Asleep At Heaven's Gate

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VincentH.
    Dec 3, 2007
    6
    Not as solid as their 2 previous Sub Pop releases. I highly recommend getting "Out of the Shadows" first. "Descenced Like Vultures" was a grower, but I now appreciate it as much as the first album. I don't know if it's the new producer (from Bill Racine to Roger Moutenot) or new label, but something is definitely amiss. The band is excellent as always, but honestly it just comes Not as solid as their 2 previous Sub Pop releases. I highly recommend getting "Out of the Shadows" first. "Descenced Like Vultures" was a grower, but I now appreciate it as much as the first album. I don't know if it's the new producer (from Bill Racine to Roger Moutenot) or new label, but something is definitely amiss. The band is excellent as always, but honestly it just comes down to songwriting; the quality is just not there in comparison to their earlier stuff. I definitely appreciate the evolution of the music, but Zach Rogue is an incredible songwriter, and Rogue Wave fans can tell you, this guy has written very few unlikeable songs. While there are definitely gems here that could've easily fit on DLV (essentially the first 6 songs), but I agree with the Pitchfork review. The last half of the album is full of mostly forgettable melodies, which for Rogue Wave is very shocking. This guy knows how to write a catchy-ass pop song. Hopefully these guys can hook up with Bill Racine again for their next album. Oh well...we'll always have "Out of the Shadow". Expand
  2. ThomT.
    Nov 2, 2007
    8
    There r 2 pop bands I can listen to without getting bored : Pinback & Rogue Wave. When the last PINBACK album disappoints me a bit, the RW 's "Asleep At Heaven's Gate" catch my ears all day long. And for a pop band it's a exploit RW manages since their marvelous "Out Of The Shadow".
  3. JoseG.
    Oct 17, 2007
    9
    This one's a grower, well for me it was at least. After several listens now, this has become one of my favorite albums of the past few months.
  4. GarthE
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    A definite grower, and I appreciate that. Solid, no laggers, well constructed and just an excellent listen. I can't see where some of these bad grades are comming from, but oh-well. I just really like this type of music. Band of Horses, The National, My Morning jacket, The Shins....in that vein of musicality, and a prime example of it.
  5. FrankG.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    I love this album... I've never heard the band b4 and bought it on a whim, but it was worth the 12 bucks. It is becoming the soundtrack to my fall.
  6. JRME
    Oct 5, 2007
    6
    Most of the elements that made this band's sound unique are gone. Too many of the songs are straight-up folk rock. Yawn. Perhaps Zach Rogue should return to his DIY roots.
  7. Brett
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    I'd have to say it isn't a bad album but I just need to stress how amazing "out of the shadow" is. Basically a Zach Rogue solo album; one of my top 10 albums
  8. SamA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    Gets better with every listen. Lots of less overt hooks begin to emerge at around the fourth time through and by the 10th time through, the song you liked right away is the song you now like the least. Like Slanted and Enchanted or Wowee Zowee by Pavement
  9. Drew
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    I love this album, especially tracks like "Christians In Black" and "Lake Michigan". While it may not be as catchy and ear grabbing at times as Descended Like Vultures or as intimate and personal as Out of the Shadow, the straight up rock songs have never been better and the musicianship has never been sharper.
  10. Huh?
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    What's with the low scores, guys? This is a very solid album once you get used to it.
  11. JaredW.
    Sep 23, 2007
    3
    Lacks soul.
  12. Scott
    Sep 22, 2007
    5
    Not as great as "Descended Like Vultures."
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Asleep at Heaven's Gate isn't a bad record, it's an unnecessary one and there's really no excuse for that.
  2. Its third and most ambitious release. 'Asleep' is notable for its beefed-up instrumentation and an overall darker tone than its predecessors.
  3. The problem with Asleep at Heaven's Gate is that the second half isn't nearly as strong as the first.