User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. hy
    May 7, 2006
    10
    stop hattin --- it's the same old mobb it's tight
  2. BenT
    May 5, 2006
    2
    give up, you had your time in the mid-90's, now you suck.
  3. grtgh
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    ggg-unit
  4. ajh
    May 4, 2006
    7
    It's not classic Mobb, but I'll still take it. At least it's less boring than their last two albums. The quote by E! Onilne confuses me. "...a disappointing lyrical turn that celebrates monotonous Detroit staples like guns, cash and bumps." Do they actually think Mobb Deep is from Detroit or are they just calling out the city for being violent? If it's the former, then It's not classic Mobb, but I'll still take it. At least it's less boring than their last two albums. The quote by E! Onilne confuses me. "...a disappointing lyrical turn that celebrates monotonous Detroit staples like guns, cash and bumps." Do they actually think Mobb Deep is from Detroit or are they just calling out the city for being violent? If it's the former, then that review loses all credibility it could have had. I guess it's not like I'd ever look to E! for hip-hop knowledge anyway, but at least they could do a little research. Expand
  5. seanbellb
    May 3, 2006
    0
    plain garbage g-------unot
  6. leem
    May 9, 2006
    8
    this is not there best work better than there last two albums. it's there most diverse album to date 50 cent took them out of there element but still kept it hood on this cd the only song that stood out was the joint with mary and that their homies are no where on this cd where is big noyd? the 2 best songs are track 7 and the song called the infoumous+ I liked how they flpped the this is not there best work better than there last two albums. it's there most diverse album to date 50 cent took them out of there element but still kept it hood on this cd the only song that stood out was the joint with mary and that their homies are no where on this cd where is big noyd? the 2 best songs are track 7 and the song called the infoumous+ I liked how they flpped the knight rider beat into somthing else as well. Expand
  7. dd
    May 2, 2006
    10
    this album is there best
  8. razec
    May 24, 2006
    9
    i dont care wat any review says bout dis album,i think it's a great effort.Plus ppl r sayin they should go 2 their old style,y?i dont want old,i want NEW!fuk if everybody was thinkin like dat then everybody woul;dve told SNOOP to fuk off long time aggo since his recent albums werent like doggystyle.But hey life goes on...snoop made drop it liek its hot,and mobb made put em in they i dont care wat any review says bout dis album,i think it's a great effort.Plus ppl r sayin they should go 2 their old style,y?i dont want old,i want NEW!fuk if everybody was thinkin like dat then everybody woul;dve told SNOOP to fuk off long time aggo since his recent albums werent like doggystyle.But hey life goes on...snoop made drop it liek its hot,and mobb made put em in they place.cmon everybody knows dat trak is good and very uncommercial,strictly for hip hop heads.theres no pop involved,plus the only reason a song 'give it to me' was put on was coz of ppl's positive response from 'outta control' which even had 50 ON IT!ppl are just hatin,its blatant,its not bout da music anymore,plus i like clubb mobb,they got da voice,they got da beats,they got da gangster image(apart from p's embarassment from sumemr jam).cmon ppl ya know dam well game was on da 'change of heart' show and has a pussy ass butterfly,we all knwo dat but we all say hes gangsta(dont get me wrong,im gettin game's album,ill get everythin,i dun hate,i listen,i start listenin 2 music wit an empty head,dat means everythin i heard bout da joint i forget).look ppl judge da music first,look at da album,its far from commercial,look at masSACRE,apart from sum radio tracks,its dark as hell wit joints like 'in my hood','ski mask way' 'guns come out' (which by da way is darker than any song on get rich or die album)and etc.mobb deep has become clubb and i luv it,they sound great,i was expectin dem to drop joints like 'got it twisted' and they did,50 came thru,much love to da duo,they have earned their right to sound good and be clubb.this album's highlights are 'daydreamin' ,'stole somethin','put em in they place','infamous', and of course capital p,capital h'.Not to mention dat i can listen to dis album from beginnin to end. over and over and over and over againIt grows on u like weed.its da best way 2 sum it up.The last album i had wit dat kinda feature was 'get rich or die tryin' and straight outta cashville'.i think g unit is far from gone,in fact they have just started,im so glad dat da album sold only 100,000 copies in da 1st week coz it just proves dat da mobb hasnt changed in one bit,they never went commercial,plz dont buy in to haters,read da xxl review it gives an unbiased view,haters wanted 2 get mobb off da platinum status and they succeeded and dat wont change da fact dat dis is one of da best and smoothest albums they made.they never commercial its just they wont go platinum but so many peeps will hear dis album thru da net.ENJOY! Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    May 3, 2006
    10
    The album is great!
  10. TarikT
    Jul 28, 2006
    6
    I'll be honest, I'm a huge Mobb Deep fan, I bought this album the day it came out. The Infamous and Hell on Earth are among my two favorite albums of all time. However, this is not the same Mobb Deep. There is one mediocre concept song (In Love with Mullah) and that is it. No amazing story telling and Prodigy is hardly ryhming on this album. In fact now he's sounding like a I'll be honest, I'm a huge Mobb Deep fan, I bought this album the day it came out. The Infamous and Hell on Earth are among my two favorite albums of all time. However, this is not the same Mobb Deep. There is one mediocre concept song (In Love with Mullah) and that is it. No amazing story telling and Prodigy is hardly ryhming on this album. In fact now he's sounding like a weak immitation of 50 cent. The production on the album is alright, I just hope the next album turns out to be better, I will still buy what they put out no matter what though. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Mobb Deep often sounds like a guest at its own party.
  2. The New York Times
    30
    Most of this album is startlingly uninspired; no-frills rhymes were once this duo's main weapon; now they are its main liability. [1 May 2006]
  3. The duo's seventh album sees an invasion of unnecessary guest stars, such as Lloyd Banks and Yayo, and a disappointing lyrical turn that celebrates monotonous Detroit staples like guns, cash and bumps.