Bionic

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2010
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 631 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 631

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    6
    It's ridiculous how she could dedicate the whole thing to her baby. It's all sexed-up and, well, completely ridiculous! But when I said ridiculous, I mean it's crazy in the Gaga-est sense. It could pass on as a great dance album. Dance tunes plus bonus tracks make-up her greatest collection ever. But really, with those yawners in one side of the ship, the audiences are drowning in her sap.It's ridiculous how she could dedicate the whole thing to her baby. It's all sexed-up and, well, completely ridiculous! But when I said ridiculous, I mean it's crazy in the Gaga-est sense. It could pass on as a great dance album. Dance tunes plus bonus tracks make-up her greatest collection ever. But really, with those yawners in one side of the ship, the audiences are drowning in her sap. Bionic should've been a fabulous album, with experimental tracks "Elastic Love", "Bobblehead" and "Birds of Prey" among her most finest achievements. They almost sound like M.I.A. songs. Well, maybe next time she'll learn to balance things up and just make one hellufa pop album. Expand
  2. MidoC
    Jun 15, 2010
    5
    I should be honest with this album .. i only liked 3 of the entire songs Bionic, Woohoo and not myself tonight and all of the otehrs are crap .. she surely can do better that this .. i should also mention that she is a copy cat of madonna and lady GAGA
  3. May 29, 2011
    5
    This album is great! I would say that Christina tried something new for herself, something that really sounds true, and she haven't changed in many ways herself, she found that balance... Along the way, while many others who are now tried in electro-pop. Album multifaceted, each listener will find something that will be liked.
  4. Jul 18, 2011
    5
    With no doubt, the worst of Aguilera's 4 albums. There are good songs indeed, like "Bionic", but the way she distinguishes herself as this unbelievably inappropriate slut in the album is not favorable at all. She tried a new genre, that's good, but she did it the wrong way. Christina seems to think that showing off her vocal ability is always good for her. But if you really think about it,With no doubt, the worst of Aguilera's 4 albums. There are good songs indeed, like "Bionic", but the way she distinguishes herself as this unbelievably inappropriate slut in the album is not favorable at all. She tried a new genre, that's good, but she did it the wrong way. Christina seems to think that showing off her vocal ability is always good for her. But if you really think about it, really really not. Yes, her ballads are all popular around the world and are what she's most famous for. Her vocal ability is simply amazing, that is a known fact. Yet she always fails to attract the new generations. All I'm saying is, try singing normally, try to sing something that is more pop and try to make improvements in those songs by using the god-given voice wisely. That ought to make her a music sensation again. Expand
  5. Lucy
    Jun 8, 2010
    4
    Bionic is a complete mess. It is not electronic but it is not pop. It is not r&b but it is not soul either. It's a little bit of everything, and everything is mixed. I get what they wanted for this album, but they failed to accomplish it. Christina said a lot of times that she wanted somenthing futuristic. Then she said the album was going to be short and sweet. Now we have some 19 Bionic is a complete mess. It is not electronic but it is not pop. It is not r&b but it is not soul either. It's a little bit of everything, and everything is mixed. I get what they wanted for this album, but they failed to accomplish it. Christina said a lot of times that she wanted somenthing futuristic. Then she said the album was going to be short and sweet. Now we have some 19 songs that don't match with that statements. There are some good songs, but most of them are credited as "bonus" (Birds Of Prey, Stronger Then Ever and Monday Morning) in the deluxe edition of the album. Expand
  6. PabloM
    Jun 8, 2010
    5
    The album starts with Bionic, giving a certain excitement about what is to come. This first song is quite unique, and I felt it has mixed Christina
  7. Craig
    Jun 8, 2010
    5
    The album is OK, but Christiana is all over the place on this album. The first half reminded me of 80's electronic new wave. Then she went and played several R&B love songs. And she finishes up with several songs that must not have made the Stripped album. There are probably half a dozen good songs on here. There is too much filler, and she inflates the set list with a number of The album is OK, but Christiana is all over the place on this album. The first half reminded me of 80's electronic new wave. Then she went and played several R&B love songs. And she finishes up with several songs that must not have made the Stripped album. There are probably half a dozen good songs on here. There is too much filler, and she inflates the set list with a number of short worthless intros. Expand
  8. LinD
    Jun 11, 2010
    5
    This album was supposed to be the product of Christina's experimentation with different kinds of music. Sadly, it consists mainly of recycled electrobeats and awful lyrics. Some consolation comes from the songs produced by Switch and Ladytron but that's all there is to it. Fans will love it, nobody else will.
  9. SpuddMonkey
    Jun 12, 2010
    4
    HUGE disappointment. Her beautiful voice is wasted and covered up electronically. I could have enjoyed an electronically enhanced pop album but it's all uninspired copycat stuff for at least 90% of the album. Christina could have done so much better than this and has in the past - esp her last album. Stick with the old school style it suits you so much better!
  10. SaschaP.
    Jun 18, 2010
    4
    "Bionic" certainly does have it's moments: "Elastic Love" for example is a great song. However, there's nothing really new or original to be found here. Overall it's a pretty disappointing record.
  11. Nov 17, 2010
    4
    There is no doubt that Christina Aguilera is an incredible singer, but listening to this album you would never know, her voice is cluttered with autotune and electronics that don't suit her vocal style. While her ballads show off her incredible pipes, her uptempo efforts end up drowning her in stuffed, rushed messes. Leave the autotune to Britney.
  12. May 30, 2011
    6
    The album is not that good, however its commercial underperformance is definitely not because of the music, seeing what is doing well right now. "Not Myself Tonight" and "Woohoo" are great tracks.
  13. Feb 8, 2012
    4
    I can't understand how can someone rate this album 10 out of 10. I dare to say this is her worst album. Xtina's magnificent voice and talent have been ruined thanks to a desperate attempt of her label to compete with Lady Gaga. The only things that save this album from being a mess are her voice and some songs such as 'Not Myself Tonight' or 'You Lost Me' -in my opinion, the best song onI can't understand how can someone rate this album 10 out of 10. I dare to say this is her worst album. Xtina's magnificent voice and talent have been ruined thanks to a desperate attempt of her label to compete with Lady Gaga. The only things that save this album from being a mess are her voice and some songs such as 'Not Myself Tonight' or 'You Lost Me' -in my opinion, the best song on the album-. This record is filled with lyrics about sex and doesn't bring anything new or innovative. Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Maybe Xtina just wasn't herself tonight. The good news is that her movie, Burlesque, was a box office hit. The bad news: Bionic was a bigger failure than her awful Star-Spangled Banner Anthem at the Super Bowl last year. I really love Christina since the TRL days, but her success began to fade even more. The "Bionic" album I'm feeling right now is it's missing some of the components thatMaybe Xtina just wasn't herself tonight. The good news is that her movie, Burlesque, was a box office hit. The bad news: Bionic was a bigger failure than her awful Star-Spangled Banner Anthem at the Super Bowl last year. I really love Christina since the TRL days, but her success began to fade even more. The "Bionic" album I'm feeling right now is it's missing some of the components that she forgot and that's why the album failed not only in the U.S., but in international territories. For me, I want the old Christina Aguilera back, the one that she sang her heart out in a Mariah Carey-like voice and performed the crowd something to cheer about. But this album just hurt her music career so badly. Oh well, really getting a bit younger and still got her 1999 album. "Bionic" is one of the worst albums of 2010. Expand
  15. Mar 31, 2013
    6
    Bionic, in my opinion, you REALLY must listen it it. Personally i never listened to it before because it was labelled 'flop' 'worst album ever' etc, but after i gave it a listen, some songs are good and some not so good. Not Myself Tonight being the lead and only sucsessful single is not even the best so by not listening you are missing out on SOME catchy songs. Im only going to tell youBionic, in my opinion, you REALLY must listen it it. Personally i never listened to it before because it was labelled 'flop' 'worst album ever' etc, but after i gave it a listen, some songs are good and some not so good. Not Myself Tonight being the lead and only sucsessful single is not even the best so by not listening you are missing out on SOME catchy songs. Im only going to tell you what songs to listen to because the rest of the albums is awful. First let me start by saying Bionic should've been a single because it is for sure the best song on the album. The first verse might turn you off at first(as i was like what is this?) but if you listen its actually good, and that bridge WOW! The bridge is really good and defiantly the best but of the whole song, the chorus is good to. So now as i've gave a review of one song ill just tell you what else to listen to. So after listening to the whole album i understand this whole 'Futuristic' take on pop and i can say the album will be appriciated in a while, just not right now. I defiantly think the best songs from the album are of course Bionic and the others would be Woo Hoo (Feat. Nicki Minaj), Desnudate, Not Myself Tonight and You Lost Me. There the only acceptable songs but i guess if you like them you could give Elastic Love and Prima Donna a listen there ok. The rest of the album i dislike personally but thats my opinion. So just give those a listen and see what you think Expand
  16. Dec 8, 2013
    6
    Sadly this album struggled through production troubles and demands from her label. There are some extremely good songs here but they get lost with the more 'radio friendly' productions. Download: Bionic, You Lost Me, Birds of Prey.
  17. Nov 29, 2014
    6
    1. Bionic - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    2. Not Myself Tonight - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    3. Woohoo - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰ 4. Elastic Love - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰ 5. Desnudate - ✰✰✰ 6. Love & Glamour - ✰✰ 7. Glam - ✰✰✰✰✰ 8. Prima Donna - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰ 9. Morning Dessert - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰ 10. Sex For Breakfast - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰ 11. Lift Me Up - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰ 12. My Heart - ✰✰ 13. All I Need - ✰✰✰✰ 14. I Am - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰ 15. You Lost Me - ✰✰✰ 16. I Hate Boys -
    1. Bionic - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    2. Not Myself Tonight - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    3. Woohoo - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    4. Elastic Love - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    5. Desnudate - ✰✰✰
    6. Love & Glamour - ✰✰
    7. Glam - ✰✰✰✰✰
    8. Prima Donna - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    9. Morning Dessert - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    10. Sex For Breakfast - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    11. Lift Me Up - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    12. My Heart - ✰✰
    13. All I Need - ✰✰✰✰
    14. I Am - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    15. You Lost Me - ✰✰✰
    16. I Hate Boys - ✰✰✰✰
    17. My Girls - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰
    18. Vanity - ✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰✰

    Nota Final - 6,3

    Enfim, o Bionic não é um album nada ruim, o unico problema foi o excesso de músicas, e muitas delas são desnecessárias. Mas apesar disso, recomendo à quem gosta de Pop misturado com Eletro!
    Expand
  18. Dec 17, 2014
    6
    This album it's a mess. The tracklist, the vocals, the concept and the tracks are a mess and all over the place. There are a lot of great songs on this record, but they don't work together. Bionic sounds like 3 different albuns in one, maybe that's why it flopped so hard.
  19. Dec 29, 2014
    5
    It isn't always easy to transcend along with the ever changing music industry. The industry constantly changes - along with every new sound. Aguilera gives her take on 2010 - occasionally successfully, but still missing the mark. Nevertheless, a career highlight from 'You Lost Me.'
  20. Aug 31, 2016
    6
    It is not her best album or her worst either. Christina Aguilera comes with Bionic after a few years out of the industry and just didn't get what she wanted. it has good songs actually, like the lead single or "You Lost Me", but it misses something more catchy or well done. It is not an "ahead of his time" album, it was just not what we exactly wanted.
  21. Nov 4, 2016
    6
    Bionic Christina cheap work compared with its other work. But I still do this album, although it has brought the overall sound. Elastic Love, Glam, I Hane Boys, Birds of Prey one of my favorite songs of Christina.
  22. Feb 13, 2017
    4
    É um bom album, porem é o pior trabalho da X, tem musicas otimas como Desnudate, You Lost Me, Glam, mas esse album é muito cheio de filler e cansa, o album não é ruim, mas tambem nao é bom, Back To Basics Stripped, Lotus, Christina Aguilera continuam melhores
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. As convincing as she attempts to sound, Bionic does nothing to persuade authenticity.
  2. Because she's bold enough to do it her way, Aguilera maintains her reign.
  3. Sure, her voice remains full, brash, and loud. But ultimately, so much of what passes for hedonism on Bionic feels synthetic and compulsory.