• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Angel Milk Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Angela McCluskey and Deborah Anderson lend their voices to the French chill-out trio's sophomore record.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Urb
    70
    Should find a home on your iPod alongside Zero 7 and Brazilian Girls. [Jun 2005, p.85]
  2. Uncut
    70
    As challenging as it is comforting. [Jul 2005, p.106]
  3. Despite reservations, Angel Milk can be recommended as a good after hours album.
  4. Spin
    67
    Drift[s] off into heavily EQ'ed cymbals and pastel-gray synth-string washes. [Jun 2005, p.108]
  5. Filter
    66
    Resplendently elegant music for tearooms and trendy furniture shops. [#15, p.101]
  6. The music's not flawless, but it serves its role as come-down music quite nicely.
  7. For all the sonic acrobatics though, it’s a record that feels like it’s missing something vital.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    Over the past decade, I find myself coming back to this album. It's rich, amusing, textured, vibrant and lovely: a walk through an familiarOver the past decade, I find myself coming back to this album. It's rich, amusing, textured, vibrant and lovely: a walk through an familiar and untouched forest. Despite a couple of tracks I tend to skip, the album is gold and should not be missed. Don't cherry pick; push play and let the smooth downtempo wash over you in its entirety. There are points of sadness, exuberance, and inspiration in an hour's well-guided journey. Expand
  2. RomanS
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    I just loved it right away. The best release of this year (so far). Hope to see them play live in St. Pete, Russia just in 2 days. Yay!!!
  3. ÖnazG
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    I love Télépopmusik
  4. DaveG
    Jun 28, 2005
    9
    One of the best albums I've heard since Thievery Corporation's Mirror Conspiracy. I must say I'm totaly shocked at the reviews One of the best albums I've heard since Thievery Corporation's Mirror Conspiracy. I must say I'm totaly shocked at the reviews - they should be much higher. I first heard Telepopmusik from their song Oxala (not the Wolkswagen commercial) and I knew right then that this group was on a different level. Everything about this CD was just what the doctor ordered, in my eyes. I'd be unbelievable proud if I could attach my name to the creation of a musical experience like this. So many layers, so well produced. Great Job. Collapse
  5. Feb 21, 2017
    9
    This record is incredible. True, the long stretches of silence and oddly-placed interludes can grow tiresome, but the music more than makes upThis record is incredible. True, the long stretches of silence and oddly-placed interludes can grow tiresome, but the music more than makes up for that. Just look at "Intro Everything," an incredible slice of laid-back electronica that is one of Telepopmusik's prettiest tunes to date. Angela McCluskey and Deborah Anderson's vocals are icing on the electronic cake, and lend a sort of ethereal sound to tunes that could sound too earthly otherwise. Though it's not a perfect record, "Angel Milk" shows that Telepopmusik is light years ahead of their electronica contemporaries. Expand
  6. KeVinB
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    Agree with Dave G. Definitely underrated by the crrritics. Particularly love the tracks with the Brit singer/cowriter Angela McCluskey Agree with Dave G. Definitely underrated by the crrritics. Particularly love the tracks with the Brit singer/cowriter Angela McCluskey (tracks 1, 5, 10) who does husky Billie Holiday-stylee even better than Beth Gibbons. Fabrica Dumont really knows how to write arrangements for orchestra, producing a Hollywood/John Barry lushness that is just heaven. How do the French (Air, Nouvelle Vague) do it? So much for cheese-eating surrender monkeys. Bravo! Allons y! Expand