• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Sep 21, 2004
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 578 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 578

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. patc
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    its got it all. great album.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I don't know much about songs, but it doesn't take an American to realize how rocking out this music is, as well as the lyrics too.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the 2000-2009 decade. This album was a classic and it still is. I dont listen to it as much as i did in 2004 **** still the best album since Nirvana's Nevermind
  4. Brian
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    A deep,and just flat out incredible album!
  5. Nickcooldaddy
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I was blown away by this album, it covers the whole range of moods from heavy punk to soft and slow relaxing music. They've hit the big one with American Idiot.
  6. PunkyMcpunkerFunkypunky
    Sep 25, 2004
    9
    This album has made itself a special spot in my heart and I have been waiting for it for four years. For those who are looking for another masterpiece like "Dookie" might be a little disappointed, but I believe this is the most thought provoking Green Day album yet, you should go pick it up, I don't care who you are. I walk a lonely road!
  7. LarissaM
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    i love this album its brilliant ... i cant get enough of it
  8. LevisO
    Sep 29, 2004
    9
    It's official: green day are back.
  9. kyleroach
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    kicks ass
  10. May 17, 2012
    10
    This is the definition of perfection. It starts of with the energetic first single and title track American Idiot: 10/10. Next there comes the super epic Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The 3rd track off the album is Holiday (10/10) which leads right into Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Boulevard of Broken Dreams is my second favourite song of all time and won the Grammy award for Record of theThis is the definition of perfection. It starts of with the energetic first single and title track American Idiot: 10/10. Next there comes the super epic Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The 3rd track off the album is Holiday (10/10) which leads right into Boulevard of Broken Dreams. Boulevard of Broken Dreams is my second favourite song of all time and won the Grammy award for Record of the Year, I think. It fully deserved it: 10/10. Next comes Are We The Waiting (9/10) which is a slow track, but still really amazing. I look at it from 3 different points of view. First of all it's a good track. Then I sometimes take it as a kind of sow interlude in the album. Then I sometimes also understand it as an intro for the next fast track it leads right into: St. Jimmy (9/10). The 7th track off the album is Give Me Noavacaine which is kind of a bit slow like Are We The Waiting but again, really amazing: 10/10. She's a Rebel is the 8th track and is pretty fast-paced: 9/10. The 9th track is Extraordinary Girl. Sure, the verse isn't that convincing, but the chorus is just... Words can't express how great it is: 10/10. Next comes the epic Letterbomb. Just amazing: 10/10. Then there comes Wake Me Up When September Ends which opens quietly, with an acoustic guitar, finally evolving into an amazing song with solos, great melodies, and fantastic vocals: 10/10 Track 12 is Homecoming, a 9-minute epic just like Jesus of Suburbia: 10/10. The last track off American Idiot is Whatsername, evolving from a muffled guitar riff to an energetic, loud song: 10/10. Well done Green Day! Well done! There is NO bad track on this album. And I am realistic. Trust me, there is no bad song on this album at all. Expand
  11. St.Jimmy
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Meatcritic is full of BS. American Idiot deserves a 90 or higher.
  12. AndrewC.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    "American Idiot" is one of the leading rock operas of our time. The epic starts off with the title track. One of the album's highlights is "Jesus of Suburbia", which is, like every song, a serious one, telling about the economy, although the most politics-headed song is the song that follows, "Holiday", which will have people singing along as the classic blasts through the speakers, "American Idiot" is one of the leading rock operas of our time. The epic starts off with the title track. One of the album's highlights is "Jesus of Suburbia", which is, like every song, a serious one, telling about the economy, although the most politics-headed song is the song that follows, "Holiday", which will have people singing along as the classic blasts through the speakers, with strong lines. Billie Joe Armstrong says the topic sentence in just one line, "I beg to dream and differ from the hollow lies". The guitar feedback transitions into "Boulevard of Broken Dreams", a song we all knew from the radio. Songs 5-10 are good, but not the strong points. 11 is "Wake Me Up When September Ends" confused as a song for 9/11, although it was to honor his father. Another nine minute epic follows after "Jesus of Suburbia", which was song 2, called "Homecoming". The last song is "Whatsername", originally to be released as a single, although Green Day thought the video was terrible. Overall, "American Idiot" is a classic, and hopefully, it will also be re-mastered. Expand
  13. StevenI
    Oct 2, 2004
    9
    The Best Green Day Album to date, Billy Joe and the gang prove that it is possible to take multiple influences from other bands and still create a unique and catchy album. While some may dismiss this album as "messy," this couldn't be farther from the truth, as American Idiot smoothly tells its provocative story through addictively complex songs.
  14. S.Toncray
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    Just buy it... now! Sublime stuff. The perfect punk headtrip. Wildly original and one of the most timely albums to come out in a long time!
  15. MatthewM
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    As a Green Day fan for over ten years, I have to say this is almost certainly their best album to date, FANTASTIC!
  16. GreenDayKicksass
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    WOW!!!! is I all I have to say... This is one of Green Day's best, if not best, CD's ever made!!! I've already got my tickets to see these guys live... amazing CD! Good work Green Day!
  17. JustinS.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    This album is a huge artistic leap for Green Day, in terms of lyrics, concept, and musical ambition. Their best album - yes, better than Dookie.
  18. SteveM
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    A big messy sprawl of power, melancholic sentiment, anger, confusion, love, rebellion. Fantastic stuff. Green Day's best album yet. Stunning.
  19. SaeedSaeed
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Its been four long years since Green Day?s last effort and lot of things changed since then: Four punk icons died, Bush as President, Gulf War Part 2 and what some may argue as the most distressing event ? the rise of kiddy punk which is been played to great success by the likes of Simple Plan, Good Charlotte, Avril Lavigne and those twats from Busted. If we ever need an album that Its been four long years since Green Day?s last effort and lot of things changed since then: Four punk icons died, Bush as President, Gulf War Part 2 and what some may argue as the most distressing event ? the rise of kiddy punk which is been played to great success by the likes of Simple Plan, Good Charlotte, Avril Lavigne and those twats from Busted. If we ever need an album that re-affirms our faith in punk music surely this Berkley trio can deliver it and with American Idiot, Green Day?s seventh record, not only have they fashioned a punk-rock opera but a punk-rock masterpiece. Concepts albums is a swear word in this currently pop oriented market but in Green Day?s hands they have delivered the friendliest concept album ever recorded. There is no fat ladies singing, nor is there a choir or pretentious ten minute guitar solos. What you have here frankly is thirteen songs that are all laced with great hooks and delivered with indignant passion. And oh yeah?.two of the songs are nine minutes suites that frenziedly careens from straight up punk ravers to 60?s bubblegum pop to a flamenco styled power ballad. All from the guys who made their name by writing songs about sniffing glue and masturbation! The tale been spun here is about disaffected youth and the death of American Idealism. That?s only the overview for if you decide to take the lyrics literally it becomes a mess with characters such as Jesus of Suburbia and St. Jimmy morphing into each other and by the story?s end you don?t know who is alive or who?s dead. Thankfully, the band decides to pay more attention to the music rather than the words and the album benefits in spades. Green Day packs more hooks in this album than other bands can muster in their whole career. Title track and killer lead single ?American Idiot? proves that Green Day can still fashion pop nuggets by only using 3 chords and the thrashy fun of ?St. Jimmy? shows that these thirty something punks haven?t lost their chops just yet. Like their last album, the folk-infused Warning, the real surprises lie in the different musical elements and styles the trio incorporates into their work. Unlike The Offspring who continually and sometimes embarrassingly copy the same formula (Pretty Fly/Original Prankster), Green Day?s music continues to evolve to often stunning results. ?Extraordinary Girl? with its chiming guitars and backing vocals evoke the Shangri La?s and ?Boulevard of Broken Dreams? is the type of power ballad that Noel Gallagher would kill for. But the most outrageous efforts lay in ?Jesus of Suburbia? and ?Home Coming?, both nine minutes monoliths that boast several musical movements. At first listen these two tracks (that roughly form a third of the album) seem scattered at best but once absorbed the listener gets a kick out of the time changes and the sheer urgency of the lyrics. To call ?American Idiot? a protest record is an understatement. Billie Joe?s lyrics does a great job in describing the characters inhabiting this ?land of make believe?. From ?Jesus of Suburbia? who is raised ?on a steady diet of Soda Pop and Ritalin? to ?St. Jimmy? who is ?here to represent the needle in the vein of the establishment?. Billie Joe is also not scared to vent his anger especially on tracks such as the anti-Bush anthem ?American Idiot? and the Clash sounding ?Holiday? where he labels Bush as ?the President Gasman!?. American Idiot is not the first rock opera ever made despite claims from some sections of the media. Husker Du?s ?Zen Arcade? still remains a landmark punk concept album and there is off-course The Who?s ?Tommy? which sold squillions of records. But American Idiot is equally impressive and over time will stand in the same pantheon as the aforementioned classics. In a time where the whole world seems to go pear shaped and death robbed us of our punk idols (RIP Joe Strummer, Joey, Dee Dee, and Johnny Ramone) Green Day?s existence is now more vital than ever. With ?American Idiot?, Green Day has not only released their greatest and grandest musical statement. But an album that returns the social and political relevance back to punk. For that, there is no rating high enough. Expand
  20. DominicT
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    Very good album, one of the best I ever listened. Buy it right now.
  21. ddcc
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    awesome, the best album i ever heard!!!!!!!!!
  22. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    After years of hollow, uninspired guitar rock, this clever opus emerged as an instant classic. American Idiot delivers inventive hooks along with socially conscious lyrics, making this album stick out like a sore thumb in comparison to almost every other rock album of the era. It would be hard to dislike this album unless you were biased against the band for some other reason. The fact isAfter years of hollow, uninspired guitar rock, this clever opus emerged as an instant classic. American Idiot delivers inventive hooks along with socially conscious lyrics, making this album stick out like a sore thumb in comparison to almost every other rock album of the era. It would be hard to dislike this album unless you were biased against the band for some other reason. The fact is that rock music is almost completely dead, and American Idiot may end up being the last truly great rock album. Expand
  23. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    A lot of the songs on here are interminably long (i.e. "Jesus of Suburbia", "Homecoming"), but every single act in this musical rock opera is constructed to perfection and unbelievability.
  24. JohnsonH
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Awesome album, though I believe it is a little front heavy. I find myself listening to the first 7 tracks over and over.
  25. AngusM
    May 5, 2005
    10
    this cd is like a manic depressive: happiness turns to sadness so quickly GREEN DAY ROX
  26. DanielS
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Green Day is, in my opinion,the best band in the world!!
  27. andiev
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    this album literally rocks. i love his angry lyrics and the way joe picks at political matters, american idiot was the best song on the album, and also holiday, it just makes you wanna snarl at the government and scream, "cafeteria food freakin sucks!!!" okay, well, i was just getting carried away...but anyway, this album kicks ass
  28. chrisf
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    Best album in years by a band that sounds like a band "drums, bass, guitar". Billie Joe has always had a knack of writing catchy punk-a-rock songs and here is no exception yet they add a storyline and politics to the groove. Sheryl Crow said immediately after Dookie hit "only 19-20 year olds could write songs like that"... maybe so but only Billie Joe and Green Day could have wrote these Best album in years by a band that sounds like a band "drums, bass, guitar". Billie Joe has always had a knack of writing catchy punk-a-rock songs and here is no exception yet they add a storyline and politics to the groove. Sheryl Crow said immediately after Dookie hit "only 19-20 year olds could write songs like that"... maybe so but only Billie Joe and Green Day could have wrote these songs and they rock !! Expand
  29. Tyler
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    This album is in my opinion one of their best, if you don't own a copy get one now.
  30. SarahT
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    This CD is tottaly awsome. I love the music. Green Day have done a super album. I love it.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. It is exactly what the band needs to boost itself to the next level of pop-punk prowess.
  2. There's still plenty of spunk in to be found in this Sgt. Pepper-lite.
  3. Not only does it contain Green Day’s finest songs (and choruses) to date... but it also scratches at the surface of political dissatisfaction with nails sharp enough to leave a nasty scar.