Alpocalypse - Weird Al Yankovic
Alpocalypse Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The pop song parodist releases his 13th studio album, poking fun at Lady Gaga, Miley Cyrus, Taylor Swift and more.
  • Record Label: Jive
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Comedy/Spoken, Comedy Rock, Novelty, Song Parody
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    83
    While a parody of a 2008 Taylor Swift song may not sound particularly fresh, Alpocalypse is the most enjoyable collection of Yankovic tunes since 1996's Bad Hair Day.
  2. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    Alpocalypse is a fine reflection on our world as it stands in this modern age, and well worth a listen, if only for a laugh to brighten up your day.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    70
    Only bummer for loyal fans is that five of these tracks are repeated from the Internet Leaks EP, but ignore that redundancy, and Al remains the undisputed king of the parody song.
  4. 70
    The original songs here are, perhaps surprisingly, stronger than the parodies, and Yankovich shines brightest when he is just being funny without a direct target.
  5. 70
    There is no perfect Weird Al album. Each of his records act as a cross section of culture. They become time capsules.
  6. Aug 10, 2011
    60
    Alpocalypse may not be his strongest record, but it does what only Weird Al Yankovic can do, and he's been doing for nearly 30 years now, so he must be doing something right.
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    50
    The jokes don't always relieve the earworm annoyingness of the Xeroxed tunes. Still, you can only hate so much on an accordion medley titled "Polka Face."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    I'm just gonna keep it short and simple, this is an amazing comedy album. Worth the wait. People don't see the art of music in a comedy album, I hope this album will prove those people wrong. Collapse
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    "Weird Al" Yankovic delivers again! "Alpocalypse" is an incredible work of art, with subtly hidden jokes directed at the original artists, and the lyrics are as good as ever. This album is definitely a buy. Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2014
    9
    What is there to say about Weird Al Yankovic other than he's a utter genius?

    Nearly all the tracks are hilarious, with the most memorable
    being 'Stop forwarding that crap to me' and, of course, 'Perform This Way'. However, not all of the tracks work in execution. 'Polka face' falls flat, whilst 'Craig's list' is a absolute shambles.

    Overall, though, this is a incredibly funny album containing some of Weird Al Yankovic's best songs so far.
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    I've been a massive fan of Weird Al for almost all my life; I own physical copies of all his albums, even the ones I don't think are all that great. Coming from that perspective how does "Alpocalypse" compare to the many that came before it?

    Well, it holds up pretty well. No, it isn't one of his absolute best like, "In 3D" or "Off the Deep End", but it's even further from the "Polka Party"/"Poodle Hat" side of the spectrum. Really, it's a solid disc full of thoroughly amusing music. Yes, a lot of it is not completely new. Almost half the album came off the "Internet Leaks" EP. Even the Polka medley was being played on Al's last tour.

    Looking at it song by song, "Perform this Way" starts us off. This is one of the more unimpressive songs on the disk in my opinion. Sure it manages a few good, silly lines, but it's one of those songs that really needs the accompanying visuals of the music video to be great. On it's own, it's a little lacking. Yet it's okay, because following that we have a real winner in "CNR". This song is a rocking and hilarious send up of The White Stripes, Chuck Norris Facts and the late great Charles Nelson Reiley.

    After that, we have our second parody, "TMZ", a parody of a song by Taylor Swift. This song is very smartly written. I'm not very familiar with the original song, but I still rather enjoy this cut. A little light on substance, but it's fun and doesn't outstay it's welcome. Following that is another style parody from "Internet Leaks", "Skipper Dan", which is another absolute winner. The humor is a little darker than Al is typically known for, being the tale of a talented man who gets sucked into a life of bleak monotony, but that's what makes it so strong in my opinion. Especially since the dark downward spiral of the titular Dan is contrasted with a poppy Weezer riff. Great stuff, even if you've heard it before.

    Polka Face is next on the album. This is a hilarious polka mix that really highlights the banality and lack of substance in a lot of today's music. It's hard not to smile at hearing Al gleefully play his accordion while he rips through the likes of Just Bieber, Katy Perry and Ke$ha. Yet another "Internet leaks" track follows that, "Craigslist". This is one of the best tracks of the album for us classic rock fans, or anyone familiar with The Door's famous sound. Al's Morrison impression is superb and hilarious.

    "Party in the CIA" follows. This might be my favorite song on the album in a lot of ways. It's just so ridiculous. The juxtaposition of Miley's fluff party song's melody and lyrics about assassination and torture just makes me smile for some reason. And laugh. A lot. "Ringtone" from "Internet Leaks" follows that. This is an amusing Queen send up; I always felt it was the weakest track from "Internet Leaks" but that doesn't mean it's bad. The bridge section listing off some of the people who hate the singer's ringtone is still just brilliant.

    "Another Tattoo" is next. I've never heard the original here, but this song is a delight. For anyone who knows or have even just seen some dude walking down the street, tattoos on even their neck and face, and stopped to wonder what exactly was wrong with them, the song should work well. After that is the lone new original "If That Isn't Love". This is my least favorite cut. The humor is a little too juvenile for my tastes. Really, it's pretty disposable.

    "Whatever you Like" is after that. This was the first song written for the album, but despite that (and unfortunately given the subject matter) it's as timely as ever. It's still a funny track, but if you're an Al fan it really is old news by now. The grand finale is one of the very best songs on the album "Stop Forwarding This Crap To Me" is patterned off of the compositions of Jim Steinman, famous for penning Meat Loaf's best moments. This song is dynamic and impressive even before you take the hilariously biting lyrics into account. It's impossible to ignore the lyrics though, as they are absolute winners for practically anyone who uses e-mail.

    Finally, something should be said of the accompanying DVD that comes with the album. This is a little more hit or miss. Some of the videos just have the wrong ideas as to how to capture the song. "Party In the CIA" would have been better served if it was some cheerful approximation of Miley Cyrus at the focus of the action, rather than the blocky characters the animators uses. "TMZ"s video doesn't work either. It's not funny and more distracts from than it does enhance the song. Most of the "Internet Leaks" videos hold up much better (especially the perfect Doors spoof "Craigslist" video). The kinetic typography of the final track is another absolute success, highlighting the smart lyrics and the impressive dynamics of the song.

    Oh, and the CD cover art is probably the best I've ever seen, for whatever that's worth.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    This album (Alpocalypse) is Weird Al Yankovic's 13th album. Not his best, in fact it's his worse. Is it bad though? No, not really. This goes to show that even at Yankovic's worst, he's still better than most artists at their best. Expand
  6. DME
    Apr 27, 2012
    7
    It doesn't sound fresh or new, but it's quite funny. Alpocalypse suceeded in making me laugh. "Party in the CIA", "Another Tatoo", and "Craigslist" were my favorites. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    3
    The master of music parody is back! One small problem, he clearly forgot to bring his A-game to this album. In fact, it's probably one of his worst albums of his discography. Don't expect classic parodies that will stick in your head like Eat It, Fat, Addicted to Spuds, Smells Like Nirvana, White & Nerdy, so on and so forth. Most of the parodies on this album feel forced and uninspired. The obligatory polka medley is boring and hackneyed and a vast majority of his "original" content was available a year ago on the "Internet Leaks" EP. For almost 5 years between albums, and nearly a year between the release of the "Internet Leaks", I expected better. It feels almost as though Al would be content to drop doing parodies all together and just make pseudo-parody, period, pieces like the Doors-esque "Craigslist". Expand

See all 11 User Reviews