• Record Label: Concord
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2012
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    60
    Jeff Lynne's production on several tracks puts a Tom Petty-ready spin on laid-back California rock and has Walsh sounding less isolated from modern times than he thinks he is.
  2. Jun 6, 2012
    70
    He sounds comfortable where he is and Lynne presents him in a shining, flattering light.
  3. 50
    Production by the professional but slick and synth loving Jeff Lynne sands off the rough edges where Walsh used to thrive.
  4. Yes, it sounds like you imagine: slightly artificial, pop-inflected chunk-rock, with dustbin-lid drums, loads of guitars and even a hint of voice box/Auto Tune.
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    60
    There are no alarms and no surprises here, but it's a record produced by Jeff Lynne (who is a genius and anyone who says otherwise is a joyless idiot) so it sounds as bright, clear and appealing as anything this year.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    40
    [Several songs are] saved by Walsh's unerring ability to produce a wonderful guitar solo from the bottom of the pack. Sadly, it's not enough to transform this into the great comeback album you keep willing it to be. [Aug 2012, p.111
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    60
    "Family" oozes with humility and domestic contentment, while the gentle, Nashville-leaning "Lucky That Way" (sung with Kenny Chesney on Crossroads) is a Walsh mini-biography
  8. Jun 26, 2012
    60
    That Joe's naturally high-pitched vocals bring urgency and drama is good, but the record's two tail-enders are weak. [Jul 2012, p.90]
  9. Jun 6, 2012
    60
    Seldom has retro sounded so pleasingly stubborn. [Jul 2012, p.85]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Meaningful and filled with Joe Walsh guiter and wit, this album pleased me from the first time I played it. Yes, I'm a fan, and yes, I'm oldMeaningful and filled with Joe Walsh guiter and wit, this album pleased me from the first time I played it. Yes, I'm a fan, and yes, I'm old enough to be one, but "so what?" Joe has a few million of us. I'm glad he decided to record some things for us to buy and enjoy. Like any album, Analog Man contains a few weak songs, but there are more strong ones than most recording artists stretch over an entire recording contract. If you like good rock guiter and witty lyrics, you might like this album. I hope it brings in a few new fans. Hey, I'm not really "analog," myself, but I hear a lot of truth in this work. Full Review »
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    6
    Walsh, whose career is characterized by a large number of collaborations with other artists, just released his tenth solo album, which is allWalsh, whose career is characterized by a large number of collaborations with other artists, just released his tenth solo album, which is all the more important project, because sice the recent "Songs for a Dying Planet" gone up 20 years - making known by the activities from Eagles artist exposed to the trial. It is true that some compositions're showing small shortcomings, and artist himself seems not to hit vocals melodic line, but overall impression left by such classic-rock songs like: "Lucky That Way", "Fishbone" or "But I Try" is at least positive. Full Review »