All The Right Reasons

User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 349 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VishalP.
    Aug 4, 2008
    1
    The only reason it doesnt get a zero is because its music. really BAD music. why so these guys get so much airplay? all the songs sound the same, boring post grunge rock. its a dying genre. if you want a real band try rise against.
  2. JonasF
    Mar 11, 2007
    0
    Super Job! :~} Oh yeah just great the length the went to to pretend they matter. What a disguiting contribution to the world of music. This garbage sells best at red-neck convention #1, Wal-Mart. Somebody giving this disk worth of BULL%&*% anything over 4 would only be capable of giving a review as rich and in depth as "two words simpley.awsome." which did a fine job misspelling the words Super Job! :~} Oh yeah just great the length the went to to pretend they matter. What a disguiting contribution to the world of music. This garbage sells best at red-neck convention #1, Wal-Mart. Somebody giving this disk worth of BULL%&*% anything over 4 would only be capable of giving a review as rich and in depth as "two words simpley.awsome." which did a fine job misspelling the words simply and awesome. How about, "super job.......chad sounds great in photograph," excellent use of "........" when its really needed! Super job reviewing and telling us of Chad's super duper voice in 'Photograph', you must have a Pulitzer eh? No of course not you'd be banned from wal-mart if you had an award in distinguished writing and then where would you have purchased good ole' All the Right Reasons. One song that is just rich in social commentary is "If Everyone Cared" thats where they show their sophisticate side we lines like this," If everyone cared and nobody lied, If everyone shared and swallowed their pride, Then we'd see the day when nobody died," aww how moving. Honestly are they refering to a war of some sort, world leaders? Does it even matter what they refer to? Radiohead is nothing compared to these cool dudes in Nickelback and their cool guitars, drums, bass and vocal line-up. If you purchased this baby at Wal-Mart you also got a bonus track! Its the band covering Queen's "We Will Rock You," obviously appealing to the southern eardrum and obviously being a terrible cover. The fact that radio hit "Photograph," a @#$$load of words being screamed about Chad boy's adolescence in photobook form peaked #2 on the Billboard Hot 100 just tells you how 98 other songs could ignored by the US crowd. This band can not compare to any other Canadian band. These guys make Canada look like a joke and the fact that the Arcade Fire is not as big there or in the US tells you how terrible the education system must be. Damn you Bush look what you've done! But lets not just blame these two countries, lets blame the whole world! Worldwide over 7,000,000 copies have been sold, in both the USA and Canda they have reached 5x platnium. Do you see why this matters? It matters because right now so many people are allowing the world to breed the music of money whores and ignorance. That we allow this in our homes not just in the United States, but the world. Can nobody else say the truth? My name is Jonas Feathers and I wonder what would happed "If Everyone Cared". :[ Expand
  3. GraceL
    Apr 12, 2007
    0
    Oh dear... another Nickleback album. How can you tell? Because the whole album sound the same from beginning to end. The only difference is the tone of the lead singers droning, undeveloped, amateur vocals.
  4. FrankG.
    Jun 14, 2007
    0
    Horrible... just horrible... my girlfriend gave me this peice of trash and i have to pretend to like it. EVERY SONG IS AT THE SAME TEMPO!
  5. EricC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    Sometimes, music can blow my mind, like the first time I heard the Arcade Fire or when I listened through Panda Bear's Person Pitch. Sometimes music blows my mind for horrible reasons. Like this band, which is like opening the Lost Ark and having your head melt and explode, with this god awful music being the last thing you experience. It actually hurts to listen to Nickleback. I Sometimes, music can blow my mind, like the first time I heard the Arcade Fire or when I listened through Panda Bear's Person Pitch. Sometimes music blows my mind for horrible reasons. Like this band, which is like opening the Lost Ark and having your head melt and explode, with this god awful music being the last thing you experience. It actually hurts to listen to Nickleback. I think I would have been more comfortable with an ice pick jabbed through my ears than when listening to "Photograph". And when you hear "Rock Star" and ponder how anyone could write music this bad, you might just have your mind blown too. And now bands like Hinder are actually coppying this sin against humanity of a band. Maybe this really is the death of popular rock... Expand
  6. PatrickM
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    Nickelback has ruined rock as we know it. There lyrics have know meaning, just the same lovey dovey, sad and lonely song over and over again. This album beats you to death with sex and love songs like the rest of nickelback's albums. There is no meaning at all.
  7. CleopatraJ
    Nov 1, 2005
    1
    Who are these people below me? Are they really serious? This must be some kind of joke. Quote: "clearly the people that gave this a album a zero dont know anything about music"--that about Nickelback? aka the fourth cycle of grunge lite? completely trite, profoundly unoriginal corporate fm sludge? There's something here.
  8. BenK
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Nickelback return with yet another dismal album with samey songs that will bore you.
  9. alanalda
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    no . stop.
  10. EffE
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    I'm not proud to be Canadian anymore... Worst album ever by one of the worst band in the history of our Country. I can't believe they actually sell cd's...
  11. radar
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    enough!
  12. BrandonW
    Oct 29, 2005
    1
    Notice that everyone who has reviewed this album with a glowing response barely has the intellectual capacity to even remotely command the English language in a correct manner. If you examine that the intellect of the crowd that lauds Nickelback is remarkably apparent. Just like the contrived idiocy of this album.
  13. Matt
    Oct 31, 2005
    0
    One of the worst bands in recent memory. One needs look no further than that the two clone songs "How You Remind Me" and "Someday." How can a band release two songs two years apart that sound nearly exactly the same? A shame to Canadian music and music in general.
  14. MangleR
    Oct 30, 2005
    0
    Wow...looks like the same guy decided to raise the rating. Either that or it's just one huge, inbred family. Nice one, guys. You sure know how to show a girl a good time.
  15. Flërnk
    Jan 1, 2006
    0
    Um... yeah... This album is just plain not good.
  16. TheSecretAssasin(kiddingit'sJamesM)
    Jan 1, 2006
    1
    Terrible and dull. A really boring and stupid album.
  17. NicholasF
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    Kris B seems to think that the genocide that is Nickelback has something to do with Kurt Cobain. Are you insane - don't blame a visionary for the commodified and hollow way Nickelback uses rock/metal. This record is on par with the worst modern music has to offer, and that is saying alot. Unfortunatly people cannot help but lap it up.
  18. aa
    Jan 20, 2006
    0
    More self-conscious throat rock from the everyband
  19. Segageek
    Jan 4, 2006
    2
    Ok i have listened to the first 4 nickelband albums and they were good. So i thought id give this album a try and how i regret it so. First off everyone needs to relize one thing. CHAD CANT SING! Honestly and Photogragh sounded like a warped version of someday. There is not even one song on this album that stands out. Even the bands chad krouger helps have made better albums then his band Ok i have listened to the first 4 nickelband albums and they were good. So i thought id give this album a try and how i regret it so. First off everyone needs to relize one thing. CHAD CANT SING! Honestly and Photogragh sounded like a warped version of someday. There is not even one song on this album that stands out. Even the bands chad krouger helps have made better albums then his band this year. Aka Default, Theory Of A Dead man. Way better albums. I dont see a reason how these guys are still around a complete and utterly bland album. Check Out the new Default Album it's 10X better then this pos of an album Expand
  20. AFWhigs
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Oh yeah, I've been subjected to this entire cd multiple times by my carpool buddies, and to me it has the force of a long, listless anal probe. Yee gads, this is just pure, unadulterated corporate Product Rock. No soul, no wit, no creativity, no value. It has all the artistic and creative legitimacy of Ashlee Simpson. Even the "rockin'" tunes are so slick and overproduced Oh yeah, I've been subjected to this entire cd multiple times by my carpool buddies, and to me it has the force of a long, listless anal probe. Yee gads, this is just pure, unadulterated corporate Product Rock. No soul, no wit, no creativity, no value. It has all the artistic and creative legitimacy of Ashlee Simpson. Even the "rockin'" tunes are so slick and overproduced it's like dancing to a focus group. This is the kind of heinous garbage that spawned the punk movement in the 70's. Expand
  21. DavidB
    May 6, 2006
    2
    They rewrote the album for the 3rd time. and god this band was decent back in when they made the State. Everything since Silver side up is derirvative. Example: how you remind me- someday- save me are essentially the same song. This time they just added softer songs compared to their last couple of cds. Besides, they were not original in the first pkace. I agree with the guy a few They rewrote the album for the 3rd time. and god this band was decent back in when they made the State. Everything since Silver side up is derirvative. Example: how you remind me- someday- save me are essentially the same song. This time they just added softer songs compared to their last couple of cds. Besides, they were not original in the first pkace. I agree with the guy a few reviewers below me that they had to sing about drugs, wild sex(animals), being a rockstar(rockstar the song itself the same as the last song from the last record See you at the Show). In other words, there are much better bands out there...check out wolfmother, new pearl jam, well most stuff is better than nickelback. However, nickelback is not bad as those emo, r&b, and alot of mainstream rap which saves them from a 0. Expand
  22. SeanU.
    Jun 20, 2006
    1
    Well, well, well, progressive rock band Nickelcreed is back with another album. This is the one where Chad goes on tour, shaves himself a reverse mohawk, dresses up like a sunflower, and sings "Someday" to the local church youth group. You know, even the sameyness of the songs (I wouldm have gone as high as a 3 if these were original compositions!) doesn't bother me as much as these Well, well, well, progressive rock band Nickelcreed is back with another album. This is the one where Chad goes on tour, shaves himself a reverse mohawk, dresses up like a sunflower, and sings "Someday" to the local church youth group. You know, even the sameyness of the songs (I wouldm have gone as high as a 3 if these were original compositions!) doesn't bother me as much as these two things: the banal lyrics and Chad Kroeger's annoying whiny voice. Firstly, why does he have to sound like a tough guy processed through a computer? and what happened to being post-post-post-Grunge? This is "hard" rock, if anything. And radio-ready, pansy wannabe rock. Heck, these guys probably even know they suck, but just want to make the $$$. And I absolutely hate these bands that have to act so serious... like they really cared about doing this. Even in the tongue-in-cheek stuff ("Rock Star"), it's the same cry-down-to-earth spew that is supposed to move you, but the only thing it moves is my bowels. Excuse me for a moment... *FLUSH* Okay, where was I? Ohh, Theory of a Nickelback album. Anyway, "Savin' Me"... ok, we re-arranged some old song and added these cool fade effects where Chad still does the same 8 or 9 syllable line between the chorus that always bugs the shit out of me. "Photograph": You know it, starts off with cheesy radio lyrics "Look at this photograph/Every time I look at it it makes me laugh"... Aww, I didn't know Chad the poet could laugh. In fact, I didn't know Chad the studio automaton could show ANY emotional range at all. And then we have to start "rocking" the chorus so you know we REALLY MEAN IT! We're SERIOUS MAN! This is SERIOUS STUFF! STOP LAUGHING AT IT! Expand
  23. NickelbackMaj
    Jul 30, 2006
    1
    They suck.
  24. TuomasS
    Feb 9, 2007
    1
    Overly contrived and predictable, it lacks the artistic credibilty and merit that makes an album interesting. I do not want to sound cliched, but Nickelback tends to form the epitome of a mass-produced, corporate act, sounding bland and strained, not giving a listener anything to walk away with. I hate to stoop this low, but Pearl Jam was good 12 years ago and still fine now, why listen Overly contrived and predictable, it lacks the artistic credibilty and merit that makes an album interesting. I do not want to sound cliched, but Nickelback tends to form the epitome of a mass-produced, corporate act, sounding bland and strained, not giving a listener anything to walk away with. I hate to stoop this low, but Pearl Jam was good 12 years ago and still fine now, why listen to a copy that falls short? Expand
  25. MMars
    Mar 1, 2007
    2
    I give this a number 2 becasue their music sounds like "number 2". This is the same boring god-awful, manufactured, contrived, and overly produced crap I always hear on the radio. Why is this band labled "alternative"? An alternative to what? It sounds like every other "corporate rock" crap that is played on the radio. The lead singer sings like he's taking a dump and all the songs I give this a number 2 becasue their music sounds like "number 2". This is the same boring god-awful, manufactured, contrived, and overly produced crap I always hear on the radio. Why is this band labled "alternative"? An alternative to what? It sounds like every other "corporate rock" crap that is played on the radio. The lead singer sings like he's taking a dump and all the songs sound the same. This band is lacking in originality and creativity. There are so many other great artists on smaller independent lables ... It's a pitty they don't get the airplay they deserve. Anyway, I just wonder how much money these huge record companies are paying these radio stations to play their shit. Expand
  26. John
    Mar 9, 2007
    0
    Do I really need to comment about this trash?
  27. ChrisM
    Apr 30, 2007
    0
    Nickleback is terrible
  28. SconfSconf
    May 19, 2007
    0
    No one good song on this O_O
  29. st
    Jul 8, 2007
    0
    I actually haven't heard this album, but I had to bring down the overall score after having listened to this: http://www.thewebshite.net/nickelback.htm . I feel bad for all their poor fans that are deluded by their rewriting songs over and over.
  30. j
    Aug 6, 2007
    0
    Can I go lower, no. But my rating is to high
  31. JH.
    Sep 7, 2007
    0
    I absolutely adore the fact that the best thing that can be said about this band is either pointless (chad sounds great), narcissisistic (Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song.), or bisteringly irrellevant (They Rock so hard!). However, one comment couldn't be more I absolutely adore the fact that the best thing that can be said about this band is either pointless (chad sounds great), narcissisistic (Some people probably just judge them on the 2 songs that sound similar. Of course they do. Chad probably got the inspiration from listening to that song.), or bisteringly irrellevant (They Rock so hard!). However, one comment couldn't be more right, " Nickelback prodecude the goods once more." I indeed felt like my goods were prodecuded by Nickelback, and to be honest, I felt violated. Expand
  32. MiguelM
    Jan 10, 2008
    0
    iis josh c delirious ? are you saying this piece of crap album is better than all the rock albums released after 1987 ? so your saying that this "album" is better than nirvanas never mind or Green days dookie or all pearl jam or the chili peppers ? well pal you must be smoking something cos that statement is so laughable. i got this cd from a relative for Christmas , shed forgotten to iis josh c delirious ? are you saying this piece of crap album is better than all the rock albums released after 1987 ? so your saying that this "album" is better than nirvanas never mind or Green days dookie or all pearl jam or the chili peppers ? well pal you must be smoking something cos that statement is so laughable. i got this cd from a relative for Christmas , shed forgotten to remove the "get this cd for ten dollars" sticker on it, this band is horrible they are simply just unimaginative and un inspiring they're as bland as a piece of white bread. i cant believe your having a go at arcade fire , their music is different and if different music confuses you and the four other nickelback fans well obviously nickelback fans are imbeciles. death cab for cutie is a brilliant outfit they're music speaaks its smart its well written structured and produced the songs are never bland they are brilliant without a reason. no everyone should not buy this album everyone should forget nickelback exists. Expand
  33. finul.
    Dec 20, 2008
    3
    Generic arena-rock ("Animals," "Follow You Home") with the occasional decent but unexceptional ballad ("If Everyone Cared"). Pick up a couple Pearl Jam or Nirvana records instead.
  34. RyanJ.
    May 11, 2008
    2
    Nickelback is just what's wrong with popular rock...or popular music in general. For them and their peers, it's all about sounding big and tough. Heavy guitars, gravelly vocals x10. But it's all the same stylistic nonsense that bands have been doing since Nirvana split. Equally dismal is the fact that their teenage fans can do nothing to defend them except hurl curses and Nickelback is just what's wrong with popular rock...or popular music in general. For them and their peers, it's all about sounding big and tough. Heavy guitars, gravelly vocals x10. But it's all the same stylistic nonsense that bands have been doing since Nirvana split. Equally dismal is the fact that their teenage fans can do nothing to defend them except hurl curses and death threats at negative reviewers. I used to be that young, and I used to think that that "jock-rock" would make me cool if I listened to it. Then I got older, and I realized it was all calculated major-label radio trash. You kids should get back to us in 10 years. Expand
  35. DaleK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    0
    Only half decent song is "Animals. Too bad there aren't only 10 songs on this album, because if there were, it could get a dismal 1/10. But since there are 11, it still gets a 0. I'm embarrassed that the bum of a lead singer lives in my town. They suck, and always will. This isn't because I don't like them. It's because they suck. I'm also glad that 15 yr Only half decent song is "Animals. Too bad there aren't only 10 songs on this album, because if there were, it could get a dismal 1/10. But since there are 11, it still gets a 0. I'm embarrassed that the bum of a lead singer lives in my town. They suck, and always will. This isn't because I don't like them. It's because they suck. I'm also glad that 15 yr olds don't pick what's on the radio. From the mouth of Claudio Snchez of Coheed and Cambria, "Listen to Maiden." Expand
  36. DanielB
    Nov 1, 2005
    1
    God these guys are horrible. Trite lyrics stacked on stilted hooks backed by an image that is such a facade that just hearing their name makes my brain vomit.
  37. dan
    Nov 18, 2005
    0
    this is not music its something you find at the bottom of youre toilet
  38. Toxic
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Yes..........Canada.........your indie music scene has taken you out of "music hell", but I'll never be able to forgive you for this pitiful band. People that support Nickelback have the worst taste in music and have absolutely zero intelligence. Plain and simple.
  39. EmilioS
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    If you like this album, you're either hopeless or ignorant. For the hopeless, just go on with your worthless lives and bask in the glory that is Nickelback. For the ignorant, you really need to help yourself, for the sake of dignity at least. If this horrible music taps some kind of emotion for you, I guarantee you that there are dozens of other bands who could satisfy that emotion If you like this album, you're either hopeless or ignorant. For the hopeless, just go on with your worthless lives and bask in the glory that is Nickelback. For the ignorant, you really need to help yourself, for the sake of dignity at least. If this horrible music taps some kind of emotion for you, I guarantee you that there are dozens of other bands who could satisfy that emotion ten times more. So please, please seek out that better music, not just for you, but for your children, and your children's children. We can't continue giving our money to Freddy Kruger and all those other criminals who try to ruin music. Expand
  40. GlennM
    Nov 20, 2005
    0
    My pick for the biggest embarrasment to our generation. I dont want to take credit for these dumbasses, this is the worst music I have ever heard out of grown men.
  41. MahaliaT.
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Unoriginal and boring.
  42. Mack
    Nov 4, 2005
    0
    Why must albums like this exist? More importantly, how can anyone listen to this and think, "Wow, that's an incredibly creative, unique, and talented band!"? This is talentless fluff rock created with the sole intent of FM radio play to the vapid hoi poloi that is 99.9% of radio listeners.
  43. EllS
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    I havent even listened to it and i will never. I just hate Nickelback and i always will. They are the worst band ever. THe world would be a better place without their stupid bullshite songs. I hate them.
  44. MorganK
    Dec 22, 2005
    0
    Truly the wosrt album of 2005, which was overall a pretty great year for new music. 'Photograph' sounds like it was written by a 14 year-old (one couplet rhymes 'up' with 'up', followed by 'out' with 'out') and the bland, irrelevance of a post-post-post-post-Pearl Jam makes it just intolerable. It's one of the few albums on Metacritic Truly the wosrt album of 2005, which was overall a pretty great year for new music. 'Photograph' sounds like it was written by a 14 year-old (one couplet rhymes 'up' with 'up', followed by 'out' with 'out') and the bland, irrelevance of a post-post-post-post-Pearl Jam makes it just intolerable. It's one of the few albums on Metacritic that truly deserves a 0 - every one of you giving it a 10 now will be trading it in at the used CD store in 3 years thinking to yourself 'I used to really like this album, but I just don't listen to it anymore' - and that will be because it's shallow, meaningless, pablum. Expand
  45. dimefront
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    yikes
  46. wander
    Oct 24, 2005
    0
    ...come back, new kids on the block, everything is forgiven and forgotten!
  47. AlanR
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    On behalf of all Canadians, I'm really sorry.
  48. Mahogomy
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    lame. so very very lame
  49. SeanC
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Can I give less than 0? I guess not....one of the great mysteries of life is the fact that there are people out there that consume this garbage and fuel the relentless egotism that is Nickleback
  50. Cables
    Oct 29, 2005
    0
    Are these people serious about the album of the year comments? This must be the only album they've listened to this year. Someone please stop Nickelback from making another record before it's too late!
  51. YourA.
    Oct 30, 2005
    0
    This album was so amazing! This is going to be album of the year without a doubt, there is no one even going to come close to making an album as good as this! Sufjan Stevens? Pssh, let's hear it for Nickelback!
  52. karlh
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    nickleback are shit. grunge is shit, this record (yes you've guesed it) is..........SHIT
  53. Jimbo
    Dec 19, 2006
    0
    Cliched, commercial rock music. They set out to be grunge, but they miss what grunge was about; fucking the mainstream. The songs all sound the same and these guys have less talent than three oysters and a tuba.
  54. josak
    Dec 1, 2006
    0
    One of the most annoying, shitty bands I've ever heard. I just wish I could reach through my TV screen/radio and plant my foot in their faces.
  55. AndrewL
    Oct 27, 2006
    0
    This album was about as enjoyable as having a rectal examination, Chads singing was the equivalent to a rectal examination, the guitar riffs and drum beats sounded like a guy having a rectal examination
  56. SimonV
    Jan 3, 2006
    0
    nick does not seem to understand that kurt cobain, as genious as he was himself, popularized the "Grunge" movement, which is a genre the same way ''NoLita" is a neigborhood, only to the extent of selling propery/albums. grunge, most importantly nirvana, inspired a bunch of ugly fat guys with shaven heads, beer bellies and tight shirts to create "HARD RAWK", a sonic sin that will nick does not seem to understand that kurt cobain, as genious as he was himself, popularized the "Grunge" movement, which is a genre the same way ''NoLita" is a neigborhood, only to the extent of selling propery/albums. grunge, most importantly nirvana, inspired a bunch of ugly fat guys with shaven heads, beer bellies and tight shirts to create "HARD RAWK", a sonic sin that will never be forgiven. and its all cobains fault. oh, and nickelback is boring. Expand
  57. HoobyDooby
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    To Dawn W who said: "The best rock I've heard in over 20 years", I must ask: what in the hell was stuck in your ears for the past 20 years? This is a horrible CD from a soulless pop band. Don't buy. Don't listen. Just walk away.
  58. JasonS
    Jan 18, 2007
    0
    Let us all hope that nickelback is this generation's Air Supply, who has largely disappeared, and not this generation's Journey, which still manages to infest the airwaves.
  59. morgan
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    Ohh, so THIS is that annoying shit I'm always hearing on the radio. I wish radio stations could tell what songs people were listening to when they changed channels to listen to actual music... I'm sure once radio stations realized that it was Nickelback, hopefully their god-awful, pansy-rock, ripoff, over-produced, and downright annoying music, will end
  60. Justin
    Mar 26, 2007
    3
    The catchy music licks can't make up for the lead singer's repulsive voice nor, more importantly, his childish lyrics. I only liked one song on this album.
  61. AP
    Apr 14, 2007
    1
    Universally loathed by critics and apparently dispised by music fans, who is buying their albums? Sure as heck isn't me. Banal lyrics sung by a constipated singer with generic grunge riffs behind it. But we knew that already...so WHO is buying this album??? Someone needs to introduce them to Muse, Interpol, or the Beatsteaks immediately. Or Billy Talent if they want a Canadian rock Universally loathed by critics and apparently dispised by music fans, who is buying their albums? Sure as heck isn't me. Banal lyrics sung by a constipated singer with generic grunge riffs behind it. But we knew that already...so WHO is buying this album??? Someone needs to introduce them to Muse, Interpol, or the Beatsteaks immediately. Or Billy Talent if they want a Canadian rock band that does angst and power correctly. I give this album a 1 only because I haven't heard every song (thank god), and I'm an optimistic. They are everything that is wrong with most radio formats today. OK I feel better now...rant over... Expand
  62. ChrisH
    Jun 13, 2007
    0
    Total Shit! They just recycled old changes and used them for new. Like driving a broke-down chevy.
  63. clincherman
    Jun 17, 2007
    0
    Nothing redeeming about this band or this record.
  64. Guidov.
    Jun 30, 2007
    1
    Florence C gave it a7: Nickelback is an awesome band and I've been around long enough to know the difference. I grew up in the Beastles/Led Zepplin/Aerosmith era and I know great music when I hear it. Chad has one of the best voices ever in Rock. I like to classify them as groovy rock instead of post-grunge --- Placing Nickeblack in the same line with the Beatles and Led Zep is truly Florence C gave it a7: Nickelback is an awesome band and I've been around long enough to know the difference. I grew up in the Beastles/Led Zepplin/Aerosmith era and I know great music when I hear it. Chad has one of the best voices ever in Rock. I like to classify them as groovy rock instead of post-grunge --- Placing Nickeblack in the same line with the Beatles and Led Zep is truly insane. And where's the Groove in Nickelback? A brick has more groove than this band. If you've been around for so long, you probably know this band called Gang of Four. THAT'S GROOVY ROCK! Expand
  65. alexf.
    Jul 25, 2007
    0
    It hurt my ears. It was sooooo bland and very very boring. All of Nickelback songs sound the same pointless and boring.
  66. tomkinss.
    Aug 5, 2007
    1
    This is so bad ...why on earth have 6 million Americans bought it. t
  67. LuisS
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    lol at the person who thinks we hate nickelback because they are Canadian. We hate them because they suck. Rush are Canadian and I love them. Neil Young is Canadian and he's also one of my favorite artists.
  68. thorb
    Jan 17, 2008
    0
    I've only heard the singles, so normally I would not be qualified to give a rating of zero. Fortunately, those singles are some of the worst songs I've ever heard, and in the case of IF EVERYONE CARED, possibly the worst song ever written in the history/pre-history of mankind (I haven't heard some of the music developed by cavemen, but I'm confident that two rocks and I've only heard the singles, so normally I would not be qualified to give a rating of zero. Fortunately, those singles are some of the worst songs I've ever heard, and in the case of IF EVERYONE CARED, possibly the worst song ever written in the history/pre-history of mankind (I haven't heard some of the music developed by cavemen, but I'm confident that two rocks and guttural moaning is deeper than IF EVERYONE CARED). I don't give a rat's ass if the song has a 'good message'. Public service announcements have a good message, and they can do it in about 30 seconds without assaulting my eardrums. There is no excuse for making terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible music. perhaps the worst thing about this 'band' is that the singles from their first album were not bad. Leader of Men, Old Enough, Worthy to Say....nothing wrong with them. Then I guess Chad took a dump one day and accidentally left his talent in an outhouse in Alberta somewhere. Nickleback took a nosedive in musical quality so fast that I'm surprised they don't have collective whiplash. They became a lame, sappy ballad band over the course of like 5 years. Usually it takes decades for a bands balls to wither away. Also, at least 75% of the people making these positive reviews are just trying to be funny. Guys...we get it. Hahaha! Nickelback is really shit, but you're saying it's not! HILARIOUS and if you're not being funny and you're not a woman or a gay cowboy then WTF is your problem? -thor Expand
  69. AronJ.
    Dec 1, 2008
    2
    Most people who like this album are already just fans of the band, and not neccasarily music, this album is nothing more than rock n roll cliche made into songs.
  70. ZachS
    Jan 28, 2008
    2
    I remember listening to this album back in 2001. And again when they rereleased in 2003. Etc. Nickelback is good at making catchy song, that's it. I didn't put a plural on song because they've recycled it over and over again. Also, Josh C, you are a great troll.
  71. BrettM.
    Jul 15, 2008
    0
    This album is just awful, and yes, i would and have said that to a Nickelback fan's face. They need to stop doing acoustic songs, and maybe try songs that are a little less recycled.
  72. Sean
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    This is the decadence of music. The overproduced and terribly cliche themes make this one of the worst listens anyone can ever imagine. They are an embarassment to all real musicians. Canadaians don't embrace them and only Americans ignorant and brainwashed enough to enjoy this will. This is by far the worst band ever. Its sad when they are trying to be the new Creed and still sound This is the decadence of music. The overproduced and terribly cliche themes make this one of the worst listens anyone can ever imagine. They are an embarassment to all real musicians. Canadaians don't embrace them and only Americans ignorant and brainwashed enough to enjoy this will. This is by far the worst band ever. Its sad when they are trying to be the new Creed and still sound just as pathetic. THis album will make you dumber for listening to it not to mention give you a painful headache. Expand
  73. AbrahamL.
    Jan 10, 2009
    0
    Nickelback kills rock like Grant kills his men.
  74. RobertC.
    Aug 6, 2009
    1
    This album should be recalled, melted down, and put into something more useful.
  75. AlanS
    Sep 19, 2009
    0
    So bad, I really wish I could unlisten to it. Mr Kroeger? I want those 40 minutes back!
  76. T1
    Nov 16, 2005
    0
    Hey Michael H, in a tender and nice world we wouldn't make fun of your beloved Nickelback and all the other terrible bands you listen to, but truth still needs to be told. It's called opinions, people deserve to hear the good and bad. It would suck if people that disliked something didn't say anything because there would be a lot of misinformed purchases. DUDE, THESE USER Hey Michael H, in a tender and nice world we wouldn't make fun of your beloved Nickelback and all the other terrible bands you listen to, but truth still needs to be told. It's called opinions, people deserve to hear the good and bad. It would suck if people that disliked something didn't say anything because there would be a lot of misinformed purchases. DUDE, THESE USER REVIEWS ARE NOT JUST FOR YOUR POSITIVE REVIEWS. Expand
  77. DallasC
    Nov 18, 2005
    0
    It's unfortunate that 0 is the lowest rating - Nickelback deserve worse. They are the worst band to ever have come out of Canada, and we produced Loverboy. I can only assume that those giving this album a 10 were doing that in comparison to the previous tripe this "band" has produced. If people who like this band would pull their heads out of their asses for a half second and turn It's unfortunate that 0 is the lowest rating - Nickelback deserve worse. They are the worst band to ever have come out of Canada, and we produced Loverboy. I can only assume that those giving this album a 10 were doing that in comparison to the previous tripe this "band" has produced. If people who like this band would pull their heads out of their asses for a half second and turn off the commercial radio, they realize this is total shit, on the same level as Brittney Spears and Tatu. Expand
  78. AndyW
    Nov 19, 2005
    0
    They had me up until the point they started making music.
  79. mec
    Nov 19, 2005
    0
    no comments, this is probably the worst band in the whole world, and this is their worst album
  80. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2005
    0
    i always hated nickelback. they are overrated. they are worse than avril lavigne. if u want to listen to something from canada how about halifax?
  81. RogierK
    Nov 21, 2005
    1
    The one point is for the singers leadership-skills. Keeping an entire band together that (out of free will) play this garbage for him deserves some credit.
  82. ScottM
    Nov 21, 2005
    1
    utter shit. listen to white stripes or queens of the stone age.
  83. CroweBR
    Nov 23, 2005
    2
    Uncreative, too soft and boring. But....is there really a need for so much hostility? Ok, it's crap...but there SOO much worse music around...
  84. offyerhead
    Nov 4, 2005
    0
    I'm a 30 something father of three and Nickelback is awful. I wouldn't let my kids near it unless you want them to grow up shit-stupid and boring.
  85. BenS
    Dec 13, 2005
    2
    Went to the bargain bucket yesterday and bought this album out of curiosity for 5 cents. Got it home and heard the dull, meaningless songs and shoiuted I WANT MY NICKELBACK hahahahaha, no seriously this is a pretty damn dull record
  86. UriN.
    Dec 2, 2005
    3
    You either give it a ten and scream nonsensically about how the critics are idiots, give it a zero and scream nonsensically about how that last group of people are idiots, or have a brain cell in your head not overcome by THC or alcohol. It had a good song or two, but it needs more, and something stellar to be a good album.
  87. KrisB
    Dec 4, 2005
    1
    If they ever invent the time machine, I'm gonna go back and assasinate Kurt Cobain. I don't want to, but it has to be done.
  88. PeteM
    Oct 29, 2005
    0
    These guys just care a little about the music and a whole lot about one other thing...$$$ and you can really hear it on the CD and in interviews. They measure sucess almost totally by album sales. I don't expect music to save the world or to hear some mind altering new sound, but this stuff is shallow and uncreative for the most part...and why are they so critical about being These guys just care a little about the music and a whole lot about one other thing...$$$ and you can really hear it on the CD and in interviews. They measure sucess almost totally by album sales. I don't expect music to save the world or to hear some mind altering new sound, but this stuff is shallow and uncreative for the most part...and why are they so critical about being criticized if they don't care what people think?? I think these guys way down deep even know themselves that they lowered the bar on themselves just so they could be "rock stars". Come on Nickelback! I know your not that stupid... Expand
  89. sango
    May 25, 2006
    0
    Someone please destroy mainstream radio. I truly feel sorry for anyone who enjoys this and I hope they have a friend with better tastes in music. If you listen to nickelback, i assume you have already given up on all of the great bands out there. Good music doesn't just fall out of the sky into your lap, you have to go looking for it.
  90. joe
    Aug 14, 2006
    0
    This album, band, sound and production needs to be left behind very fast because I am afraid of losing good music forever. How can Nickelback be called alternative anything? They they should be called gen-metal for generic metal. I have never heard anything so slick and over-produced in my life. It almost sounds like Guitar Pro played the guitar parts. I'm glad some people are This album, band, sound and production needs to be left behind very fast because I am afraid of losing good music forever. How can Nickelback be called alternative anything? They they should be called gen-metal for generic metal. I have never heard anything so slick and over-produced in my life. It almost sounds like Guitar Pro played the guitar parts. I'm glad some people are standing up for what they believe in and rebeling against shit like this. Fellow Canadian Chris Murphy from Sloan tells it like it is in one of his songs. "So take your Nickelback, or I'm going to pour it down." The line represents the fact that people are forced to listen to this sad excuse of a band and all other bands like them. As that guy from Broken Social Scene said at the Junos last year: Fight Bad Music! Expand
  91. Chris
    Dec 14, 2007
    0
    Listen to 1 nickelback song...well then you will have heard them all.
  92. mikef
    Mar 21, 2007
    1
    Generic Cheesball Rock in every sense of the word,I now can tell my Grandchildren ,That I was alive When the worst band of alltime was around.And thats saying something,With this Emo Crap.NickleBack is Horrible!!
  93. mc
    May 27, 2007
    0
    If only they would just fall over and die. They are no better than an emo band, except at least emo admits their pussy
  94. MyGUITAR
    Jun 13, 2007
    2
    Just like in the late, late 80's when Wingers and Warrants led an army of bands that caused the demise of Rock N Roll, here we have Nickelback and say, Hinder to start it all over again. Cheesy balladry and mindnumbing overplay. The 80's ended when Nirvana came around. I hope this crap ends soon when another one emerges. This album is disposable and the only reason I like it is Just like in the late, late 80's when Wingers and Warrants led an army of bands that caused the demise of Rock N Roll, here we have Nickelback and say, Hinder to start it all over again. Cheesy balladry and mindnumbing overplay. The 80's ended when Nirvana came around. I hope this crap ends soon when another one emerges. This album is disposable and the only reason I like it is because it serves well as a beer coaster. I'm giving them a 2 for the Dimebag reference, but the poor guy is probably rolling in his grave right now. Expand
  95. AViewAM
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    As a Canadian I Officially Apologize for the existence of not only this album but this band. Except they're from Alberta, so it's not really my fault. Oh well.
  96. Johnny
    Jan 14, 2008
    2
    Josh C., I really hope you were being sarcastic there because that was the most over-the-top insane thing I have ever read on this website. As for everyone else, well, if you prefer your music to be bland, homogeneous and full of fake sentimentality then this is your thing. Everyone else who desires hard rock can listen to a hard rock band with actual talent, like Queens of the Stone Age.
  97. JohnD.
    Jan 31, 2008
    0
    Of all the hate rants (and the few sarcastic 10s, especially Josh Cs) the best thing I've read on here is only three words long. Nickleback is terrible. Yes, Chris M, they are terrible. But there is nothing we can do about that now. Now, we have to learn to live in a post-Nickleback world, where truelly good bands have to succumb to "you didn't sell 30 million records, so you Of all the hate rants (and the few sarcastic 10s, especially Josh Cs) the best thing I've read on here is only three words long. Nickleback is terrible. Yes, Chris M, they are terrible. But there is nothing we can do about that now. Now, we have to learn to live in a post-Nickleback world, where truelly good bands have to succumb to "you didn't sell 30 million records, so you must not be good" criticisms from illiterate, FM radio drones. And why do so many people throw out the jealousy card? No matter how much money they make, and no matter how many whores they bang, and no matter how many redneck teens worship them, I will never, ever want to be anything resembling Nickleback. They are phonies, and you all just got played, suckers. And the worst part is, they'll never thank you for buying those 30 million records. By the way, while people are comparing them to Creed, maybe they'll go the same way as Creed and break up early. Then you guys can look forward to Chad Kroger porn videos. Oh God, I regret writing that. That would be one photograph I would never look at. Ha, I made a pun. Stupid Photograph... Expand
  98. JeremyL.
    Jan 31, 2008
    0
    Anyone that likes this needs an enema of the soul
  99. ROssK.
    Jan 31, 2008
    1
    Nickelback make music for people who don't like music.
  100. SteveW.
    Feb 16, 2008
    0
    Nickelback has cliche rock music, all the songs are the same, it's pretty much complete garbage. Do yourself a favor and never listen to this album again.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Despite all their newly developed relative nuances, Nickelback remain unchanged: they're still unspeakably awful.
  2. Billboard
    80
    Less polish and more attitude are welcome changes that fire up the rock numbers and give them more snap. [8 Oct 2005]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    They're exploring a richer, more diverse sound. [28 Oct 2005, p.84]