Angles - The Strokes
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 168

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    I was disappointed with this album when I first listened to it. Now it's grown on me with a vengeance. I absolutely love it. Taken for a Fool is easily one of the best songs, with it's fantastic chorus. Games, the most unnerving departure from The Strokes' norm, is now one of my favourite songs. Life is Simple in the Moonlight has a unique atmosphere of distant sincerity and regret. Not to mention Under Cover of Darkness, easily the best individual Strokes song since the Is This It era. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Angles has grown on me, going from a B- to a straight A. It was such a great decision to change their style a little bit after the somewhat disappointing First Impressions of Earth. Overall, Angles comes together beautifully and is one of the most underrated and unfairly overlooked albums of the past few years
  3. Apr 10, 2011
    3
    I had a feeling this was not a great record when the band reported that they were recording without Julian for a majority of the sessions. The result is exciting at times, interesting at others, but overall this album never really gets going. "Taken for a Fool' and "Under Cover of Darkness" sound like The Strokes at their best, but the rest of this album is forgettable. Hopefully, extensive touring will help them regain their swagger and comeback album #2 will be a much more impressive effort Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    The Strokes return is marred by their recording process. According to the band themselves, they were all involved in the song writing process (whereas Julian wrote the majority of everything previously) and Julian recorded his vocals separately from the band in many instances. You can really tell the band is disjointed and Julian's vocals often seen to float above the music. However, there are some highlights. "Machu Piccu" has a nice reggae feel. "Under the Cover of Darkness" is a classic sounding Strokes song. The standouts are "Gratisfaction" and "Taken for a Fool" sounds both classic and fresh. Collapse
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    Angles is yet another success by The Strokes. Their first two albums were beyond great and First Impressions Of Earth I thought was even pretty good. And Angles is no exception. It sounds different from any other Strokes album. Every song sounds great and Julian's voice has never sounded more great. All In All, Angles is a great album and The Strokes have yet to fail. B+
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    6
    The first signs were good, as pre-release single "Under Cover Of Darkness" was a classic stab of the lean and spiky pop of 2001, and with the benefit of Julian Casablancas' improved vocal, seemed to promise a new vitality we hadn't heard for about 10 years.Appetite whetted, it comes as a huge disappointment that "Angles" never once lives up to the promise of the leadoff single. Whilst not a bad recording, too much time apart forging their solo careers via subtle twists on alternative music has left the band creatively rudderless and their compositions limply hanging on by aping early 80s pop and new wave acts. An instant backfire arrives via the lightweight opener "Machu Picchu", where both guitars and drums attempt a clipped unconvincing dance rhythm and deliver what can only be described as the sound of a Nik Kershaw b-side to "Wide Boy", "When A Heart Beats" or something equally facile. If A-ha ever investigated where their influence has spread to, then look no further than "Games". Far more appealing is "Two Kinds Of Happiness" which recalls Ric Ocasek's Cars from around the "Panorama" era. The well reported internal frictions that existed and indeed delayed the release of this collection have undoubtedly had an effect on the final release, and the epitome of these pressures is highlighted on the tawdry ballad "Call Me Back", which reeks of half hearted commitment to the cause.To perfectly reflect the content of this recording The Strokes missed a trick. They should have added "Obtuse" in front of "Angles" for a perfectly descriptive product title. http://hackskeptic.com Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    4
    Gone too long, the second track on this album is AMAZING but I had to replay it about 100 times because all the other tracks on this album are just bad. Weak, no power, WHAT HAPPENED?? I hope thy return with a vengeance after this because they really need to do so.
  8. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Really great album. Of course it is not an "Is this it" 2 but it's a good album for sure. The Strokes have changed in ten years but their still one of the best band of this decade. "Taken for a fool" and "Macchu Pichu" are the masterpieces of this album. "Life is simple in the moonlight" is one of their best tracks ever.
  9. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    First heard this when I was on the plane, and stumbled across it when amidst deep boredom. An electrically absorbing and impressively composed slice of indie culture. Not really indie, though. Best track is Machu Picchu, and the other truly memorable ones are Taken for a Fool and Gratisfaction.
  10. j30
    Jul 20, 2011
    9
    From the opening bass line of Machu Picchu I was blown away. This is a return to form from a band I thought would never see the studio again (First Impressions of Earth sounds like a breakup album). Julian Casablancas being more open and not overseeing everything the band was doing was just the ticket. Listening to their previous albums before this one, I honestly believe this is their best album since Is This It and could be the best rock album of the year. I don't understand why fans are so disappointed in an album that captures everything we love about The Strokes. Under the Cover of Darkness and Taken for a Fool sounds like they could have come off of Is This It. The rest sounds like a better version of Room on Fire. It feels like Phoenix's Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix, it catches you from the beginning and never lets go. The perfect summer album. Expand
  11. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    With the strokes being the best band on the planet at the moment I should have been looking forward to this album, but then I remembered their last attempt at an album, and what a colossal failure it was. When I first listened to the album I have to admit I wasn't too impressed, A couple tracks "under the cover of darkness" and "Gratisfaction" stood out, but the rest i thought were lazy attempts at riff driven indie-rock. That was what I thought, but I was wrong. Give this album the full attention it deserves and it will reward you. I grows on you, and after the third time of listening i thought "Wow, this really is a good album". "Machu Picchu" quickly became my favourite song from the record. "Taken for a fool" hit me as a superb song and "Life Is simple in the moonlight" became a very apt final track to a now brilliant album.
    I warn you don't judge a book by a cover, or, more relevant to this album, after reading it only once.
    Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2012
    5
    Under Cover of Darkness, Taken for a Fool and Gratisfaction are the only great songs in Angles, the rest is complete and utter **** And even these three songs could have been a lot better, I'd say the recording style had a lot to do with it, the songs feel disconnected and at times nonsensical because of it.

    Truly a huge disappointment, I honestly thought this would be their comeback,
    guess I was wrong. Gratisfaction and Taken for a Fool seem like the only fresh tunes while still retaining some of that old Strokes feel to them. Expand
  13. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    I think it's great from beginning to end; not a track I skip. It's got a classic strokes sound but with some really cool and interesting additional effects and arrangements. The vocals, instrumental performances, beats, harmonies, and melodies shine well in clearly distinguishable tracks that work well together as an album. It's short and sweet, like their first two records, I'm not disappointed at all; a great improvement over the at times laborious FIOE. Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    On the back of lead single "Under Cover of Darkness", one would be excused for expecting a stylistic return to The Strokes brilliant debut Is This It. It didn't come. Though it's the most experimental the band has ever been, it's still a polished, dynamic album that seems certain to age just as well as Is This It.
  15. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    I don't understand the negative reviews for Angles, it is a fantastic reboot for one of the greatest bands of the century so far, machu picchu, under the cover of darkness and taken for a fool are all stand-outs
  16. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    The only complaint I have with this album is that all the good songs are crammed at the front, making it a downhill experience from when you start listening. All-in-all, this is a good album and a good sound for the Strokes. Any Strokes fan should be pleased.
  17. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    To be honest Angles is much better and radio friendly than their previous effort, machu piccu and taken for a fool might be their best songs since Room on Fire era. On the other hand, "You're so right" is the worst thing they have ever done. Games and Metabolism is also little bit hard to get used to too, but they slowly grew on me, In general it's a good record, much better than I expected especially from a band had so many issues while recording this album... It's a bit short though. Hope we won't wait another 5 years before we hear next 10 strokes songs. Expand
  18. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album merges both the essential character of the Strokes but also excellence in creativity retrieves the album Is this It. I love this album. There are traces of the style of the band Muse in Metabolism, can repair. Expand
  19. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    Full discretion - this review is being written by a die hard Strokes fan for years now. As a fan of the last three albums, I struggled mightily while listening to Angles for the first time. It reminded me of the transition the Yeah Yeah Yeahs took with their third album. Those transitions pain me, but I am not against change. I only write this because I've heard to many reviewers comparing this album to their debut "Is This It". "Angles" is similar to "Is This It" in that they can both be purchased in CD format. The similarities stop there. Maccu Piccu is reggae Strokes. Under the Cover of Darkness is PERFECT. There are times I wish it was not on the album because every time I begin to respect the new direction the album is taking, or the different "angles" if you will, Under the Cover of Darkness pops up and reminds me how amazing the band can be. You're So Right should have been named You're So Radiohead. Games is just horrible. I've listened to the album over and over trying to force myself to like that song and every time it pops up I just keep expecting Paula Abdul to jump out and dance with a cartoon cat. Call Me Back should have been the lead track. It's a very good song but you don't realize it at first because you're still trying to wash Games out of your ears when it comes on. Machu Picchu would have been a good fit for track 7. It would have added a little pep to a section of the album that drags. Gratisfaction is the Strokes version of Queen. With that said, note that Games is the only track I said I didn't like. Just because I make comparisons to Radiohead or Queen, don't assume I mean that in a bad way. I only need to stress to Strokes fans that this album is very, very different. If you enter the album expecting that, then the transition to their new sound will go much more smoothly. So I like the album. However, I can't help but be a little disappointed. I feel as though I waited five years for a Strokes album that did not get released. However, I'll take Angles in the place of that Strokes album and enjoy it as it is. Solid release. Expand
  20. Apr 26, 2011
    8
    While this is by far not their best stuff, Angles still delivered exactly what I needed from The Strokes. Granted not all the tracks are amazing there are many stand out tracks that keep me coming back for more. Under Cover of Darkness and Taken for a Fool are just classic Strokes while Machu Picchu has a refreshing reggae feel. There isn't a single track on this album that is truly disappointing. Overall this album was well worth the many listens I've given it, and the many more to come. Expand
  21. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    Solid album, the songs stay fresh feel new. Every song has depth and is worth listening to. The Strokes went out on a limb with Angles being by far there most experimental album, it was worth it.
  22. Mar 23, 2011
    8
    Let's get the obvious question out of the way first. Is Angles as good as The Strokesâ
  23. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    People are sure to compare The Strokes' latest album to their 2001 debut, 'Is This It?', and it's quite understandable. However, over the last decade, the New York rockers have really changed their sound. Looking back on the chronology of their albums, you can begin to see the change in sound from their days of 'Last Night', '12:51', and 'Reptilia', into the more retrospective tone that you hear in their latest album. While their third album, 'First Impressions of Earth' was a lot more experimental, the main problem with this was that it really isolated fans of their old sound from fans that were more accepting of the change. Their fanbase was split between their new, growing electronic sound and the old school strum and drum of their debut and sophomore album. While the band went into Hiatus, it was clear that some members were more responsible for this change more than others. You can hear a lot of similarities in Julian's solo album, which takes the path of electro rock rather than alternative. However, there is also the fact that Julian was not even in the studio when the instrumental recordings took place. Not that there is anyone to 'blame' for this album, it's a great piece of work, if not a touch discombobulated. First things first, they seem to have made quite a mistake in ordering the album. The opening song 'Macchu Pichu', is reminiscent of 80's pop in its verses, with an extremely catchy chorus and bridge. It'll have you nodding your head along as the song bops away. However, this is not the kind of song you'd expect to open up one of the most anticipated albums this side of the decade. Followed up by the lead single 'Under Cover of Darkness', this is much more like the original Strokes sound. Fun riffs, classic Julian vocals, twin guitars, and a slip n' slide solo. The following two songs 'Two Kinds of Happiness' and 'You're So Right' are much more hit or miss. The former being more of a poppy ballad with a catchy chorus, and the latter sounding a lot more dark and brooding, much like First Impressions' 'Juicebox'. One of the only songs to make it past the initial production of the album was the fifth song 'Taken For A Fool'. The twins guitars busting out the rhythms in the verses are very mellow, while the chorus picks up the pace and the rip-roaring wail of Hammond Jr.'s guitar makes it flow with Julian's almost half-bored sounding vocals, which is signature for him.

    'Games' is a lot more of what The Strokes seem to be heading toward. Much more electronic in sound, but no real substance behind it. These guys sure have a knack for making their instruments sound like computer generated ones, and while this is good for some, it's a really isolating factor for fans of their old sound. 'Call Me Back' is a more ballad-like, more sincere sounding piece, and one of the songs where you can really hear the emotion in every sound. 'Gratisfaction' is without a doubt the best song on this album. It combines the classic sounds these guys produced a decade ago with their current fixation with electronic sounds. Poppy all the way through, it'll have you whistling with the verse's riff, and singing along by the chorus, even if you don't know the words.

    The closing songs 'Metabolism' and 'Life Is Simple In The Moonlight' are seemingly the two most introspective songs on the album, bringing out a sort of 'emotionless emotion' that is Julian Casablancas' voice. He broods over the ripping guitars in 'Metabolism', seeming to croon his emotions in an almost lullaby-like voice. While in 'Life Is Simple', he seems a bit more reserved, but still puts a mysterious sort of feeling into this song. The closing song is where Fabrizio's drumming really shines through in the album. Filling the gaps between verse and chorus flawlessly. Hammond's final solo really pulls the whole piece together, making it one of the best closing songs I've heard on any album.

    The only significant problem I found with this album was the fact that the lineup is very convoluted, not really settling on any one sound for long before moving on to another. However, this can be fixed simply by rearranging the songs to your liking

    Overall, this album will never live up to 'Is This It?', but on its own merit, this album is more than good, it's great. And while it will continue to divide fans of the group between their old and new sound, it really stands to be the best combination of the two, bringing them together and creating a fun and introspective album that will stand the test of time.

    People will continue to compare 'Angles' to The Strokes' debut album, but it's almost like comparing apples to oranges at this point.
    Expand
  24. Mar 23, 2011
    3
    I kept trying to dig this album because I dig The Strokes. I enjoyed Julian Casablanca's solo album, Phrazes..., more and I thought that had some real misses. From what I've heard this was the groups first real collaborative effort, as the prior albums were mainly brainchildren of Julian. It feels like it a collaboration album, with the songs competitive and discordant with one another. I'm slow on music and I'll probably 'figure it out' and enjoy it later, but right now it has me scratching my head. Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    I first saw their appearance on SNL. Under Cover of Darkness and Life is Simple in the Moonlight sounded a bit more commerical then usual but still like, ok, they're back, let's listen to the new work! In the last decade the Strokes were one of the bands who saved rock n' roll, after all. When I first listed to the whole album I was simply shocked. The opening track Macchu Picchu was fitting perfectly for a new Franz Ferdinand single while You're So Right for a Radiohead one! Games seemed to be probably a nice electropop song, ok for a Julian's solo album but, what about rock n' roll? Then, when Metabolism sounded like Muse, it turned into a nightmare, I just could not believe my ears.
    After the initial disappointment and some further listening the feeling of an album that will not last long aroused anyway. Let's hope this will not be the way the band wants to turn into... they announced they will be back recording for the fifth album immediately, in April! I'm scared!
    Expand
  26. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    Best album in 5 years by the best band of all time. More of a grower than the previous, but that's a very cool thing. All of their music lasts, and they've never made a bad song. Check it out.
  27. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    This album WILL grow on you. Listen to it a few times from start to finish and somewhere around round three, you forget what you didn't like about it.
  28. Mar 28, 2011
    9
    I loved this album from the the first listen. Such a diverse album with every song being so different from the other one. Room on Fire tried to hard to replicate Is This it? while First Impressions of Earth was 4 songs too long and a lot of them missed the mark. Angles is short, to the point and experimental in the best way. The songs don't run into each other, the guitars play off each other extremely well, Julian sounds more interested than First Impressions of Earth, and Fab and Nick continue to provide transcendent rhythm. Angles has a huge 80's throwback feel throughout and the Strokes execute it with expert precision. The melodies and chord progressions flow so smoothly throughout the album, while the patented Valensi and Hammond Jr. solos strike cleanly and flawlessly. If you are looking for Is this it? you will be disappointed but if you listen to Angles without pre-conceived judgment and expectations you will be rewarded. Listen as if you're listening to a new band; forget the past hype, forget the old albums, open your mind and this will become on of you're favorite albums, guaranteed. Expand
  29. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    When I first popped this cd into my car I wanted to like it, I was desperate to like it! But... I just didn't. So I went home, turned the TV off, put away all distractions and just listened, truly listened. Wouldn't ya guess that this album grew on me like a wart. It spread through my body like a deadly disease, and I was hooked on Angles. After a long five year hiatus, The Strokes are back at full strength with what some may argue their best album yet. Angles soars over previous albums Room on Fire and First Impressions of Earth in every imaginable way: lyrically, instrumentally and in general song writing.
    Many expected this album to return to the roots of Is This It, and Angles often does, with great tracks such as Undercover of Darkness and Taken for a Fool for example. But many other songs venture back to times of FIoE, Youre so Right and Metabolism for example, while songs like Call Me Back and Machu Pichu evoke complete new elements for The Strokes. Almost all of these songs hit hard and leave an impact (Taken for a Fool and Gratisfaction being the best examples), while songs like Two Kinds of Happiness and Metabolism are largely uneffective. This album is the first joint effort from the boys. While everyone truly tries their hardest to write songs, Jules (Life is Simple in the Moonlight) and Nick (Taken for a Fool) are the writers who truly impress.
    In the end, this is a great album, and a couple mediocre tracks stop it from being their best. While it doesn't live up to Is This It, it sure comes close, and is a must buy album.
    Expand
  30. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    THE STROKES!! I love this new album...from the moment i heard the first track I loved it. The album starts off great with 3-4 great tunes...if you don't like the first few songs than you are most likely not going to like the album...also if you were expecting "Is this It 2" you probably aren't going to like the album much either. This is not The Strokes from 2001...These guys sound much different here...I feel like the whole album has a kind of Stokes meet The Cars kind of vibe to it...Even the album cover looks like something that would be in my parents record collection from the 80's. Nevertheless this is a great album. I will admit I am a bit bias since I LOVE this band and i have enjoyed all 4 of their albums (I will say that I felt Room on Fire was their weakest effort). I really like how the band has grown...It would have been really easy to just make another "Is This It" (and truth be told that is what a lot of fans want) but they decided to go the opposite direction..ditching the heavy rock/guitar rock for something different and new. I for one am pleased with the results. This album may sound a bit different than some of their others...but the songwriting is just as great and catchy as the rest.

    This was my first review...I hope it was somewhat helpful.
    Expand
  31. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    It's a grower. when i first listened I have to admit I was disappointed. But, if given time it reveals the myriad of ideas contained within. This doesn't have the consistency of Is This It, but who wants a band to constantly repeat their hits? It sees Casablancas and Co taking some brave new directions and, if given time, will point all die-hard Strokes fans towards a bright new future. We owe The Strokes that time, after what they've given us over the years. Taken For A Fool is the highlight... vintage Strokes. Expand
  32. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    The new album is a very neat pack. Good music with a variation on it , the bands music feels somewhat different . Under cover of Darkness is the best on it,Life is Simple in the Moonlight great,Call me back is melodic. Keep it going Strokes.
  33. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    If you like The Strokes the you'll like this album. Its upbeat and fun. Standouts include "Machu Picchu," "Two Kinds of Happiness," "Taken for a Fool," and "Metabolism."
  34. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This album is SO 80S! AND I **** LOVE THE ENTIRE THING! It is very catchy, really. I don't see what everybody is complaining about- what's so wrong about the **** album, it is very interesting, very different than their previous sound but still reminiscent. I **** love this band, and I **** love the synth pop sounds they came up with. Even though they were struggling during the recording of this album, I still enjoy the tone of this album, they did a great job and I hope they do another album very soon. Expand
  35. May 18, 2011
    10
    A fantastic album, drawing from unique elements and showcasing Casablancas's voice as well as the bands' songwriting. In each song you can find the musical growth of this incredible band.
  36. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    Overall the album has some great songs, "Taken for a fool" is an absolute winner with amazingly catchy riffs and a great melodic chorus, "Under cover of Darkness", "Gratisfaction" and "Macchu Picchu" are also really catchy interesting songs, however I felt that most of the rest of the songs were unfortunately noticeably lacking something.
  37. May 24, 2012
    7
    After the bones of 5 years away the creators of Is This It return with their 4th album. Let's face it - The Strokes are never going to recapture the form that saw them deliver "Is This It" or even it's follow up "Room on Fire". It's a pity but I believe it to be a fact. With that in mind you have to take this album completley on it's own merits otherwise it will suffer in comparison. All in all it's reasonably good. At 10 tracks its short enough that it manages not to have any bad tracks. This was a major fault of First Impressions Of Earth - too long leading to too much filler. Having no bad tracks doesn't mean its a great album though. It's got a couple of brilliant tracks and several good ideas but it's also got some strange moments that don't really go anywhere and manage to just thread water. Taking the best of this record with the best of First Impressions.... could have resulted in a really great record but instead what we're left with is 2 good enough records. Under Cover of Darkness is brilliant though - as good as anything they've ever done. I don't hold high hopes for their future albums however when the times comes for them to release a Best Of (which should be a brilliant record), Angles will have a couple of contributions. Expand
  38. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Over time the album has grown on me. I can now say that a majority of the album is near-perfect. There might be one forgettable song, but the rest makes up for it. "Machu Picchu", "You're So Right", "Taken for a Fool", "Gratisfaction", and "Under Cover of Darkness" are the highlights of the album. It is definitely worth the 5 year wait.
  39. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    I give this album a 8/10, but had to give it a 10 on MetaCritic to make up for the amateur music fans who gave it low reviews. No matter how much you hate The Strokes, a 3/10 is just unacceptable. Have you been hanging out on Pitchfork too much? Come on.. last place to take review advice. Anyways, this album (as i mentioned 8/10) is very solid. They take a poppier, more colorful direction with it, but they make it work. The great thing about any Strokes album is that there's no such thing as a bad song. They are incapable of making a bad song because with a combination of Albert Hammond Jr. and Nick Valensi on guitars, you are set.. Angles can be almost completely listened to from beginning to end without a skip. I say almost because You're So Right. Never let Nikolai push his songs into a Strokes album. I think that was a great lesson for everybody. So this is what keeps it from being another flawless album. As mentioned before, You're So Right is one thing that keeps it from perfection. To have a flawless album, every single song has to be great, and being The Strokes, you are already set to incredibly high standards after ITI and ROF.

    The other thing holding it back from a flawless score is the fact that certain songs in the album don't have the Strokes touch. Take Games and Call Me Back for example. Great songs, but they are songs other bands could potentially make. They would work if they were on an Arctic Monkeys or White Stripes album, but your entire music depends on your certain style. The fact that so many try to imitate them and fail is what makes the Strokes so unique. So, when you have songs like Games and Call Me Back, you're just making songs that other bands can make. So this is the fast and simplified version of the review, but you get the gist of it. It's a great album with really intricate guitar play and the usually tightly timed Strokes style in most songs, but it just misses the beat on a few occasions, which keeps it from being flawless.

    (8/10) PS. After a good 8 months, UCOD is sounding better than before. Go listen to it again.
    Expand
  40. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    In my opinion this is almost as good as Is This It, if not better. I love how many different styles they try out, from new wave to electronica to classic Strokes. I only give this an 8 because Call Me Back and Metabolism are just boring filler tracks. But every other track is great.
  41. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    I applaud The Strokes for switching things up and integrating different sound elements into some of their songs. At first, I only liked a few of the songs on the album and thought the rest were all right, but it has definitely grown on me. I absolutely love the album now. 'Angles' definitely takes some risks, but anyone who liked 'Is This It' will surely enjoy the band's newest album--it grows on you!
    Favorite tracks: Taken for a Fool -and- Life is Simple in the Moonlight
    Expand
  42. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    [8.3] I am quite certain that this album's lack of accessibility hindered its reception most of all. The album definitely features strong songwriting, and some very likable nostalgia that I honestly only think The Strokes could pull off. Their new style is almost reminiscent of some of the bar scenes in Star Wars (not to allude to something completely unrelated), and this sort of in the past while in the future idea that the album has is definitely complemented by traditional Strokes style on many of the songs on this album including Machu Picchu, Under Cover of Darkness, Metabolism, and especially Gratisfaction. Tracks like Games and Call Me Back certainly rely more on nostalgia, but are enjoyable nonetheless. Expand
  43. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    Machu Picchu's opening line is ''I'm putting your patience to the test'', and they sure did. After 5 years the Strokes are back. A lot has changed. The Strokes already showed their 'dark side' on the mediocre First Impressions of Earth but really have given themselves some space to grow with this album. This turned out great. In most songs they retain the classic Strokes sound, while adding something fresh. The Strokes pulled it off extremely well considered what impossible situation they are in. If they would make an ''Is This It-remake'' everybody would complain about how they hadn't grown in 10 years, if they experiment with new sounds, everyone will complain about how unlike Is This It it is. Angles really got a lot of hate, but it's a great album. It will grow on you, I promise. Expand
  44. Mar 26, 2013
    5
    It's nice when a band makes a theme album, but Angles doesn't seem as if it was intended to be one. The entire thing sounds disjointed, and not by design, indicative of a recording process that was done largely without primary songwriter and frontman Julian Casablancas. Under Cover of Darkness shines as a throwback to the so-called "Golden Age" of The Strokes, but prog rock wannabe "Metabolism" and "You're So Right" are notable low points. First Impressions of Earth showed that The Strokes can experiment a little and still possess that uncaring Strokes aura, but perhaps Angles takes that a bit too far. Expand
  45. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Underestimated and misunderstood. I love this album, the rhythm, the instruments... cool! I think this is one of their best. The julian's voice in this album give me some orgasms. God!
  46. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    Highly under rated, this album in the bomb digady and is cool beans. The albums got great songs on it that are as good as any other strokes songs. Buy this!
  47. Oct 22, 2014
    5
    Have to say, I was expecting a lot more from The Strokes after 5 years of not making an album. Albeit it a change in style and sound, there are far too many weak songs on Angles, especially in the latter stages of the album. I've given them plenty of chances over the last few years but they've never appealed to me. Despite this, 'Machu Pichu' is a flawless start to the record which unfortunately only delivers false hope. The big single 'Under Cover of Darkness' is also a well crafted song, along with my personal favourite 'Taken For a Fool'. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. May 10, 2011
    60
    The result is mixed and at times strained, but a spark still lies within.
  2. 60
    When all is said and done, Angles could make for an exciting introduction to a new chapter for The Strokes, or it could be a disappointing swan song.
  3. May 2, 2011
    80
    Angles fits 10 songs into a brisk 34 minutes and doesn't waste time gunning for gravitas. [Apr 2011, p.92]