Because Of You Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Album #2 for the in-demand singer-songwriter includes duets with Jay-Z and Jennifer Hudson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Because of You might end up being the best R&B album of the year.
  2. The album is an unmistakable attempt to channel [Michael] Jackson's early Quncy Jones-helmed LPs--and the effort often pays off beautifully. [27 Apr 2007, p.139]
  3. The key to the album's potency and freshness is its differences from In My Own Words.
  4. It's a little less immediate than the first album, but also takes Ne-Yo's case where it belongs: to the dance floor.
  5. A sexy and sweet sophomore release that’s got more love flowing from it than an ‘‘Oprah’’ audience on ‘‘My Favorite Things’’ day.
  6. The young songwriter lacks enough artistic weirdness to follow in the deified footsteps of [Michael Jackson] or... Prince.
  7. The album is almost identical to Ne-Yo's promising debut, last year's In My Own Words, but, while it starts off strong with the thumping yet melodic title track, nothing here matches the smooth pop of "So Sick" and "Sexy Love," and there are at least two other young stars out there doing the MJ thing better.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. JeffN.
    May 10, 2007
    10
    What
  2. ChrisF
    May 7, 2007
    9
    This album is funky fresh. Neyo has a good voice and every song you can groove to. No he is not MJ or Prince but he doesn't have to be to really enjoy his music and his sound. Expand
  3. GershwinH.
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    Love the album!Not only do the songs pay tribute to the music legends(MJ & Prince) but their also touch our souls.Tracks like Do You & Make It Work.Because Of You is written beautifully which you cant take away and each song will take you back if you listen to the words.Love this album cant wait for the next Expand
  4. LenaW
    May 2, 2007
    7
    this album is pretty boring. I had high expectations due to Ne-Yo's debut. there are 4 good tracks on this album. But 4 out of 12 tracks. that's not so good. Expand
  5. RainR
    May 19, 2007
    7
    "Because of you" is a superb track! I prefer this one more than "So Sick" or "Sexy Love".. it gives a different feel..
  6. Jennifer
    May 18, 2007
    6
    I had high hope for this album especially after hearing the first track off the album. Unfortuantely I have to agree with a few others on the page.. I was disappointed. There are a couple of good tracks but this album in no way measures up to, "In My Own Words". It is obvious he is trying to channel Michael and one track is so very reminiscent of Prince. I will pop it in again very soon to give it another chance in its entirety. Overall a decent sophmore album but not as great as the first. Expand
  7. LorenT.
    Jul 11, 2007
    1
    This album was hilariously bad. The lyrics predictable, the immature theme the ridiculous disco beat were collectively entertaining. I especially loved the whispering background used to spice up yet another song everyone skips. I had to fight the urge to curl my lip at each subsequent irritating beat- notably "say it" The worst twenty dollars I have ever spent! Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews