
  71. JohnB.
    Apr 5, 2008
    5
    Episode #14: In which Michael Stipe enlists the Gin Blossoms to help him announce his discovery that George W. Bush, and George W. Bush, alone is responsible for all the world's ills.
  72. TaylorH.
    Mar 31, 2008
    5
    Do not be deceived by the "critics." This album comes nowhere near the previous 4. It's their weakest since Monster and maybe even besides Monster, both lyrically and musically. The reviewers are obviously not real listeners of REM's music. Maybe half the songs are memorable at best.
  73. PaulC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    I wanted to like it, but frankly it's pretty boring. Better than what they've churned out recently, but certainly not as good as their earlier work. Another sub-par record from a band that's moment in the sun passed over a decade ago.
  74. SteveO
    May 31, 2008
    4
    When I found out Stippe was gay, it kinda ruined the whole R.E.M. thing for me.
  75. DanG.
    Jun 28, 2008
    3
    I'm clearly in the minority here but make no apologies for what I'm about to write. It seems that almost everybody has been pulled in by the hype for this album, as it is mediocre at best. The recording level has been set so high that the whole thing just becomes a blur. What happened to the tunes and the subtlety that used to be REM? Accelerate is an album not without some I'm clearly in the minority here but make no apologies for what I'm about to write. It seems that almost everybody has been pulled in by the hype for this album, as it is mediocre at best. The recording level has been set so high that the whole thing just becomes a blur. What happened to the tunes and the subtlety that used to be REM? Accelerate is an album not without some merit - there are some good moments - but is this all they can come up with after 4 years of studio inactivity? By comparison, Around The Sun, is vastly superior, and I think history will judge that to be the case in years to come. Expand
  76. Patrick
    Apr 11, 2008
    2
    Utter crap. Stipe's prepubescent squealing takes irritating to the Nth level. R.E.M. should either go back to putting Stipe's vocals in the background (where they belong) or just disband.
  77. MarcG.
    Apr 2, 2008
    0
    After hearing this s**t I wonder how this band could have been great one day...Deccelerate is the right word.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Accelerate is patchy at best, with only the blaring finale, ‘I’m Gonna DJ’, really catching the attention.
  2. Accelerate is by some considerable distance REM’s best and most cohesive album since Berry left, and crucially echoes a time when they made their best music, if not necessarily their biggest-selling.
  3. There are a few jangly throwbacks for nostalgia’s sake interspersed throughout Accelerate, but they’re overshadowed by blustery guitar blather that shouts “anachronism” at every turn.