• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 21, 2006
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyW
    Apr 10, 2006
    8
    amazing songwriting...
  2. DanH
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    A mature and cohesive work, even if it drags in a couple places. His third best album after "Diamonds" and "Fight for your Mind", and worth a buy for any music lover, if not as well for the inventive box packaging.
  3. JoelL
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Ben Harper's songwriting skills, (and i'm talking about musically) have impressed me once again. I, being a musician, (and a horrible lyric writer), find the music in this cd to be outstanding.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Mar 29, 2006
    7
    This album is a feat in itself. Harper has tuned in to something profound in the last two years. Although still not as diverse as Diamonds On the Inside 'Gun' delivers a sound truley unique to the music world.
  5. PaulMac
    Mar 30, 2006
    8
    Not sure why Blender and Billboard are slagging on Ben so much. He's not a pretentious hippie, he's a cool guy who likes to play jam music with his band and rock out. "Serve Your Soul" is eight minutes of rock n roll genius and I love every second of it. same goes for "both sides of the gun" and "please don't talk about murder while i'm eating". Although I have to say Not sure why Blender and Billboard are slagging on Ben so much. He's not a pretentious hippie, he's a cool guy who likes to play jam music with his band and rock out. "Serve Your Soul" is eight minutes of rock n roll genius and I love every second of it. same goes for "both sides of the gun" and "please don't talk about murder while i'm eating". Although I have to say that at times disc one (the mellow one) is like Fight for Your Mind without a pulse. But there are still several awsome tunes on disc one. Overall i give disc one 6/10 and disc two a perfect 10. Expand
  6. JohnH
    Mar 22, 2006
    7
    Not as memorable as other Ben Harper albums, but still tops quite a few albums, at worst.
  7. RyanM
    Mar 31, 2006
    8
    Not his best cd but still worth buying and giving it a good listen
  8. TomC
    May 28, 2006
    7
    I've been a fan of Ben Harper for a long time now, but I have to admit that I'm getting a little bit bored with him. His music doesn't seem to be stretching or changing, and it's like he ran out of inspiration a few albums ago. I hope he reinvents himself somewhere along the line, or he's going to regress into being a fun live show, and nothing more.
  9. MikeA
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Harper has his downfalls. But critics are a waste of trees in the music business as music is purely opinion. I love Ben Harper because i love his different sounds, i love his heroes and the fact that his music isn't critcally accepted commercialised crap that fills the music industry theses days.
  10. NeilTa
    Apr 19, 2006
    8
    This CD requires more than a few listens before one can accurately give it a rating. I was disaapointed at first listen but after many spins and a couple of live performances later, I think this album is very good, although perhaps his weakest (along with Diamonds on the Inside). This being said, Ben Harper is one of the best songwriters out there right now and is still making music that This CD requires more than a few listens before one can accurately give it a rating. I was disaapointed at first listen but after many spins and a couple of live performances later, I think this album is very good, although perhaps his weakest (along with Diamonds on the Inside). This being said, Ben Harper is one of the best songwriters out there right now and is still making music that is relevant. The social/political elements are a nice contrast to the more lovey-dovey offerings. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. To be sure, the quiet side is the more powerful.
  2. The whole deal threatens to take off occasionally, but in the end, it doesn't rise beyond meandering.
  3. It's occasionally a bit too easy to play spot-the-influences with Harper's stuff... but his unabashed, unaffected nostalgia is more charming than irritating. [24 Mar 2006, p.69]