• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2011
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    This is Ryan Adams at the height of his songwriting abilities. After a brief hiatus, he has returned with an album of finely crafted, stripped down songs that showcase Adams' vocal prowess. Accompanied by only an acoustic guitar on most songs, this album is the perfect companion for relaxing afternoons and introspective evenings. Favourites include "Invisible Riverside", "Ashes & Fire",This is Ryan Adams at the height of his songwriting abilities. After a brief hiatus, he has returned with an album of finely crafted, stripped down songs that showcase Adams' vocal prowess. Accompanied by only an acoustic guitar on most songs, this album is the perfect companion for relaxing afternoons and introspective evenings. Favourites include "Invisible Riverside", "Ashes & Fire", and "Dirty Rain". Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Fundamentally, this album is a grower. Definitely not one for newcomers as it really shines in the light of Ryan's other work. However, this is his strongest work since Cold Roses. Heartfelt, masterful and beautiful, this collection takes on all Ryan's styles and strips away any heavy instrumentation, allowing the gorgeous songs to shine through.
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    I have proceeded with caution with Ryan Adams in the past as he seems to have accumulated a large catalogue music in a short time span - much I have found inconsistent, great, not-so-great and forced, at times. Ashes & Fire is THE BEST Ryan Adams album to date. Soothing melodies in the mold of say, Ray Lamontagne...sums this one up best. I really liked sings Ashes & Fire, InvisibleI have proceeded with caution with Ryan Adams in the past as he seems to have accumulated a large catalogue music in a short time span - much I have found inconsistent, great, not-so-great and forced, at times. Ashes & Fire is THE BEST Ryan Adams album to date. Soothing melodies in the mold of say, Ray Lamontagne...sums this one up best. I really liked sings Ashes & Fire, Invisible Riverside...not forced this time at all...he really allows the music and lyrics to develop at their own pace. One of the very few albums I really liked this year. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic, beautiful album. The kind of album that satisfies on the first superficial listen, continues to improve and develop deeper meaning with repeated listens, and holds up to a ton of them. Every song is a winner, with personal highlights including: Come Home, Do I Wait, Save Me, Kindness, Lucky Now, and I Love You But... Norah Jones's piano on some tracks is a wonderful touch.
  5. Oct 12, 2011
    7
    I have always been a huge fan of Ryan Adams since his Whiskeytown days. He put out an amazing and prolific amount of quality music between 2000 and 2009 and did it with a wide variety of musicians and styles.

    This album is primarily a solo effort and most songs are one man ballads which is not a bad thing if you can write,play and sing like Ryan Adams.
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    A tremendous album - Absolutely back to his best after some dodgy releases. Lucky Now and I Love you but I don't know what to Say among the best things he has ever done and thats saying something. Fantastic
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    Despite its lulls, Ashes & Fire sounds like a new beginning. [Nov 2011, p.101]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    50
    Despite the obvious care for craftsmanship, no standouts emerge.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Here, at last again, is the Ryan Adams of Heartbreaker - creating a uniformly strong collection of songs, singular in mood, each articulated by a voice that, whilst more lived in, remains a lovely instrument. [Nov. 2011, p. 137]