Amazing Grace

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mattt
    Sep 10, 2003
    8
    Different than the others but still great
  2. PaulT.
    Jul 2, 2004
    0
    dreadfully bad, boring and forgetable, this should of been just some free bonus disc of b-sides attached to one of their better discs, they shoulda shelved it, i'm sorry but this was a major disappointment.
  3. TimS
    Sep 22, 2003
    9
    Only 9? Well yes, Jason's set this one up to be played live and this in essence is its only fault. But then again this record feels more spontaneous, less calculated than previous efforts and the band genuinely sound as though they're having the time of their lives. I defie you not to laugh and cry on the ride it takes you on. Up/down and round and round the maelstrom. Lord let Only 9? Well yes, Jason's set this one up to be played live and this in essence is its only fault. But then again this record feels more spontaneous, less calculated than previous efforts and the band genuinely sound as though they're having the time of their lives. I defie you not to laugh and cry on the ride it takes you on. Up/down and round and round the maelstrom. Lord let it Rain on Me! Collapse
  4. paulM
    Sep 27, 2003
    10
    Amazing
  5. briany
    Sep 11, 2003
    9
    next to PURE Phase, the most incredible of Spiritualized exists on Amazing Grace...
  6. danh
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    great sound. their rockers always sounded a bit off. especially on the last one. Here, the live sound pays off and every song sounds about perfect.
  7. StephenF
    Sep 19, 2003
    3
    Neither amazing nor graceful... Spaceman comes tumbling back down to earth. The epic, magical, narcotic grandeur that infuses all previous albums has vanished. In its place are disconnected "tunes" that are pale imitations of what has come before.
  8. ToddB.
    Jun 28, 2004
    0
    Dreadfully bad, it's only 43 minutes but it felt like forever.
  9. JonH
    Jun 9, 2004
    4
    I hate Rolling Stone Magazine, but i have to agree with them here, this album was a major let down, i found it to be dull, there's only a couple of good songs, that's it.
  10. Jon
    Jul 18, 2004
    7
    At first i didn't like the album as well, but over some time it's grown on me, still far from perfect, but it's got a handful of tracks to make it worth going back to
  11. wayne
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    i think it's one amazing,warm,meaningful film
  12. JustinA
    Sep 26, 2003
    7
    Not as good as the last two albums, but still great Spiritualized nonetheless. Hold on and #6(Lord Let it rain on me?) are both superb and there are great moments throughout. Occasionally sounds too similar to other material, but worthy effort overall. She kissed me (It felt like a hit) is a class ic Spiritualized song title.
  13. WillieL
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    Whats wrong with you people? WHATS WRONG?! This is another wonderful album from Pierce. Sure, its no Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space, but what is? Take to mind that illness disrupted this recording and the songs like Hold On, Oh Baby and Lord Let It Rain on me really have effect. A great album. If not their best. Plus a Spiritualized parody for you - "Lord, Im On Heroin". I Whats wrong with you people? WHATS WRONG?! This is another wonderful album from Pierce. Sure, its no Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space, but what is? Take to mind that illness disrupted this recording and the songs like Hold On, Oh Baby and Lord Let It Rain on me really have effect. A great album. If not their best. Plus a Spiritualized parody for you - "Lord, Im On Heroin". I thought it was funny... Expand
  14. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Absolutely incredible, just like the majority of Spaceman's discography. There are some absolutely breathtaking moments to be had here, filled ripe with emotion.
  15. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    i don't know why people keep insisting that this album is so bad... the best album to come out of spiritualized/spaceman 3... come on!! the ballad of richie lee? hold on?
    when was jason pierce so "on the money" in other records? and the 2-3 minute blastoffs in the middle are just what you need in a bombastic spiritualized album.. they are breathers.. "never going back" is absolutely
    i don't know why people keep insisting that this album is so bad... the best album to come out of spiritualized/spaceman 3... come on!! the ballad of richie lee? hold on?
    when was jason pierce so "on the money" in other records? and the 2-3 minute blastoffs in the middle are just what you need in a bombastic spiritualized album.. they are breathers.. "never going back" is absolutely neccessery where it is!
    best record out of a great band (and this review is written after sweet heart sweet light already came out)
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. The Bible talk and the vintage-guitar distortion sound so rote it's hard to imagine Pierce is baring his soul rather than just plumbing the depths of his record collection.
  2. Pierce seems to have lost the magic that he once seemed in total command of.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    Pierce's organic approach on Grace makes the album feel exquisitely intimate, personable and warm. [Oct 2003, p.138]