• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jun 17, 2008
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    7
    7.5/10
    If you want to be overcome with a feeling of strangeness. This album may be for you. With high points in a few songs of the album, At Mount Zoomer provides great harmonies, hooks you never thought you would hear, however, it is covered up in the mud. At Mount Zoomer shoots a little bit above what Wolf Parade was ready for. I commend the band for the effort, and it shows through on
    7.5/10
    If you want to be overcome with a feeling of strangeness. This album may be for you. With high points in a few songs of the album, At Mount Zoomer provides great harmonies, hooks you never thought you would hear, however, it is covered up in the mud. At Mount Zoomer shoots a little bit above what Wolf Parade was ready for. I commend the band for the effort, and it shows through on tracks like the soldier's grin, language city, and an animal in your care. However the songs just don
    Collapse
  2. Drew
    Aug 10, 2009
    9
    A bit of a grower. Not as immediately catching as Apologies but still an incredible record after a few listens. Can't wait for another Wolf Parade record!
  3. JayK
    May 22, 2009
    5
    Zoomer has none of the power and intensity of Apologies to the Queen Mary. There are some nice tracks (Fine Young Cannibals), but I was mostly disappointed. I don't know if its a product of the songwriting, the recording or the mixing, but it sounded flat to me.
  4. JackC.
    Jan 18, 2009
    10
    This album is excellent. In fact, it is the most satisfying record I have heard in a while. Every song is awesome. Listen to this.
  5. VitoV.
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    Great record.
  6. JosephE
    Sep 4, 2008
    9
    At first I was a bit disappointed, but I didn't jump into any conclusions, now after a few months, this album has proven itself to me. y000 at mount zoomer 4 real.
  7. GuyH
    Jul 16, 2008
    6
    I have listened to this album at least 20 times and I have to report that this album registers as the first major disappointment of the year
  8. MarkS.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    Who would have thought that being a 48-year-old post-punk newcomer as of the beginning of this scary decade as far as I can remember would eventually yield a gem that is "At Mount Zoomer," and I guess I need to revisit the Bowie catalogue, or just appreciate the fact that he seems to be one of the important Gods in my religion.
  9. NickR
    Jul 5, 2008
    9
    Don't kill me for saying this, but Mount Zoomer does, in fact, reach the heights of Apologies. The taut pop-song structure on their first album contained the perhaps more cohesive songwriting -- here it runs free, wilder and more wolfish. It's the energy and life, though, behind all the histrionics which makes Kissing the Beehive the album's climax as opposed to a throwaway Don't kill me for saying this, but Mount Zoomer does, in fact, reach the heights of Apologies. The taut pop-song structure on their first album contained the perhaps more cohesive songwriting -- here it runs free, wilder and more wolfish. It's the energy and life, though, behind all the histrionics which makes Kissing the Beehive the album's climax as opposed to a throwaway bit of self-indulgence. Expand
  10. Anonymous
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    Its so hard to follow apologies to the queen mary. however, wolf parade does with another soon to be classic. kissing the beehive is all 11 minutes.
  11. EddyT.
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Apologies is still the better album- there's no equivalent on Mount Zoomer to Shine a Light or I'll Believe in Anything, but damn, At Mount Zoomer is still impressive, especially tracks like California Dreamer, An Animal in Your Case and the sprawling and surprising epic that is Kissing the Beehive.
  12. MarcZ.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    They've developed their style a bit more on the second LP. I loved the second half of the first album, and At Mount Zoomer is full of songs that remind me of it.
  13. NickF.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    Wow This band can't get any better. They are already at their peak with their second, or maybe not, maybe it gets even better. All I can say is wow
  14. ColinG.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    One of, if not the best, album of the year. There are truly inspired hooks in each song and a real sense that this band put a lot of effort, songwriting and production, into this release. I have a particular soft spot for concept albums, as I think it shows a real greatness to write consistently good songs about related topics and throw them onto an album that actually works. This one One of, if not the best, album of the year. There are truly inspired hooks in each song and a real sense that this band put a lot of effort, songwriting and production, into this release. I have a particular soft spot for concept albums, as I think it shows a real greatness to write consistently good songs about related topics and throw them onto an album that actually works. This one works very well. It's amazing to me that they've found such a wonderful balance with their own instrumentation. The high piano lines and jangly guitars from their previous album stand here unobtrusive and completely relevant, often complimenting one another in a way that makes you not think about them too much, which is, in my opinion, the way it should be. My only issue with it is the Bowie conjuring on "An Animal in Your Care" (not that I dislike Bowie, but it's an obvious rip-off), but that is quickly overshadowed by the fabulous second-half of that song. A++! Expand
  15. RobertD
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    this is an insanely addictive piece of work. what i love most is in 'language city'. happy music contrasting boeckners voice is beyond amazing. they will always be my favorite.
  16. AlexA
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    Brilliant album, quite different from Apologies, but the first 6 tracks are all excellent, especially California Dreamer, Call It A Ritual, and Soldiers Grin. Spencer Krug is again successful, he never seems to fail.
  17. ElwinR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    Excellent album, deeper and more of a growing album than their debut. Includes three instant classic 6+ songs. California Dreamer, Fine Young Cannibals and Kissing The Beahive (favourite WP song of mine) A rightly deserved 9! Spencer is a genius.
  18. seano
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    I can't stop playing this one and will never tire of it either. It's quite different to "Apologies to the Queen Mary," which I still love and I really like their progression on this sophomore effort.
  19. BrianH
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    It's just your average amazing Spencer Krug Album. I couldn't love Sunset Rubdown or Wolf Parade more so I am bias... but it's really easy to pass this album on to virgin ears and get an extremely positive response. Buy anything and everything Dan and Spencer do and enjoy your life that much more!
  20. WeTigers
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    Remarkable. I should have known better than to be worried about the sophomore slump. This sounds more cohesive than 'Apologies' and really draws out some great harmonies and deceptively complex instrumentation. The first half of the album will sound familiar to fans, and the second ventures out and out, ending in probably the least self-indulgent 11-minute track I can recall Remarkable. I should have known better than to be worried about the sophomore slump. This sounds more cohesive than 'Apologies' and really draws out some great harmonies and deceptively complex instrumentation. The first half of the album will sound familiar to fans, and the second ventures out and out, ending in probably the least self-indulgent 11-minute track I can recall (that's a good thing). Strong contender for album of the year. Expand
  21. TianneJ
    Jun 18, 2008
    7
    Quite tedious to listen to, honestly. Not a band album by any means. It just tends to drag on and on. In reality, this would get a 7.5, but a 7 will have to do.
  22. kdevilh
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    I think it's more of a 9.5. It really is an amazing listen. I enjoy it more than Apologies... in that this record refines some of their strengths, but still travels into some areas that may be out of their comfort zone yet ultimately successful. Dan Boeckner is a song-writing giant and paired with Spencer Krug they're the perfect tonic for what ails you.
  23. JohnS
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    I love every negative review of this album: "it's not as accessible as Apologies...", "it's too hard..." "why doesn't it sound like Apologies".. Stellar album, if you'd only take the time....
  24. WinB.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    Improves upon everything we all loved about Apologies to the Queen Mary. Pay no mind to the lackluster Pitchfork score, Amanda P. is out of touch and clearly didn't listen to the last 1/3 of the album enough to form a credible opinion. Best album of '08 thus far.
  25. mikec
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    Not as great as the debut, but still solid
  26. ChrisM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    Remember when you first got into music and you started discovering bands like Television and wondered how cool it would have been to be apart of a movement where music like that was being played in clubs. Well, this then, might be your album. Someday a kid in the mid twenties of the year 2000 will be going through his dad's hard drive, stumble across this and be forever changed. Enjoy.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. All in all, At Mount Zoomer is a remarkable achievement, and another soon-to-be classic from Wolf Parade.
  2. Sure, you can kind of tell--except for the finale--they each sing four songs and their styles are unmistakable; however, they result in one tight, unified, startling beast of an album--it’s downright astonishing.
  3. At Mount Zoomer is interesting and focused, but safe.