Bang Bang Rock & Roll

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 80
  2. Negative: 12 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    A strong, exciting, varied debut which has sadly overshadowed most of their work since. Art Brut's first album still sounds as exciting today as it did when I first heard it. They were the best band in Britain in 2005 and this album deserves more recognition.
  2. JustHipper
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    Just how great is it to finally get a band who can see the whole idiocy in rock n roll and fan worship? The irony and sarcasm are hilarious and "My Little Brother" reminds me of being 21 and deluded again.
  3. dan
    May 30, 2006
    7
    Pitchfork Syndrome, I'm afraid. Music critics who want to be rock stars love the idea of rock stars who want to be music critics. That said, it is quite entertaining.
  4. MikeH.
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    If you think this bad is "stupid" its probably because you're not in on the joke. Most of Art Brut's lyrics are playing off the pretentousness of the punk/indie scene. Even songs that aren't exclicitly about it often still parody it through sheer literalism. The Strokes would certainly not write a song about their own sexual dysfunction, for instance because they are trying If you think this bad is "stupid" its probably because you're not in on the joke. Most of Art Brut's lyrics are playing off the pretentousness of the punk/indie scene. Even songs that aren't exclicitly about it often still parody it through sheer literalism. The Strokes would certainly not write a song about their own sexual dysfunction, for instance because they are trying to maintain some sort of "Rock God" persona. Expand
  5. chuchu
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    anon, the lyric is 'popular culture _no longer_ applies to me' big difference - it's not about not feeling superior or smug - he is talking about reading the nme for the first time in a while and feeling completely alienated. Check the lyrics - Eddy Argos is more Tony Hancock than Jarvis Cocker.
  6. AdamB
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    One of the albums of the year
  7. AlexB
    Aug 2, 2005
    8
    Solid album over-all, much more than '2 singles' in any case. Moreover, it contains the best single ever concerning erectile disfunction, which is a subject close to my... heart.
  8. Drew
    Mar 13, 2006
    8
    Really catchy and it continues to grow on you-
  9. Nick
    Mar 2, 2006
    8
    A good album.
  10. marks
    Apr 20, 2006
    8
    [...] Although genuinely hilarious, Art Brut's Eddie Argos doesn't summon Mark E Smith as proclaimed by the English music press (for those keeping track that would be, for better or worse, LCD Soundsystem's ubergeek James Murphy). [....] Mark my words, dear readers: when Bang Bang Rock and Roll hits stateside next month, they'll be the latest and greatest kids in the [...] Although genuinely hilarious, Art Brut's Eddie Argos doesn't summon Mark E Smith as proclaimed by the English music press (for those keeping track that would be, for better or worse, LCD Soundsystem's ubergeek James Murphy). [....] Mark my words, dear readers: when Bang Bang Rock and Roll hits stateside next month, they'll be the latest and greatest kids in the Futureheads/Franz Ferdinand/Bloc Party/Arctic Monkeys new new-wave invasion [...] in fact with this release, Art Brut out-wit, out-punk, and out-Brit any of the aforementioned. Expand
  11. Rudiger
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Funny, Smart, Lively and Catchy. An album that will stand the test of time Had me listning to it again and again
  12. Nugget
    Jun 12, 2006
    7
    'Formed A Band', the opening track, is as good a statement of intent as any album in recent memory. "We're going to be the band/ That writes the song/ That makes Israel and Palestine/ Get along", Eddie Argos yelps, and God love us, we believe him too. The (non) attitude is a clever, fresh ploy in a generation of po-faced musicians. They don't care or they care too 'Formed A Band', the opening track, is as good a statement of intent as any album in recent memory. "We're going to be the band/ That writes the song/ That makes Israel and Palestine/ Get along", Eddie Argos yelps, and God love us, we believe him too. The (non) attitude is a clever, fresh ploy in a generation of po-faced musicians. They don't care or they care too much? You decide. Trouble is, these three chord thrashers don't have the choons to stand up to Bloc Party or even the Kaiser Chiefs. It's a lot of fun, but not the sort of thing you'll be playing five years from now. Expand
  13. AnonymousTipoff
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    "You don't get it!"
  14. MikeG
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    A year after this album's initial release, Bang Bang Rock 'n' Roll is already, and surprisingly, a classic. I'm not kidding, because they aren't kidding either.
  15. Carsten
    Dec 22, 2005
    7
    Take the wit (and elements of the singing style) of the streets - and put it to indie-rock. You have Art Brut. An interesting listen even if it's not your thing.
  16. olivere
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    Droll, very droll. And very british, which might explain some of the negative reviews I have seen. The band rock live, and on record manage to do a ramones. Not in style or sound, but in attitude - it is dumb, it is pretentious, it is funny, and you get the true rock'n'roll feeling that they are not going to be trapped by anybody elses fixed ideas of what a proper band should Droll, very droll. And very british, which might explain some of the negative reviews I have seen. The band rock live, and on record manage to do a ramones. Not in style or sound, but in attitude - it is dumb, it is pretentious, it is funny, and you get the true rock'n'roll feeling that they are not going to be trapped by anybody elses fixed ideas of what a proper band should sing about and that they really don't care. He's just talking... to the kids!... Expand
  17. MAGNUSU
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    Finally someone gets it!
  18. JD
    Jun 11, 2005
    7
    [Anonymous], I think you missed the joke mate. It's all very tongue and cheek. The point is that they ARE forced faux-intellectual mumblings. To accuse them of that is to completely missing the point--accusing Sgt Pepper of being "a bit psychedelic," etc. That said, the quality of the album is a bit lacking. While Art Brut do stand out a bit more than the rest of the Maximo Park, [Anonymous], I think you missed the joke mate. It's all very tongue and cheek. The point is that they ARE forced faux-intellectual mumblings. To accuse them of that is to completely missing the point--accusing Sgt Pepper of being "a bit psychedelic," etc. That said, the quality of the album is a bit lacking. While Art Brut do stand out a bit more than the rest of the Maximo Park, Kaiser Chiefs, Killer nonsense, they didn't exactly produce a solid album. Like the others, it's fun for what it is, but anyone putting it on hoping for m ore will be let down. Expand
  19. Bob
    Jun 13, 2005
    8
    If you think Formed a Band is faux-intellectual, nr. anonymous, you may consider picking up yr abc again . Good fun, though.
  20. anniemal
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    ive listened to the album around 100 times already and am currently going on the 101st. so it can't be all that bad, right.
  21. Mike
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    great album!
  22. RobNoxious
    Jan 17, 2006
    9
    I've listened to an awful lot of the post-punk revivalist bands that have sprung up over the past couple of years or so, and a few of them are pretty good, but this lot leave the rest in their wake. There's not a bad track on this album and the lyrics are both clever and funny. I can't understand the reviewers who make a negative point out of comparison with The Fall - are I've listened to an awful lot of the post-punk revivalist bands that have sprung up over the past couple of years or so, and a few of them are pretty good, but this lot leave the rest in their wake. There's not a bad track on this album and the lyrics are both clever and funny. I can't understand the reviewers who make a negative point out of comparison with The Fall - are we not allowed to like both bands? I know who Mark E Smith is, as I have virtually of all of his offical releases, and I can make my own mind up about whether or not I like this album. Can they endure as long as The Fall - highly unlikely - but I'll enjoy them as long as they can produce the goods. Expand
  23. JustSomebody
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    The surprising thing about this album is that I think it's actually improving over time, and I can't really explain why. Initially it was amusing but repetetive, but with each spin the tracks that seemed like throwaways sound better, the tracks that seemed clever still seem clever. There's a comment up here that indicates that the Fall does this kind of metarock, which The surprising thing about this album is that I think it's actually improving over time, and I can't really explain why. Initially it was amusing but repetetive, but with each spin the tracks that seemed like throwaways sound better, the tracks that seemed clever still seem clever. There's a comment up here that indicates that the Fall does this kind of metarock, which means that maybe I should be picking up a Fall album. But I've never heard the Fall, and I've never heard any recent bands that do this kind of commentary, so it seems fresh enough. And if it's not a great album then give it credit for being at least a necessary, one-shot joke that sounds decent. Besides, it's hard to deny that riff at the start of Bad Weekend. Or Emily Kane. Expand
  24. MattH
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    It's hard to believe something this simple could be this good. This album is not only fantastically funny but catchy as well.
  25. GaboS
    May 31, 2006
    8
    Really fun and solid album. The first time I heard these guys (and girl), I wasn't too impressed, but that was mainly because the only song I heard from them was "really bad weekend." Then I got to listen to "my little brother," and then "bad weekend," and I was HOOKED! From there I bought their album and I loved the whole thing (except for bad weekend). The lyrics are so smart and Really fun and solid album. The first time I heard these guys (and girl), I wasn't too impressed, but that was mainly because the only song I heard from them was "really bad weekend." Then I got to listen to "my little brother," and then "bad weekend," and I was HOOKED! From there I bought their album and I loved the whole thing (except for bad weekend). The lyrics are so smart and funny at the same time, every time Argos starts singing, I can't help but to smile. I recommend this album for anyone looking for a band with the likes of The Rakes, The Futureheads, or even Bloc Party. And YES, it WILL grow on you! Expand
  26. seant
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    its an excellent record that draws comparisons to the fall and the buzzcocks. it doesnt hurt that they are pretty much poking fun at all the buzz bands of today either.
  27. RichR
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    I love this band and this record. For me, it's straight out of '77, one of the all time great years for rock 'n roll, and certainly the best of that much-maligned decade. Every song on here shreds. I can see how some people might be annoyed/intimidated by Andy Argos's supreme self-confidence, yes. I mean, how many people have the nerve to completely disrespect the I love this band and this record. For me, it's straight out of '77, one of the all time great years for rock 'n roll, and certainly the best of that much-maligned decade. Every song on here shreds. I can see how some people might be annoyed/intimidated by Andy Argos's supreme self-confidence, yes. I mean, how many people have the nerve to completely disrespect the Velvet Underground, who I love and think are a great band, too, but maybe not quite as influential as some would have us think? Anyone who doesn't like this record is either deaf or seriously addled, or both. I just missed them in my home town, but I bet they blew the roof off. Expand
  28. MattJ
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    Music to enjoy, surely music is there to make you want to dance, laugh, and feel, Emily kane takes everyone back to their first love, hilarious throughout, just thoroughly enjoyable!
  29. NathanB
    Aug 8, 2006
    7
    Catchy
  30. TimE
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    Pretty good! One of the better albums this year. They're awesome live!
  31. SmileyG
    May 26, 2006
    8
    Some of the most up front, in your face, lyrical content your hear all year, and then some... Highlights: Formed a Band, My Little Brother, Bad Weekend
  32. Marc
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    Most of you people are crazy. This is top-shelf stuff.
  33. ToddW
    Nov 1, 2006
    8
    If these guys ever take themselves seriously, we could be looking at another Clash, or at least Sonic Youth. This album is often smart, sometimes funny, and it ROCKS. However, in spots it's a little too cute. And cute doesn't translate well to the ugly masses. The Sheep simply never get it. Popular culture no longer applies to them. Perhaps that's a good thing for the rest If these guys ever take themselves seriously, we could be looking at another Clash, or at least Sonic Youth. This album is often smart, sometimes funny, and it ROCKS. However, in spots it's a little too cute. And cute doesn't translate well to the ugly masses. The Sheep simply never get it. Popular culture no longer applies to them. Perhaps that's a good thing for the rest of us. It would be nice to keep these guys our little secret. However, you would hope that just once, ONCE, the denizens of the dark waters of the Sewerstream would wake up and answer the door when a rcok band like Art Brut come banging. Expand
  34. Rayl
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    Fantastic
  35. JayP
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    It doesn't get any better than this. Best record of the decade.
  36. EricC
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    I can't believe there's a band making music like this. But I'm ecstatic that they are. Some of the bluntest music you'll ever hear (you'll quickly realize this in the first track, which simply celebrates the fact that they formed a band). It may not stick with you too long, but for those first few listens, it's an experience you won't be finding anywhere else.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Spin
    83
    These Brits deconstruct bombast via bombastic guitar riffs. [Jun 2005, p.108]
  2. It all adds up to blatantly catchy, deceptively simple wannabe-clever, can’t-help-but-be-cheeky art-punk.
  3. Mojo
    80
    Every generation needs an Art Brut. [Jun 2005, p.100]