• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Animal Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut full-length album for the British duo who have remixed songs for Fischerspooner, La Roux, and Underworld.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. So, whilst ‘Animal’ endangered no creative boundaries, there’s no denying that autoKratz track the footsteps of their predecessors with great panache.
  2. Unfortunately, the melodic kicks in [Stay The Same], and in the opener Always More, don't hold throughout the rest of the 11 tracks, and what could've sounded like a thoroughly modern take on, say, New Order, ends up sounding more like fellow Kitsuné endorsed dance-rockers the Whip.
  3. Such boyish noise has been done to death of late and, frankly, it’s been done better. More interesting is David Cox and Russell Crank’s Tiga-ish pop sensibility.
  4. Animal is a techno record trying to be New Order, but it tries to do so with a small palette of raw synths and the antiseptic tenor of Cox. It neither displays the vaunted pathos of New Order nor much in the way of sonic experimentation to give the listener something to munch on since the lyrics are nothing much either.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of