Big Whiskey And The GrooGrux King

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 2, 2009
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 4 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BoP
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    9.5 really, but 10 for rounding purposes. Much like In Rainbows by Radiohead last year, this album is a rebirth for another band that has been around since the mid-nineties. Big Whiskey is contains some of the best song writing has come up with since the Lillywhite Sessions/Busted Stuff on this 13 track offering. This album doesn't play as well as some of their other albums, namely 9.5 really, but 10 for rounding purposes. Much like In Rainbows by Radiohead last year, this album is a rebirth for another band that has been around since the mid-nineties. Big Whiskey is contains some of the best song writing has come up with since the Lillywhite Sessions/Busted Stuff on this 13 track offering. This album doesn't play as well as some of their other albums, namely Busted Stuff, and Before These Crowded Streets; but what it does is both give the listener very listenable material while also challenging them with several different genres and styles. From Spaceman to Baby Blue, it may be the best six song run on an album the band has ever done. I guess the best part about this album is that it seems as though all of these tracks will transfer incredibly well live. Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King is not only a proper tribute to deceased band mate LeRoi Moore (Rest in Peace), but it's an album that works both for long time fans, and those new to Dave Matthews Band. Expand
  2. WilliamP
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Musicianshis is -- as always -- first rate, but the urgency of the message is back. And, it rocks.
  3. SeanRisher
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    The Band did it with this one!
  4. JayS
    Jul 3, 2009
    9
    DMB's last 3 studio albums have all had their high points, but generally speaking, we're disappointing, compared to earlier work. Big Whiskey, with the help of Tim Reynolds, really sets a new standard for the band. The more I listed to it, the more I love it.
  5. BrianC
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    This was their most musically diverse album to date which touched on various styles ranging from a crash-esque ballad to big band. I was impressed by this album and think that the true musical genius of this band made it's way to the surface despite the loss of a beloved member of the band. Truly great tribute.
  6. JohnR
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This is an incredible album that truly commemorates their fallen band member, LeRoi Moore. I am a huge DMB fan and this album has instantly become one of my favorite albums that I throw up in the tear of Crash, Busted Stuff, and Before These Crowded Streets.
  7. JohnM
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    a moving tribute to leroi moore. surely one of the best albums in the DMB catalog. lifting themes and musical styles from early in their career with some of the more dreamy tones of the latter work.
  8. ChrisW
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best album these very talented musicians have put together.
  9. MattH-C
    Jun 9, 2009
    7
    While not quite "Big Three" material (the 3 being "Under the Table and Dreaming," "Crash" & "Before These Crowded Streets," Big Whiskey is akin to Busted Stuff...a solid album with a few "wtf" moments (Funny The Way It Is, for example).
  10. ChrisM
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    This album carries with it an implicit message of love and humanity that makes it the most mature DMB yet.
  11. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    another highly enjoyable album from Dave Matthews Band. this group certainly improves when performing live but this set of songs makes for a nice listen. doesnt really push the envelope much nor does it disappoint
  12. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    I liked this album, though not as good as some older stuff never-the-less it achieves relevance for today. songs through out album are pretty good and diverse. Its cool to know that Dave and the crew minus Leroi are still competent in making good music. Its evident that Dave is just doing all that he has ever known, writing and performing art.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Throughout, the spectre of death rarely recedes, but life--embodied by the proto-DMB revelry of 'Why I Am'--still prevails.
  2. Big Whiskey, though, is a lot like a New Orleans funeral parade--mourning and zest balled into big, brawny music.
  3. 70
    A fond, funky farewell.