Appeal To Reason

Appeal To Reason Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length album for the Chicago punk rock band was produced by Bill Stevenson and Jason Livermore.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Longtime fans need not worry: Uptempo anthems like 'Savior,' 'Kotov Syndrome,' and 'Entertainment' should satisfy anyone still uneasy about Rise Against's radio aspirations.
  2. Rise Against may be nervous about leaving the underground behind, but with sharp songs like these, they're ready for the rest of the world.
  3. Punk-rockers, like bluesmen, often devote themselves to perpetuating their style rather than transforming it. For Rise Against, that relentless earnestness is both a defining factor and a limitation.
  4. There's nothing here you haven't heard before from Rise Against--or, indeed, from Bad Religion before that. But producers Bill Stevenson (of the Descendents and All) and Jason Livermore keep the music moving at a breakneck pace that gives everything the gleam of urgency anyway.
  5. Alternative Press
    60
    It all boils down to the simple question of which songs grab you, so there are certainly reasons to give Appeal a whirl and decide for yourself. [Nov 2008, p.151]
  6. That's a serious issue on Appeal to Reason; songs like 'Re-Education (Through Labor)' and 'Entertainment,' which seeks to redress the evils of media manipulation upon the land, are peppy but pretty empty, power-chord downers with little bark or bite.
  7. Like the work of a carpenter who’s learned, through experience, the quickest and cleanest way to get a job done, it’s technically polished and modest in its aims.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. vipismith
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    Best damn band out there!!!Intelligent, persuasive, timely.
  2. IanT
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    I think this is truly one of the albums of the year, while its not as monumental as Siren Song of the Counter Culture or The Sufferer and The I think this is truly one of the albums of the year, while its not as monumental as Siren Song of the Counter Culture or The Sufferer and The Witness, it still makes a major impact on the punk and rock music world. Expand
  3. BenC
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    Dominic you are completely outa line, this album is the best yet i've heard from Rise Against. Its solid, timely and awesome fun to Dominic you are completely outa line, this album is the best yet i've heard from Rise Against. Its solid, timely and awesome fun to listen to. Ultimately, it doesnt matter if they've gona a bit mainstream, as long as their music still holds the quality that made Sufferer and the Witness, and it does. Ive been listening since The Unraveling and other albums from them, but ive gotta say this is the best by far. Tim's lyrics are so sharp and relevant to everything they stand for. Perfect album, perfect band. Expand
  4. RyanK.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    This is a solid RA album, clearly showing the ongoing evolution of the band and their subject matter. It recieves such a high rating from me This is a solid RA album, clearly showing the ongoing evolution of the band and their subject matter. It recieves such a high rating from me becouse, well, a solid RA album is at the same level as a brilliant album by most bands. RA seems to be holding up fairly well under the stresses of increased popularity and examination by critics, with songs like Hero of War displaying their stubborn desire to say what they think despite calling down a hellstorm of criticism. However, both the more consistantly mid-range sound throughout most of the album and the absence of Tim's screaming method of point pounding indicate that the band is feeling the suck of the mainstream. None of these songs have the same pulse-pounding power desplayed in some of their earlier work, nor posess the bizzarlly moving cadence of the underrated Roadside. My personal impression is that this album was both written and delivered as a sort of holding pattern while the band figures out which direction to go in. I think that, regardless of the direction the next album takes, we can expect it to be more purposeful than this one was. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2015
    8
    To be honest, when it comes to Rise Against, their albums usually sound very similar. However, that is usually my only complaint since ITo be honest, when it comes to Rise Against, their albums usually sound very similar. However, that is usually my only complaint since I personally enjoy the style. This style stays the same in Appeal To Reason, although they also try to expand their style with Hero Of War. Although, I personally though Hero Of War was the low point on the album, it was still a good listen. If you can't get the whole album though, I suggest getting Savior, Entertainment, Collapse, Re-Education, and Kotov Syndrome Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    8
    Damn Rise Against is good. I don't like it as much as TSATW but it's real good. Tim is perfect for this music, his voice has so much energyDamn Rise Against is good. I don't like it as much as TSATW but it's real good. Tim is perfect for this music, his voice has so much energy and emotion. I love the song Audience of One and Savior of course. Not a bad song on the album. A must listen Expand
  7. DominicJ.
    Oct 16, 2008
    0
    disaapointing, every album for me just heads more and more mainstream, from the unravelling to revolutions, 2 very good albums, things disaapointing, every album for me just heads more and more mainstream, from the unravelling to revolutions, 2 very good albums, things started to slip slightly in siren song, and sufferer and the witness for me (although rather enjoying the album) was aimed to appeal to a wider audience, not the punk fans who have followed rise against for many years. Now i'm seeing reviews about how this new album is full of brilliant songs, it just isn't true! for real rise against fans who haven't just jumped on the bandwagon since the 2006 release of s&tw, i'd say avoid this album, it will only leave you feeling almost angered at the, what can only be described as a sell-out attempt, album. This to me is showing rise against are heading very much down the same route as the offspring, it's a real pity. the chicago "punk" band has really let itself down with this! Expand

See all 18 User Reviews