Body Talk - Robyn
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 104

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    The Body Talk Series was the best thing on the Pop music scene of 2010.What i admire in Robyn is that she can put raw emotions on dance/pop songs, making true music in a genre that's not usually deep.
  2. dub
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Dancefloor-diva-extraordinaire Robyn delivers the goods on this excellent album packed with her sassy signature electro-pop delights: every track is a gem! The bass & synth will delight your earholes and the always-witty lyrics will put a smile on your face. A must-own for lovers of pop- this is pure perfection that can be mixed in with the best of Brit, GaGa or Madge!
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I am a huge fan of Robyn's last cd and did not think that she'd ever be able to duplicate the energy. I'll probably end up liking Body Talk more than her Robyn cd. Body Talk is an amazing listen packed with great song after great song. It's the best album of 2010 in my opinion. You might not agree with that but cannot deny that it's the best dance/pop album of year.
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Potentially THE album of 2010. Singles Dancing On My Own and Hang With Me are electro/pop hits with heart, You Should Know Better brilliantly hosts Snoop's smooth vocals and Stars 4 Ever and Don't **** Tell Me What to Do could kickstart any party. Love Kills and In My Eyes are other highlights of an album encrusted with hits.
  5. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    A stomping pop-electro triumph, detailing the heartbreaking and no **** life of a lonely girl. This pop album may well be the best of the decade.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    A real breath of fresh air and with no ego, no "little monsters wig stock attention seeking" crap - just straight ahead mature dancemusic that hooks you in a heartbeat ... does it matter if the masses love her ... i'd like to treasure her and keep her my little secret ... enjoy and like the lyrics of Dancehall Queen "People all gather around rocking to the beat, the queen will be crowned" !
  7. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Love Body Talk pt 1 and pt 2 and this one one. Love the five extra songs she put on it. One of the best album of the year. I love every song on this album. I can party to this album all night. She is an amazing song writer and good singer. I love her singing style.
  8. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    None of the competitors come even close. This is the pop album of the year: fresh, powerful, emotional, personal, contagious, fun, cybernetic body talk with a human heart.
  9. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    The swedish diva kill this year with her perfect dancefloor music and her praised Body Talk (1,2 & 3)...i found this job better than her previous album...! The first times that i love her music is with Dancehall Queen and then knock me with Dancing On My Own...and the rest of the part 1 was perfect, then her part 2 was awful and sometimes amazing... and much of their songs are for the dancefloor!!! and now the part 3 was amazing...! the best song it's obvious the catchy Call You Girlfriend!
    But when you add all the parties do the best album of the year...!
    Expand
  10. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    A great combonation of song from Body Talk pt. 1 and Body Talk pt. 2 and some new songs. I did not purchase the album only because I already have Body talk pt. 1 and 2, but the new songs are absolutely flawless, like all of Robyn's works, She really has a gift
  11. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album, full of dance pop, bassy beats and smooth grove tunes, liked the "Robyn" album but LOVE body talk, this girl is a musical genius! she deserves all music credit where given.
  12. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Clearly one of the most definitive albums of the decade. The epic pop-tunes flow into one another so easily, its hard to distinguish one stroke of genius from another, and this is certainly not a bad thing what so ever. The whole feel of the album is like nothing before. Its so futuristic and well above its time, from a woman who stands on her own, without a major record label, this is the most solid evidence to prove that she doesn't and never will need it. She is killing it all on her own. Absolutely fantastic, one to go down in history. Expand
  13. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    love, love, love robyn and body talk...she's such a great artist by making music more enjoyable and delivering a great piece of art. i listened to it all day every day.
  14. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Robyn is one of the best artist of the time and this album is the evident clue.
    I loved all the Body Talk series. To me, this is the best album of the year.
  15. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    I just discovered Robyn last year, so had some catching up to do. Her eclectic style is not easily categorized, so vast is her musical range. Some of her subject matter and lyrics are a bit outside the "G" rating, but presented in such a fun and entertaining way to make you like them anyway: "Konichi Wa Bitches". Don't judge Robyn by one or two songs, or even one or two albums, dig deep and you will find a gem, somewhere. She's an original and worth a listen. Expand
  16. Jan 20, 2011
    8
    As an avid listener of both Body Talk part 1 and 2, I can say that Robyn has definitely given her fans a delightful earful. The lyrics are catchy and memorable, the production is light, dancy fun, and Robyn's kickass Swedish personality comes through on songs like "Dont **** Tell Me What To Do", and "Fembot." Any electropop lover will fawn over Robyn's 2010 album venture.
  17. Feb 1, 2011
    8
    Many people are signed in the music industry who have no real musical talent: Robyn is not one of those people. This album is a testament to her originality in creating superb Dance music that can sustain actual emotion and feeling, something that is often forgotten in the Dance scene. Bravo Robyn, bravo.
  18. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    The best pop album of the year. Awesome stuff. OK I'll MAKE MY REVIEW 150 CHARACTERS LONG!! OK I'll MAKE MY REVIEW 150 CHARACTERS LONG!! OK I'll MAKE MY REVIEW 150 CHARACTERS LONG!! Happy now?
  19. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    As a pop record, "Body Talk" is flawless. Robyn delivered once again after her amazing album "Robyn". Great songs, awesome tunes, a great voice. What can you more say about Robyn's work? It's beyond great. "Body Talk" is one of my all time favorites. I'd like to mention some songs that i liked after first listen, like "Don't **** tell me what to do", "Fembot", "Time machine", "Get myself together"...Also, the "Cry when you get older" is amazing, but it's not included in this album ( Body Talk Pt. 1). This album Robyn proved that she's one of the most talented artists at the moment. Her time is coming. Expand
  20. Mar 10, 2011
    8
    Very much geared towards a girls night out. With that said, overall I think the sound is flat and monotone through both albums. Some of the beats hit really hard but get stale with mediocre lyrics. Splitting this into two albums just proves that labels are trying to squeeze every last penny out of us. 8 tracks (30 min) per album? Make it a double album for god sake!
  21. Apr 26, 2011
    7
    Body Talk is a good, not great, effort. There's nothing really bad at all about here, and the music is catchy and fun. Some of the songs, however, seem to fade when trying to remember the entirety of the album. Some of the standout tracks, obviously stated by others, include "Dancing on My own" and "Hang With Me", which are catchy and powerhouses. There's also a little place in my heart for tracks like "U Should Know Better" with Snoop Dog and "Don't ****ing Tell Me What To Do", if just for their simple catchy style. The overall album is still good, high quality stuff, and fun to listen to. Expand
  22. May 23, 2011
    10
    Its ashame that masterpieces like Body Talk will always remain in the background because of Robyn's modesty. Whilst people like Kesha , Lady GaGa and Katy Perry take her style and coat it with glitter , glass and candyfloss.
  23. May 23, 2011
    9
    Body Talk is pop at its best. While the reason why she's not enjoying worldwide domination nor having huge success remains a mystery, her purpose and direction are clear. And it's beautiful once you've heard the whole three EPs that would build up the best pop album of 2010.
  24. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    As far as pop goes, it couldn't be any better. It has soul and yet it can dance, something that is very rarely seen (or heard) in pop music nowadays. But Robyn can dance herself to death and still whip the loss of a boyfriend and still make the result nice to our ears. A very good album for those of us out there who do like a bit of pop music sometimes, but are too afraid to listen to GaGa and Spears. Expand
  25. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    7
    Some really good pop songs that make Katie Perry and Miley Cyrus look like kiddie pop crap. Well produced stuff that's actually memorable.
  26. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    The intelligent album of 2010, showed us that pop have substence to. With beatiful lyrics, versing about dancefloors, pain, love and hangovers, Robyn makes her sweet voice to combine perfectly with what she is singing. Pearls like "Dancing On My Own", "Time Machine", "Stars 4-Ever" and "None of Dem" make this, her greatest album, and one of the greates of 2010.
  27. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    I know i'm a little late in this post but I have to comment. Never cared for her earlier R&B inspired work. However, Body Talk is kinda awesome. And by awesome I mean totally sweet. A great mix of pop/electronic sounds. Been listening to it for days now. Lyrics are much better than her earlier work. Beats are better. If she keeps putting out music like this, she'll be unstoppable. Just my opinion.
  28. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    This is an amazing Dance album filled with up-tempo songs that will make you wanna dance like if there was no tomorrow. The highlights in this album are 'Dancing On My Own', 'Indestructible', 'Call Your Girlfriend' and I love 'U Should Know Better' featuring Snoop Dogg. Totally worth buying
  29. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    It's a quite good album, it's not her best work, because it think her best was her self-titled album, but Body Talk had everything to be a worldwide successful album, I don't know what is the problem with people in the U.S.A. they basically prefer listening to some overrated basic **** than listening to what it is really good music, Robyn has shown once again how she is a great producer and songwriter. It is a 10-star album. Expand
  30. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest electropop albums ever.
  31. May 10, 2014
    8
    Klas Åhlund and Swedish songstress Robyn created one of the catchiest (and queerest, to be honest) dance-pop records in recent years. Even more than 3 years after its release, Body Talk continues to be one of the most timeless dance records.

    "Fembots" starts the album on an overwhelmingly bubbly note, with some of the craziest sexual metaphors ever written in pop music ("I got a lot of
    automatic booty applications") ("Initiating slut mode"). In "Don't F***ing Tell Me What to Do", Robyn names a list of events, objects, and persons that are apparently "killing her", all talk-rapped over a minimalist techno rhythm. Either the four-on-the-floor female empowerment anthem "Indestructible" or the Max Martin-produced "Time Machine" had the chance to become two of the catchiest top 40 anthems on North American radio, if they were given the opportunity.

    Robyn has an accessibly light voice that verses Åhlund's heavy 80s' electronic influenced melodies and beats. Hell, on "U Should Know Better", Robyn raps next to Snoop Dogg in one of the most obscure collaborations ever dreamed up of ("Even the Vatican knows not f*** with me"). But in short, Body Talk remains as stylish and substantial as it was at the beginning of the 2000s.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. To be fair, she's still in the process of resurfacing, rather successfully actually, and Body Talk is a fine dance-pop album.
  2. From "Don't F***ing Tell Me What to Do" to "We Dance to the Beat," her songwriting in that vein is as strong as anybody's. Scattered across her three 2010 CDs is one great album. How I wish this was it.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    Body Talk concludes a triptych of highly enjoyable pop albums. Let's hope we don't have to wait another five years for the next batch.