• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2004
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 592 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 592

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2015
    8
    Most songs I hear in on the radio on a regular basis are about love, sex, and heartbreaks. The album American Idiot by Green Day (originally known as Sweet Children) is made up of songs inspired by acts of protest. When Green Day formed in 1986, they were known as punk band who had great fondness for marijuana. Most of their early albums were influenced by health problems and controversialMost songs I hear in on the radio on a regular basis are about love, sex, and heartbreaks. The album American Idiot by Green Day (originally known as Sweet Children) is made up of songs inspired by acts of protest. When Green Day formed in 1986, they were known as punk band who had great fondness for marijuana. Most of their early albums were influenced by health problems and controversial actions. For example, their album Dookie (released in 1994) depicts a bomb dropping on people and buildings which indicates a form of vandalism and people getting seriously hurt. Creating albums like this appear to be a way of influencing others to cause destruction. In the late 90's and early 2000's, Green Day's success started to decline due to lack of variation in their music.

    In 2004, they gained their success back when they released the album American Idiot, which they took a more conscious approach to. This album consists of songs that have intentions of influencing others to express who they feel. There are many people who don't agree with the laws and boundaries that apply to them. Some individuals find unique ways of expressing their opinions (for example, some do it through song). The song “American Idiot” is about expressing how you feel and being proud of it. There is one point in the song where Billie Joel Armstrong says something like: “I may be no good in the perspectives of others, but I am proud of the person I am and I will not change that”. America claims to be a nation where everyone has the right to speak their minds. Instead of having their words taken into consideration, some people get chastised for their actions. Going against the laws are usually seen as just unforgivable crimes done by selfish individuals. There are times when people feel the need to go against these laws to receive attention the public's attention. In the song “Holiday”, the band says to “kill” those agree with their actions and words. They aren't necessarily saying they want to kill someone, but giving a message saying they won't let others give them direction and blow off those who disagree. American Idiot contains pieces that have influential lyrics with solid instrumentals behind them that give off an intense mood letting people know that they need to stay entitled to their own opinions and can't let disagreement of others refrain them from doing so. Although Green Day's choice of words in their songs are somewhat offensive, their music is powerful overall and they have every right to use it to get the public's attention.

    The album American Idiot not only has pieces based on protest, but also personal struggles each member of the band went through. For example, the song “Wake Me Up When September Ends” was influenced by the death of Billie Joel Armstrong's father which occurred when Armstrong was a child. The song emphasizes losing loved ones and the pain people feel when it happens. Its title is basically a line coming from someone who is trying to cope with this pain despite the difficulties. The song sends a message saying to be careful about what you say to your loved ones because you never know when you might lose them. Armstrong was influenced to give that message when reflecting on losing his father at a young age. It is important to show the people in your life as much love as you can because you never know whether or not it's the last time you'll see them. American Idiot not only shows a great change in Green Day's music, but also a positive change who they are as people.
    Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    It's been 10 years since the initial release of Green Day's iconic rock-opera that arguably defined a generation of rock. The album shows far more diversity and complexity on every level than anything Green Day had done prior. That, and it's prettier political punk(ish) sound and theme put the band back into the limelight. The album features a far more political and anti-establishmentIt's been 10 years since the initial release of Green Day's iconic rock-opera that arguably defined a generation of rock. The album shows far more diversity and complexity on every level than anything Green Day had done prior. That, and it's prettier political punk(ish) sound and theme put the band back into the limelight. The album features a far more political and anti-establishment theme than anything the band had done before, but it was their least punk record. Diving into arena rock, power pop, and overall alt rock awesomeness while still sticking to the relatively simple multi power chord based sound they're known for, the album is a musical success. Who would have thought that Green Day of all bands would put out a 57min album with a coherent plot line, fleshed out characters, two 9+min tracks and do it with astonishing results. In years to come, this will be put alongside some of the greatest American albums of all time. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2014
    9
    This album is arguably the best album of Greenday portraying the life of a drug-abused teenage with a self-proclaim title "Jesus of the Suburbia". I just don't know what happen in the end of his journey. Even years has passed by, I am still excited when they sing the title track " American idiot "
  4. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    This album, while it may have controversial lyrics, has a lot of soul in the tune, which is why I listen to music. It's got powerful choruses and catchy verses - and some substantial songs, I enjoy that a lot.
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Un Disco excelente, de hecho me parece el mejor de la banda hasta ahora, lo recomiendo a cualquiera que le guste el rock, ademas cuenta una historia muy buena, muy recomendado!
  6. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    The pinnacle of Punk-rock. Lyrically brilliant, fantastic meanings behind some of the songs, a great story behind the entire rock-opera, and unlike many albums, it's truly involving (I was looking up Jesus of suburbia and Saint Jimmy for hours last night! I even changed my steam name), and musically amazing. By far the best album out there, and it takes a lot for me to say that. Truly perfect.
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    may not even be the kings of punk rock (or post-punk, pop punk, or whatever), but left pretty and good messages in this album. A landmark in the 2000s and in the digital age, American Idiot is nothing more than a fact of American conflict, and musicality based on opera, is not bad either. Amazing how this album ages well and still current. Green Day is doing its job and very good.
  8. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    Introduced to this album when I was six years old, I loved it, and got told off for singing the bad words in it. Nine years on, I still listen to the songs in this album. It's definitely one of Green Day's greatest albums made and stands out above their new material.
  9. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Amazing album that stands it test of time and still is a masterpiece almost 10 years into the future. Truly a classic. I would even go so far to compare this album to Nevermind by Nirvana or Abbey Road by The Beatles or IV by Led Zeppelin.All tracks are amazing but I would have to admit that the middle is not as good as the beginning and end but those tracks are awesome aswell! Track byAmazing album that stands it test of time and still is a masterpiece almost 10 years into the future. Truly a classic. I would even go so far to compare this album to Nevermind by Nirvana or Abbey Road by The Beatles or IV by Led Zeppelin.All tracks are amazing but I would have to admit that the middle is not as good as the beginning and end but those tracks are awesome aswell! Track by track: American Idiot 10/10 this power rocker starts up the album with a huge bang, still hears this song today on the radio or the tv. Jesus of Suburbia 10/10 this 9 minute rock-opera keeps my interest through the whole song. Holiday 10/10 Awesome! Nuff' said. Boulevard of Broken Dreams 10/10 another timeless classic that i still hear being played. Are we waiting 10/10 This 3 minute song is so epic! St.Jimmy 10/10 Fast paced fun! Here is where the album is getting a bit worse on the 4 following tracks: Give me novachine,Extraordinary Girl, Letterbomb. 9/10 but I love She is a Rebel 10/10. Wake me up when september ends 10/10 A truly beautiful song that Billie Joe wrote to his dad that passed away of cancer when Billie Joe was 10. He died in september and "Wake me up when september ends" is a reference to what BIllie Joe said on his fathers funeral. Homecoming 10/10 another awesome 9 minute
    rock-opera. Diverse and intense. Whatsername 9.5/10 awesome closer that sums up the album perfectly. Oh, did I mention that you should listen to the lyrics to truly understand the album. You see, this whole album is a story. This review turned up pretty long so I think I will end it here. You know what to do! Just listen to this already!!!
    Expand
  10. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    American Idiot is one of my favorite albums of all time. The music is great and the messages from the songs are ones I can agree with. A quick message to everyone that is mad about Green Day calling Americans "idiots": We are, now chill.
  11. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    "American Idiot" Uma Obra Prima Dos Anos 2000.
    Com Temas Essenciais Como Politíca,Injustiça,Morte E Desemprego.
    Duas Longas E Excelentes Ópera De Rock Jesus Of Suburbia E Homecoming. As Punk Rock Essência Do GD American Idiot,Holiday,St Jimmy,She's A Rebel,Letterbomb E As Longas Jesus Of Suburbia E Homecoming E As Fundamentais Baladas De Rock Boulevard Of Broken Dreams,Are We The
    "American Idiot" Uma Obra Prima Dos Anos 2000.
    Com Temas Essenciais Como Politíca,Injustiça,Morte E Desemprego.

    Duas Longas E Excelentes Ópera De Rock Jesus Of Suburbia E Homecoming.

    As Punk Rock Essência Do GD American Idiot,Holiday,St Jimmy,She's A Rebel,Letterbomb E As Longas Jesus Of Suburbia E Homecoming

    E As Fundamentais Baladas De Rock Boulevard Of Broken Dreams,Are We The Waiting,Give Me Novacaine,Wake Me Up When Semptember Ends E Para Encerrar Com Chave De Ouro Whatsername

    Top De American Idiot
    1-Boulevard Of A Broken Dreams
    2-Holiday
    3-Letterbomb
    4-Homecoming
    5-Jesus Of Suburbia
    Expand
  12. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This is the kind of album that gets people excited about music. A beautiful blend of the personal and political, "American Idiot" excellently captures the emotional landscape of the post-9/11 U.S. Themes like media hysteria, anti-imperialism, antiwar sensibilities, lower middle class life, religious disillusionment, drug addiction, tragic love, the search for meaning, and ultimatelyThis is the kind of album that gets people excited about music. A beautiful blend of the personal and political, "American Idiot" excellently captures the emotional landscape of the post-9/11 U.S. Themes like media hysteria, anti-imperialism, antiwar sensibilities, lower middle class life, religious disillusionment, drug addiction, tragic love, the search for meaning, and ultimately learning everything the hard way, are all woven together into a story that makes up for what it lacks in clarity with surprisingly accessible gravitas. Stylistically, critics of Green Day are quick to point out their disloyalty to the tried-and-true formulas of punk's first wave, and indeed you will find this album to be anything but formulaic. This time, the trio have seen fit to experiment not only with song structure, but also modestly with instrumentation, and it has paid off. That said, if you are a fan of the boisterous pop-punk of the Ramones, the fiery idealism of the Clash, and the grandiosity of the Who, you will feel at home listening to "American Idiot". While older critics harp on the fact that Green Day had the nerve to form in the late 80's instead of 10 or 15 years earlier, the sweet children have grown up, and they have a hell of a story to tell. Come to this album with no biases or pretensions, and it might very well change your life. Expand
  13. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    American Idiot is a cool rock opera. I usually don't like rock operas, but American Idiot is cool. The title track is epic and it is the best song of the album, along with Holiday and Boulevard of Broken Dreams. The album is consistent. Talking about the rest of the album, I ,like St. Jimmy, Wake Me Up When September Ends and Are We The Waiting. I don't like Whatshername, as it is for meAmerican Idiot is a cool rock opera. I usually don't like rock operas, but American Idiot is cool. The title track is epic and it is the best song of the album, along with Holiday and Boulevard of Broken Dreams. The album is consistent. Talking about the rest of the album, I ,like St. Jimmy, Wake Me Up When September Ends and Are We The Waiting. I don't like Whatshername, as it is for me the worst of the album. To be honest I am not a huge Green Day fan. I don't like Punk. The songs are so similar. But I was surprised. It is a good album. Expand
  14. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Who would have thought that snotty-nosed punksters Green Day would create one of the greatest albums of the decade? After a period of critical and commercial polarization, the trio returned with a rock opera that -despite having a ridiculous plot- went on to turn Green Day into serious rock stars. All the songs are brilliant courtesy of Billie Joe's politically charged lyrics and theWho would have thought that snotty-nosed punksters Green Day would create one of the greatest albums of the decade? After a period of critical and commercial polarization, the trio returned with a rock opera that -despite having a ridiculous plot- went on to turn Green Day into serious rock stars. All the songs are brilliant courtesy of Billie Joe's politically charged lyrics and the group's sound as a whole. A must buy for everyone. Expand
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A amazing album, its got it all, from punk to softer songs that all goes together really well. There is a storyline cleverly written in to this album which can has so many meanings and everytime you listen to it you pick up on something new. One of the greatest albums of all time! Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    When you think 'Rock Opera' this is the album that instantly comes to mind, and that is because it is a candidate for best album of all time. This is an album that took the world by storm in 2004 and 2005 and single handedly boosted Green Day's career to an absolute high, with singles winning awards and being tonnes of airtime, after all, everybody here has heard American Idiot, Wake Me UpWhen you think 'Rock Opera' this is the album that instantly comes to mind, and that is because it is a candidate for best album of all time. This is an album that took the world by storm in 2004 and 2005 and single handedly boosted Green Day's career to an absolute high, with singles winning awards and being tonnes of airtime, after all, everybody here has heard American Idiot, Wake Me Up When September Ends or Boulevard of Broken Dreams at least 10 times, and I highly doubt nobody is sick of ALL of those songs, let alone any of them. Overall, a wonderful album and a true masterpiece. Must buy! Expand
  17. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    this is by far green day's best album, tunes like american idiot and boulevard of broken dreams i never get tired of listening to! this awesome album will always have a place in my itunes library!
  18. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    This has got to be one of the greatest albums, not just in rock history, but of all music history. Definitely one of those albums you should listen to before you die.
  19. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Punk perfection! Every song is powerful, catchy and meaningful. It may be a complicated story but once you get the story it is awesome! Other than Dookie, this is Green Day's best offering.
  20. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Great, wonderful, spectacular. It's the best Green Day album, my favourite. All 13 songs are very good, I can't find the worst. I think also Warning was very good, but American Idiot is great.
    No more words for such a masterpiece.
  21. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I haven't heard all of Green Day's albums but this might be their best. Some people think it's a masterpiece and others think it sucks. It's rare for fans to disagree that much but in my own opinion I think American Idiot is a classic, if not a masterpiece. There is not one weak song on this album. Some fans may not like it because they like the old Green Day better but for most bands toI haven't heard all of Green Day's albums but this might be their best. Some people think it's a masterpiece and others think it sucks. It's rare for fans to disagree that much but in my own opinion I think American Idiot is a classic, if not a masterpiece. There is not one weak song on this album. Some fans may not like it because they like the old Green Day better but for most bands to survive they have to change in some way. My favorite tracks are American Idiot, Jesus of Suburbia, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, Holiday, St. Jimmy, Letterbomb, Wake Me Up When September Ends, Homecoming, and Whatsername. That is almost all of the songs. Call me whatever you want for loving this album, I don't care. Looks like most of the critics agree with me anyway. Expand
  22. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Awesome album! It's got it all. I love Green Day and have loved it for a long time and it's one of my all time favorite bands. This album has a lot of there most popular and best songs, like American Idiot, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, and Whatsername. I think that this album is actually their best album next to Dookie and Nimrod. Classic band with classic songs that will be loved andAwesome album! It's got it all. I love Green Day and have loved it for a long time and it's one of my all time favorite bands. This album has a lot of there most popular and best songs, like American Idiot, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, and Whatsername. I think that this album is actually their best album next to Dookie and Nimrod. Classic band with classic songs that will be loved and cherished forever. Expand
  23. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    After a long break since their last album, "American Idiot" proves to be their best album yet. Providing a new spin on a classic rock album, Green Day has proven once again why they are the biggest rock band in the world right now.
  24. May 17, 2012
    10
    This is the definition of perfection. It starts of with the energetic first single and title track American Idiot: 10/10. Next there comes the super epic Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The 3rd track off the album is Holiday (10/10) which leads right into Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Boulevard of Broken Dreams is my second favourite song of all time and won the Grammy award for Record of theThis is the definition of perfection. It starts of with the energetic first single and title track American Idiot: 10/10. Next there comes the super epic Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The 3rd track off the album is Holiday (10/10) which leads right into Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Boulevard of Broken Dreams is my second favourite song of all time and won the Grammy award for Record of the Year, I think. It fully deserved it: 10/10. Next comes Are We The Waiting (9/10) which is a slow track, but still really amazing. I look at it from 3 different points of view. First of all it's a good track. Then I sometimes take it as a kind of sow interlude in the album. Then I sometimes also understand it as an intro for the next fast track it leads right into: St. Jimmy (9/10). The 7th track off the album is Give Me Noavacaine which is kind of a bit slow like Are We The Waiting but again, really amazing: 10/10. She's a Rebel is the 8th track and is pretty fast-paced: 9/10. The 9th track is Extraordinary Girl. Sure, the verse isn't that convincing, but the chorus is just... Words can't express how great it is: 10/10. Next comes the epic Letterbomb. Just amazing: 10/10. Then there comes Wake Me Up When September Ends which opens quietly, with an acoustic guitar, finally evolving into an amazing song with solos, great melodies, and fantastic vocals: 10/10 Track 12 is Homecoming, a 9-minute epic just like Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The last track off American Idiot is Whatsername, evolving from a muffled guitar riff to an energetic, loud song: 10/10. Well done Green Day! Well done! There is NO bad track on this album. And I am realistic. Trust me, there is no bad song on this album at all. Expand
  25. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Not nearly as good as some of their older stuff such as Dookie, but this is still an excellent rock opera with a great plot, catchy tunes, and political undertones. Overall this is a great package, and the musical is great too. If you don't already have it (or even if you do), I suggest getting the American Idiot Cast Version of the album, as it has some extra tracks.
  26. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the 2000-2009 decade. This album was a classic and it still is. I dont listen to it as much as i did in 2004 **** still the best album since Nirvana's Nevermind
  27. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    Never been a big fan of Greenday before or since this record. I've always found them very average musically and borderline childish lyrically. This record however is very very good. Definitely GreenDay at their very best. apart from the singles there are half a dozen other excellent tracks on this.
  28. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    While previous albums had their significance, American Idiot signaled the evolution of Green Day from simple Punk rockers to the some of the greatest storytellers of our era.
  29. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This album is nothing short of amazing. You can stay in denial, but really it was one of the last mainstream albums that wasn't filled with fillers and had a single catchy single. The lyrics are great, and I literally spent about 4 hours analyzing Holiday and its metaphors and allusions. The album's ''intro'' American Idiot is short and straight-forward, a brilliant opening for the epicThis album is nothing short of amazing. You can stay in denial, but really it was one of the last mainstream albums that wasn't filled with fillers and had a single catchy single. The lyrics are great, and I literally spent about 4 hours analyzing Holiday and its metaphors and allusions. The album's ''intro'' American Idiot is short and straight-forward, a brilliant opening for the epic that is Jesus of Suburbia. The main body of the album is consistently amazing, with the exception of ''Letterbomb'', which i just didn't like. The greatest part of this album, however, is one I ignored until just recently. The last two songs, Homecoming and Whatsername are in my opinion the greatest way to close an album as amazing as this. You'd think Whatsername takes the Slow, Nostalgic road, but then completely changes direction.

    What I like the most about this album is the fact that while having a definitely toned-down punk sound, it's definitely NOT pop-punk, due to the fact that Green Day build their songs with a much more complex structure, and don't act greedy with their riffs and melodies: They'll pack as much into one song as possible.

    And to people calling their style ''simplistic'' and ''cheap'', know that Green Day's complexity comes from their chord progressions. If you look at this album, you'll notice that there aren't any 4 chord songs, and if there are, they're only part of a longer song. They are pretty diverse in that aspect, and i'd rather have them create substantial raw music than a pseudo-complex 4 chord song with great production.

    TLDR: Great Album, no fillers, amazing themes, amazing lyrics, good guitar/drum/bass work, and great backup vocals. Green Day's best
    Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I don't know much about songs, but it doesn't take an American to realize how rocking out this music is, as well as the lyrics too.
  31. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Great album it's was good that Green day grew out of it's childish style like previouse albums Kerplunk and Dookie (it was fun while it lasted) but this more hardcore rebellious sound seems to be working really well for the band, though it may appeal less to kids and teens because of political refrences I'm sure true punk rock fans will be proud.
  32. j30
    Sep 21, 2011
    9
    One of the best albums of the past decade. Amazing creative breakthrough. These songs will be playing on classic radio stations 20 years from now. It's interesting that a stolen demo tape lead them to one of their best albums of their career.
  33. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    A lot of the songs on here are interminably long (i.e. "Jesus of Suburbia", "Homecoming"), but every single act in this musical rock opera is constructed to perfection and unbelievability.
  34. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time it is helped by the high paced energy of st. jimmy and american idiot, the sober greatness of wake me up when september ends and boulevard of broken dreams, and most importantly the 9 minute epics homecoming and jesus of suburbia makes this one of those every once and a while albums that all 100% listenable 10 out of 10
  35. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    A very melted dry out album since the release of it, because of that hysterical hype back then, you wont feel nothing more to the rhythm etc. So yeah, I gave it a 8.
  36. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    Greatest album of all time , jesus of suburbia shows every teen dream of living his life . With this album green day reborned rock and american idiot became a simbol for the new generation of rock fans
  37. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    Absolutely, the best album of Green Day ever. The creative structure of the album, telling a story and the significant lyrics are really acclaimed. I will now highlight "Jesus of Suburbia"and "Homecoming", long songs with so much powerful punk concentrated which really make them an incredible masterpieces. One of the best album of the decade.
  38. CRL
    Jul 26, 2011
    7
    No one saw this coming. Green Day makes a rock opera, and then that rock opera becomes one of the greatest of the decade. This album never lets up from the scorching prelude that is the title track, to the emotionally charged ending.
  39. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    This is the definition of a perfect album. It covers a ton of genres without sounding convoluted or boring. If you love punk or classic rock, then you owe it to yourself to listen this album.
  40. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    With this album, Green Day turns into more of a punk rock band rather than punk. If ur disappointed, then dont be. They have finally found a genre that fits perfectly to them, and it rocks! Truly a work of art.
  41. May 12, 2011
    8
    i love green day and i like this album. it had a great storyline. it was easy to follow. the lyrics were okay. the music and the melodies were on point. t deserved the recognition at the grammy's
  42. May 10, 2011
    10
    Green Day throws off the shackles of punk rock normalcy and blasts out a beautifully constructed rock opera, filled with vision and creativity, and oozing with spectacular lyricism and instrumentals. The best album of the decade.
  43. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    Make sure ur sitting down when u start playing this song! other wise the sound of amazing punk rock will blow u back on your ass! Every song on this album is moving and sheer quality, no song lacks anything, when u listen to a song, you dont go, "that was pretty good, but i like _ better" every song feeds off the other. each song is different and better than the last in certain ways. iMake sure ur sitting down when u start playing this song! other wise the sound of amazing punk rock will blow u back on your ass! Every song on this album is moving and sheer quality, no song lacks anything, when u listen to a song, you dont go, "that was pretty good, but i like _ better" every song feeds off the other. each song is different and better than the last in certain ways. i could listen to this album all the way thru 3 times in a row. Its moving, its got class, and it will make any music being played the radio right now look like complete garbage. this is what the people have been waiting for! not some autotuned garbage. This Is American Idiot! Expand
  44. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    GREEN DAY IS BACK! After their multi-million selling album, "Dookie" they released three studio efforts and 1 complication record. They were good and if a Green Day fan they were great! But as most bands would break up after a hard spell, Green Day stuck together and put out the greatest album of the last 10 years. This is probably the best Rock Opera since The Who's "Tommy". With BushGREEN DAY IS BACK! After their multi-million selling album, "Dookie" they released three studio efforts and 1 complication record. They were good and if a Green Day fan they were great! But as most bands would break up after a hard spell, Green Day stuck together and put out the greatest album of the last 10 years. This is probably the best Rock Opera since The Who's "Tommy". With Bush about to serve another four years and the Iraqi war going strong Billie Joe's lyrics sum up all the frustration the younger generation had bottled up at that time. Green Day still has evidence of their punk past on songs like "St. Jimmy" and "She's A Rebel". They show their maturity on the two 9 minute epic songs "Jesus of Suburbia" and "Homecoming". The two best songs on the album are the anti-war "Holiday" and the Grammy Award winning "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"! Expand
  45. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This has to be my favourite album of all time, I listen to it religiously.

    I love the storyline the album follows and the characters and how every song has it's own style and personality!
  46. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    This album blew everyone away and opened the doors again for rock N roll! Amazing stuff! This is how rock operas should be played kids! American Idiot was truly an explosion by Green Day and you can hear the passion on every song on this album. Jesus of Suburbia is hands down one of the most amazing songs ever written. I'll never forget the first time hearing this amazing track and beingThis album blew everyone away and opened the doors again for rock N roll! Amazing stuff! This is how rock operas should be played kids! American Idiot was truly an explosion by Green Day and you can hear the passion on every song on this album. Jesus of Suburbia is hands down one of the most amazing songs ever written. I'll never forget the first time hearing this amazing track and being blown away. Almost seven years later this album holds up well and will remain a classic album in history! Expand
  47. Feb 1, 2011
    8
    American Idiot is a great album. From the opening punk-anthem "American Idiot" to the raw and powerful "Wake Me Up When September Ends". There is not a dull song on this album. This album is nothing like "Dookie". Completely different in every way. They sing about politics and America and Religion. Whereas in Dookie he sings about laziness and what not. It's really a big step in the rightAmerican Idiot is a great album. From the opening punk-anthem "American Idiot" to the raw and powerful "Wake Me Up When September Ends". There is not a dull song on this album. This album is nothing like "Dookie". Completely different in every way. They sing about politics and America and Religion. Whereas in Dookie he sings about laziness and what not. It's really a big step in the right direction. All In All, American Idiot is a great album and it shows that Green Day is a band to be taken seriously. B+ Expand
  48. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    One of the best albums ever made by Green Day. All of their songs are amazing and have a great hook to them. Also, Billie Joe Armstrong has one of the best vocals ever and he's a great guitarist!!!!
  49. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    American Idiot is one of the best punk albums of the millennium. Insightful lyrics, terrific singing, excellent guitar work, and more. Though not as great as Insomniac, it's still a wonderful 5 star album. Highlights: Jesus Of Suburbia, Holiday, Homecoming, Boulevard Of Broken Dreams.
  50. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely epic, Green Day gives us an album that deserves to be named one of the best rock albums (if not the best) of the 21'st century first decade. Hilarious rock songs, grandiose epics and power ballads make up a very interesting album in which Billie Joe amstrong shows he is an excellent songwriter, one of the finest to come out of his generation.
  51. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    After years of hollow, uninspired guitar rock, this clever opus emerged as an instant classic. American Idiot delivers inventive hooks along with socially conscious lyrics, making this album stick out like a sore thumb in comparison to almost every other rock album of the era. It would be hard to dislike this album unless you were biased against the band for some other reason. The fact isAfter years of hollow, uninspired guitar rock, this clever opus emerged as an instant classic. American Idiot delivers inventive hooks along with socially conscious lyrics, making this album stick out like a sore thumb in comparison to almost every other rock album of the era. It would be hard to dislike this album unless you were biased against the band for some other reason. The fact is that rock music is almost completely dead, and American Idiot may end up being the last truly great rock album. Expand
  52. Sep 28, 2010
    7
    Sure, it's an odd thing to review in 2010, but how can you not have your say on this album? My 7/10 is a simple one. I haven't yet, listened to an album that for me, has been over a 7. Such bands as Every Avenue, Asking Alexandria and such all seem to pump out amazing albums, but none over a 7. American Idiot, however, has had a HUGE impact on the way I saw music when it was released. ThisSure, it's an odd thing to review in 2010, but how can you not have your say on this album? My 7/10 is a simple one. I haven't yet, listened to an album that for me, has been over a 7. Such bands as Every Avenue, Asking Alexandria and such all seem to pump out amazing albums, but none over a 7. American Idiot, however, has had a HUGE impact on the way I saw music when it was released. This is why I don't really cringe when people say they used to, or even still, listen to Busted. I'd rather listen to Busted, which I did and sometimes still do, than say...50 Cent?

    American Idiot, however, changed my music style. As soon as i bought it and gave it a good beating, I knew that I was into this genre. At the time, the genre was 'guitars'. Then it branched into Korn, then Linkin Park and before you know it, I'm buying Whisteria Cottage CD's and trying to decide what else to buy.

    The reason I am wittering on about this is because had Green Day released American Idiot this week, in the music position that I am in, I would have given it a straight 9. But because I was 12, and I didn't understand the political subtext, 7 will have to do.
    Expand
  53. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    The Return of Green Day.

    Ever since Dookie, Green Day has been one of the forefront punk rock/alternative bands in pop music. However in the years leading up to this album, their popularity had significantly faded. Punk rock fans really lost interest. The music didn't change much. Green Day themselves showed signs of musical decay with poor albums like Warning and Nimrod. They started
    The Return of Green Day.

    Ever since Dookie, Green Day has been one of the forefront punk rock/alternative bands in pop music. However in the years leading up to this album, their popularity had significantly faded. Punk rock fans really lost interest. The music didn't change much. Green Day themselves showed signs of musical decay with poor albums like Warning and Nimrod. They started work on an album called Cigarettes And Valentines. But in the middle of those sessions, the master tapes had been stolen. Rather than use copies of the original, Green Day started a new concept which materialized into American Idiot.

    From the start, Green Day proves they aren't soft guys. On the title track, they blast off criticism of American media, saying how its falsehood has influenced us to become like, well, idiots. But that's the intro. Over the course of the album, one can finally understand the magnificence of the album because even though the sound is conventional, its themes and structures is unique.

    It is essentially a rock opera divided into several acts. Each act explains the character's emotions and journey. But the story itself isn't well made. The sound varies too much and the plot is really lost in the midst of musical genius. The tale isn't quite clear as it should be. Each act seems like a random piece of the character's journey rather than sequential chapters that make sense. For one thing, midway through the album Jesus Of Suburbia calls himself St. Jimmy for no reason. Then in Homecoming, he claims that persona is now dead. The whole idea of American Idiot is somewhat lost in the story.

    But Green Day has put the punk back in punk rock with an album that works more as a collection of good songs rather than the rock opera as proposed.
    Expand
  54. AndrewC.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    "American Idiot" is one of the leading rock operas of our time. The epic starts off with the title track. One of the album's highlights is "Jesus of Suburbia", which is, like every song, a serious one, telling about the economy, although the most politics-headed song is the song that follows, "Holiday", which will have people singing along as the classic blasts through the speakers, "American Idiot" is one of the leading rock operas of our time. The epic starts off with the title track. One of the album's highlights is "Jesus of Suburbia", which is, like every song, a serious one, telling about the economy, although the most politics-headed song is the song that follows, "Holiday", which will have people singing along as the classic blasts through the speakers, with strong lines. Billie Joe Armstrong says the topic sentence in just one line, "I beg to dream and differ from the hollow lies". The guitar feedback transitions into "Boulevard of Broken Dreams", a song we all knew from the radio. Songs 5-10 are good, but not the strong points. 11 is "Wake Me Up When September Ends" confused as a song for 9/11, although it was to honor his father. Another nine minute epic follows after "Jesus of Suburbia", which was song 2, called "Homecoming". The last song is "Whatsername", originally to be released as a single, although Green Day thought the video was terrible. Overall, "American Idiot" is a classic, and hopefully, it will also be re-mastered. Expand
  55. AndreaP
    Aug 4, 2009
    8
    A well done record, some songs are awesome but one or two aren't so good. Sure one of the best album by Green Day.
  56. WyattM.
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    I think green day put great meaning's for there song's in American idiot.
  57. BarbaraS
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    They grew up. As musicians and people. That's it.
  58. KevinL.
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    Of course, American Idiot pales in comparison to the likes of Dookie or Insomniac but it's far from crap. In fact, it's an excellent album. I don't think Green Day wanna live in the shadow of Dookie forever so I welcome their change.
  59. SidS
    May 18, 2009
    7
    When you are an old Green Day fan and are just willing them to bring out another 'Dookie', a bit disappointing.
  60. JackS
    May 13, 2009
    10
    All of the people below will regret the zero's you have given this album when, in twenty years time, it becomes one of the most influential albums in rock history.
  61. Joey
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    OK, this album is great, Green Day's best album, not IMO, almost a fact. The 0 to 3 ratings on this album are made by 1, frustrated American who does not care about the record itself, 2, people who say they are fans, but honestly and obviously, are not (haters), 3, a tip, before you can say anything, listen to it, I mean, listen to the music, not the lyrics, then, listen to the OK, this album is great, Green Day's best album, not IMO, almost a fact. The 0 to 3 ratings on this album are made by 1, frustrated American who does not care about the record itself, 2, people who say they are fans, but honestly and obviously, are not (haters), 3, a tip, before you can say anything, listen to it, I mean, listen to the music, not the lyrics, then, listen to the lyrics. Overall, most of you guys, are all over old punk, seriously, 70's punk, 80's ? It's shit, bad music, I may seem like a hater, but this thing really sounds like... garbage ? No just kidding, it's good, but so is pop punk (Green Day), you're just a freaking hater, you do not know what you're talking about. This album is maybe not a masterpiece, but definitely Green Day's best record, period. Expand
  62. KyleM
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    American Idiot is one of this decades greatest CD's. Although the music may not sound like it did 15 years ago on Dookie, it's still got a lot of punch to it. This and Warning are albums Green Day have released to prove they've grown up, you can play the same exact thing for 20 years and expect to keep on living. American Idiot is Green Day's biggest risk, and biggest success.
  63. BenC
    Feb 11, 2009
    10
    If you hate this album then, A. You have no taste and listen to modern rap and pop crap. B. . You are stupid enough to think that Green Day is anti-American. American Idiot is one of the few albums of the century with a point. Rock formed on the basis of protest, with roots in the blues and continuing with the anti-war classics of the 60s and 70s. It is a protest against the amazingly If you hate this album then, A. You have no taste and listen to modern rap and pop crap. B. . You are stupid enough to think that Green Day is anti-American. American Idiot is one of the few albums of the century with a point. Rock formed on the basis of protest, with roots in the blues and continuing with the anti-war classics of the 60s and 70s. It is a protest against the amazingly screwed up American pop culture after 9/11. The songs tell a cohesive story with some of the best lyrics I've heard ever, and is backed ub with solid instrumentation. In a world where corporate bigwigs are taking all of our money and underpaying poor laborers in China, and the government takes away citizens rights one by one, American Idiot uses Jesus of Suburbia show how messed up this current system is. Expand
  64. VonC
    Jan 14, 2009
    9
    Fantastic album with well-written lyrics and hilly emotional ride from start to finish. It's funny to see the low scores with nothing but deflection and scorn from, I guess, two-time Bush voters! Someone actually used the term "moonbats"! What's this? A political forum? LOL! Billy must have been signing about those dead-enders.
  65. MattM
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    A great album with powerfully organized and well-written songs, and great lyrics. The best songs on the album Holiday, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, She's a Rebel, Extraordinary Girl, Letterbomb, Wake Me Up When September Ends, Homecoming, and Whatsername.
  66. NourezRl
    May 25, 2008
    10
    Simply Amazing. This is not anti-american, its at worst, anti-commercialist and anti-isolationist. The big theme of the album is feeling isolated in the world around you, not being able to connect and relate with all the people you know. And about the fact that the guitar is simply one or two repeated chords, Green Day is still at it's core a punk band, and the repeated chord Simply Amazing. This is not anti-american, its at worst, anti-commercialist and anti-isolationist. The big theme of the album is feeling isolated in the world around you, not being able to connect and relate with all the people you know. And about the fact that the guitar is simply one or two repeated chords, Green Day is still at it's core a punk band, and the repeated chord structure is a facet of punk music. Even if you go back to bands like Sex Pistols and the Buzzcocks, you'll see the same repetitive structure. Expand
  67. TomP.
    May 5, 2008
    7
    Honestly, I've barely even listened to this album, I just wanted to comment on how Jon C. may just be the most ignorant person to ever listen to a CD.
  68. SMT
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    Anyone giving this album a 0 should really consider their taste in music. This is by far the best album, the reason they're anti-american is because there are so many problems in America. Not because they're promoting terrorism, music needs some political influence as they need to get out the message to some people who believe the world is perfect. Rock on Green Day, one of the Anyone giving this album a 0 should really consider their taste in music. This is by far the best album, the reason they're anti-american is because there are so many problems in America. Not because they're promoting terrorism, music needs some political influence as they need to get out the message to some people who believe the world is perfect. Rock on Green Day, one of the best albums of all time! Best songs; Boulevard of Broken Dreams, Give Me Novacaine and Wake Me Up When September End. Expand
  69. MelissaB
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    It honestly completely changed the way I felt about music. The first album I've ever completely fallen in love with -- it opened so many doors to different bands for me and, almost 4 years on, 'Whatsername' still blows my mind every time I listen.
  70. GavinB
    Feb 23, 2008
    9
    After listening to this album twice I heard it playing in a second hand clothes store in Camden and found I could sing along to every track. Speaks for itself really. Occasionally cringeworthy lyrics fail to sabotage an incredibly punchy album of hookladen songs delivered with incredible energy.
  71. DaleF
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    3 years after the release of this CD and it's still in my player constantly. Incredible CD.
  72. Dan
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    Although heavily commercialized, there is no doubt that American Idiot is still a great punk rock album. Each of its song plays a part of an overriding story in the album, and reflects America in its modern age. Its riffs, although relatively simple, are catchy nevetheless, and are certainly catchy enough to hook any punk rock fan. Aside from its obvious commercialization and change, Although heavily commercialized, there is no doubt that American Idiot is still a great punk rock album. Each of its song plays a part of an overriding story in the album, and reflects America in its modern age. Its riffs, although relatively simple, are catchy nevetheless, and are certainly catchy enough to hook any punk rock fan. Aside from its obvious commercialization and change, American Idiot is a superb album and another good step for Green Day. Expand
  73. DesmondH.
    Dec 2, 2007
    9
    If you think they are anti-America, you are an idiot. GD are anti-war, idiots.
  74. pauld.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    by far there best album
  75. BernS
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    I'm normally annoyed by the user votes being averaged out from some people voting 0 and the rest 10, but this is one of my favourite albums ever, so... Apparently it's not punk, but that means nothing to the likes of me. It's all very accessible pop-rock, and just plain pleasant to listen to. It's not often I can say that I love 11 songs out of 13.
  76. KeilaT
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    OK so this is like 4 yrs after Aerican Idiot was released but I still adore this album with every fragment of my teenaged soul. I wish that everyone could comprehend the brilliance and underhanded eloquence of this organized rave! Green Day is impeccable hands down.
  77. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    this album literally rocks. i love his angry lyrics and the way joe picks at political matters, american idiot was the best song on the album, and also holiday, it just makes you wanna snarl at the government and scream, "cafeteria food freakin sucks!!!" okay, well, i was just getting carried away...but anyway, this album kicks ass
  78. jam
    Jun 19, 2007
    10
    i think american idiot rax and the thing is it shows what green day think of the world 2day such as american idiot. I personally love holiday, bouvlevard of broken dreams, wake me up when september ends and a few more, but thing is if there band hadn't hit the charts i would have never gotten in2 green day and other rock/punk/heavy metal bands. Personally i prefer the album Dookie to i think american idiot rax and the thing is it shows what green day think of the world 2day such as american idiot. I personally love holiday, bouvlevard of broken dreams, wake me up when september ends and a few more, but thing is if there band hadn't hit the charts i would have never gotten in2 green day and other rock/punk/heavy metal bands. Personally i prefer the album Dookie to this 1 though o n green keep on making music Expand
  79. maplejet
    May 25, 2007
    7
    Don't get me wrong. This isn't a bad album, but it ain't GD's greatest. Their previous albums are better and should be given a listen. As for GD haters, go listen to you generic Led Zeppelin and be a poser
  80. Sam
    May 13, 2007
    10
    So the comments look like this is a "love it or hate it" album. I'm a "love it." The overused Boulevard of Broken Dreams aside, there are some awesome and unappreciated tracks on here. "Jesus of Suburbia" and "St. Jimmy" are two of my favorites, for the exuberance of the music and singing. And of course the infectious "Holiday." Find me a catchier guitar strain. Love it. Some of the So the comments look like this is a "love it or hate it" album. I'm a "love it." The overused Boulevard of Broken Dreams aside, there are some awesome and unappreciated tracks on here. "Jesus of Suburbia" and "St. Jimmy" are two of my favorites, for the exuberance of the music and singing. And of course the infectious "Holiday." Find me a catchier guitar strain. Love it. Some of the music is deep enough to be thought-provoking. However, it's not unavoidably deep. If the politics of the music aren't your thing, it's still possible to look past the tones of the message and appreciate the great tunes and musicianship for what they are. Expand
  81. meganr
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    I love American Idiot because it tells about what is going on in the world today and the war.
  82. kadek
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    This album is astonishing! I don't understand how some people can not like it. I have followed Green Day from the start, And I love 90's "Dookie" as much as I like this album. I mean cmon people look at what your sayin when you say, "American Idiot really sux" the album won 14 Grammy's was also labeled a 10x Platinum Album. One of the grammy's being "Best Rock Group"! This album is astonishing! I don't understand how some people can not like it. I have followed Green Day from the start, And I love 90's "Dookie" as much as I like this album. I mean cmon people look at what your sayin when you say, "American Idiot really sux" the album won 14 Grammy's was also labeled a 10x Platinum Album. One of the grammy's being "Best Rock Group"! I mean, i guess it depends on who you are... as in like the lyrics in "American Idiot" are politically charged and have extremely good meanings to them, you just have to look beyond the outside stereotype of "anti-american emo's" because if you do the research before you judge you would know that green day is not out to destroy the goverment, they are just trying to expose the things that the "Bush Admin." would rather brush under the carpet. Green Day has really grown up and impressed me greatly. I hope they continue the streak. P.S. If you are totally against volitle music that challenges the american government... you think green day is bad? hahaha go listen to "ANTI-FLAG"s albums and talk to me again. GREEN DAY ROX!!! :) Expand
  83. BenN
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    I would be an american idiot if i did not like this album
  84. eskildb
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    This album is the greatest ever! I mean look at the songs. They are so good. And Tre Cool, is so funny. And Billy is so good and cool.
  85. ToddH
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Awsome album that continues to be amazing even 2 1/2 years later. It will be a classic that will be refered to for many years to come.
  86. mirandas
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    I love this cd.
  87. PepS!
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums ever! I can listen to it over and over again!
  88. ericr
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    can you say BEST CD EVER!??!
  89. ggjujuewqtq
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    is exellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  90. uber
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    This is equal to Dookie at least. The concept is well thought out and delivered
  91. AaronS
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    The best Green Day to date! For those of you thinking that this album was written for TRL, you're MISTAKEN! This statement goes to show that you don't understand Green Day's symbolism nor their sarcasm within this alblum. As for their "slower" songs on this album, apperently you aren't much of a Green Day fan. They have made MANY ballads that aren't exactly "punk The best Green Day to date! For those of you thinking that this album was written for TRL, you're MISTAKEN! This statement goes to show that you don't understand Green Day's symbolism nor their sarcasm within this alblum. As for their "slower" songs on this album, apperently you aren't much of a Green Day fan. They have made MANY ballads that aren't exactly "punk rock." Have you not heard "Macy's Day Parade," "Minority," or "Time of Your Life." This album is a statement to the American people that all is not well with this country. We still have oppression, hate, and corruption in this land. Green Day at least has decided to call out the government for this and all those who believe in the policies that continue this way of thinking. Some call them Un-American. Even Wal-Mart has banned this album from their stores for this very same reason. Yet I can't help to think, the America that Green Day sings about sounds more like the America as it should be, a FREE LAND. Not some politicians version, but one that truly allows all of its citizens the same security, freedoms, and oppurtunities that everyone else is allowed. Each song on this album holds a message for us; it's just up to us to decipher it. Green Day wants us to think about whether what our country is doing is in the right or wrong. At times they are blatantly honest (mostly in the form of sarcasm) about what is wrong with this country, in others you must think about what has transpired and why the lyrics really say what they do. For example, "When September Ends" has a deeper meaning than what you think. It's there, you just have to find it! Expand
  92. chadw
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    I don't know why people say that this is awful. Everybody who listens to this record should like it.
  93. SamI
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Hands down my favorite album of 2004. The songs don't really work alone, but as a whole the album is magnificent. A great example of how an album *should* be made, the sum being greater than its parts.
  94. Simone
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Green Day is best and this album is truly purfect
  95. ShellK
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    This CD Rocks
  96. jackie
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    billie joe is hot
  97. DaveN
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    This easily the best CD Green Day has released since Dookie.
  98. SunnyG
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Always best and rocking one. Best album
  99. HannahF
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    One of the best records of all time.
  100. hannah
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing!!!!! best band ever!!!!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It is exactly what the band needs to boost itself to the next level of pop-punk prowess.
  2. There's still plenty of spunk in to be found in this Sgt. Pepper-lite.
  3. Not only does it contain Green Day’s finest songs (and choruses) to date... but it also scratches at the surface of political dissatisfaction with nails sharp enough to leave a nasty scar.