Blunderbuss - Jack White
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 135

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    The most important thing to remember when listening to this album is that it isn't a debut. It's his 12th, and the new-found maturity helps it sticks right up there with the best of what he's done before. This album is some of the best music to come out of anywhere recently, and has the strongest shout for album of the year so far.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    It's not the White Stripes, it's not the Raconteurs, it's not the Dead Weather. It's a strange, creative, and very emotional blend of all of White's collective sounds that has echoes of old-school blues, garage rock, and even some folk. The album never gets repetitive, features lyrics that express the thoughts of a man that sometimes feels that people want him to do things that he doesn't want to do, and features some screeching Jack White style guitar licks just when they're needed. The album isn't an extreme of anything, and nothing all that new is done, but the way the sounds blend together create a very strong experience of an album, with a few stellar songs, that is a great way to mark the beginning to what I hope will be a very long solo career. Collapse
  3. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    There's a reason this album and the song 21 century were nominated as both best album and best song of the year at the Grammy's Jack white completely stole the show outperforming every single musician on stage that night. We're talking about giving a live performance on television that's better than every single musician that we could possibly think of giving an Grammy's to.

    All around
    this album is a 11/10 for me. One of the best album's I've heard in my entire life. Expand
  4. May 6, 2012
    9
    A fun and emotional ride from Jack White's first solo album "Blunderbuss." With high energy and confidence, White doesn't only pour his soul out, he let's the listener feel the energy through his words and powerful songs. Already anticipating the sophomore album. P.S. congrats to Jack White on landing the #1 spot on Billboard 200 with "Blunderbuss."
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    This album works in every way! Check out the full staff review at Manik Music's site http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/jack-white-blunderbuss/

    Blunderbuss is everything I wanted it to be, everything it needed to be. Itâ
  6. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Jack White isn't just The White Stripes, isn't just the Raconteurs, the Dead Weather, or one hell of a producer. This album displays the full breadth of his interest, from the raw rock seen in the early Stripes albums to polished beauty unlike much of what he's put his name on before. He's never been more honest with us in his career, and it pays off on Blunderbuss.
  7. May 26, 2012
    7
    On the "Blunderbuss" - being the first solo album of Jack White, you can observe characteristic to the artist, minimalist experiments known even from The White Stripes. Just bring up the "Freedom At 21" with psychedelic, falsetto vocals or rock'n'roll "I'm Shakin'". Undoubtedly, the great advantage of album are lyrics, and a large variety of arrangements. Fans of previous recordings of the artist should not feel disappointed for the "Blunderbuss" is worth listening. Expand
  8. May 25, 2012
    10
    Jack White combines often times harsh and personal lyrics with joyous bluesy, folk rock melodies to create one of the best debuts in a long time and (so far) the best album of 2012.
  9. May 24, 2012
    9
    This is a marvelous return to form by a masterful songwriter, guitarist and singer. There are a number of stunning 5 star tracks here including the title track, the first two singles the superfun retro-blueser I'm Shakin, Poor Boy and the GORgeous Hypocritical Kiss. A wonderful reminder that rock 'n' roll will never die.
  10. Apr 27, 2012
    9
    I am taking Jack White more seriously - as I listen to his first solo album - than I had with the White Stripes or any of his other projects (sans Loretta Lynn - that was classic), and I am loving what I hear both musically and lyrically. This is the Jack White album I have been waiting 10 years for!!!
  11. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    Jack White has never failed in anything he's ever done, and Blunderbuss is no exception. This might not be as good as The White Stripes' Elephant nor White Blood Cells but it's better than his side projects The Dead Weather and The Raconteurs. The first five tracks are among some of the best songs Jack White has ever written. White's lyrics are top notch. He sings of broken relationships with such ease. This is his most mature project to date and if this is the Jack White we're gonna get from now on, I can forgive The White Stripes for breaking up. Maybe. B+ Expand
  12. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    In no way is this album cohesive, but that's what makes it great. Sounds ranging from rock to blues to alt country. Great use of keys and head shaking guitar riffs. This album will grow on you the more you listen to it as White's very personal and catchy songwriting is displayed. Can't wait to see this live as he is one of the great stage performers of our generation.
  13. Apr 25, 2012
    5
    This album was quite disappointing. I know that this album was something other then what he did in The White Stripes, The Raconteurs, and The Dead Weather, but the thing is that it's just not Jack. It seems like he's trying too hard to e something different. There are some songs that are really good like "Love Interruption", "Missing Pieces", and "Sixteen Saltines", but the rest are all kind of stale to me. He wants to be this old style blues musician so badly that his desperation is showing. Like I said the lyrics are good, but with his guitar skills and the subject matter you would think this album would be heavier and a slap to the face of all the White Stripe albums out there. I like the fact he wanted to try something different but he's out of his comfort zone on this one, hopefully he goes back to make something a little more heavier. Expand
  14. May 25, 2012
    6
    I was very excited when the first single for this album was unveiled and it made me look forward to this album a great deal. After hearing this album a few times, I can say that I am somewhat disappointed with the end result. While the first half of Blunderbuss is a great listen, I feel that the songs on the second half of the album aren't as memorable. I was also disappointed in this album's running time as it doesn't even clock in at 40 minutes. Not a bad record, and fans of Jack White's work should give it a listen, but it's hard not to call this album out on playing it safe. Expand
  15. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Oh Jack White I do feel for you. This is certainly one way of getting over a broken-down relationship, releasing a whole album on the matter. Adele did it with her brilliant "21", and Jack White trumps her attempt with his outstanding debut solo album "Blunderbuss". As usual both music and lyrics are fantastic. The music is very well written and really quite varied. From the Lennon-esque "Trash Tongue Talker", to the heavy riff driven "Sixteen Saltines", to the Andrew LLoyd Webber Musical sounding "On and On and On". The lyrics are really quite heartfelt and convey the real emotions that Jack was feeling - and probably still is feeling as he goes on tour with these songs. Personally, I would have liked to see more of a blues-rock element to this album, but perhaps I should show a tad more empathy to his current situation - these songs have come direct from the heart. Picking highlight tracks is difficult as every song on the album is so god-damn good. If pushed, I'd say the highlights are "Sixteen Saltines", "Freedom at 21", "Love Interruption" and " Hip (eponymous) Poor Boy". Expand
  16. Apr 24, 2012
    8
    This is a rather sketchy first solo album for Jack White. Half of the songs are great, the other half sound just lazy. I do enjoy the instrumentals from him, so that's always inviting. But 80% of the time, the lyrics from Jack feels like it's exactly what he's thinking. There's usually little depth of any of his songs, however as a whole it sounds complete. I was really looking for a lot more hard core songs; like his "Sixteen Saltines" and "Freedom at 21". Those were some of my favorites, but maybe we'll see more of those on his next album. Expand
  17. May 5, 2012
    8
    Even though it's obvious that he is a singer with huge experience, the message about relantionships in this album was the only thing I didn't get. It's like he has forgotten through the musics about this concept. Except this, it's a great recording, and it shows how much White's musical intelligence is imporatant to our broken rock scene. 'Trash Tongue Talker' and 'I Guess I Should Go to Sleep' are the best ones here. Expand
  18. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    I wasn't sure what I wanted from Jack White's first solo record. I'm a bit fan of some of what he's done, while other projects he's been involved in have only half gotten my interest. The White Stripes were a fantastic band and it's where Jack White put out his best work. This doesn't really match that bands best work but is more focused than some of his other side projects. This record has a typical Jack White sound - blues rock, great guitars, the usual vocals, everything on the minimalist side. It has some really good stuff (- the single "Freedom at 21" is fantastic)on it but it's also got some stuff that doesn't really merit it's place on the record. In many ways it reminds me of Noel Gallaghers High Flying Birds record. Not in style or sound but in the fact that it sounds like a collection of his best unused songs over the course of his career, resulting in a good collection of individual tracks that just don't come together exactly right. Still - it's as good as if not better than most other rock records you'll hear this year. Expand
  19. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Amazing album, though the beginning is obviously stronger than the ending, in which the piano, more so than the guitar, takes a central role. Jack White is still amazing at songwriting, and I can't wait to see him as soon as he comes to NY.
  20. May 8, 2012
    10
    Critics be damned; haters be damned.
    Great record; brilliant musician; get it.
    The man's a maverick-does what he wants.
    Does it well too.
    End of story.
  21. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    Rocking, funky, awesome and diverse are just some of the words I can use to describe this awesome album of Jack White's. The album starts out with straight-up, typical rock, and then branches out and explores different ideas, eventually featuring pianos in almost every song you listen to and ditching the normal conventions of bluesy, hard rock- loud riffs, bluesy guitar solos, overdrive, etc. And this is very refreshing. It's great to listen to a rock album that doesn't just consist of generic hard rock songs for the whole album; this album is diverse, satisfying and overall a joy to listen to. Easily one of the highlight albums of 2012, and an album which I very highly recommend. Expand
  22. May 3, 2012
    9
    http://mattneric.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/jack-white-blunderbuss/

    Itâ
  23. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    Sort of fades in and out but as a whole, Blunderbuss is still a good album. If you are a fan of Jack's work then you will love it so do I really need to say any more?
  24. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    Already?! Jack White III of Third Man Records has spent little time hanging around in the last ten years - six White Stripes albums, two with The Raconteurs and two with The Dead Weather... Workaholic much? And now this, his first solo album. Titled Blunderbuss, here we have thirteen songs by just the man himself - no collaborations, no other input at all apart from the highly revered man himself. There's no denying this could be a bad idea; White really is putting his reputation on the line for this one. It's as if he is trying to prove to the world he can be a blues legend like one of the greats he looks up to, all without any help. I have to admit that I was praying Blunderbuss was worthy of a good review before I first listened to it. So here goes... The album eases itself into things with Missing Pieces with its chilled out guitar and vocals. It sounds like a good driving song to me, and the vocal harmonies are definitely reminiscent of some on the second Raconteurs album. The riff is one of the best on the album. Before you know it the fuzzy chant of Sixteen Saltines kicks in. This song is by far the rockiest on the album but wouldn't be able to top anything by The Dead Weather. This is the kind of song that will grow old after a couple of listens for some listeners. I have the feeling this will be a favourite of the album from the majority of the fans but I personally prefer the song after - Freedom 21. Again there's a much more relaxed approach to the third song and it's best described as a sped up version of Missing Pieces. The production feels quite raw as most Jack White is, but because the album is quite mellow, there's a really nice quality to the sound. It's certainly nice to listen to something in this style considering how most of the more mainstream rock music seems to be produced to death these days, mentioning no names....*coughDaveGrohlandhisFooscough*. Love Interpretation comes in at almost nine minutes into Blunderbuss and features a bluesy, souly female voice which blends beautifully with White's... Some might argue it's a slight dirge, and they wouldn't be wrong. I can hear similarities between this and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club but anyway, back to Blunderbuss - Love Interpretation is a song that really sets the mood for the rest of the album and that means bluesy, with unfathomable lyrics. Jack White has put a lot more thought into the lyrics on Blunderbuss than on any other album he's worked on previously, the result being a combination of obscure but emotional verses that contradict each other in an bizarrely delicate way. After a while the pace suddenly picks up once more with I'm Shakin'. Here it is blatantly obvious that Jack White is making no attempt to hide his blues influences. Everything but the, in my honest opinion, rather weak guitar riff is excellent in I'm Shakin' and this feels like some flashback to a sixties night club in Detroit (incidentally JW's hometown). Too bluesy for some I suppose. The purity of Blunderbuss really does shine through in this song with the distorted, angry falsetto cutting through the mix. At this point it's apparent that White's voice has matured since the days of The White Stripes. To conclude the album, the thirteenth song is Take Me With You When You Go, a pleasant song to end a pleasant album. Pleasant. But not groundbreaking. I cant help but feel like there's just something missing from Blunderbuss. Perhaps it's the type of masterpiece that grows on you after half a dozen listens and a longer amount of time. Nevertheless, Blunderbuss is an album worthy of being given at least a couple of listens. Thank you for reading the review, sorry if it's too long for some. Expand
  25. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    To suggest that this album was heavily anticipated by myself, would be the understatement of the century. I have loved the White Stripes since "Elephant", and specifically enjoyed just about everything Jack White has participated in (aside from the occasional ICP collab). My first play through of this record was a bit mystifying and frustrating at times. It just seemed so all over the map with no common thread to the sound. However, on turns 3 and 4, this bad boy came together for one of those truly rare musical epiphanies. When it comes to main stream artists, Jack White is on a level all his own. And this album just furthers that opinion for me. Expand
  26. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    surprising? this album's production is very differnt from other jack white projects, but i would say it's among the best. the best quality of this album is it's diversity--from folky, to vintage jack white garage style, to some songs with a hip-hoppy undertone--it's a mature, objective solo work if nothing else. worth a listen, especially for any of the multitude of white's followers.
  27. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    While the songs are all decent, the album is the least creative i've seen from Jack yet. The album is the kind that can be played in order which some may enjoy but I find repulsive. It is however nice to hear bits of white stripes in there and I have found several of the songs stuck in my head for hours. However, this does not make an album.
  28. May 4, 2012
    10
    I give Blunderbuss a 10 overall fantastic composure, raw soulful vocals fantastic musical arrangements and diversity -every time I listen it keeps getting better esp love sixteen saltines, love interruption and now that I'm looking at the list all the others w the exception of poor boy. Have not been this excited about an artist since jimmy page. Love all of jacks collaborations but I am especially excited about this solo album. Will catch him in NYC and give another raving review . He is a genius I'm very appreciative of this new production Expand
  29. May 7, 2012
    9
    Quite simply... a remarkable attempt at turning poetry of the soul into enjoyable music from the soul that so few truly have achieived. Business as usual for Jack. An energetic & neccesary masterpiece if I do say so myself !!
  30. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    This album is all at once something new and a revisiting of other White classics from the past. It's still blues, it's got the electric guitar, and the piano is as notable an instrument as it has been since Get Behind Me Satan. As a musician, White certainly pays his respects to the legends: "Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy" sounds like it could have been penned by the Beatles; the title track "Blunderbuss" takes clear influence from Dylan's "Isis"; and dominant 7th chords tend to appear generally all over the album, inevitably glossing it over with a classic blues sound. In the end, the only flaw is that some of the lyrics are a little clichéd, some of the lines don't go exactly where they feel like they should, and some of the hooks sound a little forced. However, that being said, this album is a worthy addition to the collection of any White fan, casual or die-hard. Expand
  31. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    I'd always liked Jack more than Meg when The White Stripes still existed. But that doesn't mean I like his solo production more than their music. It could've been better, yet he shows how good he is at writing songs once again (probably best at 'Love Interruption' and 'Sixteen Saltines'). It's one of the best rock albums of the year but that isn't that hard in 2012. His rough style is always a pleasure to hear but I personally think Blunderbuss is overrated. Besides the felicitous lyrics there isn't that much to admire here. Listening to isn't really necessary, yet it's a nice CD. Expand
  32. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this album. It's Jack White finally writing songs again that speak to something, but their arrangements are so goofy at times it makes you wonder if Jack should have someone helping guide his songs. There are a couple songs that capture an energy and feeling of musical vitality, but much of the album is dull. It's clearly not meant to do anything The White Stripes did, which is too bad, but this "strange Jack" doesn't quite carry the influence he could have here. Jack seems to want to make a blues or country blues album, but in some ways can't commit to that; which is a shame, because he should just do that. Expand
  33. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Don't get me wrong, I love my Jacky boy and there are a few solid tracks, but the album seems more like a never ending divorce ballad. I guess I just want to see Jacky happy...and to see The White Stripes together again.
  34. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    It's something different from The White Stripes and the other bands Sir White got in to... It's a great record to enjoy, full of sound and great soul... A good debut solo career breakthrough album by the artist that definitely worth it.
  35. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    After listening the album I prefer to add to my play list
    1.Missing Pieces
    2.Sixteen Saltines
    3.Freedom at 21
    4.Love Interruption
    5.Hypocritical Kiss
    6.Weep Themselves to Sleep
    7.I'm Shakin'
    8.Trash Tongue Talker
    9.Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy
    10.Take Me With You When You Go

    Score: Superb 9/10
  36. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    I don't understand Jack White. I don't see why he's such a legend in rock. I'm not saying this album is bad, but it's just hard to listen to the same simple guitar leads and lyrics. Every once in a while Jack produces a gem, but most of the tracks aren't memorable or fun to listen to. It's just average, in my opinion. Favorite track: Freedom at 21
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    Is White's nonchalant spectrum dabbling [found throughout the album] as interesting as the myriad variables of his own quirky sound? Eh, not quite. [No.88 p.60]
  2. White's nominal solo debut is as striking sonically as any album he's ever authorized.
  3. May 10, 2012
    78
    He's written better songs and told better stories, but Blunderbuss lends rare perspective on a man who generally lets image speak for him.