BE - Beady Eye
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 9 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    "BE" is an excellent second album by Beady Eye, a step forward to the right direction. The album is a grower and need its time to show its really beauty and quality. With a more mature and modern sound than their debut and a very good production by Dave Sitek, songs find the space and air to breathe and shine. Liam's vocals sound more mature and natural than ever (no effects), sometimes"BE" is an excellent second album by Beady Eye, a step forward to the right direction. The album is a grower and need its time to show its really beauty and quality. With a more mature and modern sound than their debut and a very good production by Dave Sitek, songs find the space and air to breathe and shine. Liam's vocals sound more mature and natural than ever (no effects), sometimes naked and raw and sometimes heavenly sensitive and emotional. “BE” is the work of a band, actually a very good and tight band and for the first time they finally found their own sound and stigma in modern rock era, far away from the Oasis shadows. People should listen it without prejudice and enjoy the music.

    Top tracks: “Flick Of The Finger”, “Start Anew”, “Iz Rite”, “Soul Love”, “Second Bite Of The Apple”.

    Note: It’s funny to say it, but the tracks in the deluxe editions of the album are much better than almost everything in the standard version! (check: “Evil Eye”, “Back After The Break” and “Off At The Next Exit”)
    Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    BE is a grower. Upon 1st listen its a bit underwhelming. I found after a few listens, I started to enjoy the songs more. I don't like tracks 3,6,10. These all seem out of place or lyrically are terrible. I do like: Flick of the Finger, Soul Love, Second Bite of the Apple,I'm just saying,Shine a light, Start Anew. I have the deluxe addition and there are 4 more tunes on that are not bad.BE is a grower. Upon 1st listen its a bit underwhelming. I found after a few listens, I started to enjoy the songs more. I don't like tracks 3,6,10. These all seem out of place or lyrically are terrible. I do like: Flick of the Finger, Soul Love, Second Bite of the Apple,I'm just saying,Shine a light, Start Anew. I have the deluxe addition and there are 4 more tunes on that are not bad. track 15 off at the next exit is good. Overall, its something different,but at the same time doesn't go to far off the cliff. I think is obvious that the brothers Gallagher are both better together musically than apart. That being said, I feel like we still get a few good tunes from them off these solo projects. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Beady Eye with the help of Dave Sitek released a great second album, a modern sounding rock record with some of the most interesting recordings by any oasis member so far.An album that it stands on its own proudly and give us hope for even better things by this band.
  4. Sep 21, 2013
    8
    Months after release I'm still listening to this more than anything else. Great production from Sitek and although some of the songs have at times some iffy lryics the rest of the song usually has a massive hook which transcends them (Second Bite Of The Apple). This is in my opinion the best Gallagher related output since Oasis's Don't Believe The Truth in 2005. The deluxe version includesMonths after release I'm still listening to this more than anything else. Great production from Sitek and although some of the songs have at times some iffy lryics the rest of the song usually has a massive hook which transcends them (Second Bite Of The Apple). This is in my opinion the best Gallagher related output since Oasis's Don't Believe The Truth in 2005. The deluxe version includes the song "Off At The Next Exit" which could have sat nicely with Noel written songs in the quality department. Hope there is enough enthusiasm from the band for album #3. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    Before this review begins, I would like to point out that there will be no comparisons to Noel Gallagher’s album with this one, and for good reason; they are incomparable. Because with this album, Beady Eye have tried to distance themselves from the Oasis sound, whilst still keeping it in their back pocket. After 2011’s blatantly obvious sounding but brilliantly fun “Different Gear”Before this review begins, I would like to point out that there will be no comparisons to Noel Gallagher’s album with this one, and for good reason; they are incomparable. Because with this album, Beady Eye have tried to distance themselves from the Oasis sound, whilst still keeping it in their back pocket. After 2011’s blatantly obvious sounding but brilliantly fun “Different Gear” album the band was ditched by a renowned producer (Steve Lillywhite) and their management (also Noel’s) shortly after. Former Oasis members Liam Gallagher, Andy Bell and Gem Archer knew they couldn’t make the same album with Beady Eye that they did with Oasis; they had to separate their sound.

    The album begins with that exact mindframe; Liam, Andy and Gem’s chorus-less and unique ‘Flick of the Finger’ comes out swinging with swagger but also with brains, as it’s one of the best written songs on the record and maybe the best song they’ve ever written. Then, expecting another bruiser for a second track, listeners might be shocked to hear the slow and slightly dark ‘Soul Love’, which is one of many displays of the talents of TV on the Radio’s Dave Sitek, the producer brought in to inject a bit of experimentation to a band influenced by a strict number of rock bands. Beady Eye are the last group on Earth to be known to use ambience, but it shows up in many places on the record, and more so on the album’s masterpiece bonus tracks. It is an absolute travesty that the beautiful ballads “Off at the Next Exit”, “Evil Eye”, “Back After the Break”, the Monkees-eque “Girls in Uniform” and Bee Gee’s stomper “The World’s Not Set in Stone” were not swapped out for the weaker songs on the album.

    Other than the aforementioned ‘Flick of the Finger’, the real highlights of ‘BE’ are ‘Soon Come Tomorrow’, and ‘Ballroom Figured’, two songs in the same vein, but very well written. On the downside, ‘BE’ suffers from sometimes uninspired and overused songwriting.

    Beady Eye fall back on their Beatles and Stones past with tracks like ‘Face the Crowd’, the very ‘Revolver’ period “Iz Rite” and the hippie feel of ‘Shine A Light’. A few of these tracks work, but they leave you seeing them as almost filler. The first single “The Second Bite of the Apple” has a great Zombies 60’s sound previously unheard from the group, but has appallingly terrible lyrics. Then, falling back even more, Liam starts again with his brother.

    If it wasn’t noticeable with “The Morning Son” on the last record, he comes back with “Don’t Brother Me”, which highlights Noel’s previous success that Liam says he gave him by singing his songs in Oasis, while mentioning his solo success “If I Had a Gun…”. It’s almost sad to see Liam not being able to move on from his brotherly issues. Saying that, Liam’s songs, while simple, get their point across with a less reverbed and more dry and almost angelic delivery from a man who is usually seen as the opposite.

    With “BE”, there are a lot of great moments, but not a lot of great songs. If the goal for Beady Eye was to be experimental and different, I think they slightly succeeded, but not as much as I’d hoped. On this album, Beady Eye sound like a band with an identity crisis; torn by the idea of what they want to be defined by. They should have learned a long time ago that they just need to ‘BE’.
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    It takes a few listens, but this album is worth it. Not to be compared to Oasis/NGHFB purely because it's just too different. I love this album. I really do. You can tell when a song is written by a different member of the band, they all have their own unique writing style. Soul Love (Gallagher) is a powerful yet understated acoustic song which you could compare to I'm Outta Time from DOYSIt takes a few listens, but this album is worth it. Not to be compared to Oasis/NGHFB purely because it's just too different. I love this album. I really do. You can tell when a song is written by a different member of the band, they all have their own unique writing style. Soul Love (Gallagher) is a powerful yet understated acoustic song which you could compare to I'm Outta Time from DOYS if you needed an Oasis comparison. Whereas It's Time to Face The Crowd (Bell) is a more electric guitar heavy song, more comparable to something off of DBTT. It gets the balance of acoustic and electric songs just right. Buy this album and you won't regret it. Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    There is actually something "strange" in this second album, but I can't understand why there are so many awful critics, and I think that it is slightly better than Different Gear.
  8. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    Ok, no its not Oasis, and it IS Oasis, sans Noel. And it is good, Oasis good? Well to answer that you have to ask yourself this question, is Liam trying to be Oasis? If so, he fails. But I tend to think he is not and the music here is evolving into something a little more 21st century, with strong traces of Oasis. I like it very much. My favorite cut is the hypnotic "Second bite ofOk, no its not Oasis, and it IS Oasis, sans Noel. And it is good, Oasis good? Well to answer that you have to ask yourself this question, is Liam trying to be Oasis? If so, he fails. But I tend to think he is not and the music here is evolving into something a little more 21st century, with strong traces of Oasis. I like it very much. My favorite cut is the hypnotic "Second bite of the Apple". Do not think this would have ever been a Oasis cut. The song starts out with a driving drum beat, then morphs into Liam sounding a bit like a Bob Dylan Disciple with a cool indy band behind him, finally the song explodes into a big chorus, not unlike some of the best of Oasis. Definitely worth adding this to your record collection. Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    BE is a magnificent second album, they seem to put in the music what they don't have in songwriting and it works really fine! Great rock album, space rock, psychedelic or whatever you want, that's one of the best "music" albums of 2013
  10. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    Liam Gallagher's career is a bit like a stag weekend. You start off on a Friday night, hell for leather and usually have a cracker of a night (Definitely Maybe) which continues into Saturday morning in the residents bar back in your hotel (What's the Story Morning Glory). After a few hours sleep you wake feeling shook but start on the beer again and all is well on the surface but you knowLiam Gallagher's career is a bit like a stag weekend. You start off on a Friday night, hell for leather and usually have a cracker of a night (Definitely Maybe) which continues into Saturday morning in the residents bar back in your hotel (What's the Story Morning Glory). After a few hours sleep you wake feeling shook but start on the beer again and all is well on the surface but you know deep down your body is dying a death (Be Here Now). At some point on Saturday you may partake in an activity that doesn't involve consuming alcohol, resulting in you starting to crash and may need to either have a sleep or get some food and take a break from the all out partying (Standing on the Shoulders of Giants). You'll have a few beers to get back in the swing of things and start to feel reasonably good again (Heathen Chemistry) and after a few more beers and a few shots your on top of the world again (Don't Believe the Truth). Back to the residents bar for night two - everyone is trying to keep it going but really everyone is physically and mentally tired and people are starting to annoy each other (Dig Out Your Soul). The sensible people take stock, call it a night and wake up broke and depressed but in a reasonable condition to make the journey home and head back to work on Monday. Then you have Liam Gallagher, who decides he'll keep going into Sunday morning even though his own group have hone to bed and he's now teamed up with another party at this stage (Different Gear Still Speeding). Come Sunday afternoon even Liam Gallagher's stamina is struggling and the red bull and vodka comes out and perhaps a few other substances. At this stage the man's brain is all over the shop and he's not quite sure what he's doing or even what he wants to do but he knows he doesn't want the party to stop even though he's starting to feel a bit mellow and reflective by now (BE).

    I enjoyed parts of Beady Eye's first record and have no problem saying so. As an Oasis fan, "Different Gear, Still Speeding" was a poor substitute, but a substitute all the same. On BE the band develop "their sound" ever so slightly, mainly due to the involvement of Dave Sitek. The songs on BE are solid for the most part, well recorded and well performed. "Flick of the Finger" opens the album with a sound that justifies the swagger and is the album's highlight. The album has several other highlights, most notably "Second Bite of the Apple" and "Shine a Light". There are several decent songs that the band/Dave Sitek flog to death ("Soul Love", "Don't Brother Me" spring to mind) and I usually end up skipping with 2 minutes left. The rest of the album ranges between below and above average without every being brilliant. Fans of Oasis will enjoy the album and for me music is all about enjoyment. The album could do with some trimming but with BE, LG and co have done enough to warrant another album.
    Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    60
    Some of the more straightforward rockers show signs of fresh thinking. [Jul 2013, p.97]
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    50
    The fact that BE is patchy, and solid rather than surprising in its best spots, you have to put down to a failure of nerve or drive. It's not Different Gear, Still Shit, but it is nowhere near as exciting as it might have been.
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    70
    It's the album's deft balance between Sitek's freewheeling and darkly ambient aesthetic and the familiar sub-Beatles melodies that make BE a bold leap forward in the mould of Paul Weller's recent psych-inspired reinventions. [Jul 2013, p.71]