Andorra - Caribou
Andorra Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously known as Manitoba, Daniel Snaith returns with his latest album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The only problem with this symphonic daydream is that at just nine songs and 43 minutes, it's over far too soon. [24 Aug 2007, p.130]
  2. Andorra may be a bedroom record, but it certainly doesn't sound like a bedroom record; it has the energy and intensity of group participation, and that makes it Snaith's best yet.
  3. 84
    We still have a band trying to blow your mind with pure musicianship and experimentation, while having the balls to show restraint and even unabashed posie-sniffing beauty.
  4. This is the sort of album which is destined to be talked about in hushed tones by people who can remember exactly which improbably funky Manfred Mann tune it was that Kieran Hebden once put on a compilation. But it deserves a much wider audience than that.
  5. The fourth album from Caribou is the sound of the summer we're only just getting round to enjoying.
  6. It's pleasing, and sometimes outstanding, but it ultimately feels a bit too safe and soft.
  7. Andorra feels downhearted, often recalling Elliott Smith; even on 'She's The One,' a collabo with Junior Boys's Jeremy Greenspan, it sounds like she's a real drag.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. PaulH.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Extremely original sound by Dan Snaith...sophisticated harmonies, electronics and blend of vibrant sounds. Caribou gets stronger with every album.
  2. JordanK
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    This album convinced me to see Caribou live (on the night before my birthday). Anyway, what I'm trying to express is the fact that the This album convinced me to see Caribou live (on the night before my birthday). Anyway, what I'm trying to express is the fact that the music in this album excites me with every listen. It's both cool (as in easy to listen to) and contemplative. Trying to listen for every part of a song in Andorra is like trying to paint the Mona Lisa with Tetris pieces (minus the frustration). It can be done, but it takes an intimate familiarity with the tune as well as a meticulous amount of care in hearing each part make its way. It may work better just to lose yourself in the music and grasp any particular sound your ear fancies; this should last an inordinate amount of listens as far as re-playability goes. What a fabulous album. Expand
  3. SamH
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing, lush recording full of majestic psychedelia. Seeing them play live for this tour also changed my life. Can't stop This is an amazing, lush recording full of majestic psychedelia. Seeing them play live for this tour also changed my life. Can't stop listening to "After Hours." Collapse
  4. JasonP.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    A great album.
  5. RickW
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    This is awesome. I love this album. Some absolutely sublime tracks.
  6. JRME
    Aug 28, 2007
    8
    Hey AD D, you want verse/chorus/verse/chorus? listen to the radio. That's not what Caribou does.
  7. ADD
    Aug 22, 2007
    4
    hmm. wanted to like it-- absolutely loved the Four Tet remix of Melody Day; but the full Andorra cd shows how a talent for sound production hmm. wanted to like it-- absolutely loved the Four Tet remix of Melody Day; but the full Andorra cd shows how a talent for sound production does not translate into being able to write a good verse/chorus style song, structurally or lyrically. very weak. Also I'm tired of Manitoba/Caribou CDs having one good track at the beginning and then lots of bad ones that noodle along. So don't get Andorra, just get that Four Tet remix of Melody Day, and the very first tracks from his last couple releases. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews