• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: May 1, 2007
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LukeM
    May 5, 2007
    8
    The first three tracks are just beautiful. The rest of it loses the Michael Jackson vibe, which is too bad, but it's still solid r&b.
  2. MyUziWeightsATon
    May 3, 2007
    8
    Ne-Yo is one of the onliest RnB artist that STILL make good music,
  3. LenaW
    May 2, 2007
    7
    this album is pretty boring. I had high expectations due to Ne-Yo's debut. there are 4 good tracks on this album. But 4 out of 12 tracks. that's not so good.
  4. LorenT.
    Jul 11, 2007
    1
    This album was hilariously bad. The lyrics predictable, the immature theme the ridiculous disco beat were collectively entertaining. I especially loved the whispering background used to spice up yet another song everyone skips. I had to fight the urge to curl my lip at each subsequent irritating beat- notably "say it" The worst twenty dollars I have ever spent!
  5. JosephA
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    Better than good. "Because of You" steps up everything that made "In My Own Words" a winner. It's more confident, adventurous, and personal with an over abundance of melody and harmony to keep it going strong througout the entire album.
  6. sama
    May 14, 2007
    4
    This was a disappointing follow up to the first cd.
  7. ChrisF
    May 7, 2007
    9
    This album is funky fresh. Neyo has a good voice and every song you can groove to. No he is not MJ or Prince but he doesn't have to be to really enjoy his music and his sound.
  8. KirbyD
    May 7, 2007
    8
    Excellent, although not as immediate as "In My Own Words". Now however I can't stop listening to it. It's loaded with tons of melodic and harmonic hooks. Great follow up.
  9. MikeD
    May 8, 2007
    6
    I'm a huge Ne-Yo fan but this album dissapointed a little bit. Although, I learned to love a few of the songs on "In my own words", I don't know if I'll say that same about this album. Definatley a couple very good tracks though. All in all, not TOO bad, but not as good as the last album..
  10. JeffN.
    May 10, 2007
    10
    What
  11. Jennifer
    May 18, 2007
    6
    I had high hope for this album especially after hearing the first track off the album. Unfortuantely I have to agree with a few others on the page.. I was disappointed. There are a couple of good tracks but this album in no way measures up to, "In My Own Words". It is obvious he is trying to channel Michael and one track is so very reminiscent of Prince. I will pop it in again very soon I had high hope for this album especially after hearing the first track off the album. Unfortuantely I have to agree with a few others on the page.. I was disappointed. There are a couple of good tracks but this album in no way measures up to, "In My Own Words". It is obvious he is trying to channel Michael and one track is so very reminiscent of Prince. I will pop it in again very soon to give it another chance in its entirety. Overall a decent sophmore album but not as great as the first. Expand
  12. KristiW
    May 5, 2007
    5
    I totally agree with Lena W. I only liked 4 out of 12 songs. I was highly disappointed. I think the album was rushed and doesn't remotely compare to "In My Words" (which I LOVED). The production was off and it seems more like an effort to imitate Michael Jackson, Prince, Usher and Donell. The Ne-Yo I highly favored this time last year was lost somewhere among bad production and that I totally agree with Lena W. I only liked 4 out of 12 songs. I was highly disappointed. I think the album was rushed and doesn't remotely compare to "In My Words" (which I LOVED). The production was off and it seems more like an effort to imitate Michael Jackson, Prince, Usher and Donell. The Ne-Yo I highly favored this time last year was lost somewhere among bad production and that sad freestyle by Jay-Z ... I give it a 5 (for average). Collapse
  13. mikes.
    May 8, 2007
    4
    A homosexual that sings love songs for straight people and the pop masses. This album is boring and unlike the Rufus Wainwright newer release that showcase's his openly gay songwriting; neyo album is never honest or believable and the production is seemingly recycled loops from his previous album. Overall an artist with loads of talent but poor production and poor song writing and A homosexual that sings love songs for straight people and the pop masses. This album is boring and unlike the Rufus Wainwright newer release that showcase's his openly gay songwriting; neyo album is never honest or believable and the production is seemingly recycled loops from his previous album. Overall an artist with loads of talent but poor production and poor song writing and structure is equals a bad album this time around Expand
  14. GershwinH.
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    Love the album!Not only do the songs pay tribute to the music legends(MJ & Prince) but their also touch our souls.Tracks like Do You & Make It Work.Because Of You is written beautifully which you cant take away and each song will take you back if you listen to the words.Love this album cant wait for the next
  15. RainR
    May 19, 2007
    7
    "Because of you" is a superb track! I prefer this one more than "So Sick" or "Sexy Love".. it gives a different feel..
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. The album is an unmistakable attempt to channel [Michael] Jackson's early Quncy Jones-helmed LPs--and the effort often pays off beautifully. [27 Apr 2007, p.139]
  2. The album is almost identical to Ne-Yo's promising debut, last year's In My Own Words, but, while it starts off strong with the thumping yet melodic title track, nothing here matches the smooth pop of "So Sick" and "Sexy Love," and there are at least two other young stars out there doing the MJ thing better.
  3. A likable little album.