Arular

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 299 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 299

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2016
    8
    Well, I admit this was taking me like 11 years till I found this album, and gosh, it was such a mistake or maybe a good thing. You decide. I'm gonna go listen some more of this, cause it's f****n great!!
  2. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    PERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECTPERFECT album. I LOVE M.I.A.
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Perfect! All of the songs are mind-blowing with a lot of hidden political messages. I love all the tracks, but its highlights are Amazon, U.R.A.Q.T., Bucky Done Gun (an amazing track which samples funk carioca!) & Bingo. Too bad that Arular failed to achieve commercial success, I wish it was released on the 90s so it would have sold a lot.
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Only M.I.A. could sing about children prostitution over dance-pop beats. Every song on the album is a highlight:

    Pull Up The People 5/5 Bucky Done Gun 5/5 Fire Fire 5/5 Amazon 5/5 Bingo 5/5 Hombre 5/5 10 Dollar 5/5 Sunshowers 5/5 Galang
    P-E-R-F-E-C-T. Only M.I.A. could sing about children prostitution over dance-pop beats. Every song on the album is a highlight:

    Pull Up The People 5/5
    Bucky Done Gun 5/5
    Fire Fire 5/5
    Amazon 5/5
    Bingo 5/5
    Hombre 5/5
    10 Dollar 5/5
    Sunshowers 5/5
    Galang 5/5
    Hidden track 5/5
    Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    I love me some M.I.A. She is creative, and controversial, and a really good singer/rapper. Even though it isn't my favorite M.I.A. album, it is still up there.
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    The story behind MIA's "Arular" is uniquely twisted and interesting. The name "Arular" comes from MIA's father's political code during his involvement in the Tamil Tigers. M.I.A named the album after her father because she considered that her father might Google his name, find out about the album, and re-establish contact with her; a strategy which worked.
    The album is divided into three
    The story behind MIA's "Arular" is uniquely twisted and interesting. The name "Arular" comes from MIA's father's political code during his involvement in the Tamil Tigers. M.I.A named the album after her father because she considered that her father might Google his name, find out about the album, and re-establish contact with her; a strategy which worked.
    The album is divided into three sections: The Banana Skit Songs, The Dash the Curry Songs, and The One For The Head Songs. Banana Skit serves as the intro to the first part of the album, and then sends you to "Pull up the People," which contains screams, shouts, and awesome beats. Then come "Bucky Done Gun" which has trumpets and samples "Gonna Fly Now" by Bill Conti, "Sunshowers" which has indian-inspired vocals and lyrics, and "Fire, Fire" which shows us MIA's sassy side.
    The second half of the album starts with "Dash the Curry Skit" and interludes towards "Amazon" which has a tarzan-inspired jungle sound to it, "Bingo" the reggae flava of the album, and "Hombre," in which MIA's sexy espanol comes alive.
    The third and last part of the album starts with "One for the head skit" and then "10 Dollar" starts, which is one of the best songs of the album, as it is super catchy. "Hey, hey,hey oh oh" states MIA as she asks "What can i get for 10 dollar?,." URAQT contains hilarious lyrics and a good sample, and "Galang" murders the rest of the album with its out-of this-world production. Overall one of the best political albums of all time and 95% of the album is not worth skipping on. I give it an A-
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Astounding. Still epic 7 years later. M.I.A. is talented. And creative as hell. Love the lyrics.
  8. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    It's a swaggering, spitting, utterly contemporary album of politically dissident, sexually forthright Anglo-Sri Lankan dubstep bhangra hip-pop IDM in which M.I.A. stars as protagonist, antagonist, chanteuse, MC, exotic schoolgirl tease, graphic artist, chastiser of the immoral, and fun-loving London-living party girl. And all in under 40 minutes, too. It's special. We've not heard it'sIt's a swaggering, spitting, utterly contemporary album of politically dissident, sexually forthright Anglo-Sri Lankan dubstep bhangra hip-pop IDM in which M.I.A. stars as protagonist, antagonist, chanteuse, MC, exotic schoolgirl tease, graphic artist, chastiser of the immoral, and fun-loving London-living party girl. And all in under 40 minutes, too. It's special. We've not heard it's like before. Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    GreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreatGreat
  10. Oct 3, 2011
    6
    One look at the cover and you know that this album isnâ
  11. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    The guest CD from M.IA. brings us the roots she takes her magical beats from. This album is pure Africa, with bongos, drums, and sound effects that put us in the middle of a jungle, watching a tribe doing some sort of ritual for a special day. "Bucky Done Gun", "Bingo", "Sunshowers" e "Galang" are the best this album have, and it's not a minor thing, it's a great thing, starting theThe guest CD from M.IA. brings us the roots she takes her magical beats from. This album is pure Africa, with bongos, drums, and sound effects that put us in the middle of a jungle, watching a tribe doing some sort of ritual for a special day. "Bucky Done Gun", "Bingo", "Sunshowers" e "Galang" are the best this album have, and it's not a minor thing, it's a great thing, starting the beatiful carrer of the one the most intelligents singer that appeared this days. Expand
  12. Sep 16, 2010
    8
    "Arular" is definitely a good album, but I have to wonder if the album needed all of the explicit language. The beats and the synths were enough to keep you dancing, there was really no need for F***, or S***. Key Tracks: "Galang" "Bucky Don Gun" and "Pull Up The People"
  13. KealaniP.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    The first time i heard this album it was October 1, 2006 midnight. She is one of the reasons why my husband is my husband now. Oct. 1, 2007 is the day we got married a year after we started our relationship. I love it..
  14. JuliaA.
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    she made the somewhat-meaningless-worthless-look-alike lyrics with brash music,that what makes people said she's just being overhyped...but sometimes the most 'obvious' lyrics could be the most subtle in its own way of deliverance. Sunshowers on you Maya!
  15. BigDHADub
    Dec 26, 2007
    1
    Seriously, if you want to be effective as a revolutionary...especially with music (which is not likely to happen unfortunately)...you have to make it simple. Dumb it down so that you're audience can relate, then as they get used to you grow more complex. From the beginning of this CD artists that I played it for were ignoring the message. But artist show talent and convince groups, Seriously, if you want to be effective as a revolutionary...especially with music (which is not likely to happen unfortunately)...you have to make it simple. Dumb it down so that you're audience can relate, then as they get used to you grow more complex. From the beginning of this CD artists that I played it for were ignoring the message. But artist show talent and convince groups, and CDs are made...so I can't say that the message is not worthy to atleast a good amount of people. Expand
  16. PenaltyKillah(Jw21)
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Very political if one is experienced in deciphering with lyrics. Whoever who gives a '0' rating didn't really study this album a lot, no?
  17. Anonymous
    Sep 4, 2007
    0
    Can anyone even understand what she is saying? I am shocked to see that so many people like this kind of music. And I use the term music lightly, because to me this is just random noises thrown together. If anyone listens to Dane Cook, then they will understand when I say that this is the kind of noise that makes you want to punch a baby.
  18. SophieB.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Wow. When I first heard this, I would have given it about a 5/10.. it wasn't unbearable, it was unique, but I just didn't get it at all. Now.. after replaying it, this is an AMAZING, ORIGINAL album.
  19. VaniK.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Very Good.
  20. JojoP.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    De la grosse bombasse .... A quand le concert en France ????? /..?/,;:,;,:
  21. LukeRathbone
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Never before have I heard something of this nature. It is so original that you can't even compare it with anything else. 10 out of 10, no doubt.
  22. MichA
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    This album is a revolutionary one. It's like noting i have ever heard before, from the lyrics to the beats. Absolutely Brilliant. Her history is definately controversal, but i think she means no harm. She is brave and i give her props for making this record. Hope to meet you one day Maya.
  23. HaleyT
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    bangin.
  24. ivanv
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    awful, how is this getting good reviews. this sounds even worse than kevin federline. i know there a message and all but its awful. not music
  25. TerronM
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    this is the best album i have ever brought. THE BEST.
  26. BrooklynK
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Awesome Album! I really enjoy it. Crazy beats and heavy thoughts. Totally worth the 25$ Hah
  27. NADIAG
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    read a review on her and decided to buy the album.. One of the best albums i have ever heard. If i need to get hyped up or motivated for anything,thats the cd i grab..totally addictive.
  28. TyeN.
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    This is one of the finest debut albums ever made. Even made on a small budget it contains some of the catchiest beats ever created. And as an artist M.I.A. slings political lyrics and even social ones that are so mind blowingly simple yet amazingly clever (like the line "Lolita was a man eater/Clocked him like a taxi meter/Fuck glod she's pltinum digger/She can dance, makin' This is one of the finest debut albums ever made. Even made on a small budget it contains some of the catchiest beats ever created. And as an artist M.I.A. slings political lyrics and even social ones that are so mind blowingly simple yet amazingly clever (like the line "Lolita was a man eater/Clocked him like a taxi meter/Fuck glod she's pltinum digger/She can dance, makin' moves on the mover/Visa then a plane ride to ya/peace out she'll kill you like Uma"- from the song 10 Dollar). M.I.A. is an outstanding new artist that deserves your attention. I can't wait to here what she can do in a real studio with bigger producers. I'll be first in line when her second album drops. Expand
  29. FIonaS
    Jul 30, 2006
    2
    I'm sorry, but I don't get it. I can see she has lyrical talent, but besides that I'm kind of at a loss. I generally think of myself as an open-minded music listener, but this just does nothing but irritate me.
  30. sidewinder572
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    I don't know her story. I just bought this on a whim. Gave me chills. One hell of an album.
  31. AranB
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    I find it annoying when people say "She's only popular because of her story" The only reason her story is included in reviews and such is because it's so damn interesting, and it actually helped her CD become what it is. I started listening to M.I.A. because it sounded so great, and I usually hate rap and such. I loved the strange voice, and it made me wanna dance. I'd read I find it annoying when people say "She's only popular because of her story" The only reason her story is included in reviews and such is because it's so damn interesting, and it actually helped her CD become what it is. I started listening to M.I.A. because it sounded so great, and I usually hate rap and such. I loved the strange voice, and it made me wanna dance. I'd read that the lyrics had a political meaning, but that was after I'd already loved her music. Then, I got the album, and as I read the lyrics, I realised how great this album was on both levels. The only possible thing I can think of that isn't great about the album is that some of the beats are similar, but that's not a big problem since each song is solid and unique enough on its own, and each song has a very different subject, but they are all linked. I'm looking forward to M.I.A.'s next album, because she's going to be producing it, or so I have heard. Expand
  32. DanT
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    Smart funny and crazy! socially concious electronic hip hop that stays with you. I love it!
  33. Malini
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    If you like to dance, you'll probably like this. It really makes you want to move. And once you get into it, you dont want to stop playing it.
  34. foton
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    one of the best women in hiphop
  35. DNAhelix
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    After hearing a single track during a set break at an STS9 show, I asked some kid who was singing with it who it is... I got this album because of how it sounds, not because of the backstory... It's FrEsH, EnGaGiNg, SmArT. You hear it and want to hear more.
  36. MR
    Feb 28, 2006
    1
    I tried listening to the album and could not even get pass track #2. I just could not get anything going on with this album, what a mess. Is the label for real?
  37. kent
    Feb 17, 2006
    6
    If it weren't for the exotic backstory, this deceptively thin slice of subaltern commodification would have likely been whitewashed, so to speak. Obviously this story accounts for a large part of MIA's essence, but that essence is in turn unreflectively sublimated into a packaged aesthetic of rebel-fun for thousands of fickle gringo teenagers. It doesn't help that the If it weren't for the exotic backstory, this deceptively thin slice of subaltern commodification would have likely been whitewashed, so to speak. Obviously this story accounts for a large part of MIA's essence, but that essence is in turn unreflectively sublimated into a packaged aesthetic of rebel-fun for thousands of fickle gringo teenagers. It doesn't help that the "politics" are scattershot ramblings and partial snapshots a la "Global a Go-Go," but without Strummer's encompassing vision and compassion. Compare, for example: "Down at the bauxite mine/You get your own uniform/Have lunchtimes off/Take a monorail to your home" (Strummer), with: "He got Colgate on his teeth/And Reebok classics on his feet/At a factory he does Nike/And then he helps the family" (MIA). One transports you to a tropical perestroika with all the attendant monotony, while the other thinks the post-modern twitch of citing brand names amounts to revolutionary statement, and presumably attempts to acheive some irony about the infiltration of the public and private sphere, and the ultimate interchangability of said brands. Okay, but there is no image here (BYOSweatshop), no conjured sense of place, no real irony, just this reflex of attempting to appropriate corporate symbology while submitting to its strictures in every meaningful way. This is the worst thing about Arular: its affected wisdom. If this is the extent to which pop music can be intellectually engaging and politically engaged, then pop music is bouncing enthusiatically towards its own irrelevance. Taken as a mainstream dance album -- as incoherent and unnecessary as that genre's standards demand -- this is above average: thick, staccatto low-end blasts and hooks a'plenty. The production is big and detailed, if the beats are a bit repetitive . It just isn't a revolution: it's not smart enough. Expand
  38. seamusm
    Feb 16, 2006
    1
    Unlistenable rubbish.From an open-minded music fan.
  39. AndrewM
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    I cannot stop playing this album! I heard it way before I read a review or knew anything about it, so it can't be the hype. It is definitely like nothing I've listened to before.
  40. MichaelR
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    Amazing!! Those who rate it below 8 kus don't get it. where else do you here a blend of electronic dancehall and rap that works so superbly. Lyrics actually mean something those who don't get it are stupid.
  41. NicholasT
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    There are very few albums that I listen to and love immediately. Arular is one of them. This album is simply put, fun. It begs to be listened to and danced to but there is also so much depth to be found beneath the pop/hip-hop surface.
  42. macky
    Jan 9, 2006
    1
    The Empreror has no clothes! Overhyped rubish. Noise yes, Music No.
  43. PatDaMan
    Jan 4, 2006
    0
    The most overrated album in years. Every song sounds the same and when someone's music depends on the sampling of someone else's, it proves they are talentless. 100% junk.
  44. MikeC
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard in a long time. I love her production, and I think it's the most original and unique blend of genres that actually works well and is a privilege to listen to.
  45. emceea
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    this is one of the most amazing and original albums i have heard in a long time i first i heard "galang" in a london club and everyones ears pricked up as if to say who is that.i live in london but i know this will translate across the globe its original and daring and i guess you will either love it or hate it
  46. RuiR
    Dec 12, 2005
    9
    it has sunk deeper and deeper in my blood; first time i listened to it i utterly disliked it; second listening was sunshine through heavy clouds. i can't wait for the next round. i think it won't prove disappointing but hopefully assertive. and she's such a lovely little lady.
  47. mukesht
    Dec 11, 2005
    3
    Lots of hype, mostly BS. Not a renegade at all, just a media manipulator. The stories of her childhood are mostly rubbish.
  48. W.Haas
    Dec 3, 2005
    6
    Have to admit, its a fun album. But ever notice how the entire album sounds like 1 song?
  49. nickolettes
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    adore her and love that kind of music. that album was the hymn of the summer to me
  50. DannyDoom
    Nov 25, 2005
    1
    Forgive my not jumping on the bandwagon here, but, why doesn't anyone realize this album is complete garbage.
  51. cactuar
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    Its amazing. But so hard to find, I have to live on the downloads. the tracks are utterly infectious, plus her voice is so addictive. the beats and music are so special, repeated listening is guaranteed.
  52. Nick
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    I think MIA is a sweetheart. This is good.
  53. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    Pure fun
  54. JasonA
    Nov 5, 2005
    3
    Ok, first off this album is horrible. I see that it was reviewed favorably on this site and ever where else. I know that N.E.R.D made minimalism in music popular ,but this is pathetic. Maybe where M.I.A is from this is great music,but I would hope not. I can say that there might be hope for future releases, but for right now M.I.A needs to stay that way until she adds a little more Ok, first off this album is horrible. I see that it was reviewed favorably on this site and ever where else. I know that N.E.R.D made minimalism in music popular ,but this is pathetic. Maybe where M.I.A is from this is great music,but I would hope not. I can say that there might be hope for future releases, but for right now M.I.A needs to stay that way until she adds a little more substance to her music. Expand
  55. Mell
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    It's a unique album, great in the sense that its genre is unexplored by pop musicians.
  56. Sveta?
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    Simple but complex, great party music. Although I am mostly into hard rock, this album is just as addicting as many of my usual listenings.
  57. Brendan
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    Simply amazing - and this is coming from someone who's heard stranger things than most of you will ever hear in your entire lifetime. M.I.A. is a consummate artist (which is one of many things her dissenters are NOT), and she wears her weaknesses better than you wear your pretensions. I'm probably strutting to her beats as you're reading this and wondering why you Simply amazing - and this is coming from someone who's heard stranger things than most of you will ever hear in your entire lifetime. M.I.A. is a consummate artist (which is one of many things her dissenters are NOT), and she wears her weaknesses better than you wear your pretensions. I'm probably strutting to her beats as you're reading this and wondering why you aren't either. Expand
  58. KinthyaK
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    man i thou no tamil ppl will sing but u wow u friggensing good .i cant wait to c u at toronto ur concert:). Reppin TAMIL 4 lyfe!! i luv all ur songz and ur album and ur video soooo much! REPIN TAMIL FA LYFE C U IN TORONTO BYE!!
  59. jimmy
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    i don't care for dance music (i don't dance), nor do i like pop music. i listen to mostly rap (nas,wutang, etc.). when i first heard about the reviews for her music and heard snippets from the album i thought it may have been overrated. then, i actually listened to her songs. i love the fact that she's able to have lyrics that mean something (regardless of whether your i don't care for dance music (i don't dance), nor do i like pop music. i listen to mostly rap (nas,wutang, etc.). when i first heard about the reviews for her music and heard snippets from the album i thought it may have been overrated. then, i actually listened to her songs. i love the fact that she's able to have lyrics that mean something (regardless of whether your agree w/ her or not) in a pop/dance type of song. it's something i always wished pop music would have instead of your typical "i'll take you to the candyshop" esque lyrics. i'm glad that i enjoy the music b/c this will definately get stuck in your head. 10/10 Expand
  60. Vaal
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    Not really melodic. This is for people who love electro/dance and drum & bass but not really for the hip-hop fans. I reckon it has something, but it's not extraordinary. It just feels different than the ordinary, but that doesn't necessarily means that it is good just for being alternative. Lyrics are okay, but her voice feels repetitive. Even though every song is different I Not really melodic. This is for people who love electro/dance and drum & bass but not really for the hip-hop fans. I reckon it has something, but it's not extraordinary. It just feels different than the ordinary, but that doesn't necessarily means that it is good just for being alternative. Lyrics are okay, but her voice feels repetitive. Even though every song is different I can't help but hearing the same. Expand
  61. Belgian-D
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    Downloaded Arular yesterday, bought it today. Belgium is becoming hooked!! Brilliant...
  62. salomey
    Sep 3, 2005
    6
    because of the positive reviews i tried to like it but i didn't really though it isn't bad
  63. EdW
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    Stirring, original, punchy and utterly without either the 'street' posteuring of grime or the bling obsession of chart hip hop, M.I.A.'s debut is easily the equal of Dizzee Rascal's, but is a hell of a lot more fun.
  64. RayKay
    Aug 16, 2005
    4
    this CD is horribly overrated. don't waste your time
  65. SamirN/A
    Aug 12, 2005
    0
    No lyrical depth, or intelligence. On a album that prides itself in revolutionary discourse, this is unexceptable. Unusual sounds that heavily cite the experimentalism of Tom Waits (without the lyrical talent or coherence) and odd beats do not make this album unique. Regardless, uniqueness doesn't necessarily mean quality. The beats are more like noises and cheap samples, the lyrics No lyrical depth, or intelligence. On a album that prides itself in revolutionary discourse, this is unexceptable. Unusual sounds that heavily cite the experimentalism of Tom Waits (without the lyrical talent or coherence) and odd beats do not make this album unique. Regardless, uniqueness doesn't necessarily mean quality. The beats are more like noises and cheap samples, the lyrics are banal at best, and her voice has no range. Energy doesn't make up for talent. "Just because no one can understand how you speak, doesn't mean what you sayin' is deep." This album is trash. Expand
  66. maxpowered
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    all u haters are crazy. world music? wtf? kind of let's you know where that user is coming from. get this cd if you want to look cool? stick to your own pretensions and leave everyone else's alone. This is one of the best albums released in quite a while.
  67. alans
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Who else is making this sound? No one.
  68. janeDoe
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    I'd heard some cuts from this album on npr this year and I thought wow.... I've got to get that record. Needless to say I was not disappointed. Maya's mix of Bhangra, hip hop, and diy beats makes her one of the years stand out artist. Not only is her sound timeless but her lyrics are as well. She is a woman with something to say and on this record she says it loud and clear.
  69. kammie
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    Bliss!!!! This is the most addictive album I ever heard in my whole entire life!!!! They get stuck in your head and you need more, you absolutely need it!!! It's like giving an 80 dollar sample of crack cocaine to a crackhead!!! This is the best cd I ever heard in my life!!!! Pure joy!!! Bliss!!!!!!!!!
  70. maxpower
    Jul 20, 2005
    4
    it's too bad so many people buy this stuff. I like indie and electronic music but there are no standouts here. Only get this cd if you want to people to think you are cool or you like world music
  71. DanB.
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    I'll get tired of it eventually, I guess. But I can't stop listening to it now.
  72. JohnD
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    Let's get some things straight here. First of all, I am not some dude who goes out and buys the latest thing on the market; my money is very valuable to me, and I spend it sparingly. I also do not like to dance all that often (or, I like to spare people around me the sight of me dancing whenever possible). Now, I happen to think that this is one of the best albums of the year so far, Let's get some things straight here. First of all, I am not some dude who goes out and buys the latest thing on the market; my money is very valuable to me, and I spend it sparingly. I also do not like to dance all that often (or, I like to spare people around me the sight of me dancing whenever possible). Now, I happen to think that this is one of the best albums of the year so far, so my opinion could be seen as unusual. If you were expecting production values rivaling those of 50 Cent's albums, you would probably be dissappointed here, since M.I.A. would rather create a true product than an instant hit. Don't expect this to be a rap album, either; this is dance-hall music through and through. If you don't like it, then maybe its just not your taste. I'm not quite sure why I like this album so much, but the fact is that I do like it. Expand
  73. HadizaM
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    This fusion of Bangra melodies and electro beats is a breath of fresh air from the usual dance tracks that are out there today. It is also refreshing to know these very original tunes are coming from a solo artist and not the usual DJ backed with a team of performers. My hands up to this album and this artist, most definately 10 out of 10.
  74. AaronS.
    Jul 10, 2005
    2
    Incredibly overrated disc. Don't believe the hype on this one. I've tried it two times now and I just don't get it. Her vocal style is irritating beyond belief and there is simply nothing ground breaking about the record. 'Bucky Done Gone' has to be one of the worst songs of the year. Skip it.
  75. JM
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    One of the essential albums of the year...
  76. mirenz
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    the raddest music to come out in awhile...
  77. MariP
    Jun 28, 2005
    4
    'Galang' begins to get on my last nerve. SWITCH please, M.I.A...
  78. MaxB
    Jun 24, 2005
    2
    This album is not truly awful. Yet, it does not live up to the hype at all. People who love this album, I can only imagine they are tourists to the incredibly dense and rich scene that M.I.A. emerged from. How people can genuinely love this music is beyond me. The beats are tired, the politics are sophmoric (and unintelligible most of the time).Chalk it up to "exoticism" and if you really This album is not truly awful. Yet, it does not live up to the hype at all. People who love this album, I can only imagine they are tourists to the incredibly dense and rich scene that M.I.A. emerged from. How people can genuinely love this music is beyond me. The beats are tired, the politics are sophmoric (and unintelligible most of the time).Chalk it up to "exoticism" and if you really want to hear the future, work harder. Expand
  79. aaronl
    Jun 23, 2005
    6
    don't believe the indie hype machine. this is not "genius" or "revolutionary". it is at times an enjoyable record made by an attractive, charasmatic singer. however, she is not doing anything novel except for bringin dancehall into the indie circle using moderately political lyrics. it is good, but not nearly as good as the indie hipster hype machine wants you to believe.
  80. JamieS
    Jun 23, 2005
    3
    doesnt really do very much new, doesnt really say anything of interest. merely average.
  81. markd
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    Wow. An amazing album. Smart, sexy, and political. It's hard to put in words what a great work this is.
  82. AlG-P
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    very impressive debut built on hard baselines and a fresh approach to rapping. A great fusion of hip/hop, d'n'b, dancehall and garage.
  83. ZachM
    Jun 11, 2005
    9
    This is a truly outstanding album, possibly one of the greatest hip-hop/rap records of all time. M.I.A. delivers her rhymes with such intensity and irresistable charisma that you can't help but wonder if you will listen to any other rap record ever again. Some songs falter (particularly Hombre and Bucky Done Gun), but you'll be too busy dancing or singing to notice. A must-have.
  84. matta
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    Doesn't quite live up to some of the buzz, and a lot of people probably won't really like the style, but it is way catchy and a genuinely fun album to listen to. Like a female version of Dizzee Rascal.
  85. MattP
    Jun 5, 2005
    0
    utter garbage. Not a single redeeming quality in this piece of overhyped, monotanous trash.
  86. Kay
    Jun 3, 2005
    0
    it's is completely beyond all reasonable comprehension how anyone could actually enjoy this "music". the beats sound cheap and poorly recorded. there is no melody or real musicality to any of the tracks and i have know idea what she's talking about in any of these songs. honestly listening to this album while reading these reviews makes me feel like i'm in the twilight it's is completely beyond all reasonable comprehension how anyone could actually enjoy this "music". the beats sound cheap and poorly recorded. there is no melody or real musicality to any of the tracks and i have know idea what she's talking about in any of these songs. honestly listening to this album while reading these reviews makes me feel like i'm in the twilight zone. if i could rate it a negative number i would. Expand
  87. scottw
    May 31, 2005
    9
    To everyone who gave this album 2's and 0's: Go fellate your guitar!
  88. GarielL.
    May 31, 2005
    5
    After buying the singles for Galang and Sunshowers, I was excited for the full length. It turns out that the album is pretty blah. Those two tracks are on the album with what feels like a very small handfull of other tracks, few memorable. I would dig Bucky Done Gone, but I've got the Brazilian funk track they lift the whole beat from, and I just assume play that. I officially After buying the singles for Galang and Sunshowers, I was excited for the full length. It turns out that the album is pretty blah. Those two tracks are on the album with what feels like a very small handfull of other tracks, few memorable. I would dig Bucky Done Gone, but I've got the Brazilian funk track they lift the whole beat from, and I just assume play that. I officially stopped being a fan when I saw her live with Diplo DJing for her. Her back up singer held her up the whole time, and it seemed like she was just reciting the lyrics along to the CD. There was no charisma or spark. Even worse, after making us wait for three hours with no opening act, they just played the songs off Arular and left. I think this album was all she had in her. If you want some real talent from a British chick, check out Lady Sovereign. Expand
  89. Tra
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Addictive & Amazing, a must own for anyone interested in music and life.
  90. Lindsey
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Try...just try not to move to this album. If you don't dance to this, its official....you're comatose. This is awesome dance/baile/electro/garage music and is laced with a political message to boot. THIS ALBUM IS AWESOME!
  91. PaquiL
    May 16, 2005
    3
    Agh, so much promotion and such a dissapointing record. Charisma is not enough. "Power for the people" lyrics repeated in groups of four, absolutely forgettable. The best part is when it finishes (seriously, last minute is very good)
  92. vincentx
    May 16, 2005
    6
    Nice enough, but nothing lasting, i'd say. Galang and Pull Up The People are pretty good, but Bucky Done Gone and 10 dollar are weak old-school electro. and her rapping is so-so...
  93. regiiev
    May 12, 2005
    10
    Excellent Music Revolutionary and terrific , no comparison a must listen . It is a variety to go for.
  94. MightyMouse
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Simply extraordinary! This girl has got a very unique, catchy, powerful sound that just will not let you stand still. It's street, it's dancehall, it's global infusion ... it truely is new music. It's not the typical big label, hollow gloss. The weighty lyrics give is some real value as well.
  95. Matt
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Anybody who lashes out because they don't understand this should be ignored. You need this.
  96. DaveR
    May 8, 2005
    2
    I do not understand the hype behind this crap. By any yardstick you use, it comes up short. Maybe if they'd actually review the music instead of some hipster revolutionary object of lust, hey, we'd be getting somewhere. I think only one song I even remotely dug. I'd rather hear a street preacher ranting over a broken 909.
  97. HallowS
    May 5, 2005
    9
    it's nice to hear someone willing to skip the production values & head for the dancefloor -w- some raw beats, international flavour & whatever politics-for-tha-people will fit in their pockets. Fun + different! Fk tha cynics! Enjoy - let th world in!
  98. DavisW
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Insanely catchy with powerful lyrics. A great add to anyone's collection. Easily one of the best this year.
  99. ElkDog
    Apr 30, 2005
    5
    Wow, this cd was so annoying. It has a lot of forgettable cheap sounding drum beats with this chick going lalala bakka bakka wicka pricka lacka lacka. I have no idea what the hell she's saying. Very annoying. I can't believe the rating it has on this site.
  100. annas
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    great and fun!! what else is good out there that's fun? just listened to regina spektor: i'd give it a zero.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Urb
    80
    M.I.A.'s singsong cadence is both child-like and streetwise, perfectly mirroring the smiley-faced menace of the electro-informed palpitations behind her. [Mar 2005, p.113]
  2. Not for a moment does the violence seem vindictive, sadistic, or pleasurable. It's a fact of life to be triumphed over, with beats and tunelets stolen or remembered or willed into existence.
  3. Fortifying her monstrous singles "Galang" and "Sunshowers" with further molten munitions, Arular is primed for worldwide insurrection.