All The Right Reasons

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 339 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    Nickelback start feeling like a typical rock band that you heard before, almost all the songs feels the same, no strong emotions. I think he just did it for the money.
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    Definitely not their best album but listenable at best. They really don't help themselves with "Rockstar" when it comes to repelling haters. If you're going to stop people from mocking you, don't do a song that's intended to mock yourself so you can show a less serious side to your band. The meaningful lyrics give the listener some interest in the album but "Follow You Home" and "Side of aDefinitely not their best album but listenable at best. They really don't help themselves with "Rockstar" when it comes to repelling haters. If you're going to stop people from mocking you, don't do a song that's intended to mock yourself so you can show a less serious side to your band. The meaningful lyrics give the listener some interest in the album but "Follow You Home" and "Side of a Bullet" being put on the same album as "Photograph" and "If Everyone Cared" kind of ruins their attempt at mixing pop rock and heavy rock together. Doesn't sound right Expand
  3. johnybravo
    Jan 3, 2006
    4
    this album is ok. nothing special. it lacks balls, im not convinced with its manly butch sound, and neither is their public by the looks of things. production is almost perfect as usual, shame about the lack lustre songs. only as good as your last album lads...
  4. JakobL.
    Feb 4, 2008
    4
    Bah. In response to some people here. Just because a band has sold a lot, doesn't mean they're good does it?? Avril Lavigne has sold more of her second album than this, but would you say she was better? I doubt it. The whole thing is just a hard rock cliche, the same formula re-used over and over again , and i guarantee you their next album will be the same. I have given it 4 Bah. In response to some people here. Just because a band has sold a lot, doesn't mean they're good does it?? Avril Lavigne has sold more of her second album than this, but would you say she was better? I doubt it. The whole thing is just a hard rock cliche, the same formula re-used over and over again , and i guarantee you their next album will be the same. I have given it 4 because it's not the worst album i have ever heard by a long shot. Being cliched and boring is better than being tortured by something by, say, Coldplay. If you want true, uplifting music to be inspired by, listen to Radiohead, the Beatles, etc. THAT is rock music. Expand
  5. BostonCanuck
    Oct 26, 2005
    5
    Eh, I mean if you except them for what they are, this is not bad. I mean it is the same song/formula but at least it still rocks. Was anyone really expecting "Dark Side of The Moon"?
  6. AnthonyV
    Jan 30, 2006
    5
    If this were an emo album, the critics would have given this album five stars. It's every bit as pop as Jimmy Eat World or Fall Our Plan or Get Up Theory or Juliana Plan or yes I know what their real names are thank you, and ten years after EMO dies too, they'll all be right there in the bargain bin with Nickelback and the other "grunnnge!" bands. Let's quit kidding If this were an emo album, the critics would have given this album five stars. It's every bit as pop as Jimmy Eat World or Fall Our Plan or Get Up Theory or Juliana Plan or yes I know what their real names are thank you, and ten years after EMO dies too, they'll all be right there in the bargain bin with Nickelback and the other "grunnnge!" bands. Let's quit kidding ourselves, people. Nickelback is POP. Middle of the road pop. So are all the emo bands I mentioned. The only thing separating this from the current flavor of the week is that Nickelback sings their songs instead of WHINING THEM. Other than that, same chords, same structure, same instruments, same everything. The band members just don't look as good wearing thick glasses and black hair. Expand
  7. ChadKroger
    Nov 22, 2005
    4
    I am the lead singer of Nickelback, and I think this album is okay. We didn't really try very hard. We just sat around and recorded the angst in our hearts, and tried to make it sound like we were Nirvana or the Offspring. I really don't think we could do much better. We aren't all that great, like everyone is saying. If you want to skip having to hear the album, you can I am the lead singer of Nickelback, and I think this album is okay. We didn't really try very hard. We just sat around and recorded the angst in our hearts, and tried to make it sound like we were Nirvana or the Offspring. I really don't think we could do much better. We aren't all that great, like everyone is saying. If you want to skip having to hear the album, you can just send me the money directly. Thanks for your money. Expand
  8. MikeK
    Nov 28, 2005
    6
    Chad and Co., If you want to score a higher rating from "The New York Times" (or other such elitists), you´d do well to include a backing string section next time around.
  9. NickR
    Nov 16, 2005
    6
    Sorry man but you lose your credibility when you make reference to that fact that your favourites include Linkin Park and Staind. This isn't a bad album but it certainly doesn't break any new ground
  10. ZoddM
    Nov 17, 2005
    4
    I may never really know how awful this album or its singles are since I race to change the channel or radio station everytime I hear the words "look at this photograph...". Not as horrible as Sean Paul, so for the benefit of the doubt, I award a 4.
  11. Aug 6, 2015
    4
    This album is so frustrating every song is about the same thing and every song follows the same beat and rhythm. a true example of lazy songwriting!!!!
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Despite all their newly developed relative nuances, Nickelback remain unchanged: they're still unspeakably awful.
  2. Billboard
    80
    Less polish and more attitude are welcome changes that fire up the rock numbers and give them more snap. [8 Oct 2005]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    They're exploring a richer, more diverse sound. [28 Oct 2005, p.84]