Atlas - Parkway Drive
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    There are some minor additions to the band's sound like some symphonic elements, female vocals and scratches in one song, but mostly this is the typical Parkway Drive melodic metalcore sound. So this could be a huge plus for the fans, because the band keeps their style, but also It can be a minus for the others, because the band do not evolve much from album to album.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    Felt rather disappointing by this album, need a lot more verification between tracks, Every track felt like a copy from the album Deep Blue, probably the worst album from parkway drive, but still a fun album with a few great songs, Meh is the final verdict
  3. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    Parkway Drive are one of my favourite bands, and being an Aussie myself, i can't help but feel some pride. Their latest release Atlas in my opinion was quite good, it took what made Deep Blue great and made it better, but also taking from Horizons to keep older fans happy. The result was a great album, to which all the songs are above average. Without going into to much detail fans of the band will greatly enjoy this album, essentially being more Parkway Drive, while casual listeners may find this more of the same, which isn't necessarily bad thing. Standout tracks include "Wild eyes", "Dark Days", "The River", and "The Blue and the Grey". The instrumentation is still great, and overall this is my favourite parkway album, because in my opinion it took what i loved most from Deep Blue and Horizons. Definitely give this album a go. Collapse
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best metalcore bands brings out the best of them. An engaging album from the first track to the last. A must listen for any metalhead. My personal favourites being 'Dark Days', 'The River', 'Atlas' and 'Swing'.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    Atlas is a perfect return to form for Parkway Drive.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    Another dicey sell for the moshers probably happier to indulge in the record's belligerent breakdowns and build-ups. [Dec 2012, p.109]
  3. 90
    Cohesive and engaging throughout, this is the sound of a band at their most fearless. [Nov 2012, p.92]