Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    100
    All We Love We Leave Behind will sit alongside the very best. [6 Oct 2012, p.53]
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    90
    All We Love We Leave Behind entices kinetic release in every possible way, irrational and otherwise, allowing unchecked ventilation as means for escape through a medium that has never sounded so engaging.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    85
    This is pure, unadulterated energy, seething catharsis taken out on throats, fingers, fretboards and drum heads by a band going on 22 years, and showing no signs of weakness or irrelevancy.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    88
    All We Love We Leave Behind occupies the unruly intersection of metal, punk and progressive music, weeding out the weaknesses the band perceives in each genre and saving the good stuff for its rigorously constructed songs.
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    86
    There's never a dull moment across AWLWLB's 38 minutes. It's all peaks.
  6. As daring as it is confident and poignant in its execution, this album captures both the Converge we know and love and a Converge we're not quite accustomed to--leaving us with an album arguably as striking and challenging as anything the band has done before.
  7. 90
    All We Love We Leave Behind stands tall within Converge's discography as yet another glowing example of how to make art out of aggression.
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    One of the most spectacular and intense albums the group has released yet.
  9. Oct 9, 2012
    83
    While All We Love lacks cohesion in spots, it solidifies Converge's position as one of hardcore's most progressive yet soulful stalwarts.
  10. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Converge has become synonymous with consistency, and the band's latest effort proves that after seven albums they still have what it takes to put their listeners through hell in the best kind of way.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    Converge are not to everyone's taste, but of course those who love their chaos with a sprinkling of melody and a face churning blast of terror that would go unnoticed at the gates of hell are in for a treat with this new album. Just listen, no time for anything else. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Converge are an amazing band. They're very hard to get into tho. It's like diving into cold water. You have to ease yourself in and adjust and next thing you know, you're neck deep and it actually feels quite refreshing. If you're a new listener to Converge, this is actually the best place to start. This is easily their most accessible album. It has a little bit of everything that everyone would like in it. It's not as good as their Jane Doe, however (hence the 9 instead of a 10). Totally a must have album for anyone who loves the metalcore scene. Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Converge at its best! As always an aggressive fast raw energy with a touch of melody + a couple of mid-tempo songs. Very refreshing. The band stays one of the most respectful in the scene. Full Review »