Back to Love - Anthony Hamilton
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    That Back to Love is not a major shake-up is not a bad thing. Most of the songs are instantly ingratiating in some way, with none of the lighter, upbeat numbers the least bit out of character.
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    80
    The smooth-groove classicism here is just part of Hamilton's mature command of the form, with none of neo-soul's studied Afro-Sheen patina.
  3. 91
    Back to Love is as solid as any of his previous six albums, but its high points are the three tunes ­co-produced by Babyface.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    Hamilton neither chases trends nor makes fetish of retro sounds and influences. Instead, he finds powerful common ground between vintage influences and modern production.
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    88
    On Back to Love, Hamilton splits the difference and delivers a carefully calculated amalgam of soulful rawness, after hours sophistication and pop sheen that feels far more organic than it has any right to.
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    60
    There could be some discomfort initially, but it's equally likely R&B fans who give Back to Love a shot will soon have it stuck in their rotation, learning to accept the quirks of its lesser tracks and falling more and more for its standouts.
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    70
    In spartan tracks that evoke but never imitate Al Green and Teddy Pendergrass, Hamilton whispers offers of courtly behavior he says would make Oprah jealous.
  8. Dec 16, 2011
    80
    Mixing stately story ballads with Cee-Lo-esque uptempo jams, Back to Love presents songwriting substance as style, and although that might not be flashy, it's mighty refreshing.
  9. Dec 20, 2011
    91
    Where Hamilton's past albums have lured in listeners with their slow, sensual pull, Back To Love grabs them outright with the soul man's punchiest, most immediate batch of songs yet.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    5
    One of the most soulful sounding voices out there today, I love his style. This record was disappointing though and he lost what I used to love about his music. Even the singles/leaks of this album were disappointing to me-but still gave it a listen. Surely a decline from Aint Nobody Worrin and even from The Point of it All. But I am sure the ladies will like the soulful love ballads he has littered this album with. Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    0
    Garbage of the highest order. The acting is poor, production sloppy and I think the casting is completely bizarre,. I would rather sit in a dentists chair all afternoon that sit through this shameless farce. Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2011
    8
    I got into Anthony Hamilton with "Ain't Nobody Worryin'," which has made it difficult for follow ups, plus "Comin' From Where I'm From" to live up, but this is an excellent new set. Stronger than "The Point of It All" this record is loaded with medium to strong hooks draped in beautiful harmonies and textures with heartfelt lyrics delivered sincerely and soulfully. Lovin' it. I recommend the Deluxe version; the four additional tracks are as strong as the strongest material on the normal version. Full Review »