User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SuleimanM.
    Jan 4, 2009
    8
    A 41 eh? I guess we should keep giving albums like the Carter III an 82, because that's talent right? Pathetic. Great Album.
  2. AntonF
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    This is a great album. The songs Nickelback write are amazingly catchy, powerful and well arranged/produced. And try to find a modern rock band that sounds better than Nickelback does live. The songs are just as tight and heavy as they are on the albums. The vocals are pretty much perfect. They sound just like on the album, only more powerful and energetic. Nickelback really knows how to This is a great album. The songs Nickelback write are amazingly catchy, powerful and well arranged/produced. And try to find a modern rock band that sounds better than Nickelback does live. The songs are just as tight and heavy as they are on the albums. The vocals are pretty much perfect. They sound just like on the album, only more powerful and energetic. Nickelback really knows how to write songs that please their fans AND theirselves. They love their own music just as much as the fans. Amazing muscicians. Amazing songwriting. Sure, the lyrics are pretty much crap, but they are definitely not serious. Actually, they're pretty funny. To me, anyway. Anyway, the music is what counts when it comes to Nickelback. You don't have to love, or even like their music. You just have to know, they are truly talented. I am a successful muscician myself, and I really mean this. Take care /anton. Expand
  3. Mark
    Oct 3, 2008
    9
    I find it interesting that whenever a band puts together meaningful lyrics and meaningful topics it gets skewered by critics. I suppose critics are paid to find something new and different, and if the band has a style that their fans like and stick to it, critics move on. These guys are not doing anything new, and they don't apologize for it. Their music has some significant morals I find it interesting that whenever a band puts together meaningful lyrics and meaningful topics it gets skewered by critics. I suppose critics are paid to find something new and different, and if the band has a style that their fans like and stick to it, critics move on. These guys are not doing anything new, and they don't apologize for it. Their music has some significant morals and motives, and they are a ton of fun. I put them in the Creed and 3 Doors Down category. I hope next album they get a bit more edge back, but overall I love these guys. Expand
  4. ChrisM.
    May 20, 2008
    8
    Really guys. This is the first album of theirs I have bought and its great. Unapologetic rock. Cliched yes. But isn't that the point ? For all the naysayers out there who seem to be hell bent on knocking these guys: WHY DONT YOU GO AND DO SOMETHING YOURSELVES INSTEAD OF MAKING A CAREER OF KNOCKING OTHERS EFFORTS ? WOULD LOVE TO SEE AND HEAR THAT !! One Life and these lads are living Really guys. This is the first album of theirs I have bought and its great. Unapologetic rock. Cliched yes. But isn't that the point ? For all the naysayers out there who seem to be hell bent on knocking these guys: WHY DONT YOU GO AND DO SOMETHING YOURSELVES INSTEAD OF MAKING A CAREER OF KNOCKING OTHERS EFFORTS ? WOULD LOVE TO SEE AND HEAR THAT !! One Life and these lads are living it (unlike you you negative bastards). Keep me posted. Expand
  5. ChristophB.
    May 20, 2008
    9
    To the negative critics of this band and album: take a good hard look in the mirror and ask yourselves what you have done with your lives so far. And spare me the cliched responses. Wishing you all the success with your small and pathetic existinces critcising other peoples' work and success. Still its easier than doing something yourself. Bon Chance ! Christoph
  6. JonathanQ.
    Jul 25, 2008
    8
    To start with let me lay out the obvious: This album is forumulaic, cliché and fairly repetetive. In spite of this Nickelback have seemed to have produced, possibly unwillingly, a genuinley fun hard rock record. With the obvious made-to-be-a-single Rockstar to the obligitary ballad, If Nobody Died, this album never suprises but never fails to entertain. With some great riffing and To start with let me lay out the obvious: This album is forumulaic, cliché and fairly repetetive. In spite of this Nickelback have seemed to have produced, possibly unwillingly, a genuinley fun hard rock record. With the obvious made-to-be-a-single Rockstar to the obligitary ballad, If Nobody Died, this album never suprises but never fails to entertain. With some great riffing and semi-witty lyrics this has great listen again value and some superb sing-alongability. Expand
  7. FrancoisB.
    Jul 31, 2008
    8
    I am proud to say Nickelback make good, solid and enjoyable rock music that grows on you. I don't care what the low-scoring lamers say, you cannot recognize music when you hear it. Probably like RAVE and DANCE music don't you? What a sad case.
  8. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Although their best album is (and will most likely always be) "Silver SIde Up" this is a VERY close second. Every song is memorable, catchy and rewards during repeat listens. Nickelback hit the perfect formula here and haven't been to match it since.
  9. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It is a great album, with great singles and songs. I think the users that don't like this or any other album, song or record doesn't enjoy post- grunge
  10. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Truly the last exceptional Nickelback album. I'm kind of on the NB hate bandwagon due to their recent releases. This album is exceptionally heavy and even includes a solo from the legendary Dimebag Darrell (RIP). Here and Now was okay, but it was NOTHING compared to this and Silver Side Up. It's sad that a once great modern rock band has turned to **** with things like auto-tune andTruly the last exceptional Nickelback album. I'm kind of on the NB hate bandwagon due to their recent releases. This album is exceptionally heavy and even includes a solo from the legendary Dimebag Darrell (RIP). Here and Now was okay, but it was NOTHING compared to this and Silver Side Up. It's sad that a once great modern rock band has turned to **** with things like auto-tune and synthesized guitars. As I said, this is the LAST exceptional release by a now-pitiful band. Expand
  11. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    dear haters, if ur not **** nickelback fans then dont review their album you knobs! obviously not everyone can like a certain band, but if u dont like them then dont spew **** about them on a page for fans
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    A generally good rock album let down only by a few weak songs. The album is littered with ballads and hard rock songs about all those clichéd things that the band are so good at writing about. Chad Kroeger knows what his audience wants and has created a perfect album for both Nickelback fans and hard rock lovers. A seriously underrated album.
  13. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    Feelings are so intense this album and I do not know if rate it with 7 for his good songs or a 4 because it is a very strong project that overshadows me, but I decide to give it the best because it shows the feelings of any person even expressed equally throughout the album. Nickelback is a band that has music for a long time and you will attract more fans despite its bad reviews.Feelings are so intense this album and I do not know if rate it with 7 for his good songs or a 4 because it is a very strong project that overshadows me, but I decide to give it the best because it shows the feelings of any person even expressed equally throughout the album. Nickelback is a band that has music for a long time and you will attract more fans despite its bad reviews.

    excellent album with songs like Animals, Photograph, Far Away, Side In A Bullet & Rockstar
    Expand
  14. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    best rock album i have ever heard in my life,great energy,loving the new drums cause i didn't like the drummer they had before, follow you home is a great way to kick off any amazing album, love the ballads too (photograph, savin me, if everyone cared) just an outstanding album
  15. Mar 7, 2011
    8
    One of there best albums, it does have one or two lame songs, but this is still an album I recommend if you like rock or are a fan of the band, a great CD.
  16. BrittanyD
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    To all of the haters: They "sound like creed", "they're nothing like def leppard", or my favorite "sound the exact same" are some of your petty remarks. All I have to do is smile and think when you're in the car and you hear "rockstar" for the millionth time on the radio because so many people have requested it that you can't help but sing those lyrics-don't deny it. To all of the haters: They "sound like creed", "they're nothing like def leppard", or my favorite "sound the exact same" are some of your petty remarks. All I have to do is smile and think when you're in the car and you hear "rockstar" for the millionth time on the radio because so many people have requested it that you can't help but sing those lyrics-don't deny it. So please, try to comment harshly on Nickelback, because I'm sure your album hasn't sold as many as theirs. Expand
  17. TreyN
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    Another entourage of haters dissing a mainstream artist. I mean really, this album heralded hit after hit, and the only reason people dis it is because they are trying to find existentialism in their last doobie and Bob Dylan record that you have to be high to enjoy!!! Now granted, it is a tad poppy, but it has good tracks on it, but for some people, if it is not a band with hardcore Another entourage of haters dissing a mainstream artist. I mean really, this album heralded hit after hit, and the only reason people dis it is because they are trying to find existentialism in their last doobie and Bob Dylan record that you have to be high to enjoy!!! Now granted, it is a tad poppy, but it has good tracks on it, but for some people, if it is not a band with hardcore metal guitars and a pitbul barking as the vocalist, it is not meaningful music. It amazes me that people listen to this album and really went out of their way to trash it! I bet they all secretly hum tunes from it when they are alone and don't have any friends there to point and laugh at them. If people could truly become individuals and appreciate things for what they are, rather than hate anything the radio plays and praise artists that do not get any radio play. Expand
  18. Jan 14, 2015
    9
    I don´t know why exist so much hate on this album! Just listen, It´s AWESOME! For me, the best tracks of the album are Photograph, Savin me and Far Away!
  19. Feb 10, 2011
    3
    Despite their new drummer, the album doesn't have any huge difference from their previous release The Long Road. Rather than start this album from where The Long Road left off, it pretty much makes a duplicate. The songs don't really have any distinctive quality, either. Often you get the feeling that this band is just plain derivative, instead of adding their own twist to things.

    The
    Despite their new drummer, the album doesn't have any huge difference from their previous release The Long Road. Rather than start this album from where The Long Road left off, it pretty much makes a duplicate. The songs don't really have any distinctive quality, either. Often you get the feeling that this band is just plain derivative, instead of adding their own twist to things.

    The songwriting here is nothing special. The rhyming includes "photograph" and "laugh", "cared" and "shared", "lied" and "cried", "rockstar" and "car", among other things. Why didn't these guys just spend a little bit of their time with a rhyming dictionary for better ideas? Instrumentals are quite unimpressive, even with a drummer who proved himself talented in 3 Doors Down. It also seems like cliche is the middle name of all of the Nickelback members.

    In the end it seems All The Right Reasons was made for all the wrong ones. Which is a shame, because some of the lyrics are actually quite meaningful. It's just that their badly written and boring. Overall, skip this one and look harder for the rare good modern hard rock band.
    Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2011
    1
    Far away rhymes "late" with "wait", and of course "long" with "along" Pure unadulterated genius. I was starting to think that people were being a little bit too harsh on popular music in general nowadays... UNTIL i heard this album. It just made me realize how you can STILL sell millions upon millions of albums yet with little to no effort put into each song. This is garbage that caters toFar away rhymes "late" with "wait", and of course "long" with "along" Pure unadulterated genius. I was starting to think that people were being a little bit too harsh on popular music in general nowadays... UNTIL i heard this album. It just made me realize how you can STILL sell millions upon millions of albums yet with little to no effort put into each song. This is garbage that caters to the lowest common denominator, and there is absolutely nothing on this album that compensates for the boring, trite, slavishly written lyrics, lack of passion, and droning, whiney vocals. Some lines sounds like he wrote them in 2 seconds.. Is it really that hard to go to the book store, pick up a rhyming dictionary, and come up with some better lines? I guess Chad is probably too lazy and is too concerned with $$$. Even if it's not as bad as alot of th youth-oriented/mainstream R&B (e.g. justin bieber) and most mainstream rap that you hear on the radio today, (which is why i didn't give a 0) it's still terrible... end of story
    Oh yea... If you want to hear GOOD albums (that have come out in recent time)... Kanye West's "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" Stone Temple Pilots self-titled album, Rob Thomas's Cradlesong or Radiohead's "The King of Limbs", just to name a few
    Expand
  21. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    Nickelback start feeling like a typical rock band that you heard before, almost all the songs feels the same, no strong emotions. I think he just did it for the money.
  22. VishalP.
    Aug 4, 2008
    1
    The only reason it doesnt get a zero is because its music. really BAD music. why so these guys get so much airplay? all the songs sound the same, boring post grunge rock. its a dying genre. if you want a real band try rise against.
  23. JonasF
    Mar 11, 2007
    0
    Super Job! :~} Oh yeah just great the length the went to to pretend they matter. What a disguiting contribution to the world of music. This garbage sells best at red-neck convention #1, Wal-Mart. Somebody giving this disk worth of BULL%&*% anything over 4 would only be capable of giving a review as rich and in depth as "two words simpley.awsome." which did a fine job misspelling the words Super Job! :~} Oh yeah just great the length the went to to pretend they matter. What a disguiting contribution to the world of music. This garbage sells best at red-neck convention #1, Wal-Mart. Somebody giving this disk worth of BULL%&*% anything over 4 would only be capable of giving a review as rich and in depth as "two words simpley.awsome." which did a fine job misspelling the words simply and awesome. How about, "super job.......chad sounds great in photograph," excellent use of "........" when its really needed! Super job reviewing and telling us of Chad's super duper voice in 'Photograph', you must have a Pulitzer eh? No of course not you'd be banned from wal-mart if you had an award in distinguished writing and then where would you have purchased good ole' All the Right Reasons. One song that is just rich in social commentary is "If Everyone Cared" thats where they show their sophisticate side we lines like this," If everyone cared and nobody lied, If everyone shared and swallowed their pride, Then we'd see the day when nobody died," aww how moving. Honestly are they refering to a war of some sort, world leaders? Does it even matter what they refer to? Radiohead is nothing compared to these cool dudes in Nickelback and their cool guitars, drums, bass and vocal line-up. If you purchased this baby at Wal-Mart you also got a bonus track! Its the band covering Queen's "We Will Rock You," obviously appealing to the southern eardrum and obviously being a terrible cover. The fact that radio hit "Photograph," a @#$$load of words being screamed about Chad boy's adolescence in photobook form peaked #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 just tells you how 98 other songs could ignored by the US crowd. This band can not compare to any other Canadian band. These guys make Canada look like a joke and the fact that the Arcade Fire is not as big there or in the US tells you how terrible the education system must be. Damn you Bush look what you've done! But lets not just blame these two countries, lets blame the whole world! Worldwide over 7,000,000 copies have been sold, in both the USA and Canda they have reached 5x platnium. Do you see why this matters? It matters because right now so many people are allowing the world to breed the music of money whores and ignorance. That we allow this in our homes not just in the United States, but the world. Can nobody else say the truth? My name is Jonas Feathers and I wonder what would happed "If Everyone Cared". :[ Expand
  24. GraceL
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    Oh dear... another Nickleback album. How can you tell? Because the whole album sound the same from beginning to end. The only difference is the tone of the lead singers droning, undeveloped, amateur vocals.
  25. FrankG.
    Jun 14, 2007
    0
    Horrible... just horrible... my girlfriend gave me this peice of trash and i have to pretend to like it. EVERY SONG IS AT THE SAME TEMPO!
  26. EricC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    Sometimes, music can blow my mind, like the first time I heard the Arcade Fire or when I listened through Panda Bear's Person Pitch. Sometimes music blows my mind for horrible reasons. Like this band, which is like opening the Lost Ark and having your head melt and explode, with this god awful music being the last thing you experience. It actually hurts to listen to Nickleback. I Sometimes, music can blow my mind, like the first time I heard the Arcade Fire or when I listened through Panda Bear's Person Pitch. Sometimes music blows my mind for horrible reasons. Like this band, which is like opening the Lost Ark and having your head melt and explode, with this god awful music being the last thing you experience. It actually hurts to listen to Nickleback. I think I would have been more comfortable with an ice pick jabbed through my ears than when listening to "Photograph". And when you hear "Rock Star" and ponder how anyone could write music this bad, you might just have your mind blown too. And now bands like Hinder are actually coppying this sin against humanity of a band. Maybe this really is the death of popular rock... Expand
  27. PatrickM
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    Nickelback has ruined rock as we know it. There lyrics have know meaning, just the same lovey dovey, sad and lonely song over and over again. This album beats you to death with sex and love songs like the rest of nickelback's albums. There is no meaning at all.
  28. CleopatraJ
    Nov 1, 2005
    1
    Who are these people below me? Are they really serious? This must be some kind of joke. Quote: "clearly the people that gave this a album a zero dont know anything about music"--that about Nickelback? aka the fourth cycle of grunge lite? completely trite, profoundly unoriginal corporate fm sludge? There's something here.
  29. BenK
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Nickelback return with yet another dismal album with samey songs that will bore you.
  30. alanalda
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    no . stop.
  31. EffE
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    I'm not proud to be Canadian anymore... Worst album ever by one of the worst band in the history of our Country. I can't believe they actually sell cd's...
  32. radar
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    enough!
  33. BrandonW
    Oct 29, 2005
    1
    Notice that everyone who has reviewed this album with a glowing response barely has the intellectual capacity to even remotely command the English language in a correct manner. If you examine that the intellect of the crowd that lauds Nickelback is remarkably apparent. Just like the contrived idiocy of this album.
  34. Matt
    Oct 31, 2005
    0
    One of the worst bands in recent memory. One needs look no further than that the two clone songs "How You Remind Me" and "Someday." How can a band release two songs two years apart that sound nearly exactly the same? A shame to Canadian music and music in general.
  35. MangleR
    Oct 30, 2005
    0
    Wow...looks like the same guy decided to raise the rating. Either that or it's just one huge, inbred family. Nice one, guys. You sure know how to show a girl a good time.
  36. Flërnk
    Jan 1, 2006
    0
    Um... yeah... This album is just plain not good.
  37. TheSecretAssasin(kiddingit'sJamesM)
    Jan 1, 2006
    1
    Terrible and dull. A really boring and stupid album.
  38. NicholasF
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    Kris B seems to think that the genocide that is Nickelback has something to do with Kurt Cobain. Are you insane - don't blame a visionary for the commodified and hollow way Nickelback uses rock/metal. This record is on par with the worst modern music has to offer, and that is saying alot. Unfortunatly people cannot help but lap it up.
  39. aa
    Jan 20, 2006
    0
    More self-conscious throat rock from the everyband
  40. Segageek
    Jan 4, 2006
    2
    Ok i have listened to the first 4 nickelband albums and they were good. So i thought id give this album a try and how i regret it so. First off everyone needs to relize one thing. CHAD CANT SING! Honestly and Photogragh sounded like a warped version of someday. There is not even one song on this album that stands out. Even the bands chad krouger helps have made better albums then his band Ok i have listened to the first 4 nickelband albums and they were good. So i thought id give this album a try and how i regret it so. First off everyone needs to relize one thing. CHAD CANT SING! Honestly and Photogragh sounded like a warped version of someday. There is not even one song on this album that stands out. Even the bands chad krouger helps have made better albums then his band this year. Aka Default, Theory Of A Dead man. Way better albums. I dont see a reason how these guys are still around a complete and utterly bland album. Check Out the new Default Album it's 10X better then this pos of an album Expand
  41. AFWhigs
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Oh yeah, I've been subjected to this entire cd multiple times by my carpool buddies, and to me it has the force of a long, listless anal probe. Yee gads, this is just pure, unadulterated corporate Product Rock. No soul, no wit, no creativity, no value. It has all the artistic and creative legitimacy of Ashlee Simpson. Even the "rockin'" tunes are so slick and overproduced Oh yeah, I've been subjected to this entire cd multiple times by my carpool buddies, and to me it has the force of a long, listless anal probe. Yee gads, this is just pure, unadulterated corporate Product Rock. No soul, no wit, no creativity, no value. It has all the artistic and creative legitimacy of Ashlee Simpson. Even the "rockin'" tunes are so slick and overproduced it's like dancing to a focus group. This is the kind of heinous garbage that spawned the punk movement in the 70's. Expand
  42. DavidB
    May 6, 2006
    2
    They rewrote the album for the 3rd time. and god this band was decent back in when they made the State. Everything since Silver side up is derirvative. Example: how you remind me- someday- save me are essentially the same song. This time they just added softer songs compared to their last couple of cds. Besides, they were not original in the first pkace. I agree with the guy a few They rewrote the album for the 3rd time. and god this band was decent back in when they made the State. Everything since Silver side up is derirvative. Example: how you remind me- someday- save me are essentially the same song. This time they just added softer songs compared to their last couple of cds. Besides, they were not original in the first pkace. I agree with the guy a few reviewers below me that they had to sing about drugs, wild sex(animals), being a rockstar(rockstar the song itself the same as the last song from the last record See you at the Show). In other words, there are much better bands out there...check out wolfmother, new pearl jam, well most stuff is better than nickelback. However, nickelback is not bad as those emo, r&b, and alot of mainstream rap which saves them from a 0. Expand
  43. SeanU.
    Jun 20, 2006
    1
    Well, well, well, progressive rock band Nickelcreed is back with another album. This is the one where Chad goes on tour, shaves himself a reverse mohawk, dresses up like a sunflower, and sings "Someday" to the local church youth group. You know, even the sameyness of the songs (I wouldm have gone as high as a 3 if these were original compositions!) doesn't bother me as much as these Well, well, well, progressive rock band Nickelcreed is back with another album. This is the one where Chad goes on tour, shaves himself a reverse mohawk, dresses up like a sunflower, and sings "Someday" to the local church youth group. You know, even the sameyness of the songs (I wouldm have gone as high as a 3 if these were original compositions!) doesn't bother me as much as these two things: the banal lyrics and Chad Kroeger's annoying whiny voice. Firstly, why does he have to sound like a tough guy processed through a computer? and what happened to being post-post-post-Grunge? This is "hard" rock, if anything. And radio-ready, pansy wannabe rock. Heck, these guys probably even know they suck, but just want to make the $$$. And I absolutely hate these bands that have to act so serious... like they really cared about doing this. Even in the tongue-in-cheek stuff ("Rock Star"), it's the same cry-down-to-earth spew that is supposed to move you, but the only thing it moves is my bowels. Excuse me for a moment... *FLUSH* Okay, where was I? Ohh, Theory of a Nickelback album. Anyway, "Savin' Me"... ok, we re-arranged some old song and added these cool fade effects where Chad still does the same 8 or 9 syllable line between the chorus that always bugs the shit out of me. "Photograph": You know it, starts off with cheesy radio lyrics "Look at this photograph/Every time I look at it it makes me laugh"... Aww, I didn't know Chad the poet could laugh. In fact, I didn't know Chad the studio automaton could show ANY emotional range at all. And then we have to start "rocking" the chorus so you know we REALLY MEAN IT! We're SERIOUS MAN! This is SERIOUS STUFF! STOP LAUGHING AT IT! Expand
  44. NickelbackMaj
    Jul 30, 2006
    1
    They suck.
  45. TuomasS
    Feb 9, 2007
    1
    Overly contrived and predictable, it lacks the artistic credibilty and merit that makes an album interesting. I do not want to sound cliched, but Nickelback tends to form the epitome of a mass-produced, corporate act, sounding bland and strained, not giving a listener anything to walk away with. I hate to stoop this low, but Pearl Jam was good 12 years ago and still fine now, why listen Overly contrived and predictable, it lacks the artistic credibilty and merit that makes an album interesting. I do not want to sound cliched, but Nickelback tends to form the epitome of a mass-produced, corporate act, sounding bland and strained, not giving a listener anything to walk away with. I hate to stoop this low, but Pearl Jam was good 12 years ago and still fine now, why listen to a copy that falls short? Expand
  46. MMars
    Mar 1, 2007
    2
    I give this a number 2 becasue their music sounds like "number 2". This is the same boring god-awful, manufactured, contrived, and overly produced crap I always hear on the radio. Why is this band labled "alternative"? An alternative to what? It sounds like every other "corporate rock" crap that is played on the radio. The lead singer sings like he's taking a dump and all the songs I give this a number 2 becasue their music sounds like "number 2". This is the same boring god-awful, manufactured, contrived, and overly produced crap I always hear on the radio. Why is this band labled "alternative"? An alternative to what? It sounds like every other "corporate rock" crap that is played on the radio. The lead singer sings like he's taking a dump and all the songs sound the same. This band is lacking in originality and creativity. There are so many other great artists on smaller independent lables ... It's a pitty they don't get the airplay they deserve. Anyway, I just wonder how much money these huge record companies are paying these radio stations to play their shit. Expand
  47. John
    Mar 9, 2007
    0
    Do I really need to comment about this trash?
  48. ChrisM
    Apr 30, 2007
    0
    Nickleback is terrible
  49. SconfSconf
    May 19, 2007
    0
    No one good song on this O_O
  50. DanielB.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    idk y ppl think this album sucks kus it rocks best one so far and nickelbacks albums all rock
  51. st
    Jul 8, 2007
    0
    I actually haven't heard this album, but I had to bring down the overall score after having listened to this: http://www.thewebshite.net/nickelback.htm . I feel bad for all their poor fans that are deluded by their rewriting songs over and over.
  52. j
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    Can I go lower, no. But my rating is to high
  53. JH.
    Sep 7, 2007
    0
    I absolutely adore the fact that the best thing that can be said about this band is either pointless (chad sounds great), narcissisistic (Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song.), or bisteringly irrellevant (They Rock so hard!). However, one comment couldn't be more I absolutely adore the fact that the best thing that can be said about this band is either pointless (chad sounds great), narcissisistic (Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song.), or bisteringly irrellevant (They Rock so hard!). However, one comment couldn't be more right, " Nickelback prodecude the goods once more." I indeed felt like my goods were prodecuded by Nickelback, and to be honest, I felt violated. Expand
  54. MiguelM
    Jan 10, 2008
    0
    iis josh c delirious ? are you saying this piece of crap album is better than all the rock albums released after 1987 ? so your saying that this "album" is better than nirvanas never mind or Green days dookie or all pearl jam or the chili peppers ? well pal you must be smoking something cos that statement is so laughable. i got this cd from a relative for Christmas , shed forgotten to iis josh c delirious ? are you saying this piece of crap album is better than all the rock albums released after 1987 ? so your saying that this "album" is better than nirvanas never mind or Green days dookie or all pearl jam or the chili peppers ? well pal you must be smoking something cos that statement is so laughable. i got this cd from a relative for Christmas , shed forgotten to remove the "get this cd for ten dollars" sticker on it, this band is horrible they are simply just unimaginative and un inspiring they're as bland as a piece of white bread. i cant believe your having a go at arcade fire , their music is different and if different music confuses you and the four other nickelback fans well obviously nickelback fans are imbeciles. death cab for cutie is a brilliant outfit they're music speaaks its smart its well written structured and produced the songs are never bland they are brilliant without a reason. no everyone should not buy this album everyone should forget nickelback exists. Expand
  55. finul.
    Dec 20, 2008
    3
    Generic arena-rock ("Animals," "Follow You Home") with the occasional decent but unexceptional ballad ("If Everyone Cared"). Pick up a couple Pearl Jam or Nirvana records instead.
  56. RyanJ.
    May 11, 2008
    2
    Nickelback is just what's wrong with popular rock...or popular music in general. For them and their peers, it's all about sounding big and tough. Heavy guitars, gravelly vocals x10. But it's all the same stylistic nonsense that bands have been doing since Nirvana split. Equally dismal is the fact that their teenage fans can do nothing to defend them except hurl curses and Nickelback is just what's wrong with popular rock...or popular music in general. For them and their peers, it's all about sounding big and tough. Heavy guitars, gravelly vocals x10. But it's all the same stylistic nonsense that bands have been doing since Nirvana split. Equally dismal is the fact that their teenage fans can do nothing to defend them except hurl curses and death threats at negative reviewers. I used to be that young, and I used to think that that "jock-rock" would make me cool if I listened to it. Then I got older, and I realized it was all calculated major-label radio trash. You kids should get back to us in 10 years. Collapse
  57. DaleK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    0
    Only half decent song is "Animals. Too bad there aren't only 10 songs on this album, because if there were, it could get a dismal 1/10. But since there are 11, it still gets a 0. I'm embarrassed that the bum of a lead singer lives in my town. They suck, and always will. This isn't because I don't like them. It's because they suck. I'm also glad that 15 yr Only half decent song is "Animals. Too bad there aren't only 10 songs on this album, because if there were, it could get a dismal 1/10. But since there are 11, it still gets a 0. I'm embarrassed that the bum of a lead singer lives in my town. They suck, and always will. This isn't because I don't like them. It's because they suck. I'm also glad that 15 yr olds don't pick what's on the radio. From the mouth of Claudio Snchez of Coheed and Cambria, "Listen to Maiden." Expand
  58. DanielB
    Nov 1, 2005
    1
    God these guys are horrible. Trite lyrics stacked on stilted hooks backed by an image that is such a facade that just hearing their name makes my brain vomit.
  59. dan
    Nov 18, 2005
    0
    this is not music its something you find at the bottom of youre toilet
  60. Toxic
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Yes..........Canada.........your indie music scene has taken you out of "music hell", but I'll never be able to forgive you for this pitiful band. People that support Nickelback have the worst taste in music and have absolutely zero intelligence. Plain and simple.
  61. EmilioS
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    If you like this album, you're either hopeless or ignorant. For the hopeless, just go on with your worthless lives and bask in the glory that is Nickelback. For the ignorant, you really need to help yourself, for the sake of dignity at least. If this horrible music taps some kind of emotion for you, I guarantee you that there are dozens of other bands who could satisfy that emotion If you like this album, you're either hopeless or ignorant. For the hopeless, just go on with your worthless lives and bask in the glory that is Nickelback. For the ignorant, you really need to help yourself, for the sake of dignity at least. If this horrible music taps some kind of emotion for you, I guarantee you that there are dozens of other bands who could satisfy that emotion ten times more. So please, please seek out that better music, not just for you, but for your children, and your children's children. We can't continue giving our money to Freddy Kruger and all those other criminals who try to ruin music. Expand
  62. GlennM
    Nov 20, 2005
    0
    My pick for the biggest embarrasment to our generation. I dont want to take credit for these dumbasses, this is the worst music I have ever heard out of grown men.
  63. MahaliaT.
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Unoriginal and boring.
  64. Mack
    Nov 4, 2005
    0
    Why must albums like this exist? More importantly, how can anyone listen to this and think, "Wow, that's an incredibly creative, unique, and talented band!"? This is talentless fluff rock created with the sole intent of FM radio play to the vapid hoi poloi that is 99.9% of radio listeners.
  65. EllS
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    I havent even listened to it and i will never. I just hate Nickelback and i always will. They are the worst band ever. THe world would be a better place without their stupid bullshite songs. I hate them.
  66. MorganK
    Dec 22, 2005
    0
    Truly the wosrt album of 2005, which was overall a pretty great year for new music. 'Photograph' sounds like it was written by a 14 year-old (one couplet rhymes 'up' with 'up', followed by 'out' with 'out') and the bland, irrelevance of a post-post-post-post-Pearl Jam makes it just intolerable. It's one of the few albums on Metacritic Truly the wosrt album of 2005, which was overall a pretty great year for new music. 'Photograph' sounds like it was written by a 14 year-old (one couplet rhymes 'up' with 'up', followed by 'out' with 'out') and the bland, irrelevance of a post-post-post-post-Pearl Jam makes it just intolerable. It's one of the few albums on Metacritic that truly deserves a 0 - every one of you giving it a 10 now will be trading it in at the used CD store in 3 years thinking to yourself 'I used to really like this album, but I just don't listen to it anymore' - and that will be because it's shallow, meaningless, pablum. Expand
  67. dimefront
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    yikes
  68. wander
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    ...come back, new kids on the block, everything is forgiven and forgotten!
  69. AlanR
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    On behalf of all Canadians, I'm really sorry.
  70. Mahogomy
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    lame. so very very lame
  71. SeanC
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Can I give less than 0? I guess not....one of the great mysteries of life is the fact that there are people out there that consume this garbage and fuel the relentless egotism that is Nickleback
  72. Cables
    Oct 29, 2005
    0
    Are these people serious about the album of the year comments? This must be the only album they've listened to this year. Someone please stop Nickelback from making another record before it's too late!
  73. YourA.
    Oct 30, 2005
    0
    This album was so amazing! This is going to be album of the year without a doubt, there is no one even going to come close to making an album as good as this! Sufjan Stevens? Pssh, let's hear it for Nickelback!
  74. karlh
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    nickleback are shit. grunge is shit, this record (yes you've guesed it) is..........SHIT
  75. Jimbo
    Dec 19, 2006
    0
    Cliched, commercial rock music. They set out to be grunge, but they miss what grunge was about; fucking the mainstream. The songs all sound the same and these guys have less talent than three oysters and a tuba.
  76. josak
    Dec 1, 2006
    0
    One of the most annoying, shitty bands I've ever heard. I just wish I could reach through my TV screen/radio and plant my foot in their faces.
  77. LuisS
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    lol at the person who thinks we hate nickelback because they are Canadian. We hate them because they suck. Rush are Canadian and I love them. Neil Young is Canadian and he's also one of my favorite artists.
  78. AronJ.
    Dec 1, 2008
    2
    Most people who like this album are already just fans of the band, and not neccasarily music, this album is nothing more than rock n roll cliche made into songs.
  79. BrettM.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    This album is just awful, and yes, i would and have said that to a Nickelback fan's face. They need to stop doing acoustic songs, and maybe try songs that are a little less recycled.
  80. Sean
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    This is the decadence of music. The overproduced and terribly cliche themes make this one of the worst listens anyone can ever imagine. They are an embarassment to all real musicians. Canadaians don't embrace them and only Americans ignorant and brainwashed enough to enjoy this will. This is by far the worst band ever. Its sad when they are trying to be the new Creed and still sound This is the decadence of music. The overproduced and terribly cliche themes make this one of the worst listens anyone can ever imagine. They are an embarassment to all real musicians. Canadaians don't embrace them and only Americans ignorant and brainwashed enough to enjoy this will. This is by far the worst band ever. Its sad when they are trying to be the new Creed and still sound just as pathetic. THis album will make you dumber for listening to it not to mention give you a painful headache. Expand
  81. AbrahamL.
    Jan 10, 2009
    0
    Nickelback kills rock like Grant kills his men.
  82. RobertC.
    Aug 6, 2009
    1
    This album should be recalled, melted down, and put into something more useful.
  83. AlanS
    Sep 19, 2009
    0
    So bad, I really wish I could unlisten to it. Mr Kroeger? I want those 40 minutes back!
  84. mc
    May 27, 2007
    0
    If only they would just fall over and die. They are no better than an emo band, except at least emo admits their pussy
  85. SteveW.
    Feb 16, 2008
    0
    Nickelback has cliche rock music, all the songs are the same, it's pretty much complete garbage. Do yourself a favor and never listen to this album again.
  86. AK.
    Mar 21, 2008
    0
    Doesn't merit any comment.
  87. RudyS.
    Mar 29, 2008
    0
    It's bad. It's just bad.
  88. JoshS.
    May 19, 2008
    0
    Well folks it seems as though popular music has gone to the shit hole.. This is bad for probably 5 reasons: Reason 1- Chad Kroeger's voice is grating. Reason 2- No matter where the fuck I go I hear Nickleback ( sure they are popular, it just means that simple people which is the majority of this country love them by the way...ya'll also voted for Bush!) 3. The inspiration for Well folks it seems as though popular music has gone to the shit hole.. This is bad for probably 5 reasons: Reason 1- Chad Kroeger's voice is grating. Reason 2- No matter where the fuck I go I hear Nickleback ( sure they are popular, it just means that simple people which is the majority of this country love them by the way...ya'll also voted for Bush!) 3. The inspiration for their songs is very shallow. 4) The songs aren't really original, they're simply clones of songs that have already been made. 5) Did I mention that I hated Chad Kroeger's voice? Listen to it...over and over... and see that the music doesn't warrant further listening. Expand
  89. StevenR.
    Jan 19, 2009
    2
    Apparently Nickelback have taken the "Recycle" campaigns to heart, as every Nickelback song sounds (mostly) the same. They harmonize and junk the same way. Too bad its all boring and generic! Notice all the good reviews. What do they say? "Your just jelous!" or "They sold more!" Well, if selling records makes an album good, then MC Hammer isn't just a rip-off, he has TALENT! Apparently Nickelback have taken the "Recycle" campaigns to heart, as every Nickelback song sounds (mostly) the same. They harmonize and junk the same way. Too bad its all boring and generic! Notice all the good reviews. What do they say? "Your just jelous!" or "They sold more!" Well, if selling records makes an album good, then MC Hammer isn't just a rip-off, he has TALENT! Seriously, folks, lets be realistic, what has Nickelback done to expand post-grunge? For that matter, what is the difference between Creed and Nickelback? Oh, right, Chad Kroeger can't sing. (Don't believe me? Listen to "If everyone cared"...if your ears ain't bleeding from the cheesy climax of the song, you obviously haven't heard much music). Chad Kroeger has an incredibly grating voice, and he writes cliched lyrics. At times, it sounds like if it took him 1 minute to write the whole lyrics of the album (if everyone lied/nobody would die, psh, easy rhyme!). Nothing in this album is original, and really, when not proudly waving the banner of generic, they tap dance their way into "cheesy" territory. Ballads, suck! And care to tell me the difference between this and their previous album? Didn't think so. All in all, this is very much representative of horrible radio rock. Think of it as the time in Rock History where all those crappy Arena Rock bands began to appear (no not Def Leppard, I'm talking about the ones who shamelessly copied them). Sure, they sold a lot, but no one will care about them in a few years. Nickelback, you suck. You are generic, safe. And in case you don't believe me that this album was just made to sell, Kroeger himself admitted it. "We are on autopilot." Too bad your fans want you to crash into the spot of "Worst, Generic, Cheesiest band ever". But never fear, Hinder is already there! Expand
  90. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    1
    If you want to be able to sing the songs to the band before you have fully heard the song, then this band is for you , everything is so predictable down to the melody. This is the most generic and cliche band ever, I can dream this will be the worst but I can only hope. If you actually happen to like this band you have extremely low expectations.
  91. TroyF
    Nov 18, 2005
    2
    The best Nickelback album is around a 5.5 out of 10. This one is a 2.
  92. MattB.
    Dec 28, 2008
    0
    Pointless lyrics, blander songs cannot be found. Stylistically, a studio-created mash-up of Metallica, Pearl Jam, and Creed. This band has no sound of its own. Nickelback epitomizes what is wrong with music today.
  93. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    hi, i'm sorry, i just see only two extreme sides to the argument. and almost no middle.
    now, i know my review suggests i'm not in the middle too, but at least let us give credit where credit is due.
    first of all, chad kroeger is an amazing singer. great capabilities, and great presence. - that much is true. other than that, we are definitely talking about one of the most horrible bands in
    hi, i'm sorry, i just see only two extreme sides to the argument. and almost no middle.
    now, i know my review suggests i'm not in the middle too, but at least let us give credit where credit is due.
    first of all, chad kroeger is an amazing singer.
    great capabilities, and great presence. - that much is true.
    other than that, we are definitely talking about one of the most horrible bands in recent years.
    absolutely no originality whatsoever.
    lyrics that are obviously trying to get 13 year old boys and girls excited.
    talking about wanting to be a rockstar? i mean, since when did intelligent thinking lose its weight in music evaluation? and the most predictable lyrics i've ever friggin' seen, no depth, no nothing!
    about the playboy mansion and fifteen cars.. aren't these guys in their late 30's by now? is this for real?
    it is borderline retarded! and just thinking that someone (EVER) compared this band to pearl jam or other bands as such makes me wanna vomit..
    my god people.. listen to words by eddie vedder.. actual depth.. his no poet.. and he does slip into cliches now and again.. but he has substance.. this has nothing.. bad rhymes with the catchiest melodies they could think of!! you know why certain melodies are catchy?? cuz you friggin' heard them before a million times!! in fact, you heard them on the last nickelback album!!
    i would seriously reconsider my friendship with any person who claims he likes nickelback. this album, and for that matter, their body of... um.. work.. is an insult to human intelligence.
    its fine when you are 12-13, i mean, it is eye level with you and it is exciting.
    but this is no music for grown people.
    this is eye level to them becuz nickelback think like twelve year olds.
    btw - the first time i heard nickelback was "hero" which is not exactly nickelback, but same same.. and i remember thinking - this is a bit too popy.. but there is a sleight chance there is something behind this band... TOTALY **** WRONG
    Expand
  94. Oct 30, 2012
    1
    I don't even know what to say. It's goddamn Nickelback. It's not incompetently structured, but like... why does this even exist?
  95. May 21, 2014
    0
    dear nickelback, stop making music. Your songs all sound alike, all their songs are about sex, drinking, and partying, your lyrics are boring, generic, and just uninspired. These guys killed post grunge with a shovel and creed made sure it stayed dead.
  96. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    A bunch of groaning and terrible talent. I am not surprised that people in Portugal chunked rocks at them. They are extremely bland and their songs have the most shallow meanings that my Yorkshire Terrier's defecation sounds better and sound more deep than this abomination. I am a fan of rock and all genres of music... but this? WAT DA F#$ IS DIZ!?!?!?!
  97. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    Definitely not their best album but listenable at best. They really don't help themselves with "Rockstar" when it comes to repelling haters. If you're going to stop people from mocking you, don't do a song that's intended to mock yourself so you can show a less serious side to your band. The meaningful lyrics give the listener some interest in the album but "Follow You Home" and "Side of aDefinitely not their best album but listenable at best. They really don't help themselves with "Rockstar" when it comes to repelling haters. If you're going to stop people from mocking you, don't do a song that's intended to mock yourself so you can show a less serious side to your band. The meaningful lyrics give the listener some interest in the album but "Follow You Home" and "Side of a Bullet" being put on the same album as "Photograph" and "If Everyone Cared" kind of ruins their attempt at mixing pop rock and heavy rock together. Doesn't sound right Expand
  98. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    In a career of average albums with one or two good songs, Nickelback apparently just decided to not even try on this one. Every single song, even the gentle love songs, are so cheesy and devoid of emotion they are hard to even listen to more than a few seconds, with the hard rocking songs also being so shallow and obnoxious I felt like I might be And do not even get me started onIn a career of average albums with one or two good songs, Nickelback apparently just decided to not even try on this one. Every single song, even the gentle love songs, are so cheesy and devoid of emotion they are hard to even listen to more than a few seconds, with the hard rocking songs also being so shallow and obnoxious I felt like I might be And do not even get me started on "Rockstar," which might just take the prize as the worst song ever. Regardless, diehard fans of Nickelback might still find reasons to like this album, but anyone else should avoid All The Right Reasons at all costs (wow, even my criticism doesn't sound right).
    Note: I actually am not a Nickelback hater as many people reading this review might assume, as I actually like many of the singles they have released throughout the years. I just think this album is one of the worst albums ever.
    Expand
  99. JoshC
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Easily the best rock album since the year 1987. I hate the people that say Nickleback sucks, cause, well they don't. It's bands like The Arcade Fire who like use a lot of instruments that sound "different", and also John Vanderslice, he records all of his own music which is just silly, he works too hard. Nickleback takes the easy way out and uses very similar chord structures to Easily the best rock album since the year 1987. I hate the people that say Nickleback sucks, cause, well they don't. It's bands like The Arcade Fire who like use a lot of instruments that sound "different", and also John Vanderslice, he records all of his own music which is just silly, he works too hard. Nickleback takes the easy way out and uses very similar chord structures to each of their songs, so as not to confuse it's audience, myself included. I like that if I turn on the radio at like noon I can hear Nickleback, and if I turn on the radio at like 12:13 I can hear Nickleback, I'm not sure if they are playing the same song or not, but really who can? P.S. Death Cab sucks... and the new Tegan and Sara album is horrible... And the Beatles? I wish they would have been inspired by Nickleback. Nuff said. Everyone should buy this new Nickleback album, and then bite a curb. Expand
  100. HerbisonD.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    More often than not, records with real staying power don't provide instant gratification. That's sad, since the winds of change
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Despite all their newly developed relative nuances, Nickelback remain unchanged: they're still unspeakably awful.
  2. Less polish and more attitude are welcome changes that fire up the rock numbers and give them more snap. [8 Oct 2005]
  3. They're exploring a richer, more diverse sound. [28 Oct 2005, p.84]