America's Sweetheart

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
America's Sweetheart Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The (we hope) ironically-titled 'America's Sweetheart' marks the solo debut for the former Hole leader, who co-wrote this album with Linda Perry and Elton John lyricist Bernie Taupin.

Top Track

Mono
Hey Yeah We had everything vinyl and mono And we looked the other way Man we were so dumb Is the the part in the book that you wrote Where I gotta... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Hole’s original précis was to become something like Sonic Youth crossed with Fleetwood Mac, and America’s Sweetheart is the closest she’s come to creating that vision.
  2. An album as invigorating in its contempt for rock professionalism as Neil Young's Tonight's the Night.
  3. "America's Sweetheart" is a thrilling record. Held together by that extraordinary voice, which sounds even more shredded than it did in the days of "Dick Nail" and "Pretty On The Inside", she can still deliver.
  4. Love is a truly notable lyricist, but she's an ideas person rather than a musician.
  5. America's Sweetheart is one big, juicy fuckup, and fortunately for Courtney, there will always be little girls who hate being little girls, and are looking for a fairy godmother to show them how to self-destruct. Unfortunately, Karen O, Brody Dalle, and Amy Lee all made cooler records.
  6. Mojo
    40
    If anywhere, this stuff belongs in interviews, not in songs. [Mar 2004, p.94]
  7. The music is appallingly predictable, unoriginal, uninspiring, boring, over-polished, and vain.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 10 out of 41
  1. DirtySanchez
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    LOVE IT
  2. MikeL
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    To all the people who gave this cd a low rating or said the lyrics suck.....I think you missed something or just don't get it. People To all the people who gave this cd a low rating or said the lyrics suck.....I think you missed something or just don't get it. People tend to judge Courtney and her music very hastily. There is so much behind everything if you take the time to look. Do you guys know what the song "Mono" is about ???? I would assume not if you criticize the lyrics on this CD. Maybe you should listen to the "popular" CD's comparable to Courtney's and see if your opinions change a little. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    People who think negatively about this album, our people who don't like Courtney as a person. Well, let's put that aside for a minute andPeople who think negatively about this album, our people who don't like Courtney as a person. Well, let's put that aside for a minute and listen to how deep and powerful this album really is. Despite the low commercial success. This is Courtney's f*** you to the critics and she is having a great time and writing kick ass music. This album is great. Buy it, if you can find it! Collapse
  4. LauraL
    Feb 11, 2004
    9
    This album is raw and depressing. Which is part of what makes it great. I love the White Stripes, Strokes, etc. but I've been longing This album is raw and depressing. Which is part of what makes it great. I love the White Stripes, Strokes, etc. but I've been longing for a rock album with some emotional substance. This is it. It's not trendy or even cool, but it's full of wonderfully crafted songs which have something to say and will stand the test of time. Expand
  5. GaryR
    Feb 11, 2004
    8
    Very good album for Hole fans who have been waiting for this. Her voice is as full of rage as ever, and the lyrics don't hold anything Very good album for Hole fans who have been waiting for this. Her voice is as full of rage as ever, and the lyrics don't hold anything back. Grrrr!!! Expand
  6. Batman
    Mar 1, 2004
    5
    5 because I like her.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Feb 9, 2004
    0
    please do not buy this

See all 41 User Reviews