American Idiot

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 691 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 691

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveN
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    This easily the best CD Green Day has released since Dookie.
  2. AaronS
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    The best Green Day to date! For those of you thinking that this album was written for TRL, you're MISTAKEN! This statement goes to show that you don't understand Green Day's symbolism nor their sarcasm within this alblum. As for their "slower" songs on this album, apperently you aren't much of a Green Day fan. They have made MANY ballads that aren't exactly "punk The best Green Day to date! For those of you thinking that this album was written for TRL, you're MISTAKEN! This statement goes to show that you don't understand Green Day's symbolism nor their sarcasm within this alblum. As for their "slower" songs on this album, apperently you aren't much of a Green Day fan. They have made MANY ballads that aren't exactly "punk rock." Have you not heard "Macy's Day Parade," "Minority," or "Time of Your Life." This album is a statement to the American people that all is not well with this country. We still have oppression, hate, and corruption in this land. Green Day at least has decided to call out the government for this and all those who believe in the policies that continue this way of thinking. Some call them Un-American. Even Wal-Mart has banned this album from their stores for this very same reason. Yet I can't help to think, the America that Green Day sings about sounds more like the America as it should be, a FREE LAND. Not some politicians version, but one that truly allows all of its citizens the same security, freedoms, and oppurtunities that everyone else is allowed. Each song on this album holds a message for us; it's just up to us to decipher it. Green Day wants us to think about whether what our country is doing is in the right or wrong. At times they are blatantly honest (mostly in the form of sarcasm) about what is wrong with this country, in others you must think about what has transpired and why the lyrics really say what they do. For example, "When September Ends" has a deeper meaning than what you think. It's there, you just have to find it! Expand
  3. eskildb
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    This album is the greatest ever! I mean look at the songs. They are so good. And Tre Cool, is so funny. And Billy is so good and cool.
  4. BenN
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    I would be an american idiot if i did not like this album
  5. kadek
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    This album is astonishing! I don't understand how some people can not like it. I have followed Green Day from the start, And I love 90's "Dookie" as much as I like this album. I mean cmon people look at what your sayin when you say, "American Idiot really sux" the album won 14 Grammy's was also labeled a 10x Platinum Album. One of the grammy's being "Best Rock Group"! This album is astonishing! I don't understand how some people can not like it. I have followed Green Day from the start, And I love 90's "Dookie" as much as I like this album. I mean cmon people look at what your sayin when you say, "American Idiot really sux" the album won 14 Grammy's was also labeled a 10x Platinum Album. One of the grammy's being "Best Rock Group"! I mean, i guess it depends on who you are... as in like the lyrics in "American Idiot" are politically charged and have extremely good meanings to them, you just have to look beyond the outside stereotype of "anti-american emo's" because if you do the research before you judge you would know that green day is not out to destroy the goverment, they are just trying to expose the things that the "Bush Admin." would rather brush under the carpet. Green Day has really grown up and impressed me greatly. I hope they continue the streak. P.S. If you are totally against volitle music that challenges the american government... you think green day is bad? hahaha go listen to "ANTI-FLAG"s albums and talk to me again. GREEN DAY ROX!!! :) Expand
  6. meganr
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    I love American Idiot because it tells about what is going on in the world today and the war.
  7. Sam
    May 13, 2007
    10
    So the comments look like this is a "love it or hate it" album. I'm a "love it." The overused Boulevard of Broken Dreams aside, there are some awesome and unappreciated tracks on here. "Jesus of Suburbia" and "St. Jimmy" are two of my favorites, for the exuberance of the music and singing. And of course the infectious "Holiday." Find me a catchier guitar strain. Love it. Some of the So the comments look like this is a "love it or hate it" album. I'm a "love it." The overused Boulevard of Broken Dreams aside, there are some awesome and unappreciated tracks on here. "Jesus of Suburbia" and "St. Jimmy" are two of my favorites, for the exuberance of the music and singing. And of course the infectious "Holiday." Find me a catchier guitar strain. Love it. Some of the music is deep enough to be thought-provoking. However, it's not unavoidably deep. If the politics of the music aren't your thing, it's still possible to look past the tones of the message and appreciate the great tunes and musicianship for what they are. Expand
  8. jam
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    i think american idiot rax and the thing is it shows what green day think of the world 2day such as american idiot. I personally love holiday, bouvlevard of broken dreams, wake me up when september ends and a few more, but thing is if there band hadn't hit the charts i would have never gotten in2 green day and other rock/punk/heavy metal bands. Personally i prefer the album Dookie to i think american idiot rax and the thing is it shows what green day think of the world 2day such as american idiot. I personally love holiday, bouvlevard of broken dreams, wake me up when september ends and a few more, but thing is if there band hadn't hit the charts i would have never gotten in2 green day and other rock/punk/heavy metal bands. Personally i prefer the album Dookie to this 1 though o n green keep on making music Expand
  9. KeilaT
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    OK so this is like 4 yrs after Aerican Idiot was released but I still adore this album with every fragment of my teenaged soul. I wish that everyone could comprehend the brilliance and underhanded eloquence of this organized rave! Green Day is impeccable hands down.
  10. VonC
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    Fantastic album with well-written lyrics and hilly emotional ride from start to finish. It's funny to see the low scores with nothing but deflection and scorn from, I guess, two-time Bush voters! Someone actually used the term "moonbats"! What's this? A political forum? LOL! Billy must have been signing about those dead-enders.
  11. BenC
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    If you hate this album then, A. You have no taste and listen to modern rap and pop crap. B. . You are stupid enough to think that Green Day is anti-American. American Idiot is one of the few albums of the century with a point. Rock formed on the basis of protest, with roots in the blues and continuing with the anti-war classics of the 60s and 70s. It is a protest against the amazingly If you hate this album then, A. You have no taste and listen to modern rap and pop crap. B. . You are stupid enough to think that Green Day is anti-American. American Idiot is one of the few albums of the century with a point. Rock formed on the basis of protest, with roots in the blues and continuing with the anti-war classics of the 60s and 70s. It is a protest against the amazingly screwed up American pop culture after 9/11. The songs tell a cohesive story with some of the best lyrics I've heard ever, and is backed ub with solid instrumentation. In a world where corporate bigwigs are taking all of our money and underpaying poor laborers in China, and the government takes away citizens rights one by one, American Idiot uses Jesus of Suburbia show how messed up this current system is. Expand
  12. SidS
    May 18, 2009
    7
    When you are an old Green Day fan and are just willing them to bring out another 'Dookie', a bit disappointing.
  13. KevinL.
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    Of course, American Idiot pales in comparison to the likes of Dookie or Insomniac but it's far from crap. In fact, it's an excellent album. I don't think Green Day wanna live in the shadow of Dookie forever so I welcome their change.
  14. Moondust
    Nov 14, 2004
    9
    Billie Joe and the Crew Have done it again, The album Is great.
  15. IainH
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    The best album of 2004 beyond doubt. Only Morrsieey, The Libertines and The Ordinary Boys come close. Every song is magnificent.
  16. cindyP
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    It's amazing. Normally I couldn't listen to an entire Green Day album from start to finish in one sitting. This one is different. They are on!
  17. Luke
    Nov 16, 2004
    10
    BEST YET
  18. TimK
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    It is amazing it is the best song of Green Day I have ever heard. I can even play it on my electric guitar!
  19. CarlW
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    this album rocks
  20. ChrisP
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    Green Day's greatest album! I listened to it once and fell in love right away!
  21. Sarah
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    Absolutely the best cd that green day has come up with in a very long time. The tracks are much more mature, have depth, but still manage to be catchy and fun to listen to. Awesome, Awesome CD, it's on repeat in my stereo...
  22. clarisac
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    this cd rockes so hard i luv it!!!!!!
  23. harryb
    Dec 5, 2004
    9
    the american idiot album is definetly only second best to dookie, which isnt a bad thing, surprisingly, the worst song is american idiot, which is still a great song, the best by far is boulevard of broken dreams, the second solo probably the greatest solo they have ever done, properair guitar stuff. Wake me up when september ends shows how great they are, taking a slow song and making it the american idiot album is definetly only second best to dookie, which isnt a bad thing, surprisingly, the worst song is american idiot, which is still a great song, the best by far is boulevard of broken dreams, the second solo probably the greatest solo they have ever done, properair guitar stuff. Wake me up when september ends shows how great they are, taking a slow song and making it heavy, the 9 minute song homecoming providing a geat conclusion to a great album and the final song whatsername creating somewhat of an epilogue and the other stories in the songs giving you a reason, if any to listen to this, greenday fans will get it anyway but this album will be remembered as one of rocks greats, as a greenday album it is 2nd best, as a music album it is the best stuff they have ever done Expand
  24. JasonS
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Easily the best album of the year - I cant' stop listening to it. You can really hear the emotion in Billie Joe's voice, the desperation of the characters.
  25. BrandonE
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    I have been a fan for years...and with this new album is a reason for me to love their music even more...Flawless work..A+
  26. Holly
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    3 words- Green Day Rox!!!!! Truly the best cd i've heard in my life!
  27. gfhfghfhgfhf
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    awesome cd...very mature themes..green day has grown up!!!
  28. greendayfreakjelato
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    THE best band, THE best album, would travel the world 2 see green day!! they ROK!!! the american idiot is ma life saver. green day rules
  29. RJBabcock
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    Punk will never be the same. American Idiot changes everything. You will now have to say something and sound good doing it. A masterpiece!
  30. ScottC
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    Absolutely the best rock album of this decade bar none. I've always liked Green Day but I must admit I would never have guessed that they were capable of such an ambitious effort. They've packed an entire career worth of unbelieveably kick ass hooks into one album.
  31. RudyRules
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    The best pop punk album yet.
  32. theyrock
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    this album rules.
  33. GreendayRocks
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    I'd personally take on anyone who say's greenday is boring or annoying. This album is easily their 1st to 3rd best album. Every song has it's own brilliance. Also this album is very political. From boulevard of broken dreams to american idiot to jesus of suberbia this album stoops nowhere below brilliance. Two words 'Get IT'!
  34. Paula
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    Green Day rock and they prove that their new stuff is just as good as their older stuff with the American idiot album
  35. SergioM
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    The sort of album that a 30-something and a teenager can both rave about... What a wonderful album! I got chills listening to it - timeliness and urgency make it an album for the ages á la Pink Floyd's The Wall and The Beatle's St. Peppers.
  36. Jake
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    An absolute masterpiece.
  37. bobb
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    is this the greatest album of all time, it might just be. awesome
  38. BradS
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Best rock album I've heard in years. I'm a 50+ year old rock fan who has started to listed to opera because it has the passion that rock lacks today. American Idiot has me believing that there's still some life left in rock and roll.
  39. mICKEYjohn
    Apr 24, 2005
    10
    JUST LOV IT
  40. RMEr
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Unreal
  41. billiejoearmstrong
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    it is the best and anyone who doesn't like Green day are stupid and its the best thing that has com out since slice cheese
  42. Max
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    this album is great, it has its typical green day pop punk tunes of course. the ones we've come to love this band for (American Idiot, Boulevared of Broken Dreams) then it has its mellower more introspective tunes (are we the waiting, give me novacaine, wake me up when september ends) and of course some by the numbers punk (st jimmy, she's a rebel, whatsername) there is also this album is great, it has its typical green day pop punk tunes of course. the ones we've come to love this band for (American Idiot, Boulevared of Broken Dreams) then it has its mellower more introspective tunes (are we the waiting, give me novacaine, wake me up when september ends) and of course some by the numbers punk (st jimmy, she's a rebel, whatsername) there is also several songs so great that they easily eclipse anything other pop punk bands have done, propelling this band so far above the competition that their peers are barely relevant. the must hear tracks on this albums are "Holiday", "Jesus of Suburbia", "Homecoming" and "Letterbomb" Expand
  43. edelc
    Jul 13, 2005
    8
    i've never bought a greenday album before like many people who bought American Idiot. My tastes are varying. my favourite band is Queen. I really do like this album. It's got some gorgeous melodies (when september ends) and the second song on the album is like a musical all in itself. i dont care if this band is 'supposed' to be punk or whatever. there shouldn't i've never bought a greenday album before like many people who bought American Idiot. My tastes are varying. my favourite band is Queen. I really do like this album. It's got some gorgeous melodies (when september ends) and the second song on the album is like a musical all in itself. i dont care if this band is 'supposed' to be punk or whatever. there shouldn't be boundaries with music. that's immature. I just know that this is good music. Full stop. Expand
  44. WillO
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best rock albums of all time.
  45. Simone
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Green Day is best and this album is truly purfect
  46. kockmunchy
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Fuck yeah! Green Day is da SHIT!!!
  47. SamI
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Hands down my favorite album of 2004. The songs don't really work alone, but as a whole the album is magnificent. A great example of how an album *should* be made, the sum being greater than its parts.
  48. AshD
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    I've never been into punk music but when I heard 'Boulevard of Broken dreams', I was just drawn in so much by Green Day. I love this album and all the songs sound completely different from eachother and are so unique that you will love every single song off it for different reasons. Definitely the best album of the year.
  49. ShellK
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    This CD Rocks
  50. MichaelS
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing!
  51. HannahF
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    One of the best records of all time.
  52. ggjujuewqtq
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    is exellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  53. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    6
    This album was sort of just a plain rock album. Don't get me wrong: it had good songs on it. I loved how they had medleys like "Jesus Of Suburbia" & "Homecoming", but it didn't offer something totally new. It almost turned me off from Green Day, but I still love them.
  54. DesmondH.
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    If you think they are anti-America, you are an idiot. GD are anti-war, idiots.
  55. Dan
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    Although heavily commercialized, there is no doubt that American Idiot is still a great punk rock album. Each of its song plays a part of an overriding story in the album, and reflects America in its modern age. Its riffs, although relatively simple, are catchy nevetheless, and are certainly catchy enough to hook any punk rock fan. Aside from its obvious commercialization and change, Although heavily commercialized, there is no doubt that American Idiot is still a great punk rock album. Each of its song plays a part of an overriding story in the album, and reflects America in its modern age. Its riffs, although relatively simple, are catchy nevetheless, and are certainly catchy enough to hook any punk rock fan. Aside from its obvious commercialization and change, American Idiot is a superb album and another good step for Green Day. Expand
  56. pauld.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    by far there best album
  57. MattM
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    A great album with powerfully organized and well-written songs, and great lyrics. The best songs on the album Holiday, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, She's a Rebel, Extraordinary Girl, Letterbomb, Wake Me Up When September Ends, Homecoming, and Whatsername.
  58. KyleM
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    American Idiot is one of this decades greatest CD's. Although the music may not sound like it did 15 years ago on Dookie, it's still got a lot of punch to it. This and Warning are albums Green Day have released to prove they've grown up, you can play the same exact thing for 20 years and expect to keep on living. American Idiot is Green Day's biggest risk, and biggest success.
  59. WyattM.
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    I think green day put great meaning's for there song's in American idiot.
  60. earl
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    excellent
  61. TomM
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    Awesomely deep album, must be listened to as a piece. The lyrics actaully mean something, telling a great, and whatsmore, relevent story.
  62. JakeM
    Nov 26, 2004
    10
    Just as good as Dookie if not better, A true Masterpiece from Green Day
  63. ashcheesepie
    Nov 26, 2004
    10
    i adore this album. it's just fucking super. it's important for long time green day fans to let go of dookie, i mean christ, listen to this! they're so much more than dookie. what sets this album apart is what holds the album together: the songs can be listened to holistically which creates a definitive atmosphere of something america (and the world) has lost. but an i adore this album. it's just fucking super. it's important for long time green day fans to let go of dookie, i mean christ, listen to this! they're so much more than dookie. what sets this album apart is what holds the album together: the songs can be listened to holistically which creates a definitive atmosphere of something america (and the world) has lost. but an individual song can also be upheld alone by its own merits. billie joe, i think, has proved himself through and through. Expand
  64. JUSTINS
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST ALBUM OF THE YEAR HANDS DOWN. The music took me to places that i had never been before this Byfar is the ultimate album of the year.I think that for the content of the album they should make a rock opera
  65. killermonkey
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    this is one of the best punk albums ever when this came out i bought it right away i love green day and always have billie joe armstrong is my idol this cd is awesome and even has a storyline i wouldn't say it's their best cd (dookie is their best) but pretty close and extremely far from their worst anyway be sure to buy this it should be at a store for like 13 dollars anyway this is one of the best punk albums ever when this came out i bought it right away i love green day and always have billie joe armstrong is my idol this cd is awesome and even has a storyline i wouldn't say it's their best cd (dookie is their best) but pretty close and extremely far from their worst anyway be sure to buy this it should be at a store for like 13 dollars anyway i'm out cya Expand
  66. RickH
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    American Idiot really holds together and strikes a chord with anyone who was raised and conditioned to what we should believe and then later finding out that we nee to follow our own path, both the postive side as well as the destuctive side, in order to become who we really are.
  67. JonG
    Dec 28, 2005
    8
    Honestly i think this is a good album, but. The songs kinda get old after awhile and it gets to the point where you just don't wanna listen to it anymore. But all in all this is a pretty good album, and i suggest if you don't have it to go get it because their always crankin out new hits from the album.
  68. chadw
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    I don't know why people say that this is awful. Everybody who listens to this record should like it.
  69. DaleF
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    3 years after the release of this CD and it's still in my player constantly. Incredible CD.
  70. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    The Return of Green Day.

    Ever since Dookie, Green Day has been one of the forefront punk rock/alternative bands in pop music. However in the years leading up to this album, their popularity had significantly faded. Punk rock fans really lost interest. The music didn't change much. Green Day themselves showed signs of musical decay with poor albums like Warning and Nimrod. They started
    The Return of Green Day.

    Ever since Dookie, Green Day has been one of the forefront punk rock/alternative bands in pop music. However in the years leading up to this album, their popularity had significantly faded. Punk rock fans really lost interest. The music didn't change much. Green Day themselves showed signs of musical decay with poor albums like Warning and Nimrod. They started work on an album called Cigarettes And Valentines. But in the middle of those sessions, the master tapes had been stolen. Rather than use copies of the original, Green Day started a new concept which materialized into American Idiot.

    From the start, Green Day proves they aren't soft guys. On the title track, they blast off criticism of American media, saying how its falsehood has influenced us to become like, well, idiots. But that's the intro. Over the course of the album, one can finally understand the magnificence of the album because even though the sound is conventional, its themes and structures is unique.

    It is essentially a rock opera divided into several acts. Each act explains the character's emotions and journey. But the story itself isn't well made. The sound varies too much and the plot is really lost in the midst of musical genius. The tale isn't quite clear as it should be. Each act seems like a random piece of the character's journey rather than sequential chapters that make sense. For one thing, midway through the album Jesus Of Suburbia calls himself St. Jimmy for no reason. Then in Homecoming, he claims that persona is now dead. The whole idea of American Idiot is somewhat lost in the story.

    But Green Day has put the punk back in punk rock with an album that works more as a collection of good songs rather than the rock opera as proposed.
    Expand
  71. Sep 28, 2010
    7
    Sure, it's an odd thing to review in 2010, but how can you not have your say on this album? My 7/10 is a simple one. I haven't yet, listened to an album that for me, has been over a 7. Such bands as Every Avenue, Asking Alexandria and such all seem to pump out amazing albums, but none over a 7. American Idiot, however, has had a HUGE impact on the way I saw music when it was released. ThisSure, it's an odd thing to review in 2010, but how can you not have your say on this album? My 7/10 is a simple one. I haven't yet, listened to an album that for me, has been over a 7. Such bands as Every Avenue, Asking Alexandria and such all seem to pump out amazing albums, but none over a 7. American Idiot, however, has had a HUGE impact on the way I saw music when it was released. This is why I don't really cringe when people say they used to, or even still, listen to Busted. I'd rather listen to Busted, which I did and sometimes still do, than say...50 Cent?

    American Idiot, however, changed my music style. As soon as i bought it and gave it a good beating, I knew that I was into this genre. At the time, the genre was 'guitars'. Then it branched into Korn, then Linkin Park and before you know it, I'm buying Whisteria Cottage CD's and trying to decide what else to buy.

    The reason I am wittering on about this is because had Green Day released American Idiot this week, in the music position that I am in, I would have given it a straight 9. But because I was 12, and I didn't understand the political subtext, 7 will have to do.
    Expand
  72. Feb 1, 2011
    8
    American Idiot is a great album. From the opening punk-anthem "American Idiot" to the raw and powerful "Wake Me Up When September Ends". There is not a dull song on this album. This album is nothing like "Dookie". Completely different in every way. They sing about politics and America and Religion. Whereas in Dookie he sings about laziness and what not. It's really a big step in the rightAmerican Idiot is a great album. From the opening punk-anthem "American Idiot" to the raw and powerful "Wake Me Up When September Ends". There is not a dull song on this album. This album is nothing like "Dookie". Completely different in every way. They sing about politics and America and Religion. Whereas in Dookie he sings about laziness and what not. It's really a big step in the right direction. All In All, American Idiot is a great album and it shows that Green Day is a band to be taken seriously. B+ Expand
  73. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    Greatest album of all time , jesus of suburbia shows every teen dream of living his life . With this album green day reborned rock and american idiot became a simbol for the new generation of rock fans
  74. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely epic, Green Day gives us an album that deserves to be named one of the best rock albums (if not the best) of the 21'st century first decade. Hilarious rock songs, grandiose epics and power ballads make up a very interesting album in which Billie Joe amstrong shows he is an excellent songwriter, one of the finest to come out of his generation.
  75. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    American Idiot is one of the best punk albums of the millennium. Insightful lyrics, terrific singing, excellent guitar work, and more. Though not as great as Insomniac, it's still a wonderful 5 star album. Highlights: Jesus Of Suburbia, Holiday, Homecoming, Boulevard Of Broken Dreams.
  76. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums ever made by Green Day. All of their songs are amazing and have a great hook to them. Also, Billie Joe Armstrong has one of the best vocals ever and he's a great guitarist!!!!
  77. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    This album blew everyone away and opened the doors again for rock N roll! Amazing stuff! This is how rock operas should be played kids! American Idiot was truly an explosion by Green Day and you can hear the passion on every song on this album. Jesus of Suburbia is hands down one of the most amazing songs ever written. I'll never forget the first time hearing this amazing track and beingThis album blew everyone away and opened the doors again for rock N roll! Amazing stuff! This is how rock operas should be played kids! American Idiot was truly an explosion by Green Day and you can hear the passion on every song on this album. Jesus of Suburbia is hands down one of the most amazing songs ever written. I'll never forget the first time hearing this amazing track and being blown away. Almost seven years later this album holds up well and will remain a classic album in history! Expand
  78. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This has to be my favourite album of all time, I listen to it religiously.

    I love the storyline the album follows and the characters and how every song has it's own style and personality!
  79. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    GREEN DAY IS BACK! After their multi-million selling album, "Dookie" they released three studio efforts and 1 complication record. They were good and if a Green Day fan they were great! But as most bands would break up after a hard spell, Green Day stuck together and put out the greatest album of the last 10 years. This is probably the best Rock Opera since The Who's "Tommy". With BushGREEN DAY IS BACK! After their multi-million selling album, "Dookie" they released three studio efforts and 1 complication record. They were good and if a Green Day fan they were great! But as most bands would break up after a hard spell, Green Day stuck together and put out the greatest album of the last 10 years. This is probably the best Rock Opera since The Who's "Tommy". With Bush about to serve another four years and the Iraqi war going strong Billie Joe's lyrics sum up all the frustration the younger generation had bottled up at that time. Green Day still has evidence of their punk past on songs like "St. Jimmy" and "She's A Rebel". They show their maturity on the two 9 minute epic songs "Jesus of Suburbia" and "Homecoming". The two best songs on the album are the anti-war "Holiday" and the Grammy Award winning "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"! Expand
  80. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Make sure ur sitting down when u start playing this song! other wise the sound of amazing punk rock will blow u back on your ass! Every song on this album is moving and sheer quality, no song lacks anything, when u listen to a song, you dont go, "that was pretty good, but i like _ better" every song feeds off the other. each song is different and better than the last in certain ways. iMake sure ur sitting down when u start playing this song! other wise the sound of amazing punk rock will blow u back on your ass! Every song on this album is moving and sheer quality, no song lacks anything, when u listen to a song, you dont go, "that was pretty good, but i like _ better" every song feeds off the other. each song is different and better than the last in certain ways. i could listen to this album all the way thru 3 times in a row. Its moving, its got class, and it will make any music being played the radio right now look like complete garbage. this is what the people have been waiting for! not some autotuned garbage. This Is American Idiot! Expand
  81. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    A very melted dry out album since the release of it, because of that hysterical hype back then, you wont feel nothing more to the rhythm etc. So yeah, I gave it a 8.
  82. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    Absolutely, the best album of Green Day ever. The creative structure of the album, telling a story and the significant lyrics are really acclaimed. I will now highlight "Jesus of Suburbia"and "Homecoming", long songs with so much powerful punk concentrated which really make them an incredible masterpieces. One of the best album of the decade.
  83. May 12, 2011
    8
    i love green day and i like this album. it had a great storyline. it was easy to follow. the lyrics were okay. the music and the melodies were on point. t deserved the recognition at the grammy's
  84. May 10, 2011
    10
    Green Day throws off the shackles of punk rock normalcy and blasts out a beautifully constructed rock opera, filled with vision and creativity, and oozing with spectacular lyricism and instrumentals. The best album of the decade.
  85. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    With this album, Green Day turns into more of a punk rock band rather than punk. If ur disappointed, then dont be. They have finally found a genre that fits perfectly to them, and it rocks! Truly a work of art.
  86. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    This is the definition of a perfect album. It covers a ton of genres without sounding convoluted or boring. If you love punk or classic rock, then you owe it to yourself to listen this album.
  87. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Awesome album! It's got it all. I love Green Day and have loved it for a long time and it's one of my all time favorite bands. This album has a lot of there most popular and best songs, like American Idiot, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, and Whatsername. I think that this album is actually their best album next to Dookie and Nimrod. Classic band with classic songs that will be loved andAwesome album! It's got it all. I love Green Day and have loved it for a long time and it's one of my all time favorite bands. This album has a lot of there most popular and best songs, like American Idiot, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, and Whatsername. I think that this album is actually their best album next to Dookie and Nimrod. Classic band with classic songs that will be loved and cherished forever. Expand
  88. j30
    Sep 21, 2011
    9
    One of the best albums of the past decade. Amazing creative breakthrough. These songs will be playing on classic radio stations 20 years from now. It's interesting that a stolen demo tape lead them to one of their best albums of their career.
  89. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time it is helped by the high paced energy of st. jimmy and american idiot, the sober greatness of wake me up when september ends and boulevard of broken dreams, and most importantly the 9 minute epics homecoming and jesus of suburbia makes this one of those every once and a while albums that all 100% listenable 10 out of 10
  90. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Great album it's was good that Green day grew out of it's childish style like previouse albums Kerplunk and Dookie (it was fun while it lasted) but this more hardcore rebellious sound seems to be working really well for the band, though it may appeal less to kids and teens because of political refrences I'm sure true punk rock fans will be proud.
  91. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This album is nothing short of amazing. You can stay in denial, but really it was one of the last mainstream albums that wasn't filled with fillers and had a single catchy single. The lyrics are great, and I literally spent about 4 hours analyzing Holiday and its metaphors and allusions. The album's ''intro'' American Idiot is short and straight-forward, a brilliant opening for the epicThis album is nothing short of amazing. You can stay in denial, but really it was one of the last mainstream albums that wasn't filled with fillers and had a single catchy single. The lyrics are great, and I literally spent about 4 hours analyzing Holiday and its metaphors and allusions. The album's ''intro'' American Idiot is short and straight-forward, a brilliant opening for the epic that is Jesus of Suburbia. The main body of the album is consistently amazing, with the exception of ''Letterbomb'', which i just didn't like. The greatest part of this album, however, is one I ignored until just recently. The last two songs, Homecoming and Whatsername are in my opinion the greatest way to close an album as amazing as this. You'd think Whatsername takes the Slow, Nostalgic road, but then completely changes direction.

    What I like the most about this album is the fact that while having a definitely toned-down punk sound, it's definitely NOT pop-punk, due to the fact that Green Day build their songs with a much more complex structure, and don't act greedy with their riffs and melodies: They'll pack as much into one song as possible.

    And to people calling their style ''simplistic'' and ''cheap'', know that Green Day's complexity comes from their chord progressions. If you look at this album, you'll notice that there aren't any 4 chord songs, and if there are, they're only part of a longer song. They are pretty diverse in that aspect, and i'd rather have them create substantial raw music than a pseudo-complex 4 chord song with great production.

    TLDR: Great Album, no fillers, amazing themes, amazing lyrics, good guitar/drum/bass work, and great backup vocals. Green Day's best
    Expand
  92. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    While previous albums had their significance, American Idiot signaled the evolution of Green Day from simple Punk rockers to the some of the greatest storytellers of our era.
  93. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Not nearly as good as some of their older stuff such as Dookie, but this is still an excellent rock opera with a great plot, catchy tunes, and political undertones. Overall this is a great package, and the musical is great too. If you don't already have it (or even if you do), I suggest getting the American Idiot Cast Version of the album, as it has some extra tracks.
  94. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    After a long break since their last album, "American Idiot" proves to be their best album yet. Providing a new spin on a classic rock album, Green Day has proven once again why they are the biggest rock band in the world right now.
  95. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I haven't heard all of Green Day's albums but this might be their best. Some people think it's a masterpiece and others think it sucks. It's rare for fans to disagree that much but in my own opinion I think American Idiot is a classic, if not a masterpiece. There is not one weak song on this album. Some fans may not like it because they like the old Green Day better but for most bands toI haven't heard all of Green Day's albums but this might be their best. Some people think it's a masterpiece and others think it sucks. It's rare for fans to disagree that much but in my own opinion I think American Idiot is a classic, if not a masterpiece. There is not one weak song on this album. Some fans may not like it because they like the old Green Day better but for most bands to survive they have to change in some way. My favorite tracks are American Idiot, Jesus of Suburbia, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, Holiday, St. Jimmy, Letterbomb, Wake Me Up When September Ends, Homecoming, and Whatsername. That is almost all of the songs. Call me whatever you want for loving this album, I don't care. Looks like most of the critics agree with me anyway. Expand
  96. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Great, wonderful, spectacular. It's the best Green Day album, my favourite. All 13 songs are very good, I can't find the worst. I think also Warning was very good, but American Idiot is great.
    No more words for such a masterpiece.
  97. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    When you think 'Rock Opera' this is the album that instantly comes to mind, and that is because it is a candidate for best album of all time. This is an album that took the world by storm in 2004 and 2005 and single handedly boosted Green Day's career to an absolute high, with singles winning awards and being tonnes of airtime, after all, everybody here has heard American Idiot, Wake Me UpWhen you think 'Rock Opera' this is the album that instantly comes to mind, and that is because it is a candidate for best album of all time. This is an album that took the world by storm in 2004 and 2005 and single handedly boosted Green Day's career to an absolute high, with singles winning awards and being tonnes of airtime, after all, everybody here has heard American Idiot, Wake Me Up When September Ends or Boulevard of Broken Dreams at least 10 times, and I highly doubt nobody is sick of ALL of those songs, let alone any of them. Overall, a wonderful album and a true masterpiece. Must buy! Expand
  98. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    this is by far green day's best album, tunes like american idiot and boulevard of broken dreams i never get tired of listening to! this awesome album will always have a place in my itunes library!
  99. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Un Disco excelente, de hecho me parece el mejor de la banda hasta ahora, lo recomiendo a cualquiera que le guste el rock, ademas cuenta una historia muy buena, muy recomendado!
  100. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    This has got to be one of the greatest albums, not just in rock history, but of all music history. Definitely one of those albums you should listen to before you die.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It is exactly what the band needs to boost itself to the next level of pop-punk prowess.
  2. There's still plenty of spunk in to be found in this Sgt. Pepper-lite.
  3. Not only does it contain Green Day’s finest songs (and choruses) to date... but it also scratches at the surface of political dissatisfaction with nails sharp enough to leave a nasty scar.