Arular

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 279 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 279

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Anonymous
    Sep 4, 2007
    0
    Can anyone even understand what she is saying? I am shocked to see that so many people like this kind of music. And I use the term music lightly, because to me this is just random noises thrown together. If anyone listens to Dane Cook, then they will understand when I say that this is the kind of noise that makes you want to punch a baby.
  2. ivanv
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    awful, how is this getting good reviews. this sounds even worse than kevin federline. i know there a message and all but its awful. not music
  3. PaulPaul
    Apr 10, 2005
    1
    So boring...
  4. allisonk
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    this isn't good music. this is bullshit direct effect/trl/mtv dance music.
  5. DaveR
    May 8, 2005
    2
    I do not understand the hype behind this crap. By any yardstick you use, it comes up short. Maybe if they'd actually review the music instead of some hipster revolutionary object of lust, hey, we'd be getting somewhere. I think only one song I even remotely dug. I'd rather hear a street preacher ranting over a broken 909.
  6. JamieS
    Jun 23, 2005
    3
    doesnt really do very much new, doesnt really say anything of interest. merely average.
  7. Kay
    Jun 3, 2005
    0
    it's is completely beyond all reasonable comprehension how anyone could actually enjoy this "music". the beats sound cheap and poorly recorded. there is no melody or real musicality to any of the tracks and i have know idea what she's talking about in any of these songs. honestly listening to this album while reading these reviews makes me feel like i'm in the twilight it's is completely beyond all reasonable comprehension how anyone could actually enjoy this "music". the beats sound cheap and poorly recorded. there is no melody or real musicality to any of the tracks and i have know idea what she's talking about in any of these songs. honestly listening to this album while reading these reviews makes me feel like i'm in the twilight zone. if i could rate it a negative number i would. Expand
  8. MattP
    Jun 5, 2005
    0
    utter garbage. Not a single redeeming quality in this piece of overhyped, monotanous trash.
  9. AaronS.
    Jul 10, 2005
    2
    Incredibly overrated disc. Don't believe the hype on this one. I've tried it two times now and I just don't get it. Her vocal style is irritating beyond belief and there is simply nothing ground breaking about the record. 'Bucky Done Gone' has to be one of the worst songs of the year. Skip it.
  10. Buck65
    Mar 22, 2005
    0
    This album is not good and overrated. There are so many albums just like this and are for some reason rated differently.
  11. mukesht
    Dec 11, 2005
    3
    Lots of hype, mostly BS. Not a renegade at all, just a media manipulator. The stories of her childhood are mostly rubbish.
  12. macky
    Jan 9, 2006
    1
    The Empreror has no clothes! Overhyped rubish. Noise yes, Music No.
  13. FIonaS
    Jul 30, 2006
    2
    I'm sorry, but I don't get it. I can see she has lyrical talent, but besides that I'm kind of at a loss. I generally think of myself as an open-minded music listener, but this just does nothing but irritate me.
  14. JasonA
    Nov 5, 2005
    3
    Ok, first off this album is horrible. I see that it was reviewed favorably on this site and ever where else. I know that N.E.R.D made minimalism in music popular ,but this is pathetic. Maybe where M.I.A is from this is great music,but I would hope not. I can say that there might be hope for future releases, but for right now M.I.A needs to stay that way until she adds a little more Ok, first off this album is horrible. I see that it was reviewed favorably on this site and ever where else. I know that N.E.R.D made minimalism in music popular ,but this is pathetic. Maybe where M.I.A is from this is great music,but I would hope not. I can say that there might be hope for future releases, but for right now M.I.A needs to stay that way until she adds a little more substance to her music. Expand
  15. [Anonymous]
    Mar 23, 2005
    0
    for someone who do not enjoy rap in general, listening to this album is a brain damaging experience, I wouldn't even call it music, what a piece of crap
  16. PatDaMan
    Jan 4, 2006
    0
    The most overrated album in years. Every song sounds the same and when someone's music depends on the sampling of someone else's, it proves they are talentless. 100% junk.
  17. seamusm
    Feb 16, 2006
    1
    Unlistenable rubbish.From an open-minded music fan.
  18. MR
    Feb 28, 2006
    1
    I tried listening to the album and could not even get pass track #2. I just could not get anything going on with this album, what a mess. Is the label for real?
  19. JulianM
    Mar 23, 2005
    2
    Boring - really lazy vocals put down over bad drum and bass. i loved the "Galang" single and had high hopes. i dare anyone to comapre the other songs to Galang and tell me tht they even come close to it on production, vocals, beats and danceability. The biggest disappointment in the past couple of years. Seriously "90"?, "100" wtf????
  20. PaquiL
    May 16, 2005
    3
    Agh, so much promotion and such a dissapointing record. Charisma is not enough. "Power for the people" lyrics repeated in groups of four, absolutely forgettable. The best part is when it finishes (seriously, last minute is very good)
  21. MaxB
    Jun 24, 2005
    2
    This album is not truly awful. Yet, it does not live up to the hype at all. People who love this album, I can only imagine they are tourists to the incredibly dense and rich scene that M.I.A. emerged from. How people can genuinely love this music is beyond me. The beats are tired, the politics are sophmoric (and unintelligible most of the time).Chalk it up to "exoticism" and if you really This album is not truly awful. Yet, it does not live up to the hype at all. People who love this album, I can only imagine they are tourists to the incredibly dense and rich scene that M.I.A. emerged from. How people can genuinely love this music is beyond me. The beats are tired, the politics are sophmoric (and unintelligible most of the time).Chalk it up to "exoticism" and if you really want to hear the future, work harder. Expand
  22. SamirN/A
    Aug 12, 2005
    0
    No lyrical depth, or intelligence. On a album that prides itself in revolutionary discourse, this is unexceptable. Unusual sounds that heavily cite the experimentalism of Tom Waits (without the lyrical talent or coherence) and odd beats do not make this album unique. Regardless, uniqueness doesn't necessarily mean quality. The beats are more like noises and cheap samples, the lyrics No lyrical depth, or intelligence. On a album that prides itself in revolutionary discourse, this is unexceptable. Unusual sounds that heavily cite the experimentalism of Tom Waits (without the lyrical talent or coherence) and odd beats do not make this album unique. Regardless, uniqueness doesn't necessarily mean quality. The beats are more like noises and cheap samples, the lyrics are banal at best, and her voice has no range. Energy doesn't make up for talent. "Just because no one can understand how you speak, doesn't mean what you sayin' is deep." This album is trash. Expand
  23. BigDHADub
    Dec 26, 2007
    1
    Seriously, if you want to be effective as a revolutionary...especially with music (which is not likely to happen unfortunately)...you have to make it simple. Dumb it down so that you're audience can relate, then as they get used to you grow more complex. From the beginning of this CD artists that I played it for were ignoring the message. But artist show talent and convince groups, Seriously, if you want to be effective as a revolutionary...especially with music (which is not likely to happen unfortunately)...you have to make it simple. Dumb it down so that you're audience can relate, then as they get used to you grow more complex. From the beginning of this CD artists that I played it for were ignoring the message. But artist show talent and convince groups, and CDs are made...so I can't say that the message is not worthy to atleast a good amount of people. Collapse
  24. DannyDoom
    Nov 25, 2005
    1
    Forgive my not jumping on the bandwagon here, but, why doesn't anyone realize this album is complete garbage.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Urb
    80
    M.I.A.'s singsong cadence is both child-like and streetwise, perfectly mirroring the smiley-faced menace of the electro-informed palpitations behind her. [Mar 2005, p.113]
  2. Not for a moment does the violence seem vindictive, sadistic, or pleasurable. It's a fact of life to be triumphed over, with beats and tunelets stolen or remembered or willed into existence.
  3. Fortifying her monstrous singles "Galang" and "Sunshowers" with further molten munitions, Arular is primed for worldwide insurrection.