Banks - Paul Banks
Banks Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length solo album for the Interpol frontman is his first under his real name (he released two albums under the name Julian Plenti).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. 83
    He's still an undisputed expert at cannily spinning his joy-divided spiderwebs. [2 Nov 2012, p.68]
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    Banks allows an astonishing texture to flourish without trumping songcraft, as the accoutrements he adds serve to embellish his adroit arrangements.
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    It makes a terrific album, stronger than Interpol's last two, with enough detail in the arrangement to separate Banks and his day job. [Nov 2012, p.95]
  4. 70
    Banks succeeds in channeling the intensity of one man's regrets, ultimately looking outward and searching.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    63
    Even though the album's zany unpredictability can be thrilling, it often feels like Banks is adorning vacant tunes ("Arise Awake," the plodding instrumental "Another Chance") with bells and whistles.
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Banks is a dense (and sometimes prickly) listen that's not immediately accessible, although it rewards those who give it time. [Nov 2012, p.86]
  7. 20
    This solo album is stuffed with aloof, adolescent apocalyptism and self-regard set to lumpy, mechanistic beats and cluttered arrangements.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Filter magazine rating is wrong. It's 81 and not 72. And this lacks NME review and Q magazine review, both 8. This is a great album. The Base, Over My Shoulder, I'll Sue You are thrilling and unpredictable. Arise Awake has a great progressive beat. Young Again has a great outro - so does Summertime Is Coming. Paid for That is scary; Another Chance and Lisbon are great instrumentals. 10/10 for my liking. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Hard to believe anyone would go under 80 for this. When most of pitchfork's top 100 is recycled drivel and brian wilson tribute bands, this album is so listenable. I cant stop listening to it, which is the first album in ages I can say that about. Detractors presumably thought Echo and the Bunnymen were throwaways as well Collapse
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Banks is a fantastically emotional and cohesive album from the Interpol frontman. The simple fact is that this album puts the last two Interpol records to shame. It's atmosphere and lyrical content put it on another level. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    I want so much to love this record because of my love of Banks, Interpol, and the original Julian Plenti record. But where there were faults on the Julian Plenti LP that I would overlook, here it's hard to make excuses for the poorer arrangement when the best songs aren't that great. Where his words were once haunting and surreal, he's become more direct and boring. You can hear that he doesn't care what anyone else thinks- so much so that he's lost touch with aspiring to be something more. If this was his only record he would be forgotten faster than any other indie band coming out of Brooklyn today. Shame on his producer and Matador for not pushing a more talented and capable man. Expand