User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 4 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2010
    0
    Congrats Critics, yet another overrated Album. Unless you are a Hoodrat that can easily mistake a fast food place for a 5 star restaurant then this isnt for you. Not 1 song is beyond mediocre & most are just plain bad. Even her counterpart Keri hilson's album is better & atleast she can hold a half way decent note & a cpl good songs.
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    I love this album. There aren't many misses on this album, and Ciara played to her strengths. Vocally she's not the strongest, but the songs are catchy and memorable anyways. She is finally sticking to her strengths of being a pop singer in a R&B shell. I particularly love "Speechless", "Yeah I Know", and "Turn It Up." I hope that "Turn It Up" is the next single and that Usher does make an appearance on the video. I think this will cement her place with artists like Rihanna, Beyonce, and Katy Perry. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    This wasnt an album i expected to be so good. Definitely one of the surprise packages of the year. This album defines R&B, it has everything you would want from an R&B album. Theres not one song where i felt the need to skip the song and also there are least 5 very very good songs. The album definitely shows the talent she has. Very impressive from Ciara.
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best R&B album of this year. Ciara is pure talent and she is trying to show everybody her skills as an artist. Maybe she doesn't have the big marketing machine than others artists have but her talent will stand for her.
  5. emc
    Dec 18, 2010
    9
    When you have given the album a few listens, you can tell that Ciara has taken her time making it just perfect! It's amazing! You can listen to it all the way through it without skipping any tracks! Only song i'm not so into is Girls Get Your Money, but it's ejoyable though, so i don't have to skip it! To me it's clearly THE ALBUM OF THE YEAR! GO GET IT!(: Favorites: Basic Instinct (U Got Me), Ride featuring Ludacris, Gimmie Dat, Heavy Rotation, Yeah I Know, Speechless, You Can Get It, Turn It Up featuring Usher & Wants For Dinner! Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    6
    It seems that Ciara finaly has a finely produced record filled with boy bashing anthems, guaranteed floor fillers and nice soft ballads. "Basic Instinct" may be better than her 2009 release "Fantasy Ride" but it is definitely not her best work. It's an album worth listening to but it won't keep you interested for long.
  7. Jan 4, 2011
    8
    Loving Ciara's work. This album has multiple good tracks and a few songs that will withstand the fading of tracks off playlists. Ride, Gimme Dat and Turn It Up are tracks worth mentioning. The overall thought to this album is good, but not as impressive as hoped to be for a "come back" as most critics mention her sales (though I loved Fantasy Ride).
  8. May 29, 2011
    10
    It's a terrible shame that Ciara's most critically-acclaimed album is the one that was such a flop that she was dropped from her record label. All the songs are great. My favorite is "You Can Get It".
  9. Aug 14, 2013
    8
    I have listened to better R&B artists, but Ciara put herself near the top with "Basic Instinct", and with songs like "Heavy Rotation" and "Turn It Up", how is this at the bottom?
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    40
    Let's face it, outside of the obvious singles, it's filler town.
  2. 80
    Celebrity, commodity, singer, sex object, cyborg - Ciara just about fuses all of them on Basic Instinct, her fourth studio album.
  3. Dec 14, 2010
    37
    Basic Instinct offers enough android booty bass action to satisfy those who like their rhythms complicated but repetitive and hooks foreseeable from a mile away, but pleasant enough when they arrive.