User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 2 out of 14

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanF
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    This is a great album. If you're looking for in your face Country/Rock tunes like "Young" then you're looking in the wrong place. However if you want a great CD that can instantly take you from your stuffy office to a far off Caribbean island then this is for you.
  2. Lauren
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    I am i huge kenny fan and i will have to admit no, this ablum is not country.....but kenny wasnt trying to make it that way he said it would be an album all about the islands and thats exactly what it is!!!! so for those of you who bought the album and didnt like it because it wasnt country enough dont critisize it you knew what it would be about before you bought it......this album is I am i huge kenny fan and i will have to admit no, this ablum is not country.....but kenny wasnt trying to make it that way he said it would be an album all about the islands and thats exactly what it is!!!! so for those of you who bought the album and didnt like it because it wasnt country enough dont critisize it you knew what it would be about before you bought it......this album is all about kenny connecting with his real fans who wanna get to know him better and the way he lives and feels about life...not for people to critisize all of the work he has done for us.. I love the album and wouldnt change a thing about it! Expand
  3. Kristine
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    I've been a fan for a few years now, and I think this is his best. Because is says so much about Kenny. I love the islands and the rhythm and Kenny captures it so well and he is growing and will become a music icon of the 21st century as Buffet was to the 20th century. I think since he has been going to the islands he has really found himself and is true to himself, which is proof I've been a fan for a few years now, and I think this is his best. Because is says so much about Kenny. I love the islands and the rhythm and Kenny captures it so well and he is growing and will become a music icon of the 21st century as Buffet was to the 20th century. I think since he has been going to the islands he has really found himself and is true to himself, which is proof through his success and his rising popularity in jus the past 2 years. Keep on jammin' Kenny. Expand
  4. alexsupertramp
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    kenny is making his claim for the next Buffet - and a damn fine one at that ... hopefully he decides to continue the trend - perfect island groove and drinking companion.....
  5. JudyO
    Feb 13, 2005
    8
    I really like Kenny Chesney's Be As You Are. The album is exactly what he said it would be "songs about the islands". Nothing more nothing less. He did not go in the studios to make a country album. I think the critcs forget that.
  6. kellys
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    i love his music
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    this cd is my constant companion. It takes me to my happy place when stressed. Way to go Kenny.
  8. donnat
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    i feel like he was in my head when he wrote this album.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. To Chesney's credit, he's as appealing on this set of relaxed tunes as he was on its gleaming, ultra-modern predecessor, and taken together, they are strong proof that he's one of best singers and songwriters working in contemporary country music in the mid-'00s.
  2. Trouble is, Chesney, who wrote or cowrote all 13 tracks, ended up with enough material for only half a record, and then repeated many of his ideas.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    His sun-baked characters... are too lazy to be interesting. [28 Jan 2005, p.85]