Body Of Song

  • Record Label: Yep Roc
  • Release Date: Jul 26, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. charlieb
    Aug 1, 2005
    8
    After the disappointing electronic albums (and the ho-hum Dog and Pony Show, lets not forget), this is a true return to form. Certainly the best material he's recorded since the demise of Sugar. Collaborations with Dave Barbe and Fugazi's Brendan Canty may explain why songs such as 'Paralysed' and 'High Fidelity' appear to have more focus than tracks from the After the disappointing electronic albums (and the ho-hum Dog and Pony Show, lets not forget), this is a true return to form. Certainly the best material he's recorded since the demise of Sugar. Collaborations with Dave Barbe and Fugazi's Brendan Canty may explain why songs such as 'Paralysed' and 'High Fidelity' appear to have more focus than tracks from the recent past. And he finally makes a couple of decent ballads, I mean genuine ballads, not whiney 'everything sucks and its all your fault' ballads. If there is a problem, you could argue its the lack of experiment. Vo-coders? Keyboards? As far as some tracks go that's about it. But if you want to know what the band that takes over Foo Fighters in five years time sounds like, you could do worse than listen to this. Expand
  2. BarryS
    Aug 4, 2005
    8
    Great playing and ethereal, other worldly production help make this a really outstanding effort for Bob. but, I'm going to have to out him on the disco beats and club mixes on several tunes. Shocking to hear from one of the best, hooky songwriters to rock the 80's and 90's so supremely. But, I'll ignore the few I don't care for too much and relish the rest! And Great playing and ethereal, other worldly production help make this a really outstanding effort for Bob. but, I'm going to have to out him on the disco beats and club mixes on several tunes. Shocking to hear from one of the best, hooky songwriters to rock the 80's and 90's so supremely. But, I'll ignore the few I don't care for too much and relish the rest! And yes, the expanded, double CD version IS worth the extra $$$. It comes in a small black box with some strange photos and stuff w/ the CD's in sleeves & all carefully wrapped in gold felt. Expand
  3. SteveO
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    Not Zen Arcade, not Workbook, not Copper Blue, but is a wonderful survey of all the influences this most perceptive songwriter has at his disposal. One can go song by song and find its place in the impressive Bob catalogue. Quite literally a body of work, not a snapshot of a static moment.
  4. TomHM
    Aug 5, 2005
    7
    Not a lot of new ground, but straightforward and deliberate, with his indestructable melodic sense intact.
  5. CosmoPrelog
    Aug 5, 2005
    8
    Way to go Q Magazine! You have managed to snag the award from Uncut for most pointless music mag on Earth. This is a great record by a true legend of rock music. Can't wait for your next Keane cover story! Blow me Q...
  6. MarkD
    Jul 26, 2005
    6
    A solid-but-unspectacular effort. Like most Bob Mould/Sugar albums, this one has two or three legiitmate keepers, and a little bit of filler.
  7. MikeE
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    I think this is a terrific return to form. Not a homerun but I very solid double. I've listened to it for about two weeks and I'm having trouble finding faults. I think some of the lyrical content is just ok but the songwriting is terrific. Circles, Paralyzed, and Always Tomorrow are the highlights for me.
  8. JeffS
    Aug 2, 2005
    5
    I enjoy his trademark melodic hooks, but it is still too much like Modulate for my tastes.
  9. RobJ
    Jul 27, 2005
    9
    Of his four post-Sugar solo albums, this one is by far the best. I even like the vocoder song.
  10. BlowMe
    Aug 18, 2005
    10
    Anyone who says this is not good needs to have their hearing checked.
  11. danf.
    Feb 11, 2006
    8
    I love it! A very solid, strong and revealing record from Bob. The more I listen to it, the more I like it, and despite the pasage of time, he still finds a way to remain relevant to the alternative music scene. He's great! I love him!
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Blender
    80
    No new fans need apply here, but those who know and love his sound will find that this self-styled career summation, a nod back to late Husker Du with computerized updates, sprouts horns with repeat listens. [Aug 2005, p.112]
  2. Those who enjoy his new approach will like the album, and those who long for his old days of guitar-driven power-pop will find some highlights that prove no matter how old Mould gets, he still is one of the most brilliant musicians and lyricists ever.
  3. Filter
    84
    A welcome return. [#16, p.96]