Because Of You

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Because Of You Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Album #2 for the in-demand singer-songwriter includes duets with Jay-Z and Jennifer Hudson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Because of You might end up being the best R&B album of the year.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    The album is an unmistakable attempt to channel [Michael] Jackson's early Quncy Jones-helmed LPs--and the effort often pays off beautifully. [27 Apr 2007, p.139]
  3. The key to the album's potency and freshness is its differences from In My Own Words.
  4. Blender
    70
    One long, shameless come-on. [Jun 2007, p.107]
  5. It's a little less immediate than the first album, but also takes Ne-Yo's case where it belongs: to the dance floor.
  6. The young songwriter lacks enough artistic weirdness to follow in the deified footsteps of [Michael Jackson] or... Prince.
  7. The album is almost identical to Ne-Yo's promising debut, last year's In My Own Words, but, while it starts off strong with the thumping yet melodic title track, nothing here matches the smooth pop of "So Sick" and "Sexy Love," and there are at least two other young stars out there doing the MJ thing better.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. JeffN.
    May 10, 2007
    10
    What
  2. ChrisF
    May 7, 2007
    9
    This album is funky fresh. Neyo has a good voice and every song you can groove to. No he is not MJ or Prince but he doesn't have to be This album is funky fresh. Neyo has a good voice and every song you can groove to. No he is not MJ or Prince but he doesn't have to be to really enjoy his music and his sound. Expand
  3. KirbyD
    May 7, 2007
    8
    Excellent, although not as immediate as "In My Own Words". Now however I can't stop listening to it. It's loaded with tons of Excellent, although not as immediate as "In My Own Words". Now however I can't stop listening to it. It's loaded with tons of melodic and harmonic hooks. Great follow up. Expand
  4. RainR
    May 19, 2007
    7
    "Because of you" is a superb track! I prefer this one more than "So Sick" or "Sexy Love".. it gives a different feel..
  5. Jennifer
    May 18, 2007
    6
    I had high hope for this album especially after hearing the first track off the album. Unfortuantely I have to agree with a few others on the I had high hope for this album especially after hearing the first track off the album. Unfortuantely I have to agree with a few others on the page.. I was disappointed. There are a couple of good tracks but this album in no way measures up to, "In My Own Words". It is obvious he is trying to channel Michael and one track is so very reminiscent of Prince. I will pop it in again very soon to give it another chance in its entirety. Overall a decent sophmore album but not as great as the first. Expand
  6. KristiW
    May 5, 2007
    5
    I totally agree with Lena W. I only liked 4 out of 12 songs. I was highly disappointed. I think the album was rushed and doesn't I totally agree with Lena W. I only liked 4 out of 12 songs. I was highly disappointed. I think the album was rushed and doesn't remotely compare to "In My Words" (which I LOVED). The production was off and it seems more like an effort to imitate Michael Jackson, Prince, Usher and Donell. The Ne-Yo I highly favored this time last year was lost somewhere among bad production and that sad freestyle by Jay-Z ... I give it a 5 (for average). Expand
  7. LorenT.
    Jul 11, 2007
    1
    This album was hilariously bad. The lyrics predictable, the immature theme the ridiculous disco beat were collectively entertaining. I This album was hilariously bad. The lyrics predictable, the immature theme the ridiculous disco beat were collectively entertaining. I especially loved the whispering background used to spice up yet another song everyone skips. I had to fight the urge to curl my lip at each subsequent irritating beat- notably "say it" The worst twenty dollars I have ever spent! Expand

See all 16 User Reviews